Shelter Island house rental - Read or work on you tan as you lounge by the pool. Sun from morning to evening.
Read or work on you tan as you lounge by the pool. Sun from morning to evening.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 14 nights
 

Shelter Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Available for full summer and monthly rentals only.

Clean, modern and uncluttered with a focus on comfort, this property will make you feel as though you are staying at a chic boutique hotel. Recently renovated and decorated. Everything is fresh!

Laze around the pool in the spa like setting or stroll 2 1/2 blocks to the beach to collect shells or watch the sunset. Take a short bike ride (3 provided) to Hay Beach for a dip in the water at the best swimming beach on the island. Relax in the spacious living room with wood burning fireplace or in the roomy den where you can stream your Netflix movies on the new 46' LED TV. The covered front porch is a great place to enjoy a good book, an afternoon nap or glass of wine before dinner. Fire up the new Weber gas grill and have a meal outside overlooking the sparkling pool or in the formal dining room featuring a breathtaking green onyx table and vintage chandelier. After dinner have your dessert out on the deck while looking at the stars above.

Mornings in this secluded neighborhood are calm and quiet, perfect for sleeping in. Each of the three bedrooms has new wood floors, soft area rugs, designer linens, down comforters, cotton throws and plenty of pillows. No one will feel like they got the reject room! The master has a queen bed and private bath, the second queen looks out on the pool and the adorable twin bedroom has dapple morning light filtering through a giant tree. The brand new chef's kitchen features a Viking stove and high end appliances and is well equipped with cookware and tools, new dishware and glasses, and basic pantry items. Use your laptop and our WIFI to catch up on e-mails or surf the internet while sipping coffee at the the bright kitchen table overlooking pool. Head out for a peaceful early morning walk around Hay Beach point and be back in time for breakfast.

Don't feel like cooking? Head to town, only 5 minutes away, for the best coffee at Stars Cafe, an addictive lobster roll or flat pizza at Redding's Market or a top quality gourmet meal at Vine St. Cafe. Pick up toys and beach items at the Deering Harbor department store, shop the beautiful boutiques on Grand St. or head over to Marika's to find a treasure at her eclectic antique store.

Reconnect with nature in the Mashomack Preserve, a 2,100-acre wonderland with ten miles of coastline, creeks, forests, salt marshes and quiet meadows owned by the Nature Conservancy. Hit the hiking trails for quick and easy (1.5 miles) or lengthy and rigorous (11 miles) walk. Other outdoor activities include fishing, golf, tennis, biking, and sailing. You'll find information about where to go for what in a folder at the house or you can just ask one of the many friendly people you will come upon during your stay.

Keywords: Beach House

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 356336 in Shelter Island, New York

Stylish Shelter Island Home with Pool and Walk to Beach.
average rating of 4.714286 based on 8 reviews
business
Stylish Shelter Island Home with Pool and Walk to Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356336vb
(201) 333-3983 (New Jersey, USA)
Shelter Island Hamptons
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Everything was wonderful!

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
"I never sent you a note on how much we enjoyed your house. From the decor,to the yard, everything was wonderful. We will definitely be back."
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Stylish Shelter Island Home with Pool and Walk to Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356336vb
(201) 333-3983 (New Jersey, USA)
Shelter Island Hamptons
Brooklyn
5

Rest and Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
If you are in need or want a little R and R, this house provides the ultimate in rest and relaxation. We spent 10 wonderful days here and honestly were a little heart broken we had to leave. The decor of the house is hip yet comfortable. Super clean! The kitchen is stocked with everything you would ever need. Nice outdoor grill and comfortable outdoor/pool furniture. The yard/pool was private and beautiful! Great location, close to beaches and restaurants. Bikes are available to ride around the island. The owner of the house was fantastic and so helpful with information about the island. Shelter Island is a sleepy coastal town, and every inch is beautiful. If you get a chance, visit the local farmer's market. We hope to go back next year and would recommend this house to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you loved the house and property and had a relaxing stay. You described the exact vacation I set the house up for and wish for all our guests. It sounds like you also fell in love with Shelter Island. It is such a special place. I look forward to having you rent my home again anytime. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Kate
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stylish Shelter Island Home with Pool and Walk to Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356336vb
(201) 333-3983 (New Jersey, USA)
Shelter Island Hamptons
NYC
5

