Harlem apartment rental - front
front
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Harlem Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, 1 Convertible bed, Sleeps 3

This is a beautiful large one bedroom apt located on 119th Street between Lenox and 5th Ave, with all amenities included in a fully renovated landmark brownstone with a chef's kitchen stocked with all cooking needs. Flat screen TV with cable connection, Wi-Fi, and a sleeper sofa in the living room for extra sleeping quarters. There is also a home office in the bedroom for those that need to do some work during their stay.

High ceilings, exposed brick, ebony hard wood floors - very contemporary and comfortable for your long stay in New York.

Don't overpay on eating out every night, make a home cooked meal in this top of the line kitchen! Washer/dryer in the apartment for daily laundry needs as well.

Trains nearby (check out hopstop dot com), park around the corner, shopping, movies, entertainment all near by, great food as well!

All payments for this apt is made through the homeaway.com Reservation Manager

I have another duplex GARDEN apt in the same building that sleeps up to 9 guests guests.

And a NEW apt to the market that sleeps up to 6 guests, ask me about them!

Keywords: Brownstone, kitchen, one bedroom, harlem

More Details
Hide Details

I am a chef/caterer as well as a professional buyer in the food/consumer goods industry. The husband is an entrepreneur who puts too much faith in me! We have two young boys who keep us busy and young. Together we are a strong and passionate team of four who work hard and play even harder! We love Harlem and everything it has to offer, and are forever spreading the word on this amazing neighborhood.

Amal purchased this apartment in 2005

When I met my husband over 7 years ago all he talked about was Harlem, he was rootly involved in the rehabilitation of many Brownstones back when no one wanted to be there, and was passionate about owning a part of history. He was very specific about what he wanted, and sent me out in the jungle with his list to find it. And I didn't fail. Five years and two gorgeous boys later, our dream of owning a Brownstone in the historic neighborhood of Harlem came to fruition, and we couldn't be happier to share it with the world. We hope you enjoy the neighborhood, culture and soul as much as we do. We love waking up in the morning and strolling the streets of the city. There is really nothing like it (except a great cup of coffee).

53 Reviews of Property 356911 in Harlem, New York

Trendy 1 Bedroom Harlem Brownstone Apartment
average rating of 4.7234044 based on 53 reviews
business
Trendy 1 Bedroom Harlem Brownstone Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356911
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
5

Simply Perfect!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This cute little place was simply perfect. Well maintained and close to transit made this a perfect place to stay on my recent weekend in NYC. Amal was welcoming and responsive with any question I had. In my opinion, this was a great deal for the price. I would definitely stay here again next time I come to town.
business
Trendy 1 Bedroom Harlem Brownstone Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356911
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
Riverside, California
4

Harlem brownstone

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The apt was wonderful...I had requested an air bed but did not see it. The TV needs replaced the bathroom sink drains slowly....The sheet for the futon was not located in the drawer that was stated....We left some coffee as there was none upon arrival....Complaints aside the apt is wonderful it was a much more relaxing stay then our prior hotel stays..... Loved visiting Harlem:-)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: hi susan! we are glad you had a good time in Harlem and enjoyed the apt. I am so sorry you didn't get the air mattress, I'm pretty sure housekeeping just forgot to take it out. I am very responsive over email if you had sent me a message I could have been able to rectify that within the hour, as well as the other issues. we aim to please here! thanks for staying at our place :)
business
Trendy 1 Bedroom Harlem Brownstone Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356911
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
Grapevine, TX
4

Pretty Darned Perfect! :-)

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Amal was very helpful via email, phone and text correspondence. The location is great no matter what part of the city you want to explore. Train station was just a few streets over. Great food nearby, Close to Central Park, and the main shopping drag of Harlem. The apt. is SUPER CUTE and comfortable! Loved the bed in the master bdrm! So comfy and plush! Washer and dryer was a plus! Nice bathroom/big shower. Free wi-fi and cable:-) I recommend this apt for 2 buddies, a couple and a buddy/child. Anymore than three people would seem uncomfortable to me. But thats just me. The neighborhood was lovely and everyone was friendly. We did get catcalls every night walking home, but were going to take that as a compliment, lol. We did not feel unsafe as two women walking late at night. Just stay alert as you would at night anywhere. However, by the last night, we decided to forgo the catcalls and get a cab straight to the apt:-) I only have two minor complaints about the actual apt: There weren't enough clean towels for our entire stay so we ended up washing towels each morning and popping them in the dryer before leaving for the day. No biggie, but calculate that in to your time if you have an extended stay. Also, just minor cleaning/maintenance things: The rug in the living room is soiled, the drapes had to be finagled to cover the window completely, the couch in the living room was soiled (which is understandable since so many different people have lived on it.) Aside form those few things, me and my friend enjoyed our stay immensely and would definitely stay here again! Have fun!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Trendy 1 Bedroom Harlem Brownstone Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356911
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
Washington DC
5

