Kailua Kona condo rental - Seats waiting for YOU on the lanai.
Seats waiting for YOU on the lanai.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-3)

Aloha.

When you enter our Hawaiian home, you are in the downstairs living room. A lovely dining area sits to one side, and the cozy L-shaped couch invites you to watch the ocean just beyond the patio doors, maybe watch TV, or just take a nap.

Walk outside; sit on your comfortable lanai and watch the Pacific Ocean move by. Enjoy a cup of Kona coffee or a glass of wine. A parade of dolphins passes by in the early morning along with paddlers from the nearby Keauhou Canoe Club. You may even see whales breaching just offshore. It is difficult to stay indoors when the view from your lanai, especially at sunset, is so spectacular. If you are lucky, you may even see the famous “green flash”. It really happens.

Go upstairs; the entire second floor has been remodeled into a large bedroom suite. You can watch the ocean from your king-size bed and be lulled to sleep by the sounds of the surf. You will awaken, refreshed, with the smell of plumeria blossoms just outside your window. A comfortable sofa-bed is available for another guest. A lovely walk-in shower and bath complete the upstairs suite.

Explore outside; walk down to the black sand beach to collect shells, look for sea turtles, or discover ancient Hawaiian petroglyphs carved in the lava rock. Just a short stroll beyond takes you to one of the finest snorkel beaches on the island. And if you have even more curiosity, you can look for the resident moray eel who lives in the rocks just below your lanai. He likes fried chicken.

Our complex is quiet, safe and lovely, with gardens, pavilions, 3 newly-resurfaced and lighted tennis courts, a large pool and friendly residents. The Keauhou Surf & Racquet Club is close to shopping, restaurants and unlimited beach activities. World class golf is within minutes.

The annual IRONMAN takes place in nearby Kailua-Kona, a lovely and vibrant village just 5 miles up famous Alii Drive. A scheduled shuttle bus runs up and down the drive several times a day.

Up the hill you will find yourself in “Old Hawaii.” Here you find coffee and mac nut plantations, historic villages like Kealakekua and Holualoa, wild groves of papaya, guava and mango. The cool elevations can be a welcome contrast to the sunny and dry weather that has made the Kona Coast a favorite destination for generations of Hawaiians and visitors alike.

Aloha.

Keywords: Romantic, retreat, condominium, quiet, convenient, Ironman, gated property, friendly, secure, snorkeling, diving, surfing, amazing sunsets, black sand beach, Oceanfront, tennis, golf

The following information is required by Hawaii Statute: Local Property Manager, CJ Kimberly Realtors, PO 5600, Kailua-Kona, HI, Phone 808-329-9363. Tax ID number W-30128442.

More Details
Hide Details

I am a pediatrician, and my wife is an educator and writer. You will find several of her books on the bookshelves.

WL FLOOD purchased this condo in 1995

We first came to Hawaii in 1970, and have been returning ever since. My wife's parents retired to Kona over 30 years ago and we purchased our unit to be able to visit and spend time with them and our growing family in this lovely place.

The sunsets, and the protected location on the bay, make this one of the loveliest locations we have ever seen, anywhere. You can even live here without a car! The shopping is up the hill with a fabulous Farmer's Market on Saturday. You can buy organic vegetables, fruits, coffee and flowers from the growers. We can walk to the beach, play tennis, snorkel with the manta rays, or just sit and relax. We can do much of our work using the very fast broadband wireless connection.

8 Reviews of Property 355181 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Oceanfront, Feels Like a Home, Not a Hotel! Reduced spring and summer rates.
average rating of 4.75 based on 8 reviews
business
Oceanfront, Feels Like a Home, Not a Hotel! Reduced spring and summer rates.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355181vb
9704567746
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
4

Kona visit

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This condo was exactly as advertised. The location was great. Close enough to Kailua/Kona and shopping but not in the middle of a lot of traffic. The views and waterfront location were magnificent. We would give this unit 5 stars if a little TLC and maintenance was provided.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! The unit will be painted later this year and issues with water damage near the oceanside windows will be fixed as soon as possible. It really helps to receive helpful comments like this.
business
Oceanfront, Feels Like a Home, Not a Hotel! Reduced spring and summer rates.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355181vb
9704567746
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
4

Great 2 week stay. Everything wonderful.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our two week stay at this condo was great. The location was perfect - could walk to snorkel, or just have a wonderful walk along Ali'i Drive (it is a short drive to the main village). Mostly we enjoyed sitting on the lanai watching the waves and the sunset. The view is amazing. The sound of the crashing waves was quite loud but does block out any other noise from either neighbors or the street. We cooked dinner every night and found the kitchen to be quite adequate - the charcoal barbeque was handy. There are so many great things to do on the Big Island - our highlight was "Poke a Stick" lava tour - yes you get to poke a stick in flowing lava. Overall would definitely recommend this condo.
Owner's Response: We are happy it was good for you. The waves are one of our favorite sounds, but they are there all the time! We will have to add the "Poke a Stick" tour to our next trip and add it to our suggestions for future guests. Thanks again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront, Feels Like a Home, Not a Hotel! Reduced spring and summer rates.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355181vb
9704567746
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Little Rock, AR
5