Stylish Shelter Island Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was one of the best weeks that I have spent with my family. The house was perfect for us - plenty of room to spread out and relax. The pool, the focal point of our vacation, was great. We arrived to a clean, uncluttered, chic house with everything from baking tools to pool toys to bicycles in easy to find places. The photos accurately reflect the house and the owner was always available to answer any questions we had. We fell in love with Shelter Island, with all of it's nooks and crannies, restaurants, shops, places to walk and collect beautiful shells and stones. Vine Street Cafe was a high point, as was lunch of raw clams and bloody mary's at Salt. We hope to go back next year and would recommend this house to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stylish Shelter Island Home with Pool and Walk to Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356336vb
(201) 333-3983 (New Jersey, USA)
Shelter Island Hamptons
New York
5

Perfect place to relax and unwind

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We spent two weeks at this property and absolutely loved it. The owners have taken excellent care of this home and it is very well equipped. The outdoor area is fantastic - we loved the mini bar area beside the BBQ and the outdoor dining unit. The weather was great so we ate outside almost every evening and loved it. The pool and gardens are also very well cared for.
The home is situated in a very peaceful neighborhood so perfect for relaxing. It is ideal for walkers, joggers and cyclists as the roads are quiet and there is a speed limit of 35 mph. Hay Beach was the closest beach and was our favourite. It is great for swimming and also for Paddleboarding (you can rent nearby). The owners provided a recommendation list for places to visit in the area including some great suggestions for restaurants.
The amenities within the property are as described and in good condition. The wireless was excellent and worked in the outdoor areas in addition to all the rooms within the house.
The only downside in the property was the fact that two of the bedrooms did not have an AC unit which made them quite uncomfortable during the night.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stylish Shelter Island Home with Pool and Walk to Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356336vb
(201) 333-3983 (New Jersey, USA)
Shelter Island Hamptons
Princeton Junction, NJ
4

Stylish Shelter Island Home needs just a little TLC

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Overall, this is a wonderful property as rental properties go. With a little more TLC, it could be truly outstanding. Many of the rooms are "super" and the beds are very comfortable. The kitchen is wonderfully equipped and well organized. For those of you who care (we did not), there is no microwave. The bathrooms are good and the master bath is fantastic. So, what's not to like? I guess I would say the family room (the ONLY one with a TV) was really not very comfortable. The couch saw better days years ago and leaks feathers when you sit on it. The patio furniture is plentiful and comfortable but seems to be deteriorating a bit from being in the weather because it leaves white "lint" on you whenever you sit on it. The house comes with plenty of luxurious beach towels and I suggest you use these on the chairs before you sit. The pool is great. The one thing that is missing (and we missed it!) is central A/C. There is a wall unit in the family room and another in the master B/R but they are not adequate when the humidity is up. The other two bedrooms are hot! Fans (provided) help a little. It would be nice if the bed rooms had blackout shades (they do not) All in all though, I don't think you can go wrong with this property. The owner is attentive to your needs.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: In addition to full renovation of the kitchen, central air, tv/cable in master bedroom, brand new outdoor teak dining set and chaise lounges, black out curtains in all rooms, a microwave and new sofa cover (sofa was designed and made for jonathan adler and is fabulous) were added in 2013.
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Stylish Shelter Island Home with Pool and Walk to Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356336vb
(201) 333-3983 (New Jersey, USA)
Shelter Island Hamptons
5

Lovely House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our family of four had a wonderful stay at this lovely home. The house was clean and very comfortable. It seemed no detail has been overlooked to provide for a great vacation. We particularly liked the kitchen which had ample supplies for cooking and baking! The house is perfectly situated in walking distance to the beach and an easy drive to town. Kate is a gracious and stylish host indeed!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stylish Shelter Island Home with Pool and Walk to Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356336vb
(201) 333-3983 (New Jersey, USA)
Shelter Island Hamptons
New York, NY, USA
4

A lovely spot

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We are sticklers for beautiful design, and always find it hard to find just the right place... Kate's home on Shelter Island was modern, comfortable, a lovely place to stay - and equipped with everything you might need to have a home away from home. Everything was within biking distance, include one of the nicest beaches on the island. We recommend it highly.
business
Stylish Shelter Island Home with Pool and Walk to Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356336vb
(201) 333-3983 (New Jersey, USA)
Shelter Island Hamptons
Manhattan
5

Shelter Island Jewel with Pool and Beach - Perfect NY Get away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We had a lovely weekend in Shelter Island and were very impressed by this Stylish home that is perfectly placed for privacy and a short walk to the beach. We felt the owner's taste to every detail was perfect. From the designer furniture to the bed linens. We spent romantic evenings sipping wine at the fireplace and warm days sun bathing and swimming in the pool. I highly recommend this home and we look forward to returning.
Helpful votes: 2/2