Blowing Rock cottage rental - Caleb's Outlook sits on Misty Mountain, looking out at Grandfather Mountain
Caleb's Outlook sits on Misty Mountain, looking out at Grandfather Mountain
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Blowing Rock Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Quiet and Away From It All! Great View!

If you love Rhododendrons in June then this could be the perfect place for a relaxing honeymoon or for celebrating your anniversary.Have you ever wanted to spend time just staring out at a spectacular mountain view? To be able to look at the fog move in and out and never have to leave your recliner to do so. Take time to just watch the rain, sleet, snow or enjoy the wind blowing the trees and while you kick back and relax. In Caleb's Outlook you can see the mountains just fine without having to hike or ride anymore than you want. It is all right there for you. Sit right there on your deck or get laid back on the sofa bed and see Grandfather Mountain and even the Viaduct. You can see cars traveling by at a distance on the Viaduct. Caleb's Outlook is roomy and comfortable with everything you need to have a great stay. Location is about as good as it gets. In only a couple of minutes you can be on the Parkway or in the heart of Blowing Rock. Both are really a very short drive away, less than five minutes. It's a very comfortable mountain home in Misty Mountain,Blowing Rock, North Carolina with a straight on view of Grandfather Mountain. You will enjoy the view no matter what the weather or just take in the enchanting fog as it moves in. Caleb's is spacious and comfortable with a greatroom that offers a vaulted ceiling making it a true mountain home. There's a stone fireplace with gas logs for your comfort, and a nice flat screen TV with a huge selection of videos, There's a Wii that offers Netflix and games for your enjoyment.There's one bedroom with a spectacular view and bedcovers with warm, earthy shades.'Cabin Bear Bedding' with silhouettes of bears, cabins, fir trees, and mountains displayed in hues of warm chocolate, rust, deep red, and periwinkle. It adds a peaceful and inviting touch to the bedroom decor. The bedroom is joined by your own full size bathroom. Caleb's has a large living/dining area. The kitchen is complete with everything you need to make all your favorite dishes. There's a dishwasher, garbage disposal, microwave, and lots of pots and other necessary equipment for cooking simple or not so simple meals. Enjoy the hand painted bear theme dishes. Out back you can enjoy a spacious deck with what you will need for grilling and relaxing. The queen mattress in the Master Bedroom is very comfortable and in the living room you can let the children camp out on the queen sofa bed. The view is outstanding and that is no exaggeratation! Finding something to do is no problem. Go south on the Parkway and enjoy Linville Falls and Grandfather Mountain. Linville has caverns and waterfalls for your enjoyment. Don't forget about Tweetsie Railroad. There's also a museum you might want to check out in Little Switzerland. Skiing is close by for those of you who enjoy snow and hot chocolate. Go north and enjoy Blowing Rock, Boone, West Jefferson, and maybe even go on a little further and enjoy the Creeper Railroad Museum and Jefferson Park. West Jefferson is a tourist town similar to Blowing Rock. You need to spend a day exploring. They have a cheese factory and a Amish furniture store. And if you love tressels then please take time to walk or bike the Creeper Trail. No matter which direction you take for exploring it is always nice to come back to a comfortable bed for a good night's rest. Within 10 minutes you can find many choices for foods. In Blowing Rock you have many choices for fine dining or just visit their grocery store for loads of choices. But if you'd like to make the 10 minute drive to Boone you can more than double your choices. Blowing Rock offers lots of choices for ice cream and candies. Enjoy one of their fine restaurants or go to one of their more casual one, the list goes on and on. They have a really nice park there that you can feel comfortable in any time night or day. Just park and let your children swing and slide all they like. You will also find basketball courts and public restrooms. 'Woodlands' is a great place to call in an order of chicken, bar b que, or burgers, run by and pick it up and stop at one of the several parks and enjoy. On 221 heading out of Blowing Rock you will find a very nice park to cook or enjoy some take out foods. It too has nice clean restrooms. Charcoal grills are there making a cookout very easy. Holly Lane is a very quiet street, nice for short strolls. The house has a nice open plan with everything you need. The view is great and it is in a super neighborhood. Nice and quiet with great neighbors. We will be there to let you in after your long drive.

We are both educators working from home. We live part of our time on the western part of the state but still go back to spend time close to the coast of NC to close to family. The picture above is of Caleb, our son, he is eight years old. We were fortunate enough to adopt him from China six years ago. God has blessed us in many ways- in finding one another and in having such a loving family.

By email: Tony (We live close by the rental but do travel) purchased this cottage in 2012

Being in Misty Mountain is like being at home, maybe even better. No matter what part of the North Carolina Mountains we visit from time to time we always end up back at Misty Mountain. This cottage is located in such an ideal setting. Very few cars coming and going next door, no barking dogs to wake you and the only stoplights are in town. It is just a great place to let your nerves settle. Take a cup of coffee out back and unwind. Or if you prefer you could enjoy a bottle of wine with a few crackers and cheese. You are away from it all but you do have nice quiet neighbors. Neighbors in Misty Mountain are quiet and the foliage gives you barriers. It cost little more than a hotel room but offers so much more. We are generally close by to take care of your needs.

