El Cuyo apartment rental - Mexican Way of Life, no stress no hassle ...on the Beach
Mexican Way of Life, no stress no hassle ...on the Beach
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

El Cuyo Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Beachfront, Peaceful, Relax, whale shark, holbox,German Owner Adventure,

*NEW! Check out our 360 Virtual Tour on our Website*

German Owner

Hacienda del Cuyo with Penthouse and Casa Maya Lodge is a private three-story beach house built in colonial spanish style right on the pristine beaches of El Cuyo.It is equipped with air conditioning in the bedrooms, for better sleeping comfort of our guests. The cushioned lounge chairs on the beach and our hammocks invite you for sunbathing and relaxing the Mexican Way. The Villa is surrounded by many coconut palm trees with plenty of natural shade.. From large beach terraces you can admire sunrises and sunsets over the ocean. Up to 8 people find room on the ground floor , up to 4 people in the Penthouse (Floor 2 ) 1 bedroom, fully equipped kitchen, living room, bathrooms with hot water. The Casa Maya Lodge on the 3rd Floor has a Queensize Bed, Bathroom and Kitchenette and Terrace. A tropical garden with a palapa and palm trees invite you for get-togethers.Its ideal for families with children, seniors, singles and adults that don't want to spend their well deserved Vacations on crowded beaches.

Activities: Mayan Ruins, flamingo-, bird-, whaleshark-, dolphin and seaturtle watching, caves, cenotes, colonial cities, markets, bullfights, etc.

Upgrades since 2005: 2005 New Paint, curtains,

2006 Remodeled Bathrooms, Floors,

2007 Constuction of Penthouse, new Paint

2008 New curtains, Breakfast Bar, Gf and Ph, Orientation Tour in GolfCart

2009 Casita Maya with Roofgarden, colonial fountain and new entrance

2010 April Internet Access

2010 Air Condition July, Welcome Breakfast

2011 Casita Maya, Kitchenette, Ac, new Kitchen Groundfloor

2012 3rd place in HomeAways Competition to the 'Landlord of the Year'

2012 360 Virtual Tour of all Yucatan rentals , directly on our Website

Service upon Arrival: The Caretaker will receive you in the Villa and hand you over the keys.

Please leave a 80 Usd deposit, that you will be refunded when you return them upon departure and when the house is left in the same conditions as you received it.

On the first morning after arrival, we will serve you a Mexican Welcome Breakfast in your Villa.

Foto Credits:

' We departed for an adventure through the Americas in May 2012, driving a Toyota Landcruiser HZJ75 and being on the road with our two canine overlanders makes us really happy. We plan to stay on the road until some time in 2015. Starting the adventure in Halifax, exploring wonderful Newfoundland, heading west through Canada, enjoying the summer up in Yukon, the Indian Summer in British Columbia, Centralamerica with all its edgyness and soon Southamerica.'

Details for Beach Hacienda del Cuyo with Vw Bug 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, 3 Bathrooms

The 3 Story Colonial Beachhome Hacienda Villa del Cuyo was built in the mexican colonial style surrounded by Coconut Palmtrees. You can either rent the entire house ( 2300ft2, up tp 12 guests) or just the Groundfloor ( 1300 ft2, upt tp 8 guests), the Penthouse (1200 ft2, up to 4 guests), or the Rustic Casa Maya Lodge for 2 Guests. The Groundfloor is recommended for families with small children or couples that are looking for peace and relaxation in a Superb Beachfront Location. Its fully equipped kitchen with Breakfastbar, Diningroom Table, Livingroom with Sofa, Bathroom with Shower and WC. It also has an outside shower when you come from the beach, to rinse of the sand before entering the House. The Beachfront Terrace has a 250 ft2 Mayan Palapa that gives you wonderful shade right on the beach, Loungechairs with cushions and a table with 6 chairs where you can enjoy Breakfasts, Lunches and Dinner, overlooking the Beach. Palmtrees in front of the House give you additional shade
More Details
Hide Details

The best career decision I've made in my life was to come to this beautiful country,....Mexico.

I love the country and its people, but their slowness, tardiness and informality in some cases still bothers me, even after 20 years I now live here. You just have to put everything into the balance ... it's a bit hard to explain .... but it's something like if you want a fruit that has no shell or skin, is something ... thats not possible.

I was born and educated in Bamberg, Germany and finished my career there. After that, I went to work for the Mouse in Disney World in Orlando Florida and have worked in the German Pavilion at Epcot , .. followed by 2 years at Lufthansa in Frankfurt. Driven by wanderlust ... I then followed the call Mexico's in 1993.

