Bar Harbor apartment rental - Entrance looking out to the balcony.
Entrance looking out to the balcony.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Bar Harbor Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

This luxury suite was built in 2010/2011 with exceptional attention to detail and comfort.A perfect spot for honeymooners or romantic getaways.

With a fully equiped custom kitchen complete with dishwasher drawer, gas range ,microwave,fridge and kitchen island with a dropleaf top that seats 4 comfortably.

The bath is beautifully done with a custom built vanity /counter, a new full sized washer/dryer,endless hot water and luxurious bath towels.

The bedroom boasts a luxurious queen sized bed custom built with intimate night lighting, A 32' flat screened t.v. and a built- in wardrobe and dresser .

The living room area offers a beautiful tiled entrance, bamboo flooring and a new comfy sofa with a full sized pullout for guests, A built in gas fireplace,37' flat screen T.V. with cable and D.V.D. player.

After a long day in Acadia the private courtyard offers a dinning area ,fresh vegetables and flower plantings as well as a nice apple tree.This is the perfect place for grilling and dining outdoors,relaxing by a wood fire and toasting marshmallows.

After enjoying the many sights and adventures that Bar Harbor has to offer come back and enjoy all the comforts of home.

Keywords: Romantic suite with fireplace,Quiet location near Bar Harbor , Close to the Acadia Visitors Center and Park entrance.

More Details
Hide Details

Joe and Monique met several years ago and began what many would describe as a second life together. Joe is a cabinet maker and a native of Bar Harbor but has lived in Hulls Cove for many years while Monique now works at a locally owned pharmacy and at the MDI hospital.

.Together their personal goals merged on a paralell path,Joe now has the cabinet shop he has alwas wanted and for Monique a small buisness ownership that puts her in contact with a variety of interesting people.

They now very much look forward to the new friends and experiences that sharing their property and the Island's treasures will bring.

Monique Hanson purchased this apartment in 2011

This vacation rental was built in 2010/2011 and is attached to our home in Hulls Cove.We really enjoy being just outside the busy streets of Bar Harbor but within easy walking distance of the Acadia Park entrance/ Visitors Center and Hulls Cove Beach.

We are located 3 miles outside of Bar Harbor and just .3 tenths of a mile from the Acadia Park Entrance.Hulls Cove beach is across the street as well as the Chart Room Restraunt,Pizza shop,Hulls Cove General store and Post office.

The Island Explorer is a free shuttle service that picks up at the end of our street beginning June 23rd through Columbus Day.The Island Explorer has 8 bus routes linking to all nearby village centers and throughtout the park.

15 Reviews of Property 353949 in Bar Harbor, Maine

Wayfaring Mermaid Suite Near Hulls Cove Beach
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 15 reviews
business
Wayfaring Mermaid Suite Near Hulls Cove Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353949vb
207-288-5171
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Rhode Island
4

Romantic Little Apartment

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Monique and Joe were very accommodating to our late arrival, and the apartment was very clean. It was comfortable, conveniently located, and very nicely decorated and maintained. We really enjoyed our time on MDI, even though the park was closed, and it was very relaxing to be able to spend an evening out in the courtyard having a fire.
Thank you so much for making our anniversary trip so enjoyable!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Wayfaring Mermaid Suite Near Hulls Cove Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353949vb
207-288-5171
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Illinois
5

Perfect location and beautifully decorated

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The location is perfect for exploring Acadia as it is less than 1 mile to the Visitor's Center and park entrance. The apartment is actually in Hulls Cove which is 5 minutes from downtown Bar Harbor by car and outside the hustle and bustle/crowds of Bar Harbor. The apartment is even more beautiful then the pictures and well equipped with anything you may need (I want dressers and cabinets like theirs in my own home!). There was plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids. I would recommend bringing a sleeping bag for on top of the fold out bed as you can feel the springs. Book early to get the dates you want as it fills up fast. I was worried it may be too hot, but the window unit AC provided a very comfortable temperature. Well supplied with DVD's and games. Only problem I had was inconsistent WiFi some days, but I was able to use my iphone as a hot spot without problems. Monique and Joe were extremely easy to work with. They responded very promptly to phone calls and e-mails and got my deposit refunded immediately.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Wayfaring Mermaid Suite Near Hulls Cove Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353949vb
207-288-5171
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Bar Harbor!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Great place ... very new and clean ... good location!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Wayfaring Mermaid Suite Near Hulls Cove Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353949vb
207-288-5171
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
United States
5

