Grand Cayman condo rental - Private Beachfront Setting
Private Beachfront Setting
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Grand Cayman Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

2 steps to the sand....our Beachfront in Coral Bay Village is just 10 minutes away from Georgetown (Capitol) and the airport. - but a million miles from stress and other worldly cares. The intimate setting, right on the beach, allows guests to feel that they are relaxing in their private villa. The spectacular view of the shimmering water invites you to take a leisurely dip or read a good book under the shade of a Palm tree. The perfect place to gather with loved ones, reconnect and regenerate. Situated on white, powdery sand, the small, 'non-touristy' beach is also just minutes from Seven Mile Beach, World class restaurants, bars, clubs,commercial water sports, shopping and sightseeing.

The large (1625 sq. ft.) 2 bedroom/ 2 full bath condo is decorated simply in 'beach chic' fashion. The living room is comfortable & equipped with cable TV, DVD, VCR, radio, central A/C, local cell phone and Internet. The kitchen is well equipped with dishwasher, microwave, washer/dryer, ice maker, blender, coffee grinder and 2 food processors.

The Master bedroom is furnished with a King size Tommy Bahama bed. It is connected to the master bath which has a large, rain shower, hair dryer and lighted make up mirror. The guest bed is furnished with a queen size bed and pack n play. Bedrooms are comfortable and have lots of storage.

The generous screened patio with gas grill is best for listening to the eternity of the waves gently breaking on the beach, comfortable naps, sleeping under the stars and intimate dining.

Fresh water pool and tennis court available as well.

The secluded, mostly residential condo complex offers excellent swimming and snorkeling, a pristine beach, right outside your door. Step into the sea with protective reef & find sea life abundant. So... please don’t leave home without a snorkel and mask. Even if you have never tried, never even thought of it - be adventurous. You will not be sorry. But do be conscious of the sun on the water. Wear water proof sunblock especially on back of neck and shoulders. If you forget or run out, there should be a supply in the guest bath medicine cabinet

While it is possible to swim beyond the reef, we do not recommend it due to the currents. Do not fear sharks or anything dangerous in the water. There is a nurse shark at the end of the jetty but she is not dangerous in the least. You also may encounter one of three of our local turtles. While they are also very timid, there is one that may let you swim with him.

Divers: You are definitely in the right place!

A well known dive master, lives upstairs (second door from left) and will happily assist with dive questions. There are 2 well known dive sites just outside the door and many others nearby. If you decide to visit without car rental, some dive operations will pick you up at the Jetty 2 properties over – or call Cayman Dive Shuttle or Happy Fish for transportation to other dive sites.

Coral Bay Village is located on the main road which surrounds the island so it is easy to get around the island with just a few turns. There is a Fosters grocery near the airport as well as one 1 mile up the road. This is a 30 unit complex located on Spotts Bay. Established about 30 years ago, the founders were keen on finding the best beach on the 'quiet' side of the island. ..and they succeeded. The beach rivals Seven Mile Beach for sand, swimming and snorkeling - but we also enjoy unbelievable privacy, security, peace & tranquility. Most often, there will be no one on the beach - but you!

A Few Things To Do: Stingray City is legend in Cayman. The locals will tell you that many years ago the fisherman used to stop at a sand bar to clean their fish. They dropped the cleanings in the sea & attracted Stingray which made their home there & actually became domesticated… like pets! The area is suitable for any one – swimmers, snorkelers, - even non swimmers can enjoy the shallow part. It is best to do this tour on days that the cruise ships are less or go after 2:30 when the cruise ship folks are leaving. Fat fish Adventures is a family run venture that gives a great personal tour. Book in advance.

Our local manager is very knowledgeable and the best resource for cruises or fishing excursions.

George Town Harbour

Go mid day for the freshest catch. Try haggling but you will probably get a nice size snapper (clean) for $5.00 a pound. Take him home, stuff with onions, peppers, fresh thyme etc. Wrap him up and bake in the grill or oven. It is gastronomic! You might want to take a thermos bag from the guest room closet and an ice pack from the freezer to keep him at his best.