I lived for 20 years in Cancun, Mexico, ... and still work part time in 5 star hotels. 12 years ago I started with the first Vacation apartment. We now have 7 and also rent you our Vw Beetle to our guests. We are the owners of these houses and can be reached anytime personally, by phone or by email. In the Competition of the Landlord of the Year in 2011, we made the 3 place, and in 2012 we reached the 1st place. It's a lot of fun with guests, and we are always passing along our longtime experience in Mexico . We look forward hosting you ...

Mattias Doehling purchased this apartment in 2000

Who do we recommend to rent a vacation home in Yucatan?

If you are interested in getting to know the mexican culture, its people the hospitality and its food , is flexible and willing to learn more about the 'Mexican way of Life'and wants to experience more 'Local Flavour'... away from the beaten Tourist path and 5 Star Hotels ..you will enjoy it..come and stay with us.

Who should reconsider it?

If you are looking to be pampered in a 5 Star All inclusive Hotel and need Buffett style meals , having an English speaking concierge 24 hours a day...then do yourself a favor..and dont renta a vacation home.

Hacienda del Cuyo:

Working in Cancun´s Hotel Business during the week , on days off, we enjoy travelling in the Yucatan with its fabled culture, away from the city .. and mass tourism. In February 2000, we have come by accident to El Cuyo ... the drive threre was overwhelming ... over a reddish pink lagoon with flamingos, the road led to the village .. further to a Mayan pyramid with a lighthouse built on top of it. The roads in El Cuyo are made of sand and coconut palm trees everywhere in the quaint Village. Miles of fine white sand beach with no tourists but lots of seashells.. as far as the eye can see. We were delighted, and then spent every free weekend in El Cuyo. One day, someone offered us a small house for sale. There was at that time only a ground floor. We immediately fell in love with this 'rough diamond' and have restored it with much passion. we didnt think of it as a rental business at that time. After some time, we have added the 2nd floor Penthouse and te Rustic Casa Maya Lodge.

We still spend every free weekend in El Cuyo ... now with our 2 young Kids...

Hacienda Antigua

We acquired it in 2002 and 2012, lovingly converted it to the Hacienda Antigua. Outside walls are handmade of a natural stone facade by Mayan Craftsmanship. Inside a Mayan artist from Izamal Hand-painted colonial decorations on the Walls .Lots of heavy wrought iron was used inside the Hacienda. The Beach terrace covers a big Pyramid shaped palapa , so our guests can always hide in the cooling shade of this palm thatched masterpiece.

63 Reviews of Property 35701 in El Cuyo, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Beach Hacienda del Cuyo with Vw Bug
average rating of 4.854839 based on 63 reviews
business
Beach Hacienda del Cuyo with Vw Bug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35701
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
4

Truly One-of-a-Kind

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
If you are looking for a truly one of a kind place to stay in the Yucatan Peninsula, this is it. We arrived late, late, late into the night after a white-knuckled drive through rain, wind and pot hole-laden roads. Notwithstanding our 3:30am arrival, caretakers Magally and Christian were graciously awaiting us with open arms--and a beautiful palapa-style apartment complete with warm lights on, and extra blankets at the ready. The view from the balcony is fantastic, the doorstep beach hard to beat, and the town of El Cuyo itself a delight for those who enjoy going off the beaten trail. As luck would have it, we happened to roll into town just as two cold and windy storm fronts were making their way through the area, so we did find the "open air" design of the palapa (and shower!) to be chilly--though surely under any other time/weather condition that same design would be one of its most enjoyable qualities. Thanks to the storm, the entire town lost power+hot water+cell reception for 2 nights, but again, the caretakers were quick to check in with us, and we could not have been happier to take Christian up on his offer to provide catering by candle light. Don't miss his shrimp ceviche--the best we had anywhere on our trip! All in all, a great place to escape from it all. We left feeling that Matthias and co. truly care about making it a great holiday experience for their guests...and look forward to returning under better weather conditions.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beach Hacienda del Cuyo with Vw Bug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35701
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
Toronto, Canada
5

Swimming with dolphins in el cuyo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
"Swimming with Dolphins in El Cuyo"

We just got back from a family weekend in El Cuyo. We were there several years ago, and we rented the same house, which has been upgraded and now has 3 levels. The directions Mattias (the German Owner ) gave us were perfect!

It is our daughters 18th birthday, we asked her what she wanted to do, and she said, " let's go to El Cuyo"!

The beach was amazing,..the sunrise looked like a huge orange ball in the sky. The water was perfect for swimming, and we were lucky enough to see dolphins while we were swimming.
We had the beach to ourselves. Lots of seashells if you like to beachcomb.

