Vieques Island house rental - This will be your 'living room'
This will be your 'living room'
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Vieques Island House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms

ISOLA - a unique urban beach lifestyle. Brand new construction with 2 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms. Gourmet kitchen with stainless steel appliances and polished concrete countertops. A/C in master bedroom. The beach is right at your front door, yet you can walk to restaurants, markets, pubs & bakeries. Isola - Italian for 'island', Viequense for 'chill'.

Simple. Paradise.

10 Reviews of Property 354381 in Vieques Island, Puerto Rico

ISOLA - unique urban beach lifestyle. Simple. Paradise.
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
ISOLA - unique urban beach lifestyle. Simple. Paradise.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354381
+1 787 741-7001
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
4

Nice Getaway!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had a lovely stay at Isola. It was very relaxing to start and end the day overlooking the ocean and Sun Glass Beach. We found some good snorkeling just off the beach to the right. One day it was murky, but the other days quite clear. We enjoyed being so close to downtown Isabel II for shopping, dining, the ferry, etc. The house was pretty well equipped...it only had two beach chairs and 3 beach towels (some had evidently been lost along the way). And while it wasn't a big deal for us, we were surprised that there was no TV (we missed picking that up on the listing). There was internet service, so that was good. One thing we were told and read before coming to Vieques Island was that having a rental car was a MUST on the island. We found otherwise. We found a great Publico driver who was super reliable! He drove us everywhere and was always there to pick us up as arranged. One night he was still waiting for us at 11pm after our bio bay tour (which ran a half hour late), and then the next morning picked us up at 7:15a to take us Horseback riding. He drove us to & from beaches all over the island. Never accepting pay on the "to", so that we trusted he would return to get us. (That was his suggestion!) We were a group of four....and there wasn't one day that we spent as much as we would have with a rental car for the day. And with our driver we didn't have to worry about gas, parking, potential accidents, theft, etc. We had him on speed dial. Ask the property manager for his name if you are interested. VRBO won't let me post it here. Or you can find his name in my trip advisor review (5 days on Vieques without a rental car) If we were to return, we'd look him up for sure!!! Plus the parking at the house is a little tight. So if you hear you MUST have a rental car (pretty expensive on Vieques), that's just not true.
In hind sight, we might have rented for just one day to explore the entire island as a group - but, otherwise, we just wouldn't bother --- our Publico driver was perfect!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
ISOLA - unique urban beach lifestyle. Simple. Paradise.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354381
+1 787 741-7001
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Great house!..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We were very happy to get this house at the last minute in Vieques and loved it...
As previous people said it does only have the a/c in the bedroom downstairs so can be a little warm upstairs-but not horrible. Suggest bringing a few citronella candles-mosquitoes were all over!.Great stay..although a short one-would definitely go back.
business
ISOLA - unique urban beach lifestyle. Simple. Paradise.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354381
+1 787 741-7001
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Sooner traveler

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The Isola house is great and exactly as in the pictures. It is ver clean, on a very quiet, safe street and has a wonderful view on the veranda. It was my 15 year old son, my mother and myself, we loved it, the only minus is it gets a bit warm in the evening, since house faces the west, but it was not unbearable. The A/C really works well for sleeping in the master bedroom. The water and ice out of the refrigerator tastes great, no need for bottled water. The house had 3 beach chairs, 4 beach towels, a large beach umbrella, ice chest, water floats and a mask and snorkel, we loaded the jeep up with all that stuff and explored every beach we could possibly drive down. In the evenings we would walk to Al's Mar Azul for sunset happy hour or grill fresh fish from the market, then take a swim or float in the beach in front of the house. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need, including the blender, which was great. We all loved the house, the island and the beautiful beaches.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
ISOLA - unique urban beach lifestyle. Simple. Paradise.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354381
+1 787 741-7001
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