While you are there – if the cruise ships are in, the locals sell neat crafts in the kiosks with the white umbrellas across from the harbour. Find East End Bonnie. She makes great jewelry from local nuts, seeds, etc. It is unbelievable and I have had some of the pieces for years. Tell her you are my cousin & she will take off 10%. Lots of black coral venders there as well.

If you are serious about jewelry – we believe in Kirks Freeport. Their prices are fair and they stand behind their products. In 1997, Jerry bought me a Rado watch from Bailey, Banks and Biddle Atlanta huge Christmas sale. In 2007, I bought the matching (larger) one for him at Kirks for less money – You do the math! We are both still wearing the watches.

But if you have made your way to Kirks, please go across the street to Passmans…a true Caymanian artist (black coral).

The last great place for souvenirs is the Cayman National Trust. (it is not a bank). The Cayman National Trust preserves our culture /history and environment and is on the way to George Town on the road that goes around the island. Dart Park. Find it in the book of maps in the kitchen cabinet.

Market at the Grounds

Every Saturday morning visit our Farmers/Craft market.

Keywords: Beachfront, secluded, private, away from it all, non-touristy, quiet, romantic.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I are in our mid 60's and currently live outside Atlanta. We lived in Grand Cayman for 5+ years and, and after deciding to purchase property there, we did an exhaustive search to find the best beach and condo possible. We lived on Seven Mile Beach for our first 2 years and decided to get away from the noise, density and tourists. We love the privacy and tranquility at Coral Bay Village with the proximity to the airport and Georgetown and the unit itself. Our complex is generally not available for vacation rentals - so this is new to us. We hope to have internet and phone connection with our guests and also have a representative that lives in the complex.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2006

The place is truly amazing. I really don't know what we did to deserve this! I remember, as a child, my biggest dream was to have a swimming pool in my back yard. To wake to the sound of waves is so beautiful first thing in the morning - you just have to be here to understand. I have been traveling to Grand Cayman on vacation since 1968. When we were offered a chance to live here, we could not pass up the opportunity. I have also traveled the Caribbean extensively and find Cayman to be the safest, with the most stable government.

The best thing about our unit is the tranquility and proximity to the sea. It is clean and newly furnished in 2006. We have lived here much of the time since then so the furnishings are well kept.

Unlike other Caribbean islands, Cayman is relatively crime free. Guns are illegal.

I love pulling a chair right down to the waters edge in the morning with my coffee.

26 Reviews of Property 354790 in Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

2 Steps to the Sand. 10 Minutes from Airport
average rating of 5.0 based on 26 reviews
business
2 Steps to the Sand. 10 Minutes from Airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354790vb
770 751-1501
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
5

Better than Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is the place where all your Caribbean vacation dreams will come true. The water is just footsteps across the soft sand from your screened lanai. You'll hear the waves while sleeping in a very comfortable bed. You can snorkel any time, just walk-in and you'll be swimming with the turtles and the rays (and keep your eyes out for the squid, we counted 15 one day)!

The condo has everything you could need. It is set-up with all the creature comforts of home, has every kitchen tool you'd want for cooking," beach furniture for lazing under the palms, and an outdoor shower for rinsing-off the salt water and sand from your feet.

The location is ideal for exploring the many walk-in snorkel locations throughout the island, however wherever we drove during the day, we always found ourselves getting into the water at Spott's Bay when we arrived back at the condo at day's end. There was never a crowd in the water and many days we had the beach to ourselves.

Our favorite lunch was on Wednesday at Amelia's Kitchen for Conch Stew. It's a local (mom-Amelia, pop-Richard, and daughter-Nancy) restaurant, located near the airport at 343 Crewe Rd. Look for the daily specials on the handwritten signboard or call, 949-5522.

