Corolla house rental - High Dune. Large 6 bedroom home sleeps 14, only 2 blocks from beach and pools.
High Dune. Large 6 bedroom home sleeps 14, only 2 blocks from beach and pools.
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Corolla House Rental Photos and Description
House, 6 Bedrooms, 4 full, 1 half Baths, (Sleeps 14) and beds for all

Our home is a wonderful gathering place for large families to come together. One of the greatest assets is you can walk, bike or use the community trolly to go anywhere for the week, never having to use your car once you arrive. Just kick back, relax and watch the birds, sunrises, sunsets and the beautiful heaven of stars all from High Dune, the highest point in all of Corolla Light.

High Dune has 6 large bedrooms, all with a deck for just relaxing after a beautiful day at the beach. You can be as busy or relaxed as you want while staying here. There is something for everyone. Walking or biking, nature trails weave through the development. You can walk the Currituck Lighthouse or just admire the beauty from afar. Be sure and visit the Whalehead Club, an authentic hunt club from the early 20th century , totally restored. Unique shops and restaurants are all within walking distance. The Club House Cafe boasts the best crabcakes on the Outer Banks. But of course, the recipe is from the owners grandmother in Baltimore, MD.

A vacation in our home at Corolla Light will be a fond memory for you and your family for many years to come. I know you will enoy our home as much as we do whether it be in the vacation months of summer or the beautiful spring or fall when all the world seems to stand still in Corolla Light, N.C.

Keywords: Vacation house, Beach House,

More Details
Hide Details

We have 4 grown children and 5 grandchildren from the ages of 2-8 who all love Corolla Light. We reside in Hagerstown, MD and have 2 family owned businesses, Corey's Construction and Green Concrete Works, each operated by one of our sons.

I am a Registered Nurse, working part time so we get to enjoy a lot of time at the beach. We will be retiring in several years and plan on staying several weeks in the fall and spring, to us the most beautiful time there.

John and Sandra Green purchased this house in 1996

We fell in love with Corolla Light on our first trip. We had 4 young, who have now turned into 4 grown children with spouses and children of their own. We have always loved the ocean and the beach and everything that goes with it. The people were so friendly and the community was pristine. There were wild ponies and deer and foxes and cats and just lots to do. We were hooked. And then we bought our house with 6 bedrooms and beautiful views, sitting high on a sanddune overlooking everything. We felt like we were on top of the world. We loved our house and over the years have done a lot of fun things to the house and lots of fond memories. We just gathered there last week for Easter. Everyone from my 88 year old father to the youngest of 4 months and enjoyed wonderful days on the beach together. We hope you will enjoy Corolla Light and High Dune as much as we do.

We love to watch the sunrise over the ocean from our ships watch and sunset in the evening from the dock overlooking Albermarle Sound rivaling only that of Key West. We never have a vacation without visiting the Club House Cafe watching the moon rise over the ocean while dining on their second floor deck, enjoying some of the best cuisine in the area. Our favorite pastime is just sitting on the beach with family or friends enjoying the total beauty of the world.

7 Reviews of Property 356492 in Corolla, North Carolina

Large Oceanside Home 2 blocks from Beach and oceanfront pools
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Large Oceanside Home 2 blocks from Beach and oceanfront pools
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356492vbi
301-331-6934
Corolla Outer Banks
Hagerstown, MD
5

Love this beautiful beach house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our most recent stay was obviously out of season which was a romantic get away for my husband and I. It is a great home, filled with a great kitchen - (we like to cook), plenty of adorable bedrooms nicely appointed and lots of bathrooms that have recently been updated. The kitchen has also been updated and love having 2 dish washers when there with a crowd! We love sitting in the ships watch having our morning coffee while getting a peak at the ocean. Location is excellent any season you visit. We've had the pleasure of staying here numerous times before our get away with 5 other couples and have had plenty of room for all. We love the short walk over to the bay side to catch the sunsets! Bikes are available at the house and some great trails close by. The house has always been spotless and well maintained. Clearly the owners put a lot of love and tender care into High Dune! You don't want to miss the North Banks Restaurant and Bar just a short drive - best fresh oysters around! And you will go back every day for breakfast at the awesome Bagel shop - the Lighthouse Bagels and Deli! Food store and other shops are all close by. The walk up the lighthouse is worth the time too! We can't say enough about High Dune and hope you get to enjoy it soon too! Can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice words. You've expressed my sentiments exactly and also picked my favorite restaurants. We always hope our guests love our house as much as we do and strive to maintain our home to high standards while making it comfortable for a single-couple having a romantic weekend or a large group having a family reunion. Check back next year, we are hoping to install a hot tub!
business
Large Oceanside Home 2 blocks from Beach and oceanfront pools
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356492vbi
301-331-6934
Corolla Outer Banks
5

