Keaau studio rental - View from your lanai of fountain, pond, garden & seating area, all for your use
View from your lanai of fountain, pond, garden & seating area, all for your use
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Keaau Studio Rental Photos and Description
House, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Our new Ohana studio is sparkling clean & features tropical furnishings with private entrance, private bath & private lanai. Kitchenette includes fridge, microwave, sink, coffee maker, toaster, blender and rice cooker. All dishes, silverware, towels & linens are included for your use.

Private bathroom with tub & shower is inside the unit. The lanai is private, great for relaxing, drinking your morning coffee (included) or having cocktails and/or candle lit dinner. View from your lanai is a beautiful fountain, pond, garden and seating area, all for your use.

The studio is fully furnished with comfy queen sized bed, table and chairs, desk, dish TV, DVD player with DVDs, CDs, books and outdoor BBQ with burner. Common carport has washer & dryer for your use. Snorkel gear, boogie board, beach chairs, cooler and towels included for your use.

We are on one acre of land. We have our own separate living area, on the opposite side of the carport. Property is landscaped with many beautiful plants, tiki torches, fountain and pond.

We are 20 minutes south of Hilo, 10-15 minutes from shops, restaurants, grocery store and Olympic sized swimming pool. We are approx 1/2 mile from the ocean cliffs. The hot ponds, parks and beaches are nearby. Volcanoes National Park is a 40 minute drive. Kehena Black Sand Beach (clothing optional), where you can swim with the dolphins, is 20 minutes away. We are 15 minutes from the Kalapana lava flow, where you can watch the new lava flowing into the sea and creating the newest land on earth.

We are centrally located for side trips to all other parts of the Big Island.

Gary is a master furniture maker. He made your table on the lanai and other items in the unit. He also created the entire pond/fountain space for you.

$55/night for 2-6 nights, 7th night is free!

$330 a week/ for 1-2 people. (7th night is free)!

Ask about longer term rates!! All taxes and cleaning included in these prices.

Please call my cell now for reservations or to inquire about availability. 808-987-7523

Please note that 10 a.m. in Hawaii is noon on the West Coast, and 3 p.m. on the east coast or send email with all your information: number of guests in your party, arrival & departure dates, and phone number.

No smoking in the unit, on the lanai or on the property.

Relaxed friendly atmosphere.

We look forward to hearing from you!

More Details
Hide Details

I am a Real estate agent with REMAX Properties. I was born here, raised on the east coast and have been back in Hawaii for 24 years.

We enjoy outdoor activities, nature, gardening, snorkeling and the ocean. This is the perfect place to enjoy them all!

A lot of info is not in the travel books. We will be happy to share first hand knowledge & aloha with you.

Laura Richman purchased this studio in 2008

We chose this section of the island because of the sunny weather in this area. We get more sunshine and less rain than Hilo, yet we are only 20 minutes away.

We are only ½ mile from the ocean so you can walk there and also hear the crashing surf most of the time. We have one acre of land and love to garden and grow food. I love it here! Lots of things to see and do.

Our unit is new, clean, comfortable, relaxing, and very well appointed. We enjoy some of the freshest air in the world.

There are many things that are not in the guide books and we are happy to share our first hand knowledge of the area with our guests.

18 Reviews of Property 257324 in Keaau, Hawaii

Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 18 reviews
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
5

Great Deal!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Very accurate listing and accommodating hostess! Perfect stay for 1-2 people. Clean, cozy, and private. Close to and easy to access town/shops/restaurants/sightseeing...So nice to be able to borrow snorkel gear, coolers, and other amenities. Definitely the best price for the area!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: When we travel we like to get a good deal so here at Dolphin Hideaway, we like to give a good deal! Pay if forward!
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
Edmonton, Canada
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a great time staying at Dolphin Hideaway.
The weather was not super while we were there but it was great to be in a nice place for the cloudy days and rainy nights.
The cottage is great. It has everything you need, including a very nice selection of DVDs to watch.
The place is cozy, very comfortable and clean. The wood finishings are really amazing. I wish I could have bought the mirror. :)
As for location, it is close to the beach, but as most of the beaches in Hilo, it is not a sand beach. It is around 20 minutes by car from Downtown Hilo and just a few minutes from downtown Keaau, where you can find everything you need, including a very nice organic store and a local market.
Laura was very welcoming and helpful as well.
We hope we come across places like this everywhere we travel to.
Thanks Laura!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you were comfortable and had a great time! Thanks for the review!
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
CA
5

Clean, Quiet and perfect for 2

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Greeted upon arrival by a wonderful house guest. Quiet, great sunrises. HPP is a wonderful town to stay in, and this place was close to everything. My husband loved the wood finishes in the hideaway. We played with the chickens and the cat, and the fountain sounded soothing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you were comfortable and had a great time. We are continually making improvements to the property. After you left in November, we started the process of landscaping another section of our one acre paradise. Come back again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
Meadow Vista, CA
5

