Minnesott Beach house rental - The River House
The River House
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Minnesott Beach House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 7-9)

The River House is a private home that stands on three and one half acres of peaceful, wooded privacy on the south shore of the tidal Neuse River. Central heat and air and ceiling fans provide year round climate comfort. Its three upstairs bedrooms sleep nine and there is room so that two or three more small-fry could always find a place to sleep. The living room's large windows provide a panoramic view of the river, and its large sofa and four easy chairs provide plenty of seating room to enjoy the big TV or the wood burning fireplace. In the dining room, the large table can easily seat eight and the adjacent bar can handle two more for meals. The kitchen is furnished with all appliances, dishes and utensils a cook could need. In the popular game room you will find a full size pool table, a game table, a selection of board games, a dart board and a TV.

Outside in the peace and quiet, the large deck overlooks the river that is three miles wide and stretches out into the Pamlico Sound to the East as far as the eye can see. There you can relax in the hammock or sit in one of the big rocking chairs and watch the great blue herons and the stealthy ospreys work the river for tasty seafood morsels. The grounds offer sandy beaches and a grassy yard with plenty of space for all kinds of fun and games - horseshoes, badminton, croquet, volleyball, softball or football just to name a few. The waters of the Neuse here offer an abundance of blue crabs and fish of many varieties. All can be caught right out on the River House fishing dock. Flounder gigging is also an excellent after dark pastime here on summer nights.

Boating is wonderful in this area. The River House is diagonally across the river from Oriental, the sailing capital of North Carolina.

The River House has its own boat ramp where small boats and jet skis can be launched. There is a deep water marina 1/2 mile away.

For those who want some ocean time, Atlantic Beach is only forty minutes away. For those who want to do some special shopping or sight seeing, historic Beaufort, New Bern and Morehead City are all within thirty to forty minutes. Golfers will find the Carolina Pines golf course only thirty minutes away. You can find grocery stores, drug stores, restaurants, movie theater, etc. in Havelock which is twelve miles away.

The River House is truly a wonderful place for family fun, for friends to gather, for sportsmen to make a home base, or even for business groups to hold team building retreats.

Kitchen- electric range and oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, coffee grinder, automatic coffee maker, dishes, silverware and full range of cooking utensils. Two grills outside, a charcoal Weber and a gas grill.

Washer/Dryer

Bedrooms-

Master - queen and queen sleeper sofa

Separated by folding room divider.

B/R 2 - queen

B/R 3 - one full and one twin

Other Inside Amenities -3 color TVs, 2 VCRs, DVD, stereo with cassette and CD player, full size pool table, dart board, game table, board games.

Outside- swimming, boating, fishing, crabbing, hiking (Croatan National Forest), horse shoes, croquet, large grassy yard for all kinds of ball games, golf course nearby, deer and duck hunting in season.

Our property manager, Jessica, resides in the separate apartment on the ground level. She will be glad to answer questions about our area. She is a US Marine Staff Sargent and by day works her duty in the drug and alcohol rules enforcement unit at the nearby Cherry Point Marine Air Station.

Keywords: house

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 355790 in Minnesott Beach, North Carolina

Wonderfully Appointed Riverfront Home on Three and a Half Acre
average rating of 4.9 based on 13 reviews
business
Wonderfully Appointed Riverfront Home on Three and a Half Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355790vb
(252) 241-1395 (North Carolina, USA)
Minnesott Beach Coastal North Carolina
St. Louis, MO
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My son is stationed at Cherry Point and we were looking to visit over Thanksgiving. Needed something that our family of 5 adults, including him would accommodate. The River House was perfect. We flew into New Bern on Thanksgiving Day and I wasn't even thinking that places wouldn't be opened that day. I asked Jerry and he checked the local stores for me and told me the hours they would be opened. Very nice! It was a little chilly and quite breezy for our stay (except the day we left the sun came out!) but that wasn't the reason we were there. We were 12 miles from Cherry Point, got to visit the base, took a day trip to Atlantic Beach and enjoyed the quaint town of New Bern and the birthplace of Pepsi-Cola. Wal-Mart or Food Lion was close by along with lots of other places to eat. House was great and we could spread out. Enjoyed some fishing, no luck ,playing pool, darts, scrabble and my daughter and her husband did a puzzle they had found. Lots of books too if you like to read. I enjoyed sitting out on the deck with a blanket and a cup of tea reading a book I found there...The 5 people you will meet in Heaven. WONDERFUL!!! Again, loved The River House. My son will be departing CP in March or so but if we ever are looking for a place to go on a relaxing vacation this is the place!! Thanks again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Wonderfully Appointed Riverfront Home on Three and a Half Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355790vb
(252) 241-1395 (North Carolina, USA)
Minnesott Beach Coastal North Carolina
5

Relaxing Capitol of NC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I rated this place real high and this was a stay that had 2 days of good weather and 5 days of bad news. If you don't do anything else while you're there you need to sit on the front deck for sunrise with coffee , off and on during the day and during the evening with something you enjoy. If you don't relax there you have a medical problem. For a pet its really great as they have lots of room to wander under a watchful eye mind you. The home is very well appointed and equipped with everything you'll need. If your WIFI needs are heavy you'll need to do some prior planning as the equipment there is good but minimal. I would recommend it for any family regardless of age. This one is a winner.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the very kind words about the River House. We want all of our guests to fees as if they have come to their own second home. One thing we cannot control is the weather. But, we agree that the sun always shines at the River House.
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Wonderfully Appointed Riverfront Home on Three and a Half Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355790vb
(252) 241-1395 (North Carolina, USA)
Minnesott Beach Coastal North Carolina
5