BEAUTIFUL SUNSETS FROM PORCH!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
LOVED THIS PROPERTY! I COULD WATCH MY 9 YEAR OLD PLAY ON THE BEACH AND HUNT FOR SEA GLASS IN THE MORNING AND EVENINGS. WE ENJOYED WATCHING THE FERRIES COME AND GO ALL DAY TOO! GREAT LOCATION, BUT YOU WILL NEED A 4X4 TO GO TO THE MUST SEE BEACHES. WE ENJOY EATING LUNCH AT BANANAS!! EVERYTHING AND MORE WAS ALREADY AT THE HOUSE.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ISOLA - unique urban beach lifestyle. Simple. Paradise.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354381
+1 787 741-7001
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Amazing Modern House with a Spectacular View!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our family recently visited Vieques for a week. We have a fifteen year old daughter and she LOVED the loft upstairs. It was the perfect place to unwind and decompress from our busy lives. The Isola House is situated beautifully on the beach with the most spectacular view. Helen, our realtor, was such a great host and told us the best places to go for wine, fresh produce, car services, rentals, etc. The house is pretty cool for the most part although the kitchen area gets a little warm. We found both bedrooms to be very comfortable. Plus, there is typically such a nice breeze during the time you're home anyways that the minimal warmth wasn't an issue for us---you really only notice it when you're packing up for the next adventure anyways. The beach is swimmable but we enjoyed the beaches that were a 15 minute drive the best. I highly recommend going to the Fish Market near the Ferry and getting fresh fish to cook at home. The Farmers' Market is on Tuesdays and Wednesdays (Helen can direct you better) and they have really fresh veggies and fruits. Sol Food Truck is by far the best food on the island and they are open Thursday-Sunday from 11am until the food runs out---again ask Helen for location. If you're a coffee snob, like me then bring your favorite ground beans. There is a coffee maker in the house but the coffee on the island isn't the best. The local people are some of the nicest people you'll meet and you will instantly fall in love with the island. It's a slower paced way of life so be sure to be understanding of this and enjoy yourself. The house had everything we needed---a blender for our frozen drinks, pots & pans to cook our fish & veggies in, washer/dryer for those beach towels, you name it. I really don't think you could find a better house on the island for the view, location into town (Mar Azul has killer pina coladas--near the ferry) and a short drive into Esperanza and the other beaches. Definitely contact Vieques Paddleboarding for paddleboarding and snorkeling--our favorite thing we did the entire trip. Also, be sure you take advantage of exploring the island. It truly is an amazing place with wild horses everywhere. We will definitely make this an annual family trip and hope to get our friends there soon too!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
ISOLA - unique urban beach lifestyle. Simple. Paradise.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354381
+1 787 741-7001
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

AMAZING VIEW WITH A PERFECT LOCATION

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our family recently visited Vieques for a week. We have a fifteen year old daughter and she LOVED the loft upstairs. It was the perfect place to unwind and decompress from our busy lives. The Isola House is situated beautifully on the beach with the most spectacular view. Helen, our realtor, was such a great host and told us the best places to go for wine, fresh produce, car services, rentals, etc. The house is pretty cool for the most part although the kitchen area gets a little warm. We found both bedrooms to be very comfortable. Plus, there is typically such a nice breeze during the time you're home anyways that the minimal warmth wasn't an issue for us---you really only notice it when you're packing up for the next adventure anyways. The beach is swimmable but we enjoyed the beaches that were a 15 minute drive the best. I highly recommend going to the Fish Market near the Ferry and getting fresh fish to cook at home. The Farmers' Market is on Tuesdays and Wednesdays (Helen can direct you better) and they have really fresh veggies and fruits. Sol Food Truck is by far the best food on the island and they are open Thursday-Sunday from 11am until the food runs out---again ask Helen for location. If you're a coffee snob, like me then bring your favorite ground beans. There is a coffee maker in the house but the coffee on the island isn't the best. The local people are some of the nicest people you'll meet and you will instantly fall in love with the island. It's a slower paced way of life so be sure to be understanding of this and enjoy yourself. The house had everything we needed---a blender for our frozen drinks, pots & pans to cook our fish & veggies in, washer/dryer for those beach towels, you name it. I really don't think you could find a better house on the island for the view, location into town (Mar Azul has killer pina coladas--near the ferry) and a short drive into Esperanza and the other beaches. Definitely contact Vieques Paddleboarding for paddleboarding and snorkeling--our favorite thing we did the entire trip. Also, be sure you take advantage of exploring the island. It truly is an amazing place with wild horses everywhere. We will definitely make this an annual family trip and hope to get our friends there soon too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
ISOLA - unique urban beach lifestyle. Simple. Paradise.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354381
+1 787 741-7001
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Auburn CA
5

Modern, clean, and right on the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was our first stay on Vieques and we were very happy with our decision to rent Isola. It is modern, clean, and right on Sea Glass beach. The listing information and photos give an accurate representation. The views off the balcony are spectacular. Isola does not have a pool but with the ocean only 100 feet from the balcony why would we want one? Sandals or water shoes are recommended, it is called Sea Glass beach for a reason. The beach is public but on the busiest day we saw maybe 5 or 6 people stroll by walking dogs or searching for jewelry glass. Our experience with the property manager was consistent with other reviews - she was readily accessible and very helpful.

If this is your first trip to Vieques I recommend taking your Vieques tour map, getting in your rental car, and treating yourself to a self-guided tour of the island. When you get off the paved roads some of the roads, while not extreme, can be rough especially after heavy rain. We were glad our car had 4WD, possibly we would not have needed it but it was a good precaution against getting stuck.