Perfect for a family wedding.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Thank you John and Sandra! We were extremely pleased with our whole rental experience, from the easy and helpful way you worked with us to your clean and well appointed home. This house is impressive. We had a family wedding in the area and we needed to bring our whole extended family (3 adult children and spouses, grandchildren, aunts, etc.....) and there was enough space here for everyone. This house is not just about bedrooms, the impressive thing about it is the amount of general living space. Large eating areas and seperate lounge areas where it seemed like everything we needed had already been thought of and was there. Games, TV, WiFi (use the WEP key the password only worked on some phones) and great lighting made living there easy. The kitchen needs special mention. It is extremely well equiped and big enough to prep a Thanksgiving size dinner for everyone staying in the bedrooms and then some. We will definately come back here the next time we vacation in the area.
Thanks again for a great stay at a great price.!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words..and thank you most for renting our home. Its only because of our guests that we can own our home and we always hope our guests love our home as much as we do. we only treat everyone as we hope we would be treated. We hope you can come back soon.thanks again for choosing our home. Sandra and John
business
Large Oceanside Home 2 blocks from Beach and oceanfront pools
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356492vbi
301-331-6934
Corolla Outer Banks
Lehigh Valley, PA
5

High Dunes

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Lovely family friendly home, very well located in Corolla Light. This home is thoughtfully appointed, well equipped and a very enjoyable place to stay.
Be aware!: the driveway is pretty steep, but it's worth it once you are in that screened pitch at treetop level. Truly a wonderful house!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Large Oceanside Home 2 blocks from Beach and oceanfront pools
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356492vbi
301-331-6934
Corolla Outer Banks
Middleburg, Va.
5

Most Relaxing Vacation!!!! Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Tjis was my first time at the OBX, and it was the most relaxing and fun vacation that I have had since Jamaica! The house is clean and beautiful, along with the amenities! This is the vacation house for you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed our home. We think the Outer Banks is the best place ever, especially in the off season. thank you for renting our home. Come back anytime and tell your friends about us. We love to rent off season and will give you a great deal!!
business
Large Oceanside Home 2 blocks from Beach and oceanfront pools
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356492vbi
301-331-6934
Corolla Outer Banks
Middleburg, VA
5

LOVED this beach home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I just returned from a Girls' Weekend at High Dune. We all had a great time. The house was perfect! There were more bedrooms than we needed, and all so cute it was hard to decide which ones we wanted to sleep in (I chose the Mermaid Room!). The house is spacious so everyone had a place to hang out if they wanted some quiet time, but the layout also promoted a 'together-ness' feeling as well. There were decks EVERYwhere from each bedroom to every shared room. I loved opening the curtains for my bedroom's sliding glass door every morning to welcome in the North Carolina sun. I especially loved the deck off of the family room, where the sun hung out all day as we enjoyed some wine and cheese and got a little tan.
We were obviously there off season--it was wonderful having the town to ourselves. We took advantage of the great sales as the retailers cleared out their old merchandise for new goodies. We enjoyed the peace and quiet, although the ocean was rough and you could hear every wave from the house. While the waves were rough, it brought many beautiful star fish ashore, which was exciting to see.
Needless to say, I would recommend High Dune. The owners clearly love their home and have taken great care to make it a welcoming place for their renters. Corolla Light is a fabulous gated community far enough away from it all to feel secluded, but close enough to get to anywhere you want. The community has tennis courts, pools, a skate park, a large playground, a trolley, a club with a restaurant overlooking the beach and a shopping area with great restaurants. I have been there off-season, in-season and mid-season, and I keep coming back to the same home! Great place for a family vacation or a girls getaway.
PS I actually even took my kids there one week off season to take advantage of all of the educational opportunities near Corolla. There is a surprising amount of museums, educational facilities, etc in the area (I called a local elementary school principal to get a list.).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice comments about our home. Glad you had such a nice time and enjoy the area as much as we do. We hope you can come back again soon.
business
Large Oceanside Home 2 blocks from Beach and oceanfront pools
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356492vbi
301-331-6934
Corolla Outer Banks
Hagerstown, MD
5

Very clean, modern and roomy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
High Dune easily accommodated our group of 6 adults and 6 children. Very clean and roomy. Has a modern feel to the house which we have found to be rare when traveling. The shuttle that picks you up at the house and takes you to the beach is very convenient and we never ran out of things to do at the resort. We will definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Large Oceanside Home 2 blocks from Beach and oceanfront pools
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356492vbi
301-331-6934
Corolla Outer Banks
Western Maryland
5

Vacation Stay @ High Dune: year 2

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was the second vacation we have taken at High Dune. We have come with two other families, totalling 12 people, and stayed for a week. We all loved the house. There was nothing more we could have asked for at the house. There was plenty of room for the 12 of us, 6 adults and 6 children, we did not get in each others way. We particularly enjoyed the cul de sac High Dune is located in, where our children could ride their bikes safely out of the way of street traffic. We used the back path behind the house often to cut across the development for our 'jogs' and the bike bath right off the cul de sac for our bike outings. A tram came right to the driveway to pick us up and take us to the pool and beach and deliver us back home. Most days we just enjoyed the leisurely walk down the street.
We will once again be staying at High Dune, with all the same families, in the summer of 2013! You can't miss with this home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words regarding our beach home. we are always pleased when our guests enjoy our home as much as we do. So glad you are coming back again this year. I think you will enjoy the improvements that we have made. we have remodeled 2 of our bathrooms with tiled floors and shower and a new tub. Enjoy!!