Fredericksburg house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Fredericksburg House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6)

This house is built in the regional 'Sunday Haus' style, and is nestled on a hillside offering expansive views of the Hill Country. Situated 4 miles from Main Street, and a short drive to shopping and restaurants, but offering the quiet solitude of the countryside.

The large wrap-around porch provides a wonderful gathering place. The pond features a waterfall and attracts deer frequently. All bedrooms are spacious, with one on the first level, and a den and two additional bedrooms on the second level. Two of the bedrooms have queen size beds, while the third has a double and two twin beds. The large kitchen is equipped with a gas stove, microwave oven, and dishwasher. The first level has wood beamed ceilings and pine plank floors, while the upstairs has plush 'Berber' carpeting.

***Please note the pond is not fenced. Therefor the property is not suitable for unsupervised children***

A whole house water softener/filtration system has recently been added.

Full size front load washer and dryer, restricted access entry, and covered parking add to the many amenities of this special property.

Fredericksburg was settled by German immigrants, led by John O. Meusebach in 1846. Although the settlement was on Comanche Frontier, the Meusebach-Comanche Treaty established lasting peace. Many older buildings retain traditional German and frontier styles, with over 700 historical structures in the historic district alane. Many are on the National Register of Historic Places. German is still spoken on occasions, and old German customs are regularly observed. Schuetzen Fests (marksmanship), Oktoberfest, Weihnachten, and Kinderfest, to name a few.

Visitors are attracted by the scenic beauty,, European atmosphere, and historic landmarks. Fredericksburg is home to the Pacific War Museum, and birthplace of Fleet Adm. Chester W. Nimitz, Commander in Chief of the Pacific Fleet during World War II.

More Details
Hide Details

I have always loved spending time in the Texas Hill Country, and being a cyclist, I was drawn to Fredericksburg. The numerous county roads offer many spectacular cycling routes.

My search criteria for the 'right' property included; being reasonably close to town, while offering views, and the house having architectural interest. This property was the only one that came close (in my price range), so I decided to buy it. I really look forward to my trips down to Fredericksburg, and especially enjoy watching the sun rise and set against the hills. The night skies are quite spectacular for star gazing.

My friends have especially enjoyed accompanying me down to the area. They delight in the shopping, the many restaurants and wineries, and hiking Enchanted Rock State Park.

I hope you make it down and enjoy the property as much as I do!

34 Reviews of Property 354543 in Fredericksburg, Texas

Rustic Hill Country Retreat with Superb Views
average rating of 4.9117646 based on 34 reviews
business
Rustic Hill Country Retreat with Superb Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354543
+1 214 402-8642
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
5

The Perfect House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Oak Haven Haus was perfect! The home was very clean, nicely decorated, well maintained, and the listing description was spot on. We debated whether to stay within walking distance of town or staying at Oak Haven and we're so glad we chose Oak Haven. The quiet surroundings kept us sitting on the deck talking for hours. It was so relaxing being so secluded surrounded by trees and a pond. This is definitely a place I would stay in again and would highly recommend. Also, Gavin responded to my e-mails promptly and he returned the full security deposit within 4 days of us leaving. Stay at Oak Haven and you won't be sorry.

Karen
business
Rustic Hill Country Retreat with Superb Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354543
+1 214 402-8642
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
5

Excellent views from a beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
What a great place to stay! We enjoyed playing cards and drinking wine on the awesome deck. The second floor deck is a great place to drink coffee and enjoy the incredible views. It was plenty of room for two couples and we really enjoyed Fredericksburg and the Texas wine country.

Thanks...Brian
business
Rustic Hill Country Retreat with Superb Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354543
+1 214 402-8642
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
5

Breathtaking Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This house was the perfect location for a weekend getaway with friends! Peaceful, clean, beautiful, relaxing, and full of nature. 3 days after being home, we are all still talking about the phenomenal views from the deck as we drank our coffee each morning. We could not have asked for more, everything was clean, organized, the kitchen was well stocked, the beds were comfortable, and did I mention the AMAZING VIEW???? If you want to relax, spend time with family and friends, or just get away for a weekend-this is THE place!