Tour the Fort Conde de Mirasol museum, at one time a prison and now housing interesting displays of art, weapons, and other antiquities. The drive out to Green Beach will take you through some beautiful tropical foliage. Red Beach and Blue Beach are also beautiful. The night kayak tour of the Bio Luminescent Bay is highly recommended.

Places to eat / drink. The airport bar and grill at Vieques airport. Lazy Jack's in Esperanza for pizza and beach front bar. Mama Songa's in Isabel - one of the best burgers I have ever had. For a high-end dinner try El Quenepo. Have a BBQ on your balcony, the propane grill is clean and fully functional and you can't beat the views.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
ISOLA - unique urban beach lifestyle. Simple. Paradise.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354381
+1 787 741-7001
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Lake Forest, IL, USA
5

Island Getaway that delivers as promised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
If you read the description of Isola, what you see is what you get. There were no disappointments. Only beautiful sunsets off our balcony, lots of sea glass on the beach, and the sound of the ocean to lull you to sleep.

The house was conveniently located to town, and we were able to walk to a choice of restaurants. We did use a car to get to other parts of the island, because Vieques is an island that wants to be explored.

The house was clean and the agent was available if we had questions or problems. She truly cared about our well being.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ISOLA - unique urban beach lifestyle. Simple. Paradise.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354381
+1 787 741-7001
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Lake Forest, IL, USA
5

Beautiful modern house on primitive island beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We had always read about the Spanish Virgin's in the sailing magazines. This year it really was not in the cards to take a bareboat vacation, so we decided to try renting a house on Vieques. We found Isola and knew it was for us. It totally lived up to the description in the listing. It is literally right on Sea Glass Beach so you can hear the waves in your window at night. Of course if you feel the need, the bedroom has a/c, but we enjoy the feeling of being outside so we keep the windows open.

When we saw the house, it looked exactly as in the pictures. There were no surprises.

The view from the balcony is spectacular, and you can just step out the gate and you're on the beach. The amenities are modern. It is convenient to have a washer and dryer, as it allows you to pack lighter. If you plan to spend some time having a cocktail as the sun goes down, your laundry can be wishing and you don't miss a beat.

There are quite a few restaurants within walking distance, and in fact you really don't need to have a car for the entire stay. However, that being said, Vieques is an island that wants to be explored and to do that you need a car. The best beaches are in the natural preserve and you need a car to get to them. None of the beaches are crowded and each is a little different.

The management agent was helpful and caring about our needs. You won't make a mistake if you rent this house
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
ISOLA - unique urban beach lifestyle. Simple. Paradise.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354381
+1 787 741-7001
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Madison, WI, USA
5

Live like a millionaire for a week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
This house was newly completed in Jan. 2011. We felt like it was built for us. Beautiful and extremely clean with spectacular sunsets. There were no other neighbors. Had a great time relaxing on porch right on Sea Glass Beach. When gets hot, retreat to the backside porch in cool banana, mango and almond tree shade. Watched fish jump clear out of the water daily, including entire school of tang (chased by Tarpon or barracuda). Clearly hunting ground during early morning & evening, but did not see any big fish while snorkeling all week in day. Tons of sea glass and snorkeling on reef right up to the beach and a 1/2 mile out to sea. Warm, clean water and no garbage on any beaches (saw most of them). If you walk a couple steps into the water on this beach it is soft white sand. Watch for sand burrs on all sandy beaches & sharp glass on Sea Glass Beach.

Only Sun Bay beach had any facilities, so prepare for "roughing it" when not at your beach house. Made us appreciate what we had. Beaches were spectacular and mostly empty. Loved the bio bay tour. Lucked out with a moonless night. Also lucky in calm north side waters that week Normally not so.
Loved: full washer/dryer; filtered water- Not having to cart bottled water. Walk couple blocks to really great restaurants & full grocery. Expected hoards of locals, but they all go to the sandy beaches on the other side of the island on weekend. People are really nice and respectful any way. Suggest you read the Vieques island blog for driving tips. Trip Advisor had good restaurant advice. Loved Conusco, Coconuts, Cantina la Riena & Billis on south side.
Tips: You must have a car to get to the pretty sandy beaches and to tour island. You could consider a boat since many beaches have the most horrendous access roads I have ever driven (we're talking 2 foot deep craters). Car rental is a bit difficult due to short supply so book it fast and keep trying the phone. Our guy, Marcos was out delivering customers to their house and us to the airport - only had land line. Getting gas is quite challenging. Went at 7 am and still took 1.5 hours. Only one pump on island is open (of 2) at a time. They measure gas in liters- $40 dollars filled 1/2 tank in large SUV (all I could get on short notice).
They were building a 3 apartment building next door but we were rarely bothered by it since AC blocks noise when sleeping and not loud when you are up.
The house rental agent, Helen was just great and made us welcome. Thanks H
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11