West Iceland house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

West Iceland House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, 5 Sleeps

A new house by the ocean with sweeping views of the sea and to the mountains. The house is 30-35 minutes drive from Reykjavík, in a quiet and peaceful location only 50meters from the sea.

Three bedrooms;

two double beds: one double size/one king size

and one single bed.

There is a fully equipped kitchen, a great dining area / living room, with spectacular view.

A nice bathroom with tub and shower. All linen and towels included.

There is a high-speed Wi-fi connection.

Outside the kitchen there is a cosy terrace where you can drink your morning coffee and enjoy the dawn.

Extremely wide birdlife; moorland birds, seabirds, ducks, geese, ravens, ptarmigan and occasionally you can see eagles and owls. In wintertime, depends on the weather, you might get lucky and see the northern lights dancing in the sky above the house.

In the surrounding area there is i.e. the waterfall Glymur (the highest waterfall of Iceland 196 m) Þingvellir National Park, horse rental, swimming pool and good opportunities for hiking tours. There is quick accessibility to main roads and this is superb location for 'The golden circle' and more day trips to the south and west of Iceland.

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 3548774 in West Iceland, Iceland

House By The Ocean / Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
House By The Ocean / Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3548774
West Iceland Iceland
5

Stunning accommodation in a stunning location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed here for 3 nights, and cannot fault anything about the house. It's a beautiful house, beautifully furnished and cared for, with everything you could possibly want or need in a holiday home.

Jona, the owner, was very helpful and friendly in advising about the house and the surrounding area.

The house is in a stunning location on the shores of the fjord, and is perfectly located for Reykjavik and for some of the main tourist spots.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and hope to visit Iceland again in the future, partly on the back of such a wonderful stay.
business
House By The Ocean / Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3548774
West Iceland Iceland
5

Beautiful Vacation Choice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed in this home over the Christmas holidays and loved every minute. The views are amazing, the house is very clean and roomy, and Jóna went above and beyond for us when our flight was delayed. We hope to visit again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
House By The Ocean / Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3548774
West Iceland Iceland
5

AMAZING HOUSE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is the best house I've been to!!! It's so amazing that I don't wanna leave.

The house is well decorated and well equiped, especially the kitchen! There is everything you want. Perfect for traveler to cook, to save money. My friends and I love it so much.

The view around the house is so beautiful that you can just stay there and do nothing. It's quiet and peaceful. I love sitting in the couch to read, listening to CD and enjoying the sunrise. It's so relaxing!

The position is good, not far away from downtown. Just about 30 mins drive. It's convenient. But as not in downtown, it's more quiet and you may be able to see northern light right in the house!!!

And the most important thing is that, the house owner, Jóna, she's so nice and considerate! She gave us all information and even sent us email telling us we may see northern light in the house!

I wish I could go Iceland, this beautiful country soon. And I will definitely stay in Jóna's house again!
business
House By The Ocean / Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3548774
West Iceland Iceland
Colorado, US
5

You Will Dream of Returning

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I stayed in this home for a week in September. The property's description is entirely accurate and the owner went out of her way to be helpful and accommodating both before and during my stay. As other reviewers have noted, there aren't words to describe the beauty and serenity of this home. I chose the space for two reasons: 1) as a haven to accomplish creative work and 2) as a base for touring Iceland. The home could not have proven more perfect for both purposes. Highlights inside the house include a clean, thoughtful and every-thing-you-could-possibly-need design, sweeping views of the sea, and an utter tranquility created by the owner's own creative spirit. Highlights beyond the house include: a remote seaside setting, walkable (stone) beaches, quick accessibility to main roads, proximity to Reykjavik, and a chance to see the Northern Lights in your own backyard! From start to finish, this home and its wonderful owner proved welcoming in every way. If you are lucky, then one day you will spend some time in Iceland. If you are twice lucky, you will spend some of that time in this home. Already I am dreaming of how I can return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
House By The Ocean / Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3548774
West Iceland Iceland
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
A fantastic house - very clean, modern, all amenities and stunning views. The house was the perfect location for our visit to west Iceland.
The owner was wonderful - easy and clear communication, helpful, welcoming.
I highly recommend staying here!
business
House By The Ocean / Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3548774
West Iceland Iceland
5

Highlight of our vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Great location. Easy access to everything. Stunning views. Beautiful house.
Jona was great.
Staying here was the highlight of our trip.
Highly recommend
business
House By The Ocean / Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3548774
West Iceland Iceland
5

Stunning Vacation Rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My two girls and I rented this property in August and we absolutely loved it. The house is gorgeous, comfortable, spacious, beautifully decorated and has wonderful views from every room. The location is stunning, very quiet and peaceful. Jóna (the owner) was very welcoming and provided us with maps and travel tips for our stay. The girls loved playing down at the beach and bird watching. The house is in a great location- close to Reykjavik, and there is lots to see as you travel around Hvalfjörður. We have traveled to Iceland several times before and the girls and I would definitely rate this house as one of our favorites!
business
House By The Ocean / Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3548774
West Iceland Iceland
5

Fantastic House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Beautiful house and view. The home was clean, modern and well maintained.

The home owner was amiable and accommodating and a pleasure to deal with.

We also happened to get engaged at the house and I couldn't think of a more picturesque spot to pop the question.

The house is right off of the main highway (far enough away to be quite) and is in close proximity to many great sites and hiking attractions.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
House By The Ocean / Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3548774
West Iceland Iceland
5

Wonderfull and very clean house.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is a wonderfull, confortable and very clean house with a magnificent view on the fjord. All we need was at our disposal (equipment).
The description is correct and the owner is welcoming.
I recommend warmly this rent.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
House By The Ocean / Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3548774
West Iceland Iceland
5

A slice of heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Words will not be able to describe just what an amazing place this was to rent in Iceland but I will try in this review. Being from a small, mid-west town in the United States, our family travels extensively each summer as part of our children's education to make them more global thinkers. This home was by far the most magical place we have ever stayed. This was our second visit to Iceland. the first time we stayed right in the city and it was great too, but staying just a short, beautiful drive was awesome. My kids had their own area on the second level with a view that brought smiles to their faces after long days of exploring. They would sit with their journals and write without prompting because they enjoyed the area in the home so much. The home had everything needed and our host was very accommodating. She was very kind as our plans of arrival changed and it was a totally stress free experience. My husband and I enjoyed being able to sit with our cups of coffee in the morning and listen to the birds and the quiet. We didn't want to leave it was so wonderful and we hope to be able to return someday. I would not change a thing about the home or our visit! I would love to suggest though, having access to purchase some of the owners pottery! She is a very gifted artist and we were in awe of her work that was around the house. She sells her art in town, but unfortunately our schedule didn't allow us to make it there to purchase anything. We always attempt to bring a piece of the culture home with us and my kids would have loved to have been able to purchase one of the beautiful pieces as a memory of this magical home.
Helpful votes: 1/1