Fabulous Oceanfront View!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Overall we really like this resort. It's in a fabulous location, it's very nice, very quiet and right on the water! The unit is townhouse style and has oceanfront views from the kitchen, the living room, the bedroom AND the upstairs bathroom (just fyi - no tub - shower only). Again, overall we really liked the resort and the unit. Although if I could change 2 things, I would update the kitchen and pull up the aqua blue carpet throughout. The kitchen is a little dated, but since we did only minimal cooking, it was not a huge issue. And the unit would be infinitely more appealing if the carpet were replaced with simple tile or hardwoods. In addition, a representative from the realty company dropped by to make sure we had everything we needed and made us feel welcome. Again overall, we enjoyed our stay and think it is an excellent value for location and price - especially being just steps from the water!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you were happy. We will be remodeling the kitchen, hopefully this summer, and adding tile to the entry way. The carpet is mostly to soothe our tired knees and works well to keep things quiet, but we keep thinking about it! Thanks.
business
Oceanfront, Feels Like a Home, Not a Hotel! Reduced spring and summer rates.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355181vb
9704567746
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
-
5

Wonderful! Look no further...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This is a special place. If you are looking for an oceanside, quiet retreat with beautiful views and the sound of the ocean as you fall asleep each night - look no further! We found the place very clean and comfortable and cozy with lovely Hawaiian artwork. The owners are very friendly. The Kona Surf and Racquet Club has great tennis courts, a refreshing swimming pool, with some great walks and bike rides just outside its gates. The other reviews say it all- don't miss the farmers market, the shaved ice, snorkeling just down the road, and all the adventures Kona and the Big Island have to offer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront, Feels Like a Home, Not a Hotel! Reduced spring and summer rates.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355181vb
9704567746
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Minnesota
5

Ocean ocean ocean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I have stayed at a few of the condominiums in Kona, and this one is my all-time favorite.
Everything is clean and welcoming. The owners are beyond helpful.
It's hard to do this place justice with photos... so the pictures are nice, but once you are here you will see that the reality is even more amazing and great.
Things that stand out for me...
The huge and comfortable king bed. The love seat in the master suite that looks out on the ocean. The sound of the surf... not overpowering, but always present. I feel rocked to sleep by the ocean when I am here.
Downstairs, we could sit in the living room and feel cozy and comfortable on the L-shaped couch, but we didn't spend much time there because just off the living room is the lanai (= patio to us mainlanders), and again, the ocean. So close!! We ate every meal out here, and sat here to watch the sunset over the ocean in the evening (except for the nights when we walked to the beach, to watch the sunset from there. Writing this is making me want to return immediately!)
I love how PRIVATE this place feels. When I am here, the sound of the ocean and the amazing view makes me feel as if I'm in my own Hawai'ian paradise. I can't hear the neighbors, I can't hear any machines or motorized vehicles at all, and I can't even hear my husband if he is upstairs and I am downstairs (which is lovely when one person like to stay up late and the other person wants to fall asleep early).
Things nearby...
the pool, for cooling down, or the tennis courts, for getting sweaty.
the shopping center up the hill (you can walk there) with a grocery store, an ice-cream store (!!don't miss the shaved ice!), some great looking restaurants and boutique-y places, and a fabulous book store.
Or- the black sand beach about 20 feet away, turtle beach about 15 minutes walk away, and downtown Kailua-Kona (either a longer walk, a bus ride, or a bike ride away) which hosts the most amazing outdoor market (next to library) where you can buy several bags of papaya, mango and passionfruit for way under $50. And then you can eat papaya every day, which is exactly what we did! There are oodles of great restaurants in this area, but truly, you have to go a long ways to beat the fresh fruit you can eat while here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: What more can we say? Thank you and PLEASE come again.
business
Oceanfront, Feels Like a Home, Not a Hotel! Reduced spring and summer rates.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355181vb
9704567746
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Salem, OR
5

Keauhou Surf & Racquet Town Home

Keauhou Surf & Racquet Town Home
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We have just returned from 2 fabulous weeks on the Big Island. We so enjoyed our time in this unit. The view is FANTASTIC! We loved sitting on the lanai & watching the ocean.The master/bath bedroom is lovely.The accommodations,very comfortable. What a relaxing time we had. We hope to return next year.
business
Oceanfront, Feels Like a Home, Not a Hotel! Reduced spring and summer rates.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355181vb
9704567746
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Glenwood Springs, CO
5

Beautiful and Amazing, highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2007
I have stayed at this property a couple of times now, and I must say, it is a wonderful place!! In fact, I have a trip planned for this winter. My favorite thing about it is the master bedroom. There is a big comfortable king bed, in an open, airy room. While lying in bed you can look out the expansive windows to the ocean. Or you can lie there with your eyes closed and listen to the sounds of the waves and wind and birds. It is the most relaxing way to fall asleep and wake up. And then you are ready to start your day... What will it be - tennis, a dip in the pool, a short walk to the "turtle snorkeling beach" where I almost always see a few turtles (need to get there around 7 or 8am). Or to the never ending possibilities of fantastic day trips? (or simply sit on the lanai and watch the ocean all day, including amazing sunsets)

This property is perfect for a romantic getaway for couples, or for a small family (there is a nice big couch downstairs in the living room, and a small pull-out in the master bedroom).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront, Feels Like a Home, Not a Hotel! Reduced spring and summer rates.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355181vb
9704567746
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Minneapolis, MN
5

Dreamtime in Hawaii

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
This is one of the few perfect places I know. Overlooking the bay, you are with the ocean without feeling threatened by the pounding surf. Sunset perfect. Well laid out. User friendly. I have stayed here with just my wife and also with our three kids - both vacations were perfect.
My favorite nearby places:
turtle beach, a five minute walk.
swimming pool, a one minute walk
black sand cove, a one minute walk
Captain Cooks - a 1/2 hour drive (best snorkeling on the island, imho
the farmers market - a 15 minute drive
U-mak-the-roll -a 15 minute drive - our favorite sushi dive
Volcano - a 3 hour drive

But mostly, we like to walk nearby, swim in the pool and at turtle beach, and gaze out at the ocean, the dolphins, and the whales.

Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2