The owner was extremely helpful with all of my questions and communicated promptly and professionally. Great customer service!
business
Rustic Hill Country Retreat with Superb Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354543
+1 214 402-8642
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
5

Wonderful house for a group getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We rented the Oak Haven Haus for a weekend reunion before my little brother's wedding and had an amazing time. The house was very spacious and had a great country feel to it - it could have easily accommodated 5-6 more people and I would love to return with a group in the future. The wrap around porch provided amazing views of the hill country which we enjoyed while reading and having coffee in the mornings.

We really enjoyed the location as it seemed very secluded but also was only minutes from downtown when we wanted to go out to eat. We also went out on a couple of great bike rides and there were plenty of maps and suggested rides kept in a binder by the homeowner. Thanks for a great trip and I hope to bring a group back again in the future!
business
Rustic Hill Country Retreat with Superb Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354543
+1 214 402-8642
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
5

Breathtaking views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Went for a girls' getaway weekend and had a fabulous time. The house is adorable and loaded with anything and everything you could need. The views from the upper and lower decks really have to be seen to be appreciated...breathtaking! There is so much to do and see around Fredericksburg and no better place to stay than here. We are already looking forward to our next stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Rustic Hill Country Retreat with Superb Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354543
+1 214 402-8642
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
Humble, TX
5

Great views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Oak Haven Haus was the perfect place for our girls getaway. We enjoyed the comfortable home, the porch and the great views. The owner’s home is barely visible from the porch and we could not even tell if the owner was there. We all enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer! We’ll be back!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Rustic Hill Country Retreat with Superb Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354543
+1 214 402-8642
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
Heath, TX
5

Awsome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was the perfect place for us to stay while we visited Fredricksberg. The wrap around porch was new which also had a table and chairs and just great for enjoying the magnificent scenery. The house is up on a hill so the views are great. The house was completely furnished and extremely clean. I have nothing but good things to say about this property. Will rent it again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Rustic Hill Country Retreat with Superb Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354543
+1 214 402-8642
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
5

A perfect fit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This place was a perfect fit for my family. It has character, peaceful surroundings and everything we could need was provided. We are very happy to have found such a great owner to work with as well, he made everything simply easy for us. The house has a real rustic charm and our son loved going to visit the ducks every morning and seeing the deer roam the area. We highly recommend this place and the owner! Thank you for opening your house to us.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Rustic Hill Country Retreat with Superb Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354543
+1 214 402-8642
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
The Woodlands, TX
4

The views from this porch are spectacular!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Although this is an older home, it was well maintained and comfortable for our group of 5 ladies. We enjoyed the wrap-around porch and views, as well as the proximity to shopping and entertainment.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Rustic Hill Country Retreat with Superb Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354543
+1 214 402-8642
Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
Frisco, Texas
5

Relaxing Haven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We rented Oak Haven Haus for 5 days this past June for our parent’s 50th wedding anniversary. There were five of us and we all enjoyed our stay.

It was still cool in the mornings and all of us found our way onto the deck to drink our coffee and just take in the silence. Of course, there were nature sounds but it was fantastic to get away from the endless noise of the city and suburbs for a few days. We even saw hummingbirds in the mornings and deer at dusk right there on the property.

Pros:
Quiet-while not that far from town (10 minutes or so) the house situated at the end of the street sits on the side of a hill and is surrounded by trees and other vegetation so the sensation is that you are in the country.
Views-outstanding “hill country” views from the deck
Rooms-the layout (downstairs master and two bedrooms upstairs one room was huge and could sleep 4 kids easy) was perfect. Everyone got their own space.
Bathrooms-with 2 & ½ of them were clean
Kitchen-everything we needed was there and more. We cooked in three nights and any utensil/pan/plates/bowls/cups etc. required was at hand. I used the grill (not gas) those nights and it worked fine. Other guests have left random food items, teas, condiments which we didn’t use too much of but just know the cupboards are not bare.
Dining room-only mentioning it because it was nice to have it there to break bread with our family three nights in a row, which is unheard of these days!

Everything was as advertised. The owner answers questions and responds quickly via email.

Cons:
None. We did have to knock out a developing wasp next right next to the table on the deck but once again, the owner provided everything we needed. This included several varieties and cans of wasp killer!

If you need a base to explore the hill country, wineries or Fredericksburg this place does the trick. It’s comfortable, quiet and relaxing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3