The Caretaker Magally and her husband were very attentive and even cooked fresh fish for us one day.

The house was very comfortable, we were 7 in total and could have invited more. The kitchens on both floors were fine for our needs, and there is even a nice fire pitt on the beach for a bon fire, we did that too.

There is plenty of private terrace space, with great breezes from the sea., we even rented a golf cart one of the days, but most important we spent quality family time.

On our way home we enjoyed seeing the flamingos, and driving through the local villages.
l Cuyo, we will be back for sure; Thanks Mattias and Family for renting us your Vacation Home

Catherine and Family
Owner's Response: Hola Catherine and Family,

thanks for having chosen us a 2nd time...and to write such a detailed Review.
We also try to do something special for guests,..knowing, that Vacation Time is the most precious time.
Its good to hear that you enjoyed El Cuyo one more time,..and that you were even able to swim with the Dolphins in the Ocean.
Hope we can welcome you again in the future,
Mattias, Magally and Families
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beach Hacienda del Cuyo with Vw Bug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35701
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
5

Loving El Cuyo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We loved this vacation. We loved the rental and loved El Cuyo. I highly recommend El Cuyo and Hacienda El Cuyo. If you are thinking about a vacation here, there are a few things you should know.
First, the rental is great. Mattis was an excellent host and often returned my e-mails in minutes. It is everything we expected. I t is attractive, clean, comfortable and in the perfect location. That said, it is not the Holiday Inn. No heels. No bling. No night life. It’s all about sandals, shorts, tee shirts and a swim suit.
The beach is beautiful. It is wide, shallow, miles long and full of shells with gentle waves.
The village of El Cuyo is quiet and quaint but not beautiful. The people are beautiful. People here are poor but very friendly. Nobody will try to braid your hair or sell you beads. We loved them. Spanish helps, but we had a lot of fun trying to communicate with very limited Spanish. We laughed, they laughed and it was great. Use reasonable precautions, but we never felt any fear of any kind here.
El Cuyo is rural Mexico. They do not accept Credit cards or US dollars. Bring plenty of pesos!
The restaurants in town are relaxed and close by 6 pm. The food was excellent but depending on what time of year you go, many items may not be available. In winter, lobster and squid are not in season. Expect the choices to be limited. Basically expect excellent fish and shrimp. Every place we went the staff was extremely helpful. Our favorite place was La Conchita.
Buy EVERYTHING you will need at Walmart in Cancun. El Cuyo has virtually nothing. Tuesday is market day and some great fruit is available then. They do sell beer in town but no liquor.
If you are driving from Cancun don’t stress out. Cancun is a mess but the roads to El Cuyo are fine. The villages have HUGE speed bumps called topos. Slow WAY down for them.
The housekeeper’s name Is Magally. She is a doll but speaks no English. Be patient with her. On the first day she will offer to cook breakfast for you. It is fun to watch her cook it from scratch. It tastes great too.
I am sorry to have to do this but I must give you one word of warning: NOBODY in El Cuyo currently works for Mattis except Magally. Anyone else who claims they do is being untruthful and you should beware of doing any business with them.
In conclusion, if you want a quiet, beautiful vacation in the real Mexico, El Cuyo and Hacienda El Cuyo is for you.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Beach Hacienda del Cuyo with Vw Bug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35701
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
5

Fabulous vacations :-)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Our vacations were fabulous and we loved Mexico and El Cuyo. The house is the most beautiful house of the village.
Magali and her husband were really nice and my friends did a boat trip with him to see crocodiles, pink flamingos, fishs.... Everything was perfect and sure we will recommend Hacienda del Cuyo to my friends if they are looking for a house on the beach in mexico.
Thank again Mattias and to magali
Owner's Response: Hola Clement and Family,

thanks for remembering us...
great that you enjoyed our Hacienda Villa del Cuyo with your Family. it really is a great way on the Beach to bond with Family, Friends and People you'd like to be surrounded with and would like to cherish.
sunny regards from the Yucatan
Mattias and all the People you met in El Cuyo
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beach Hacienda del Cuyo with Vw Bug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35701
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
5

A wonderful, relaxing beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
El Cuyo is well off the beaten path as it takes a couple hours to reach the town from Cancun. The town is quaint and the community is very nice. The main attraction, however, is the beach. It is well maintained by the community and the water and sand are beautiful.

The house is fantastic as well. We stayed in the rooftop cabana; a vaulted palm frond roof over our bed with a kitchenette, perfect for a couple going on a getaway. We had friends renting the downstairs apartments so we had nice evenings together outside.

This beach isn't a party place, at least when we visited. We essentially had the entire beach to ourselves.