The owner has accurately represented this home in the description, everything was better than we expected!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
2 Steps to the Sand. 10 Minutes from Airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354790vb
770 751-1501
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Reston, VA
5

Excellent family beach/snorkel/dive getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I highly recommend anyone wanting a quiet location with complete access to an excellent beach to stay at this condo. We completely enjoyed hearing the waves through the open master bedroom windows at night, eating our breakfast and lunches out on the beach under a palm tree and grilling each night on the patio. We dove with Living The Dream divers and Turtle Reef (sun divers) every single day and the drive down to west end (where the boat left from) was 25-30 minutes tops. Easy access from the condo to the grocery store, liquor store and anything else you might need at Countryside shopping center. The condo is well taken care of with all the amenities included. Lynn, Pam and Paula where easy to reach at any time if we had any questions and they promptly addressed any needs we had. We recommend the Jerk stand over near Hurley's (just look for the smoke) open Tue-Sat. The photos of the condo are all accurate but don't do enough justice. You will miss this place when you leave. I recommend you look in the guest book for a map showing where the best snorkeling is out front. We figured it all out after a couple of times, but it would have been easier just to look at the map someone drew! We hope to be back one day!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
2 Steps to the Sand. 10 Minutes from Airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354790vb
770 751-1501
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Illinois
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We loved everything about this condo. The location provided solitude and relaxation away from busier Seven Mile beach, but we felt that the drive to restaurants and activities was reasonable. Our family of five enjoyed excellent snorkeling and we were often alone on the beach. The property is well maintained and is up to date. Highly recommended for a great getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
2 Steps to the Sand. 10 Minutes from Airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354790vb
770 751-1501
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Wilmington, DE
5

Great condo in a beautiful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Spent 8 days in the condo with a family of 6. All the previous ratings are 5 stars and rightfully so! The location (South side of the island) is somewhat remote - which is both positive and negative. The positive is that you feel like you are on your own private island most of the time! The negative is that a rental car is a must as nothing is within walking distance. The condo and beach are exactly as pictured. The kitchen has everything you would need to cook for the week and there are plenty of towels and cleaning products etc. Wi-Fi worked great. The property manager, Pam, called to check on us half-way through. The only issue we had (with the A/C) was fixed within the hour! The beach out front is the highlight, with many fish, turtles, stingrays and decent coral heads just west of the pier about 50 - 75 yards out. The water can get a bit choppy (mostly in the afternoon) due to the tides and wind, but my two 9 years-olds managed the snorkeling just fine. Many turtles feeding in the low sea-grass about 25 – 50 yards out on the east side of the pier in about 5 feet of water. The pool is across the street so not as convenient as it could be; the tennis court was always open however! Considering that this condo would be an extra $1000 per week if on SMB makes it a great value in a great location!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
2 Steps to the Sand. 10 Minutes from Airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354790vb
770 751-1501
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Atlanta, GA
5

Excellent Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
You can't beat the location of this condo. Spotts Beach is just as beautiful as Seven Mile, but it is much more secluded. We felt like we had our own personal beach. Great snorkeling!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
2 Steps to the Sand. 10 Minutes from Airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354790vb
770 751-1501
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Texas
5

What a treat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was the ideal location for our family. A quite private beach with excellent snorkling just out the back door of the condo. The centralized location on the island made it easy to visit rum point and the east end on one day, and another day off to the west end to see the turtle farm, a bit of snorkeling at cemetary beach and a stop for lunch. Hurley's grocery has a very nice deli with prepared local dishes. the Grape Tree restaurant in Bodden Town was good, Over the Edge restaurant near old man bay towards the north side was good and reasonably priced.
The condo was very nice, very comfortable, the kittchen had everything we needed to prepare a meal. And the beach out the back door is beautiful.
We enjoyed all the fish and turtles while snorkeling at the condo, but as you go in and out the front door take a walk aroung the planter and check out the lizards, we saw a large iguana and also a small turquoise blue lizard i think is called a Blue Iona in there along with the curly tailed lizards.
What a treat, we will return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
2 Steps to the Sand. 10 Minutes from Airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354790vb
770 751-1501
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Houston, Texas
5

