Holden Beach house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Holden Beach House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)

This is a classic beach cottage with knotty pine tongue and groove interior siding. It has been modernized to include everything you will need to enjoy a long weekend, week or more at the beach.

The oceanfront screen porch is a great place to relax out of the sun and enjoy the cool ocean breezes. Or you can enjoy the same breezes on the sun deck while getting a tan.

This family beach is seldom crowded and the strand is less than 100 feet from the sun deck. You will never need to 'lug' your chairs, sand toys, etc. a long distance to enjoy them on the beach.

Why the Owner Chose Holden Beach: We love the family atmosphere at Holden Beach. There are plenty of things to do here on the island. It is within a 45 minute drive of Myrtle Beach or Wilmington if more action such as amusement parks, more nightlife, etc. are desired. There are many golf courses within 30 miles. Surf fishing, pier fishing and deep sea charter fishing are all available here as well. Holden Beach was recently selected as the top family beach in America by 'Dr. Beach - Stephen P. Leatherman of Florida International University (http://www.americanprofile.com/articles/10-best-beaches-in-america/).

The Unique Benefits of this Cottage: Holden Beach is one of the few developed islands in this area with no high rise, high density housing. You can stroll along the beach without having to dodge other people constantly and never have a problem finding a place to sit on the beach.

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 355151 in Holden Beach, North Carolina

Classic Oceanfront Cottage
average rating of 4.6 based on 15 reviews
business
Classic Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355151
+1 864 918-0867
Holden Beach Coastal North Carolina
5

Ditto

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I can't say much that hasn't already been said! This was perfect for our group of two couples and one child. The house is awesome and the location is perfect. You can walk to all public facilities/stores/restaurants on the island. Bring bicycles if you want to cover the whole island like we did! This house will definitely be on our short list for next year and in the future! Thanks for the wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Classic Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355151
+1 864 918-0867
Holden Beach Coastal North Carolina
Atlanta, GA
5

Another wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Sadly, we are back home after a relaxing weeks stay, Loved the new decking and kitchen counter. Perfect place for the 4 of us. The screened porch is a plus, plus, plus! Just love this place:) GREAT owners!!!!!!!! We'll be back for sure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Jody - Glad the you had a good visit even if the weather wasn't the best. Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Bob
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355151
+1 864 918-0867
Holden Beach Coastal North Carolina
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We loved staying here. This house made us feel at home. The home was just as described, very clean and well keep. Perfect for our family. If there was any negative, it was our stay was to short. We hope to stay here next year.
Thanks for sharing your home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great review. We try very hard to make sure the cottage is clean and comfortable.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355151
+1 864 918-0867
Holden Beach Coastal North Carolina
Mooresville, NC
5

Family of Four

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This cottage/rental exceeded our expectations. We had the best time here! Everything was as described. It was clean and everything we needed was available. We appreciated the attention to detail. We are excited to be returning again next year! A+++++
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Susan - Thanks for your great review. We work hard to make sure that everything is as you would like it.

Bob
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Classic Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355151
+1 864 918-0867
Holden Beach Coastal North Carolina
Cherry Valley, IL
5

Our own slice of beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of four, along with our little dog, were perfectly comfortable in this house. The screened in porch was wonderful. At this time of year, it wasn't overly crowded and the beach was virtually empty for sunrise walks. As long-time VRBO users, we were surprised that sheets and towels were not provided. That was a first for us. It's mentioned in the listing, but I guess I missed that. There is a place to rent them across the bridge. That said, we loved our time there and enjoyed the house very much! It was clean, affordable, and relaxing. We found it very hard to leave!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at our little piece of paradise. I'm sorry if there was any confusion over the linens but this is one thing we do to help keep our rates reasonable.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Classic Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355151
+1 864 918-0867
Holden Beach Coastal North Carolina
Reidsville, NC
5

Love this little cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We're here now for 2 more days and have so enjoyed our stay. It is the perfect house for my husband and me. Kitchen is well equipped, decor is cute, bed sleeps well, bathroom is roomy. Wifi is good. Yes, it's 1950s so don't look for granite counter tops and stainless appliances but the knotty pine paneling reminds me of beach houses we stayed in when I was growing up. The screen porch and deck are so perfect. I have loved being ocean front! This is our first time at Holden and we have enjoyed the local restaurants. Try Silver Hill Grill for the best fried seafood ever (don't judge by looks) and the Provision Company is so cool. The beach is excellent and we pretty much had it to ourselves this time of year. So, I've already reserved the house again for our vacation next year, same time, same place. :-)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for such a good review. We do our best to make the place homey and comfortable. We are very happy when our guests enjoy their stay this much.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Classic Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355151
+1 864 918-0867
Holden Beach Coastal North Carolina
Cincinnati
5

Vintage relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Love this beach cottage. Cozy, old-fashioned, not fancy. Just right for relaxing. Knotty pine paneling and hammered iron kitchen hardware give this getaway a wonderful vintage family feeling. Thanks to the Harley family for sharing this spot with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the very nice review. We do our best to "modernize" and improve the cottage without losing the old timey feeling.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Classic Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355151
+1 864 918-0867
Holden Beach Coastal North Carolina
PA
5

Classic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The cottage was just what I remembered from my youth at the beach - lots and lots of pine paneling and character. Doggies loved the screened porch and we loved the easy access to the beach. Lovingly decorated and furnished - everything we needed for our getaway.

Thanks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Julia - Thank you very much for your kind review. We do everything we can to meet the expectations of our renters while still maintaining the "old timey" beach cottage feel. And the town of Holden Beach has done an excellent job of keeping this an extraordinary family beach.

Bob
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Classic Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355151
+1 864 918-0867
Holden Beach Coastal North Carolina
Atlanta, GA
4

Back again

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We were here in May and returned this week. New mattress, new comforters, screened in porch still perfect, lot's of updates and some new additions to the kitchen. Hate to say it but, this is the perfect time of year to be here. Just don't fill up the calendar in October cause we're coming back! Thanks Bob!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Glad that you had such a good time. We do our best to make it a nice, comfortable place to stay. Look forward to having you back next year.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Classic Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355151
+1 864 918-0867
Holden Beach Coastal North Carolina
medina, ohio
2

at least it was sunny

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This cottage has so much potential that is unfortunately being ignored by the owners. Any cottage directly on the beach needs continued upkeep which is not being provided. The home has a rusted, moldy refrigerator, a leaky sink, dirty dishes, a screened-in porch with ripped screens,and a sundeck and walkway that is warped with rusy protruding nails. The comforters are worn, stained and ripped and corrosion is a part of almost all metal in the home.Our concerns were ignored by the rental company whom we will obviously never rent through again. We have used VRBO several times before and have always been extremely satisfied until now. Holden Beach is absolutely wonderful and we were so happy with the restaurants and bike rental company nearby. We will be definately return to Holden, but will be looking at alternative beach cottages.
Owner's Response: I am glad that you enjoyed Holden beach but am sorry that our cottage was not what you expected. We work very hard to maintain the cottage under the extreme marine environment. The salt and sun age things very rapidly. We will check into the issues with the comforters and the sink. We replaced half of the comforters this spring. We have discussed this review with our realtor whom we have used since 1978 without complaint. We have replaced one of the comforters and checked out the sink. It was not leaking but was "sweating" because the AC vent had been directed right onto it. We did nto find "mold" in the refrigerator but have repainted the doors. And all of the screens on the screened in porch are in good shape. Unfortunately the high winds we experienced during your stay had torn one or two of them.
Helpful votes: 4/4