The location is really quite ideal. Blowing Rock is touristy without being overdone. From Caleb's Outlook you can call in a good meal, jump in your car and be back ready to eat in 15 minutes without ever going through the middle of the bustling town. Or, just the opposite: Blowing Rock is a quaint little town, whether you want to enjoy the quiet streets for walking with the crowd on busy nights or go when the crowd has gone back home to get warm from a cold, snowy outing.So, either way, avoid the buzzing little town or jump right in- you'll have a nice stay either way. From the front, back or sides of Caleb's you see nothing but great scenery and nice houses sitting on perfectly landscaped yards. Misty Mountain neighborhood is full of upscale houses along with the original houses that were built in the late 70's and 80's. It is a neighborhood where you will feel safe. The roads are curvy and steep but in A1 shape as the local crews keep them free from leaves or snow, whichever the case may be.

20 Reviews of Property 356263 in Blowing Rock, North Carolina

Great Location & Mountain View! Spring Weekend Special 5% off
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Great Location & Mountain View! Spring Weekend Special 5% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356263vbi
+1 9102149169
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Spectacular View

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our stay at Caleb's Outlook was great! We had considered staying in town this time and now we are so glad we did not, Caleb's was so comfortable. We loved everything about our stay-it is great come back to such a spacious but cozy home after spending a day in town. We did end up eating at Woodlands, enjoyed the music and guitar music/singing. Candy and ice cream were-as you said, "even better than what you find in Gatlinburg." You have a lovely place, I don't think we will ever stay in a hotel again. Thanks for sharing Caleb's with us.
business
Great Location & Mountain View! Spring Weekend Special 5% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356263vbi
+1 9102149169
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Perfect Fall Weekend in the Mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed at Caleb's Outlook during an absolutely beautiful fall weekend. The drive up Misty Mountain to the home was so pretty, and the view from the back deck was gorgeous. We had plenty of privacy and space to spread out in the home. The bathroom is small, but worked fine for two people. We enjoyed relaxing by the fireplace and the kitchen had everything you needed to cook meals. We attended a wedding in downtown Blowing Rock and the wedding reception in Boone. Both towns were conveniently close enough to travel to. We also visited Grandfather Mountain on our way out of town, which was a very windy 15 or so miles away. The owners were very nice to work with. We just wish it was pet friendly so we could bring our dogs when we come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great Location & Mountain View! Spring Weekend Special 5% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356263vbi
+1 9102149169
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Enjoyed stay & plan to return

Enjoyed stay & plan to return
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The end of September, my wife and I stayed a full week at Caleb’s Outlook in Blowing Rock, North Carolina. We were well pleased when we arrived at the cabin. We felt very safe because it was in a nice community, but yet had its privacy. On the back deck, there was a great view of Grandfather Mountain. We were also very pleased with the well equipped kitchen. The gas logs in the fireplace made it very cozy on cool mornings and evenings. The small town of Blowing Rock was quaint and friendly. The larger town of Boone was only 9 miles away. We had no complaints and plan to return in the near future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
business
Great Location & Mountain View! Spring Weekend Special 5% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356263vbi
+1 9102149169
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Hertford NC
5

Wonderful Week, Wonderful Views, Wonderful Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I just had the great privilege to vacation at Caleb's Outlook. If you are looking for rest, relaxation and beautiful views, this is the place for you. If you are looking for lots of activities, shopping and fun, this is the place for you. You are very close to Blowing Rock and just a few minutes from Boone. In Blowing Rock we dined at Canyons, the views were out of this world and the food was good and reasonably priced. We also ate at Woodlands, try the chicken, it is delicious. In Boone we ate at the Farm Cafe, the food was delicious and you are contributing to a great cause at the same time. We also visited the Mast General Store in Boone and the Original Mast General Store in Valle Crucis. This was very interesting and we took a step back in time. The time we spent at the cabin was very special and this will be a vacation we will always remember. Tony and Sybil always answered our questions quickly and were informative. The cabin is comfortable, immaculate and had all the amenities for comfort. The view off of the deck is outstanding and will remain in our memories forever. We will certainly vacation with Tony and Sybil again!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the wonderful review. We always strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible. Misty Mountain sure makes it great in itself. We have only had Caleb's Outlook for a year now but we have worked to make it everything you could want in a vacation spot. Hope to hear from you again real soon.
business
Great Location & Mountain View! Spring Weekend Special 5% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356263vbi
+1 9102149169
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Peaceful with Spectacular View

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
House was wonderful & rustic, linens were provided, kitchen was very complete. Loved the gas fireplace in the great room.
The view was terrific, and the little street on Misty Mountain was pretty and nice for walks.
Owners were really friendly and accommodating.
Would stay again any time, in fact will probably try to rent again in the summer.
Only suggestions: dresser in bedroom to unpack for longer stays, more lamps, & stronger light bulbs.
Overall, it was great!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Great Location & Mountain View! Spring Weekend Special 5% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356263vbi
+1 9102149169
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Cozy Mountain Cabin Get Away!