Relaxing vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Top quality condo very comfortable with excellent furnishings and amenities in wonderful location. Quiet, private beach away from all the tourists. Grocery stores close by. Property was very well maintained and owner was most helpful with all questions. Would highly recommend. We especially enjoyed the cooked-to-order pasta night special (Thursdays) at the Grand Old House (first come-first served-no reservations needed). Snorkeling right off the beach was amazing. We swam with turtles, sting rays and lots of colorful fish.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
2 Steps to the Sand. 10 Minutes from Airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354790vb
770 751-1501
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Charlotte, NC
5

We'll Be Back

We'll Be Back
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This is a great property and location. We lived on the screen porch and ate most of our meals there.. The owner had candles on the table and a rope light around the ceiling so we had nice romantic waterfront dining every night. The unit was clean, had plenty of space, and the four of us were quite happy. There were plenty of pots and pans for cooking and two grocery stores were about 5 minutes away in either direction. We liked Hurley's best because the food there was closer to our American stores. We bought some steaks there and they were very good. We snorkeled in front of the condo and saw turtles, and a ray; around the coral garden, directly in front of the condo, not far out, we saw many diferent kinds of fish. It was so nice just to walk out from the condo and be right on the beach. And Spotts Beach is very quiet - even in February we were often the only ones on the beach.
We went to Sting Ray City and the coral garden on the Red Sail Sports Glass Bottom Boat. The boat was extremely easy to get on/off when we saw the rays and also to snorkel. The crew was especially helpful and nice. I wasn't enthused about going to the coral garden but it was wonderful - the water was so clear and there were just tons of fish. I could have stayed there all afternoon. We drove to Smith Cove which is just before you get into George Town. It was a pretty good place to snorkel.
We ate at Duke's Seafood and Rib Shack at 7 Mile Beach and really enjoyed it. The prices were reasonable. Also ate at Over the Edge near Rum Point but the service was slow and the food was mediocre. We ate at Rum Point, next to Red Sail Sports, right at the beach for lunch one day - the food was okay, but expensive. We found Grand Cayman to be easy to get around but since they drive on the "wrong" side, we were very careful at roundabouts and making turns. By the end of the week, we were doing pretty well. One couple hiked the Mastic Trail - it is difficult walking because the trail is made from coral. If you go, wear sturdy shoes. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and loved the condo, the screen porch and the location. I highly recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
2 Steps to the Sand. 10 Minutes from Airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354790vb
770 751-1501
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Atlanta, Ga
5

A Very Special Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I'm afraid my family and I are spoiled for all future beach vacations. This home was the perfect setting for our getaway. Convenient to the airport and local grocery stores and restaurants, the home is tucked into very private Spotts Beach area. We strolled out the back door in the mornings for long days on the beach, grilling on the huge screened porch, snorkeling in the tranquil waters just steps from the back door. When I asked the owners if they had umbrellas, she said "No, but we have palm trees," and what an accurate answer. Truly a story book setting. The owner was very responsive and helpful (helping us find a Dr for a sick child while away, and directing us to great restaurants and activities.) The condo itself is spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated. I would highly recommend this location and this unit to any considering a trip to Grand Cayman! Also, if you go on a night with no moon, be sure to contact Cayman Kayaks for a bioluminescent kayak tour -- magical.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
2 Steps to the Sand. 10 Minutes from Airport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354790vb
770 751-1501
Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Bluffton, SC
5

A Perfect place to Relax and enjoy the beach and water!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Away from the traffic and crowds, this is an ideal spot to relax and enjoy the beach and water. The lanai is so delightful as is the rest of the condo with its very spacious rooms and comfortable furniture. The photos are true to the current appearance. I would certainly go back and recommend it to friends and family. I would recommend a car for getting around the island or just going out to dinner. The buses come frequently during the day, but stop by 7pm evenings. The Turtle Farm and Dolphin Discovery are a must to see, but you can take a tour to the West End to see them.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children