What great memories!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Still daydreaming about our stay at your clean, comfortable, well-stocked home. Thank you for giving us our peaceful private space, yet growing to become our special friends near the end of our stay. Of the 4 homes we stayed at in the month of February 2012, yours stands out as the best! Centrally located for our jaunts to the ocean, HIlo, volcanos, the little towns, and your Farmers Market. Your quiet street so we could hear the ocean. And, no surprises - your home was just like you advertised. You really made our trip enjoyable, and we'll see you again. If available, we want the whole month next time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love to help all get a personal experience.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
Germany
5

a great place to be!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Aloha Laura and Gary!
How lucky we were to be able to stay with you at Dolpin Hideaway for almost four weeks. We had a wonderful time. We loved to come back to your comfortable flat in the evening to relax after adventures trips and meetings with nice people.
We felt at home immediately. It was impossible not to because it is so beautifully decorated and taken care of with love.
Also it was nice to discover that your place was perfectly situated in regard to our travelling tours. Thank you again, dear Laura, for showing me where to find the turtles, since the meeting with them was a highligt for me (hopefully also for them) ;-) We are happy to have got to known as warm hearted people as you. We will recommend your studio all people who look for a comfortable place, from which you can reach easily the wonders of Big Island. Mahalo!
Petra and Lone
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We loved having you here and we are very glad you had a wonderful time. We really appreciate the kind words you wrote in our quest book.
We look forward to seeing and hearing from you in the future, either here in Hawaii or in Germany!
Many thanks again for the glowing review!

Mahalo & Aloha,

Laura A. Richman RS & Gary Kort
Dolphin Hideaway Vacation Rental
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
Germany
5

Great place to see the Hilo side of the island - for us the best deal on the whole trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The Studio is a great place to stay for visiting the volcano and the beautiful beaches around Puna.
We loved the place, even though the kitchen is not too big, there is everything you might need. Everything was very clean and well kept. We liked the wood (floor, bed etc.) very much.
It looks exactly like on the pictures!
We enjoyed having breakfast at the lanai! But unfortunately, if it was raining before, there were mosquitoes, just to be aware.
Considering to the price and what you get for it, it was the best deal on our four week trip!
The only thing we didn't understand is, if there would have been WIFI? But in the end, we didn't need it anyway.
So Laura and Gary, thank you for giving us the possibility to have such a great time! We would definitely recommend the place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We now have WIFI. Not sure if you saw this but there are plenty of mosquito coils under the kitchen sink. They seem to be are only around after a heavy rain which happens occasionally. We are so glad you had a great time.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
Carlton, WA
5

A home away from home in paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This ohana is a beautiful, well appointed, very very clean, private and peaceful place to stay. Definitely a BARGAIN whether vacationing or honeymooning. Centrally located for exploration of the Hilo side of the Big Island, you will love it here. The listing is completely accurate. We visited 09/11 for an extended stay and were able to cook all our meals, enjoy fresh produce from the Farmer's Market, and spend our days exploring the Puna and Hilo districts. The owner is very helpful and kind. We loved going to the "hot pond" near Pahoa, the massive tide pools in Kapoho, Volcanoes Natn'l Park, and also circumnavigating the island, experiencing the different climate zones. The "Saddle Road" is newly completed so it is only an easy 2 hr drive to Kona. Less than a mile away from this ohano are breathtaking ocean cliffs to sit by and feel refreshed. For walkers and runners, there are miles of safe roads to enjoy. Need a beach chair, beach towels, snorkel gear, etc? They are free for your use. DON'T PASS THIS LOVELY OHANA up! We have recommended it to several friends and they are looking forward to staying here and fall asleep to the sound and rhythm of the ocean like we did.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
Irving, TX
5

Hannah & Larry (Dallas, TX)

Hannah & Larry (Dallas, TX)
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My wife and I took an extended getaway in the islands for a month during the summer of 2011. We chose the dolphin hideaway through the word of mouth of friends living in the islands. It was the perfect location to set up homebase for our trip- remote, quaint, private. Driving distance to Hilo, the volcano, and Kona was reasonable.
Most of all... the price was stunning! Surely the best deal in the area. Everything you might need was included.
Laura and Gary were certainly a pleasure.
You won't be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! We love sharing our piece of Paradise with from people all over the world. We are continually upgrading and adding amenities and conveniences for our quests. Please come and visit us again and thank you for referring us to your friends!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
Wisconsin
5

Enjoyed the central location and comfortable studio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
A perfect location and jumping off point for Hawaiian Volcanoes National Park, Mauna Kea, Hilo or the Puna District (tide-pools and warm springs on the east side). We spent three days enjoying the Hilo and Makuu Farmers Market; Mauna Kea and in a day took in Lava Tree State Monument, Kapoho Tidal pools and Kalapana. It was a nice place to return after sight-seeing. Our only regret is purchasing groceries at Foodland in Kea'au instead of waiting for the abundance at the Farmers Market. Gary and Laura have a tidy well-kept acre!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a great experience here at the Dolphin Hideaway Vacation Rental. We enjoyed having you and hope you will come again. We look forward to seeing your friends, family, neighbors, and business associates. We love sharing Hawaii with all!

Much Aloha,
Laura and Gary
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
aptos, ca
5

a real bargain

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Great, new studio. Accommodating hostess. Convenient location. Amazing chattering birds. A real bargain!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at our Dolphin Hideaway!
Hope to see you again in the future. Thank you in advance for all your future referrals!
Helpful votes: 6/6