Guntersville Lake cabin rental - The front of Eagles Nest faces the bluff and the gorgeous sunrises.
The front of Eagles Nest faces the bluff and the gorgeous sunrises.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Guntersville Lake Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Due to a cancellation the first weekend in June is now open!! This is the only full weekend available until JULY 2014!! Grab it while you can:) Welcome to Eagles Nest at High Falls. This cabin is a 10-year dream for my husband and myself. This 'new' cabin is perfectly appointed. It was originally built in New Market, Alabama in 1836 and has been carefully moved and rebuilt on its present site high atop the mountain overlooking the Tennessee Valley Divide and Town creek. You will feel like you are a million miles away from everything but are only a 30 minute drive to many great restaurants and great shopping in downtown Guntersville. You are also only 20 minutes to Guntersville State Park with its hiking, fishing and swimming just to name a few of its amenities. Drive 30 minutes in the other direction and you can choose to visit Buck's Pocket State Park or High Falls Park, where for those with a great sense of adventure, (or a lack of better judgment), can jump off of the 40 foot Falls into to swimming hole below. The cabin itself boasts 8' to 12' wide hand hewn poplar logs, the original pine and poplar floors have been refinished while maintaining as much of the original character and patina as possible. The home is furnished with many period appropriate antiques and a King size bed made from reclaimed barn wood from the 1800's. A study complete with a desk and an incredible view of the gorge below is just off the master bedroom and would make a perfect spot for pastors seeking a time of prayer and retreat and sermon planning. The plush sofa and chairs in the family room make relaxing easy. The rocking chairs on the front porch offer a place to sit and watch the sunset over the mountains around you while listening to the sound of the water running over the two waterfalls on either side of the almost 10 acres atop the mountain. During the winter months Bald Eagles nest along the bluff and can be seen soaring along the rim of the bluff and you will have a front row seat. Eagles Nest at High Falls is the perfect spot for just one and would be an ideal place for a couple’s getaway too, but it will sleep up to 4 people. Please keep that in mind for any prayer and “rest” retreats that you or any of your friends church leaders might need. We do offer Gift Certificates! Quote from a recent visitor to Eagles Nest at High Falls' who needs to go to Gatlinburg when you have a place this amazing right in your own back yard!' Summer and Fall dates are filling up fast! Hurry and make your getaway plans soon! Check out our calendar link to see if one of our open dates would be perfect for you. •••••Tell your husband to whisk you away on a romantic retreat to the mountains. ••••

Keywords: antique log cabin, pre civil war log cabin, mountaintop cabin

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I have 4 wonderful children and we manage 2 vacation rental properties which I have renovated.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2010

The view from this mountaintop is absolutely amazing and was the perfect spot for us to relocate the cabin to.

Breathtaking views, hiking, watching the wildlife around you. One of the most unique benefits you will receive is solitude and peace.

35 Reviews of Property 334070 in Guntersville Lake, Alabama

Mountaintop Log Cabin Getaway with Breathtaking Views, Eagles Nest at High Falls
average rating of 5.0 based on 35 reviews
business
Mountaintop Log Cabin Getaway with Breathtaking Views, Eagles Nest at High Falls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334070vb
256-658-3244
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Dream Rental House Tour: Eagles Nest at High Falls

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We took a nice three day weekend vacation over Veteran’s day weekend to Guntersville, Alabama. I spent many childhood vacations at Guntersville State Park, so I have many great memories there when I was my son's age. This seemed like a fun place to take him for a weekend filled with nature, quietness and togetherness. When I stumbled upon this cabin that has quite an awesome story behind it, I knew I just had to book it to stay here on vacation. According to the VRBO listing, it was originally built in New Market, Alabama in 1836 and has been carefully moved and rebuilt on its present site high atop the mountain overlooking the Tennessee Valley Divide and Town creek. The story of the cabin is what drew me to the place, but I could not have prepared for just how awe-inspiring it would be once we arrived to this sacred piece of Earth. There was only one other house as far as we could see in any direction. The silence was wonderfully deafening. There aren’t quite enough words to describe how peaceful and beautiful this place was. Seriously, no detail was left overlooked. Everything was perfection. To think that the original cabin was built over 175 years ago just blows my mind. You HAVE to watch the video above if you have a minute to see the whole story from start to finish. For photos from this trip please check out unskinnyboppy.com's blog and look for the post "Dream Rental House Tour: Eagles Nest at High Falls"
business
Mountaintop Log Cabin Getaway with Breathtaking Views, Eagles Nest at High Falls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334070vb
256-658-3244
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our second visit to the Eagle's Nest was even better than the first because we stayed an extra night. We highly recommend this cabin to couples who really want to get away from it all, relax, and enjoy being together. You will find everything you need for an enjoyable stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Mountaintop Log Cabin Getaway with Breathtaking Views, Eagles Nest at High Falls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334070vb
256-658-3244
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
5

Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Deb and I got Engaged at Eagles Nest in June and returned for our Honeymoon. Eagles Nest will always be Our Special Place.
Karen, Thank You So Much for your Wonderful Cabin!!!
Look Forward to a Weekend Getaway again. Thank You Ronny and Deb Jasper Al
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Mountaintop Log Cabin Getaway with Breathtaking Views, Eagles Nest at High Falls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334070vb
256-658-3244
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

The Proposal

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My boyfriend and I came on October 12, 2013 for a two night stay. The cabin and scenery are both amazing. The cabin is beautiful and stocked with absolutely everything you will need (except food). My boyfriend proposed on our first evening there and it was magical. He couldn't of chosen a better place. We will definitely be back. It was everything we imagined and more : ).
business
Mountaintop Log Cabin Getaway with Breathtaking Views, Eagles Nest at High Falls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334070vb
256-658-3244
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
Where do you live?
5

eagles nest.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Had a wonderful time with the wife. It's just what you need to relax and get away. Loved the view and everything about the cabin. Would recommend for somebody to rest and relax. Loves it.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Mountaintop Log Cabin Getaway with Breathtaking Views, Eagles Nest at High Falls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334070vb
256-658-3244
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
Lewisburg
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Beautiful place. Peaceful. Amazing view. The only con
Would be that the cabin is located a long way away
From grocery stores or restaurants that we were interested
In. Other than that. Perfect!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Mountaintop Log Cabin Getaway with Breathtaking Views, Eagles Nest at High Falls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334070vb
256-658-3244
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Eagles Nest Trip was ABSOLUTELY THE BEST!!!!!!
Stayed June 21,22 and 23, Best Vacation I have EVER had!!!!
Accommodations were Second to None!!!!!
Karen, we both had a Very Relaxed Trip,
. The Sun Rise through the Bedroom Window was Spectacular!!!!
TV was never turned on. Look forward to a stay at Eagles Nest again!!!!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mountaintop Log Cabin Getaway with Breathtaking Views, Eagles Nest at High Falls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334070vb
256-658-3244
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
Delta, Al
5

Lost track of time......

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Besides upscale accomodations as presented, even had binoculars for viewing the canyon, bug spray to kill a hornet that got on the screen porch, the bed was super comfortable and plush toilet tissue!! Will go back....only downside was local channels only on the TV and AC upstairs was pushed when it is 90 degrees outside ---got to 76 degrees upstairs during late afternoon but cooled down to 72 by 9pm---met the cleaning lady and her family and super nice and professional !!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad that you guys had a great time. One of the downsides of having our quaint little cabin have 2 stories is that the upstairs does not cool quite as well as the downstairs in the summer. That is why we put in the double ceiling fan in the master bedroom and also have a couple of desk fans available for our guests use to help circulate the cooler air throughout the upstairs. We did move the thermostat up a little higher in hopes of having a more accurate reading between the 2 levels, but it still seems that downstairs cools much more quickly than upstairs. Hopefully the cozy throws downstairs will keep you comfy while watching movies or hanging out downstairs and the fans will help to keep you cool until the sun goes down and upstairs cools to the same temp as downstairs. We do have an HD antenae for picking up the local stations on the 42" flat screen TV but because we are in such an isolated location, we cannot get cable or internet to the cabin. We hope that this isolation is a blessing and not a curse. It is so hard to relax and unwind with all the distractions that surround us at home and at work. We hope that our guests are able to get away from all of those distractions as they unplug and enjoy the peace and quiet. Thanks again and I do hope that you guys are able to come back soon!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Mountaintop Log Cabin Getaway with Breathtaking Views, Eagles Nest at High Falls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334070vb
256-658-3244
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
Plant City, Fl
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The pictures cannot do this place justice. Absolutely spectacular views and the cabin itself is unlike anything I have ever seen. We have rented a number of cabins all over the Georgia high country, and this beats them all. A true old style rustic cabin with all the necessary modern amenities! No cell phone or internet was a blessing...truly able to disconnect, unwind and enjoy being together as a family.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Mountaintop Log Cabin Getaway with Breathtaking Views, Eagles Nest at High Falls
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334070vb
256-658-3244
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
Hernando, MS
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My fiancee and I went up for a birthday getaway. We were worried when we saw the dirt drive but that all went away when we saw the amazing cabin. From now on, anytime I hear someone say, I want to get away where there are no cell phones and just relax - this is absolutely the place to go. Hearing the water rushing below and absolutely no one around to disturb us at all. Absolutely amazing place. I highly recommend!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/7