Villefranche-sur-Mer apartment rental - Bay of Villefranche
Bay of Villefranche
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Villefranche-sur-Mer Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

We bought this beautiful apartment after spending four years renting in the area. My husband grew up nearby, and we are convinced that Villefranche is a unique paradise on the French Riviera because of its small-town, friendly ambiance so close to the wonderful city of Nice.

Our location is ideal, offering spectacular views and unusual quiet in a sought after old-town location. The Institut Francais is within walking distance, as is the beach, all shops and restaurants, and very easy access to car, bus and train (just one block from the Place de la Paix,)

The apartment has been perfectly renovated to take advantage of its charming duplex layout, and offers a bedroom, dining area and living room with comfortable sofa bed, two full baths, full kitchen and a washer/dryer. There is a large flat-screen TV with free access to both French and English channels, iPod and CD player, and telephone with free calls throughout Europe and the US.

Keywords: Duplex

Jean-Paul and Melinda Lecomte

We live in Maine during the summers and beautiful Villefranche in winter.

Melinda Reach purchased this apartment in 2011

Jean-Paul grew up in nearby Antibes. We found Villefranche when Melinda attended the Institut Francias and fell in love with the small village and its proximity to Nice

Villefranche is a 'little paradise.' We have the beach, great restaurants, and the most beautiful view on the Cote d'Azur. Our town still offers a small village ambiance just minutes away from bustling Nice, Antibes, Cannes and Monaco.

7 Reviews of Property 357381 in Villefranche-sur-Mer, France

Villfranche Luxury Apt., Superior Old Town Location, Sea Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Villfranche Luxury Apt., Superior Old Town Location, Sea Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357381vb
Villefranche-sur-Mer Nice Area
Calgary, Canada
5

The best of both worlds

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I spent three wonderful weeks this past June in Melinda and Jean-Paul’s beautiful apartment in Villefranche-sur-Mer. For two of the weeks our daughter and our young granddaughter joined us in the apartment. We highly recommend the apartment to anyone wanting to spend time in this fabulous corner of the world.
The location is ideal – the best of both worlds: a very quiet street in the old city yet minutes away from the beach, the historic sites, the markets, the shops, the grocery stores, the restaurants and the very efficient and inexpensive transportation system (buses and trains) on the Cote d’Azur.
Melinda and Jean-Paul have done an amazing and creative job with this unique space: a thoroughly convenient, modern apartment with beautiful new appliances set into an historic building in Villefranche-sur-Mer. The views over the rooftops, the harbor and Cap Ferrat are fabulous. We spent many hours at the open window, reading, catching up on email or just enjoying the sun and the breezes and the famous Mediterranean light.
We always began our day with a coffee in the apartment, accompanied by fresh croissants from the bakery at the corner. Most mornings we walked down to the beach and enjoyed a swim in the sea. Other days we rode the buses or the train and explored the coast: the galleries in Nice, the perched village of Eze, the Rothschild Mansion on Cap Ferrat, the casino in Monte Carlo, the chateau in Mandelieu La Napoule … the list of possibilities is endless!
Later in the afternoon we would explore the old city of Villefranche, shop for groceries in the many excellent stores nearby or take our granddaughter to the playground to hang out with the other kids. On the weekends we would hit the markets.
In the evenings we walked down to the port and participated in local festivities or just relaxed in the apartment. Excellent television!
The weather was consistently good; the sky always blue.
Melinda was great to deal with via email before and during our stay, always prompt in answering our many questions! Apartment manager Valerie kindly met us at the airport and took us to the apartment and briefed us on the neighborhood.
If you want to experience the Cote d’Azur, don’t miss the opportunity to do so from this amazing apartment!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Maureen,

Thank you for your beautiful review. I am so happy that your vacation with your family was a memorable one. I hope to be able to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Melinda
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villfranche Luxury Apt., Superior Old Town Location, Sea Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357381vb
Villefranche-sur-Mer Nice Area
Southern Pines North Carolina
5

wonderful spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
A delightful apartment, alll the convenieces you could ask for right in old town Villefranche. Everwyhere you want to go is walking distance, no car needed, the train station and bus stop are very convenient. The owners have done a wonderful job of renovating the apartment with with all new appliances and fixtures. Lovely views to the harbor and there was a
always a breeze.
Villefranche is on a hillside, so be prepared for alot of steps.. There are numerous excellent restaurants within walking distance.
We would recommend tis to anyone and would definiely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Ray,

I am so pleased that you loved our apartment. Please come back!

Melinda and Jean-Paul
business
Villfranche Luxury Apt., Superior Old Town Location, Sea Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357381vb
Villefranche-sur-Mer Nice Area
Harvard, MA, USA
5

Lofty apartment in charming old Villefranche

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This property has been renovated with the utmost care to use every little charming nook and cranny of the old walls for today's luxuries like washer/ dryer/ DW and great oven. My favorite place while home was to sit by the window in a tall chair to view over the rooftops the busy harbor activities of sailors anchoring their boats as well as cruise ships and ferries coming and going, letting off or collecting their passengers. Bring little binoculars! We liked the ease of wifi /phone / ipod player set up. It was wonderful to be right in the old town of stairs and steps, and expect the same with this apartment. The manager was very helpful bringing our suitcases up- and downstairs so this was not a problem for us older folks. Great variety of wonderful restaurants within 5 minutes of sauntering down some steps. Car not necessary since parking is difficult and great train or bus connections are cheap and easy to nearby Nice or Monaco etc.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Maria,

I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment while getting to know beautiful Villefranche.

