Harlem apartment rental - garden level: living, kitchen, dining, bathroom
garden level: living, kitchen, dining, bathroom
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Harlem Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 beds, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 4-8

This is really a one of a kind apartment in central Harlem. It is a duplex apt that features a great open kitchen with everything you need to cook and eat! A large dining room that can seat up to eight, a living room with a sectional sofa bed, flat screen tv with cable, wifi, and bookcase.

When you enter the apt, you walk into a large open space that leads you through the living room, kitchen, dining room and a back door that leads you into the backyard that has patio furniture, grill and a deck. Great place to have spring/summer/fall breakfasts or winding down at the end of the night. There is also one full bathroom upstairs, and two very comfortable air mattresses that sleep two each.

Downstairs you'll find a large sleeping quarter with two queen size beds, and a large full bathroom as well. You can sleep four downstairs, and five upstairs.

It’s a great place for weddings, large group trips where private bedrooms are NOT necessary.

I have another apt in the same building that sleeps 1-3 guests.

And a NEW apt to the market that sleeps up to 6 guests, ask me about it!

All linens, and towels included.

All payments for this apt are made through the homeaway.com Reservation Manager

Keywords: apartment

More Details
Hide Details

I am a chef/caterer as well as a professional buyer in the food/consumer goods industry. The husband is an entrepreneur who puts too much faith in me! We have two young boys who keep us busy and young. Together we are a strong and passionate team of four who work hard and play even harder! We love Harlem and everything it has to offer, and are forever spreading the word on this amazing neighborhood.

Amal purchased this apartment in 2005

When I met my husband over 7 years ago all he talked about was Harlem, he was rootly involved in the rehabilitation of many Brownstones back when no one wanted to be there, and was passionate about owning a part of history. He was very specific about what he wanted, and sent me out in the jungle with his list to find it. And I didn't fail. Five years and two gorgeous boys later, our dream of owning a Brownstone in the historic neighborhood of Harlem came to fruition, and we couldn't be happier to share it with the world. We hope you enjoy the neighborhood, culture and soul as much as we do. We love waking up in the morning and strolling the streets of the city. There is really nothing like it (except a great cup of coffee).

27 Reviews of Property 356909 in Harlem, New York

One of a Kind Garden Duplex Harlem Apt
average rating of 4.75 based on 27 reviews
business
One of a Kind Garden Duplex Harlem Apt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356909
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
5

Great Harlem Apt!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a wonderful stay at this Harlem Apartment. From when we were trying to figure out if we'd like to stay there until we left, our host was very prompt with all communications, answering all our questions and ensuring that we were aware of all necessary information. The description posted was accurate to the actual apartment. The location was very convenient--only a short walk to the Subway which proved to be very nice. We were also able to easily walk or jog to Central Park for our morning walks and jogs. We felt safe and had some pleasant interactions with our neighbors. The property had all of the amenities listed. It was very clean and well maintained. The host also provided a helpful book of everything we needed to know about our apartment and some tips for what to do in the neighborhood. We would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative, or strongly consider it ourselves for a future stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
One of a Kind Garden Duplex Harlem Apt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356909
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
5

Great Harlem Apt!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a wonderful stay at this Harlem Apartment. From when we were trying to figure out if we'd like to stay there until we left, our host was very prompt with all communications, answering all our questions and ensuring that we were aware of all necessary information. The description posted was accurate to the actual apartment. The location was very convenient--only a short walk to the Subway which proved to be very nice. We were also able to easily walk or jog to Central Park for our morning walks and jogs. We felt safe and had some pleasant interactions with our neighbors. The property had all of the amenities listed. It was very clean and well maintained. The host also provided a helpful book of everything we needed to know about our apartment and some tips for what to do in the neighborhood. We would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative, or strongly consider it ourselves for a future stay!
business
One of a Kind Garden Duplex Harlem Apt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356909
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
5

Clean, comfortable, attractive

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Stayed for 9 days in September. The apartment is clean, very comfortable and well appointed. It was very spacious for our family of four and throughout the stay we had no issues at all. The area is great - lots to see and do and plenty of history, even on 119th street. No issues at all with the area being 'sketchy', as some other reviews have described it. The local residents were very relaxed and we had no problems walking around both night and day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
One of a Kind Garden Duplex Harlem Apt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356909
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
5