Relaxing, quiet and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderfully relaxing time at the River House. We spent the week sailing, kayaking, fishing and exploring. The house is well equipped and had everything we needed. The boys loved the pool table and our dog enjoyed roaming the yard. Loved sitting out on the dock and the view is beautiful. Thank you for sharing your home with us, we will be back to visit again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/6
business
Wonderfully Appointed Riverfront Home on Three and a Half Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355790vb
(252) 241-1395 (North Carolina, USA)
Minnesott Beach Coastal North Carolina
Gilboa, NY
5

Vacation at the River House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My son who is stationed at Cherry Point told us about the River House and said we would love it there so we took his word for it. WE LOVED IT THERE!! The house is clean and everything you would need. The property is gorgeous. Gorgeous Views. We had a house full and we all enjoyed crabbing, fishing, and laying out on the private beach. We also rented canoes and had a blast. Loved sitting out on the deck and look out and watch the boats go by. My grandson raced our Boston terrier Roxie to try to catch the little frogs that came to visit on the deck and the hummingbirds were a constant sight. Loved everything about the River House. Would love to visit the River House again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/7
business
Wonderfully Appointed Riverfront Home on Three and a Half Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355790vb
(252) 241-1395 (North Carolina, USA)
Minnesott Beach Coastal North Carolina
Erwin, NC
5

Vacation on the river

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My wife found River House on line and showed me the info. I thought it had to be too good to be true for the price - but I was wrong.

What a wonderful place to relax ! Great views and tranquil surroundings that brings one back to nature while living in a very friendly and unexpectedly well stocked house ! Lots of visits from the resident hummingbirds, little green rain frogs, chameleons but only a few mosquitoes ! Summer at River House is fantastic and we can’t wait to go back at different times of the year to see what the various seasons bring.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/7
business
Wonderfully Appointed Riverfront Home on Three and a Half Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355790vb
(252) 241-1395 (North Carolina, USA)
Minnesott Beach Coastal North Carolina
Brazil, Indiana
5

Relaxing Vacation with PLENTY to do!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of 4 adults and 3 kids, loved the location of this home! There was plenty of space to spread out and take in the beautiful scenery but not far from the coast and other attractions . The fisherman caught a variety of fish and the kids enjoyed playing in the water, watching the ocean life (rays, jellyfish and dolphins) and the cool planes that flew out of Cherry Point. They loved trying to catch the blue crabs off the dock! The Crystal Coast is a beautiful area with alot to do and everyone is so nice! The house was comfortable and the owners very pleasant! This was one of our most favorite vacations and we weren't ready to leave. We would recommend this area to anyone. Thanks so much for opening your home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are thrilled that you all had a good time. We love sharing our wonderful spot with others.
Helpful votes: 3/7
business
Wonderfully Appointed Riverfront Home on Three and a Half Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355790vb
(252) 241-1395 (North Carolina, USA)
Minnesott Beach Coastal North Carolina
New York & Connecticut
5

Three Years and Counting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our stay gets better and better each year we are at the River house. As we have gotten to know the area the stay is more fluid and tranquil. The owner is very vibrant and personable and right there if problems arise. This was our 3rd year at the River house. Family reunion went great as always and everyone had a great time. Vacation time soon and hope to be back at the River House again!!!! A fantastic place for a quiet serene vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. When our River House guests are happy, we are happy. That's what it is all about -- a place for folks to enjoy themselves and have a great vacation.
Helpful votes: 1/5
business
Wonderfully Appointed Riverfront Home on Three and a Half Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355790vb
(252) 241-1395 (North Carolina, USA)
Minnesott Beach Coastal North Carolina
Buffalo, NY
4

roomy and private

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was a great place for our family to stay at while visiting with our future son in law, who is stationed
at Cherry Point Marine base. It plenty of room and was a nice quiet place to relax. It was only a short
drive to the coast and surrounding tourist areas.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We love having Marine families stay with us. We take pride in making the River House an affordable destination with a down home feeling. It is centrally located to attractions in North Carolina's Crystal Coast area. It is only twelve miles to the main gate of Cherry Point Marine Air Station.
Helpful votes: 1/7
business
Wonderfully Appointed Riverfront Home on Three and a Half Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355790vb
(252) 241-1395 (North Carolina, USA)
Minnesott Beach Coastal North Carolina
Waterford, MI
5

Great Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a house full - from age 11 to 70 - and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the week! The gameroom was used often by the teenagers and adults alike. We were visiting Marines at Cherry Point so the location was perfect. Atlantic Beach is a short drive away for fishing charters, parasailing, etc. The property and secluded were great for morning walks with the dog, but it is only a short drive to town. We were there over the 4th and we could see fireworks in one place or another over the river just about every night. All and all a perfect family & friend getaway. We have already recommended the property to friends and will continue to do so.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/9
business
Wonderfully Appointed Riverfront Home on Three and a Half Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355790vb
(252) 241-1395 (North Carolina, USA)
Minnesott Beach Coastal North Carolina
Baltimore, MD
5

Family waiting for son to arrive home from tour!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I just loved this place, its exactly as described, All ages will love it ,, and the owners are easy to work with and some of the nicest people i have ever met.. I would highly advise staying here not just for a military event but and anytime vacation, it is a very relaxing place and we saw dolphins swimming in the water.. We will definately be staying here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We make the River House a homey place to be. Like we want guests to enjoy our own home, we want our River House guests to enjoy the River House Home. We are so pleased the Gordon family had a good time.
Helpful votes: 3/8