Sincerely,
Melinda and Jean-Paul
business
Villfranche Luxury Apt., Superior Old Town Location, Sea Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357381vb
Villefranche-sur-Mer Nice Area
Los Angeles, CA, US
5

Perfect Apartment in Villefranche-sur-Mer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This apartment is located near the church overlooking the village of Villefranche-sur-Mer and it's bay. It is ideally located near stores and is an easy walk to either the waterfront or the village square and bus and train transportation. The apartment has been renovated and includes a modern and stylish kitchen, modern bathrooms, and marble and wooden floors. The furnishings are new and match the the upscale look of the apartment. The listing for this property was accurate with photos of the interior and views. The apartment was extremely clean and well-maintained and the owners were extremely helpful. This apartment is perfect for two people, but could accommodate more with the pullout couch. I definitely would recommend this apartment to friends and would stay there again if I have the opportunity to return to Villefranche-sur-Mer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Villfranche Luxury Apt., Superior Old Town Location, Sea Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357381vb
Villefranche-sur-Mer Nice Area
Port Moody, BC, CANADA
5

trip of a lifetime, perfect apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband, two children (10 and 11), and I want to thank you for a glorious 11 days at your wonderful apartment during July 2011! Villefranche sur Mer is a wonderful combination of the best of southern France, and this unique, new, and ideally located property shows the locale off to full advantage. For example, the apartment was beautifully appointed and afforded fabulous views of the Mediterranean and the older parts of the town. The closest bakery is a 2-minute walk, a grocery store is approximately 4-5 minutes away, and the water is easily reached with two children within 5-7 minutes. Additionally, there are numerous fantastic restaurants and shops nearby. We were so grateful that your local contact met us at the train, welcomed us to Villefranche, and walked us to your apartment, which she had carefully and thoughtfully prepared for our arrival. Your descriptions and photos are lovely, however, they fail to do the property justice. As this was our first visit to the area, the owner and local contact were available to answer questions that arose, promptly and with warmth and care. While they are fluent in French, my children wanted me to pass along their thanks for the satellite TV, which featured UK cartoons in English! Our stay was the highlight of our month-long trip to France. It was a tremendous pleasure to live “like a local”, and we would wholeheartedly recommend this property and the location and cannot wait to return. Many, many thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Erika
Jean=Paul and I are so happy that your family loved our apartment and had a great trip to France. We hope you'll be back soon.
Sincerely,
Melinda
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villfranche Luxury Apt., Superior Old Town Location, Sea Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357381vb
Villefranche-sur-Mer Nice Area
Boston
5

Beautiful Villefranche

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This apartment is located very close to the bay of Villefranche. It is equipped with everything (beach towels, washer, dryer, washing machine, high-speed internet, etc) ! We love to cook and found that the kitchen had everything too. The second floor is cozy fitting the bedroom and a bathroom with a tub. We loved getting up being able to see the ocean. There is a market close by (Casino), and a great artisanal bakery steps from this grocery store (much better than the one closer to the apt). The selection is not huge, because it is a small place, but good enough. You do have to climb up quite a bit of stairs when you are coming back from the market or the beach, but we just thought about it as exercise. The stairs in the building to the apartment and to the second floor are steep, so if you have mobility problems you might want to check with the owner first. We didn't have a car and we were fine. It helped that I had lived in Nice before, but the train station is a 5 min walk away, and there are buses too that can take you to Nice, Monaco, etc. The owners were very friendly, accommodating and helpful. Thank you Melissa! We loved our stay here, and we highly recommend Villefranche and this apartment.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Diana,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you'll come back again,

Melinda
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villfranche Luxury Apt., Superior Old Town Location, Sea Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357381vb
Villefranche-sur-Mer Nice Area
San Diego, california
5

Villefranche luxury apartment on the French riviera. WOW! What a great experience!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I had very last minute plans to go Monaco area of France for the Formula 1 race. I found this listing on VRBO and found the title to be just what I was looking for. After speaking with the owner I found that, even though it was very short notice, that they would rent their place to me for the week. The owner was extremely pleasant and helpful. She even made arrangements for me to be picked up at the Nice Airport. I was picked up by one of her friends who spoke English fluentely, and gave a guided tour of the sights as we drove up the coast to the apartment. We arrived in Villefranche, there she pointed out all of the places that I needed to know about, as well as ,some interesting comments about the local venders. The apartment is right in the heart of this little, picturesque ,village. It is a five minute walk to the train station or the bus stop. It is a two minute walk to the ocean. As far as the accommodations, they exceeded my expectations. The apartment has been completely remodeled, with new, modern ,fully stocked kitchen and bathrooms, complete bedding,sheets and towels, beach towels,stereo system,tv, Internet service and more. It has a great view of the villagetheand blue water views of the ocean. It was extremely clean and tastefully decorated. I was extremely happy with everything and have already recommended it to my friends. I will definitely be back. Thank you for making my trip so enjoyable.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear John,

I am so happy that your trip to our home in Villefranche was a happy one. I will look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Melinda and Jean-Paul
Helpful votes: 1/1