Attractive, comfortable and clean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our family of four stayed here for 9 days in September. The apartment is spacious, comfortable and beautifully furnished. Having two bathrooms and a separate sleeping area was perfect for us. Because the sleeping area is in the basement, it is quiet and dark - perfect for sleeping in or recovering from jetlag. We didn't need to contact Amal at all while we were there as everything worked perfectly, however, she was there to meet us on arrival and was very friendly and helpful. We didn't get to use the outside deck much (too cold for us!), but it was also a really lovely space for a quiet drink under the trees.
The area it's located in is also fantastic. There are plenty of things to do (even just walking the streets and exploring Harlem), lots of bars/live music/food within walking distance and the Apollo is not to be missed! Don't worry about reviews talking about 'sketchy' surroundings - we walked extensively both day and night and had no problems at all. The local residents were all very pleasant and relaxed.
business
One of a Kind Garden Duplex Harlem Apt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356909
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
Las Vegas
5

Felt like home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The appartment was as described. We felt like we were home as soon as we arrived. Plenty of city info, books, games, kitchen supllies (including coffee and spices) adn even laundry products. The location is conveniently located close to Central Park, grocery stores and the subway. The neighborhood is safe as we returned after 11pm every night with our 7 year old and walked the 3 blocks from the subway with no trouble. We really enjoyed our stay and would loved to have been able to stay longer. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
One of a Kind Garden Duplex Harlem Apt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356909
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
5

Bon séjour

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Appartement propre et chaleureux, bien équipé spacieux et lumineux. Nous avons passé un superbe séjour. le seul bémole est que la porte de la terasse ne ferme pas a clé.
business
One of a Kind Garden Duplex Harlem Apt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356909
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
Juneau, Alaska
5

Excellent Place to Land!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This apartment was a wonderful place for our family. Although there were only four of us (two adults, two teens), we appreciated the room to spread out. Everything about the apartment was great: the beds were comfortable, the kitchen was well appointed and easy to use, the bathrooms were great, and we enjoyed the outside deck. There was a very nice supermarket right outside the subway station which is located just a short walk away. Amal was great, she was very responsive to our requests though honestly, we didn't need much because everything in the apartment was very well thought out. I would highly recommend staying here.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you Mila for the great review, we are very proud of our place and are so happy you were able to enjoy it as much as we do!
business
One of a Kind Garden Duplex Harlem Apt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356909
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
5

Clean, comfortable, safe.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This is a wonderful apartment with a kind and responsive owner. The decor is nice and the apartment was spacious enough for four women to coexist peacefully. The apartment was clean and looked exactly as photographed.
The location is great--short walk to the subway station/easy to catch a cab. Great restaurants within walking distance. I would be happy to stay here on my next trip to NYC.
business
One of a Kind Garden Duplex Harlem Apt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356909
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
5

Conformable, clean and spacious

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We were a group of four adults and a child and we were very comfortable here. Everything was very clean (towels, bedding, bathrooms, full kitchen) and spacious. The fact that it has two bathrooms was perfect. Subway line is a couple of blocks away. Grocery store and pharmacy are also very close. We had the chance to sleep until late and have homemade breakfast, thanks to the full equipped kitchen. On our lazy night we ask for delivery and they came right to our door. We also visited a couple of great restaurants not so far from there. The backyard was fun for our little one in the mornings.

Baby mattress was available too, but you have to bring your baby bed lining. My infant was obedient and did not approach the stairs but If your kids are too active, please be aware that this apartment have a fairly steep stairway into the bedroom/basement.

Before we arrived we received a well appreciated message with all the info of our stay and some other helpful tips. As we arrived we had some problems to open the door but as soon as we got to know the system it was pretty easy. Amal (the owner) certainly did our life easier. We did not had to worried for the fact that we did not had a "front desk". We communicate with her via email, but she always answered very quick. She made all the difference by letting us in before the check-in time and providing car services information to get us to the airport (JFK) for a flat fee.

It was very good for the price and we will definitely recommend and consider this property for future trips.
Owner's Response: Johann you and your group were a pleasure to have! I am glad everything was to your liking and we can't wait to have you again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
One of a Kind Garden Duplex Harlem Apt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356909
+1 646 408-1199
Harlem Manhattan
Manassas, VA
4

Harlem Get Away

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I liked this well thought out apartment. It was comfortable and felt like a home. It was exactly as pictured on the website. We spent a long weekend in New York. The apartment was a nice respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. I would rate the it a 5 star.

The neighborhood I would rate as 3 star. The apartment was close to a grocery store and a couple of subway lines. The street the apt. is on did not have a lot of car traffic, but it did have people hanging out on their stoops or on the sidewalk in chairs and barbecuing in the streets with loud music playing. At no time did we feel unsafe, I just wanted to paint an accurate of the street life.

The owner is great with her communication.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1