Onancock cottage rental - Beach
Beach
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Onancock Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

WEEKLY RATES AVAILABLE: On one side of the deck, watch the sun set on the Chesapeake Bay at the mouth of the Onancock Creek; on the other side enjoy peeks of the private protected marina. This adorable, vibrant cottage was recently re-decorated, including new furniture, mattresses, and pots and pans. There are three bedrooms (bedroom #1 has a queen sized bed; bedroom #2 has a full sized bed, and bedroom #3 contains twin over full bunk beds with sturdy stairs and a small 'hang out area' with a couch and TV) and two full baths, a galley kitchen, laundry room, family room, a screened in porch with an adjoining deck, with stairs to the upper level deck.

Enjoy the abundant waterfowl on your kayaking adventures, launched from the sandy neighborhood beach, or take a kayak tour with Onancock’s Southeast Expeditions in town. Rinse off in the outdoor shower after your fishing excursions. This quaint neighborhood is just eight miles away from downtown Onancock, a.k.a. the “Gem of the Eastern Shore” or the 'Gateway City to Tangier Island'. Ferries depart from the Onancock Wharf for the Island Tuesday - Sunday (in-season - see Town of Onancock link for details). Onancock offers several quality antique shops, excellent restaurants, and art galleries that display and sell the work of local artisans. Learn about the rich history of the area at the Kerr Place Museum. The town has an adorable one-room movie theatre, and the North Street Theatre occasionally offers live theatre. Take day trips to Chincoteague, Cape Charles, any of the Eastern Shore’s wineries, or a multitude of other quaint, historic towns. Charter or rent a boat on the seaside town of Wachapreague to explore the barrier islands. Please ask me about Eastern Shore Water Adventures, a new service available for those who don't own their own boat, located just steps away from East Point. Come fall in love with Onancock, and get away from it all (but not too far away)!

Keywords: House, Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

I live near Baltimore, MD, but am originally from New England. My awesome husband is from Maryland. I have a degree in pharmacy, and have recently gone back to work after raising three children; two of whom will be off to college next year. I love to take walks, kayak, play board games, do aerobics (check out the new health club downtown!), read, sew, knit (check out the yarn shop, too!), and bring friends to the shore to share good times and all that Onancock has to offer.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2010

I fell in love with Onancock during a trip to one of the great Bed and Breakfasts in town. I love the intimate feel of this wonderfully quaint and historic town, and I am constantly amazed at the quality of the restaurants, and the reasonable prices at some of the antique shops. It is a small, quiet town, but it has everything that you need close at hand. The community of East Point is located a quiet, beautiful peninsula and the 'look-out deck' is a great place to relax and gaze at the sunset on the water.

7 Reviews of Property 355461 in Onancock, Virginia

Discover Your Secret Bay Getaway! Kayak, Bike, Lounge, or Shop
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
Discover Your Secret Bay Getaway! Kayak, Bike, Lounge, or Shop
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355461vb
443 695-0380
Onancock Eastern Shore Virginia
Frazeysburg, Ohio
5

Great Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had an awesome time in Onancock, it was perfect for a low key vacation.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Discover Your Secret Bay Getaway! Kayak, Bike, Lounge, or Shop
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355461vb
443 695-0380
Onancock Eastern Shore Virginia
5

Bay Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The pictures do not do justice for this charming home. and surrounding areas. You NEED to experience EastPoint to really appreciate natures bounty. Well maintained with Sean checking in on us to see how we were doing. That was appreciated. Great correspondence with Alice. I recommend wholeheartedly . It is especially child friendly, with the little beach a great area for kids. I can go on and on because I see such beauty in the area of the Eastern shore. Wonderful for a girls weekend get away and antique shopping. Wonderful for family!! Janets is a great corner restaurant and dinner @ Mallards~excellent. Time was to short~ ~~ oh, the stars at night were a heavenly display~~. We had the best weather ever for our weekend and you feel most welcomed @ this darling cottage. Hope to be a returning guest!!~~~
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Discover Your Secret Bay Getaway! Kayak, Bike, Lounge, or Shop
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355461vb
443 695-0380
Onancock Eastern Shore Virginia
Freeville, NY Finger Lakes Region
5

Secret Bay Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our stay on East Point was quiet and relaxing-as had hoped for. Loved having the small beach just steps away and mostly to ourselves!. The water was warm and perfect for kayaking. The kayaks are provided by the owners ( a great benefit). The house was clean and inviting.Plenty of space for the four of us-2 adults and 2 teens nice and cool (air conditioned). Ocean beaches were about 45 min away and easy to get to. Not a lot to do for teens-although they didn't mind just "hanging around". They kept busy swimming. Village of Onancock not far and enjoyed breakfast at Janet's Place. Stopped in Blarney Stone Pub for a beer but didn't get a chance to eat there-small town with some nice galleries!. Ate at Mallard's on the waterfront in Onancock-good food.

All in all we had a pleasant stay-owner called while we were there to make sure all was ok. Would definately go again. Only thing is I would prefer to not have to wash towel/linens (if you didn't bring your own). Other than that it was a wonderful stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Discover Your Secret Bay Getaway! Kayak, Bike, Lounge, or Shop
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355461vb
443 695-0380
Onancock Eastern Shore Virginia
Tecumseh, KS USA
4

Great place to relax and enjoy the outdoors

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Very charming, clean and comfortable beach getaway. Out of the way so that you feel secluded but yet close to town for all of the things that you need. There is nothing more beautiful then watching the sunset over the Chesapeake Bay from the beach, except maybe sitting on the upper deck of the house in the morning looking out across the bay and enjoying the peaceful sound on nature. I would recommend a night out at Mallard's at the Wharf. Great food and great fun!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Discover Your Secret Bay Getaway! Kayak, Bike, Lounge, or Shop
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355461vb
443 695-0380
Onancock Eastern Shore Virginia
Denmark, Europe
5

Wonderful house, wonderful beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a great stay in this house. And we found a lot of extras in the house (kayaks, bicycles, beach bed, etc). The house fittet well to our family and felt like home :-)
There is very quit og lots of nature around the house. Neighbors are very kind.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Discover Your Secret Bay Getaway! Kayak, Bike, Lounge, or Shop
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355461vb
443 695-0380
Onancock Eastern Shore Virginia
Leesburg, VA
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We came and had a long weekend and it was perfect, secluded enough to get some peice and quiet (with 2 small children) the beach was ideal..... allowed us to relax and enjoy the water without worrying about anything. The house had everything we needed.....already making plans for a return trip before the summer is over!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Discover Your Secret Bay Getaway! Kayak, Bike, Lounge, or Shop
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355461vb
443 695-0380
Onancock Eastern Shore Virginia
Potomac Falls, VA
5

Onancock Home with Magnificent Views of the Shore

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Your shore home is a real gem! The water views are spectacular from 3 sides of the home. Watching a sunset on the roof deck is magnificent!!! It's so easy to walk to the beach. The trees by the shore block the hot sun too, making the beach more enjoyable!

The house was immaculate! I love the decor of the home! The living room is so bright and cozy with a lovely fireplace and great view! The newly remodeled kitchen is spacious and easy to work in. The screened in porch is so spacious with great views of the shore! The 3 bedrooms are bright and cheery. The bunk beds are great for kids. We can't wait to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1