Mattias is a great owner and very helpful. He maintains the property well.
Owner's Response: Hola !

thanks for having stayed with us in our Casita Maya with Roofgarden.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay, and we able to clear your heads.
It really is a place to enjoy, relax and unwind under Palmtrees,..

Come back again one day,..and remember us.
Sunny regards from the Yucatan
Mattias
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beach Hacienda del Cuyo with Vw Bug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35701
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
Canada
5

Just what we were looking for,...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Hello Mattias,

Well, we are back home and the back to the snow.

The property was excellent. It has the perfect location on the beach and was just what we were looking for. El Cuyo is small and quiet but that is good for a quiet vacation. We did get out to Tizimin and enjoyed our drive through the Yucatan.

Your Caretakers were great. They were very helpful but also unobtrusive, allowing us to just lounge about and relax.


We have already recommended your property to our friends.

Please pass on our thanks to your caretakers......

Mas Tardes

P and M
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Hola to Canada!

Thanks for the review,..good to hear that you were enjoying our Hacienda in El Cuyo.
Come back again and recommend us to your family and Friends, so we can keep improving our Vacationhomes.
Sunny Regards...Mattias and Crew
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beach Hacienda del Cuyo with Vw Bug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35701
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
Usa
5

We had the most wonderful time in your Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
So - I just wanted to say yet again what a wonderful time we had at the Hacienda and in El Cuyo. We love the town and the people

Really it was wonderful and Remigia and her family were the most amazing hosts and friends. All of us took lots of pictures together - I will send one.
You'll hear from me again very soon!

We felt luxury when we had our breakfast at the Lighthouse across the road - that table and chair set was lovely. AND - we loved having the loungers for the patio and the beach - that was GREAT!

All things you promised were dilivered!

I think that is all feedback we have - basically we had a wonderful time and have spread the word and you'll be hearing from us again to book again soon!
all the best,
Anna
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Beach Hacienda del Cuyo with Vw Bug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35701
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
Usa
5

The house was perfect,we had a great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
I just thought I would let you know we had a great time at El Cuyo. The house was perfect although we didn’t spend very much time there. Except for a little bit of rain, the weather couldn’t have been nicer. Ramiro, Cristian and Magally were very helpful even with the language barrier (my Spanish is 30 year old high school Spanish). The people in town were very friendly and helpful too. Even the mosquitoes were rather friendly. We reluctantly departed Friday morning . We hope to make it back sometime in the near future.

Thanks,
P and A
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Beach Hacienda del Cuyo with Vw Bug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35701
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
USA
5

What we liked the best ? Where to start...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
What we liked the best ??? Where to start...
The beach is perfect, the house was perfect - to wake up
each morning to such a magnificent view, thought I was
in heaven. The town and the people were also beautiful,
we were the only "tourists" the entire week...it was the
most relaxing and wonderful vacation I have ever had.
My granddaughter wants to start making plans to go there
next year and bring her other grandmother along also!
Christian and his wife were so helpful and sweet -
you are lucky to have someone like them to help you
with the house. I wished that I had brought blank CDs
so that I could have copied the 2 CDs that you have at
the house - I listened to them the entire time.
Don't be surprised if you "hear" from me in the near
future to book for next year! Thank you again for
sharing your little piece of heaven....Cathey
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hola!

Thanks for posting your great Review on my Property.
I am glad you din't pay too much attention to the Swinflu Hype that CNN created at that time.
You came in May 2009, and i would like to thank you for that.
And your reward? Your comment speaks for itself.
I am Happy that your granddaughter loved it so much, and that you are planning on returning next year again.
Gracias for sharing it to other future guests
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Beach Hacienda del Cuyo with Vw Bug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35701
+52 9982679105
El Cuyo Yucatan
Mexico City
5

Trip to El Cuyo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
My trip to El Cuyo was the most enjoyable experience that we could have wished for.

This is the perfect place to relax, it is so quiet at night that you can also see the shooting stars; I would highly recommend.

Thank you for all the care and guidance you supplied from the moment I contacted you to the moment we sadly said our goodbyes to your beautiful town.

Thank you for everything you did an awesome job. The weather was perfect. We can’t wait to go back! Less than 2 hours from Cancun, definitely will be back.

Regards,

Rosy

México City
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hola to Mexico City!

I am really happy to hear that you as well had a really nice time in my rental in El Cuyo.
Many people from the big cities are looking in El Cuyo for some time "Off", and enjoy what nature has to offer, and spent quality time with Family and Friends in the Sun and on the Beach.
Hope to welcome you again in the future!
And thanks for commenting your Experience with other's..
and recommend us!
Helpful votes: 4/5