Harlem's lil' SECRET GEM

Harlem's lil' SECRET GEM
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This IS a great apartment! The pictures are on point and the location was perfect. The train and several stores were a few short blocks away, so it made the experience even better. The price was excellent compared to NYC hotels. The apartment was very clean, quiet, and all the appliances worked. During my initial inquiry about the apartment, the owner was very responsive and during my stay as well. If I had any questions or concerns regarding anything she would respond in minutes. So even though I am recommending the apartment, its with pause because I would like to keep it my little secret GEM! But I understand the business side of things and I am positive the owner wouldn't appreciate my being selfish with HER unit! ;) I WILL STAY HERE AGAIN! Thank YOU Amal
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Marvin for your review, and thank you for not keeping the apt a secret!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Trendy 1 Bedroom Harlem Brownstone Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356911
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
Sydney Australia
4

Harlem visit and New York

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We really enjoyed staying in Harlem, the place is exactlylike the photographs , very quaint , clean and every thing you need for a short or long stay.
Very central and easy to all way of transport. We felt very safe and enjoyed the friendly neighbour hood.
Amal was very helpful on tips to different ways on transport to and from the airport, and we had no problem in finding the place.
We made a few dinners at home, but be warned that the smoke detector will go off without a dought.
Otherwise places recommended have been very good too.
The Harlem walking tour was also vey interesting and not to mentioned Central Park just down the road. We walked the full length of the park on a glorious day, and was worth every minute of it.
We would certainly recommend this charming apartment and would not hesitate to go back there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Trendy 1 Bedroom Harlem Brownstone Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356911
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
5

Great Brownstone!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I stayed here for four nights. Amal answered all of our questions before and during our visit. The brownstone is just as pictured and more. We felt at home and loved our stay in Harlem. We felt safe during our trip and took the subway downtown every day. We only felt a little uncomfortable one night when we came back really late after midnight that we took a cab home when coming back late the next night. The subway is close by and is a short walk. There is a CVS and a grocery store right around the corner and downtown is just a train ride away. We had a blast in the city! We enjoyed our trip so much we are planning on returning with our kids very soon!
Thank you so much for opening up your home to us! It is a perfect NYC getaway! Thank you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Trendy 1 Bedroom Harlem Brownstone Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356911
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
5

Melo...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
One of the best places I've stayed in NYC. Clean, nice, modern & quiet. They worked with with when I came in & the time I had to leave. A must stay!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Melo thanks for the kind words! We always try and please all our guests, you were great to have and you are welcome anytime!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Trendy 1 Bedroom Harlem Brownstone Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356911
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
5

Perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
As a party of three friends travelling to New York with different tourism expectations in mind, we found the apartment location a perfect place for everything, as it is near two subway stations as well as the Harlem Metro-North station. We went to museums, shows, shopping and to tourist attractions very easily.
The apartment itself is perfect, we didn't find any problems with it.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You guys were awesome to have, i'm glad to hear you had a great time during your stay. hope to have you again!
business
Trendy 1 Bedroom Harlem Brownstone Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356911
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
Kettering, Ohio
5

Lovely Lovely Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Upon arrival from the airport to the apartment we were a bit nervous about the neighborhood, but once we arrived in the darling street and entered the apartment, we soon realized this was the perfect place for us. The apartment is exactly like the pictures and was very spacious for myself, my 6'5 husband and our teenager. The high ceilings, beautiful kitchen, spacious shower and VERY comfy bed made our 6 day stay a dream.
The neighborhood felt safe and we easily navigated the close subway stops for our daily trips downtown.
We did venture into Harlem a bit and had dinner at Sylvia's and Chez Lucienne (our fave meal the entire trip!) and we highly recommend!

Thank You Amal for allowing us to stay in this darling apartment, coming "home" to it each night after walking all through the city in cold weather was such a treat!

The Boyers
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to have you and your family at the apt! Thank you for the kind words, and you are welcome back anytime!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Trendy 1 Bedroom Harlem Brownstone Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356911
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
VA
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This place was awesome. Thanks for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We loved having you Renee, until next time! :)