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I spent a lovely long weekend at Caleb's Outlook in Blowing Rock, NC. From the beginning, the owners were wonderful to work with. They responded quickly to every email we sent, and made sure we had all the information we needed prior to arriving at the cabin. The cabin itself was very clean and comfortable; it had the welcoming feel of staying in a friend's home for the weekend. The mountain views from the living room and deck were beautiful; unless you try you can't see a neighbor at all and it feels like you're alone at the top of the mountain. Located a short 5-minute drive from downtown Blowing Rock, it was easy to head to town for dinner or strolling down Main St, and the Blue Ridge Parkway was even closer. There is so much to do in and around Blowing Rock, and Caleb's Outlook is a perfect base for exploring the town and surrounding area. We would highly recommend Caleb's Outlook, and would love to rebook the cabin for our next visit to Blowing Rock.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Great Location & Mountain View! Spring Weekend Special 5% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356263vbi
+1 9102149169
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Cooperstown, NY
5

Peaceful Getaway, Year-Round Appeal

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We visited during the week in the spring, so we missed the many, many events that seem to be ongoing throughout the year. Yet it was the perfect getaway for my young son and I, only hours from home. In addition to many admission attractions, there's so much to do for free!

Caleb's Outlook is couched within unspoiled surroundings that instantly give rise to a peace within that made me feel like I never wanted to leave. And as for the amenities provided, we were left wanting for nothing, right down to dishwasher, washer/dryer, sheets, dishes, hair dryer, etc. (the towels are to DIE FOR!) Working while on vacation isn't ideal, but I was able to even make money while vacationing during downtime, as they DO have Internet access! (Also handy for looking up attractions and restaurants). My son was able to play in the yard while I watched from the deck, and after dark, there were plenty of entertainment options (video games, movies) provided to keep him occupied When you calculate the savings from what we would have spent dining out, and the convenience of having all the luxuries of home (and then some), even returning home was less stressful than your average vacation. My son and I both really enjoyed the whimsical black bear dishes, especially in the midst of the surrounding wilderness.

Even mid week we were able to visit Linville Caverns (a must see of natural wonder). I'm glad we looked up directions on their web site ahead of time though, as apparently relying on GPS systems can get you lost. My usual reliance on search engine directions would have surely resulted in disaster! Admission is reasonable, and it's only a short drive. I'm not a fan of big crowds and commercialism, so this area couldn't have been more perfect. It was a great time for connecting with my son, getting away from the everyday rat race, and rejuvenating. And Tony and Sybil couldn't be more accommodating. They were very concerned about our comfort and satisfaction, and patient with the directionally challenged (despite having looked up the directions ahead of time).

Blowing Rock is a destination I would choose for a getaway any time of year, and I plan on eventually hitting all four seasons. Its natural beauty is breathtaking. And I can only hope Caleb's Outlook is available for each of those return visits! Thanks for a wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Great Location & Mountain View! Spring Weekend Special 5% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356263vbi
+1 9102149169
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Newport, NC
5

Found a little slice of Heaven!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I went to Blowing Rock for business and I decided to make it a vacation while I was there and I stumbled across this property. It was just my fiance and myself that went and this home was perfect for the two of us. The view was fantastic and there was more than enough space for us two. I loved being able to sit on the couch and look at the mountains. The owners were wonderful to work with and they answered all my questions quickly. I can't wait to book again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. Sorry you got snowed in up there but seems it all worked itself out. We look forward to your return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Location & Mountain View! Spring Weekend Special 5% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356263vbi
+1 9102149169
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great Get-Away

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Thank you so much... We had a fantastic time. Your chalet is perfect for a romantic get away.
business
Great Location & Mountain View! Spring Weekend Special 5% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356263vbi
+1 9102149169
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

What a Wonderful View!

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We could not have enjoyed 'Caleb's Outlook' anymore than we did. Everything we needed was there. This was our first experience with something other than a hotel and we loved it. Your place is so private but yet so close to everything we wanted to see. We attempted to drive north and south on the Parkway but got stopped by the snow. Blowing Rock is such a romantic town to visit. We found your prices to be extremely reasonable, the view to be spectacular, and all the comforts of home waiting there for us. Thanks for getting our deposit back to us so quickly. That's the kind of thing that appeals to us, very efficient. Another thing I liked was using PayPal. We didn't even have an account but the transaction took just a few minutes and boom-we had reserved. So many times we go places and drive around checking prices of rooms, this was just amazing. Well, to sum it up, the place was outstanding, reasonably priced, easy to book, and perfect for allowing us to cook our meals with lots of space to keep us from getting stir-crazy. We will start referring to VRBO whenever we go anywhere. We will be back! Thanks for all your hospitality.
Helpful votes: 1/1