Perfect little apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What a perfect place to stay during our adventures in Acadia! The pictures perfectly represent what you get when staying at Monique and Joe's apartment. Clean, cozy, well stocked, comfortable bed, nearby attractions, and great neighbors! This apartment was hand built by Joe and is everything I would have done if it were my own home. Right down the block are a few restaurants and a great beach to just sit and read a book if that's your thing. Just a quarter mile towards Bar Harbor is the visitor's center as well as one of the main entrances to the park. We loved the washer/dryer combo in the bathroom more than expected. Being outdoors all day it was also nice to just throw clothes in the washer and a clean towel in the dryer before getting in the shower. By the time we got out of the shower we had nice & hot clean towels! We've rented several places from VRBO and this one is definitely the most "homey" which was perfect for us. I highly recommend this apartment in your travels to Acadia. Thanks Monique and Joe!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This reads a bit like our check list prior to design and construction. Clean, cozy, comfy and homey. We knew we had the neighborhood and convience to Acadia and Bar Harbor as well as nearby Hulls Cove beach. The rest was just the right way to do it. Having such a great run of first rate guests is just the tonic we need to keep our focus on continually getting it right.
Thanks
Joe and Monique
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wayfaring Mermaid Suite Near Hulls Cove Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353949vb
207-288-5171
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Excellent Location & Great Accomodations

Excellent Location & Great Accomodations
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We really enjoyed our recent stay here. The place was just as advertised and represented in the photos. It was well equipped and conveniently located. The short walk to the nearby shore was perfect to observe early morning sunrises. Nearby restaurant and ice cream in walking distance was a plus too.
Overall, a short drive to the ANP visitors center and Bar Harbor downtown. So close, we sometimes went into Town more than once in the same day.

Our hosts were pleasant to deal with and the fresh flowers in the living room were a welcome treat. I would definitely recommend this place for a couple looking for a quiet get away but still wanting to be close to the MDI attractions. Would seek it out for a return visit as well.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Almost everyone who comes to this area will go home satisfied with there experiences in Acadia and all the villages of MDI. We are pleased that the satisfaction is extended to our suite and thankful of these wonderful comments.
Joe and Monique
business
Wayfaring Mermaid Suite Near Hulls Cove Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353949vb
207-288-5171
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New York, Long Island
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
All I can say is wow! I could have not asked for a better place to stay on our first trip to Bar Harbor.
The apartment is beautiful. We were thinking of moving in permanently. 2 minute walk to beautiful water views. 5 minutes to Acadia entrance and maybe 10 to the town of Bar Harbor.
Monique and Joe, the owners, could not have been nicer of more helpful.
Would HIGHLY recommend staying here to anyone thinking about a trip to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: And to that we say "WOW"! In spite of the fact that it was indeed our plan to provide the best accomodations we could it still is quite gratifing and somewhat suprising when we recieve such a wonderful review. We appreciate each and every one and will never take a bit of this for granted.
Thank you
Joe and Monique
business
Wayfaring Mermaid Suite Near Hulls Cove Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353949vb
207-288-5171
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Houston, TX
5

Beautiful Place and Wonderful Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The Mermaid Suite was absolutely perfect for my husband and I. We stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed the privacy of the apartment and how well maintained it is, inside and out. It is a precious place and very nicely appointed. The owner did all the wood working inside the apartment himself, and it really is special. The apartment was equipped with everything we needed- kitchen utensils, extra blankets/pillows, washer/dryer with laundry soap, wood for the outdoor fire pit, etc. We would recommend this place to anyone and would love to stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wayfaring Mermaid Suite Near Hulls Cove Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353949vb
207-288-5171
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Stamford, CT
5

September 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My fiance and I stayed at the Wayfaring Mermaid suite for a week in September, and couldn't be happier with our experience there! Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park are gorgeous that time of year. We spent our time hiking, kayaking, biking the carriage trails, golfing, and just enjoying the area.
Monique and Joe have done an amazing job setting up the suite. The layout was perfect for the two of us, being cozy but at the same time large enough that if one of us wanted to sleep in an extra couple hours, the other had space to get things done with out being a distraction. The kitchen was well equipped with modern appliances and kitchenware, and craftsmanship of whole suite was impressive. The patio area, which we made good use of having friends over for a bbq/lobster bake (complete with some fresh vegetable samples from the Hanson's garden, which they generously provided), was awesome. What's better than surf and turf around a nice outdoor fire on a gorgeous September Maine night?? The Hulls' Cove location is far enough away from the bustle of downtown that you can avoid the crowds when you need to, but is also close enough to where nothing seems all that far to get to. Monique and Joe were really helpful in providing local advice for where to go, and what to see, and only cemented our opinion that folk from Maine tend to be genuine, friendly people. We would definitely stay there again, and plan on recommending The Wayfaring Mermaid to anyone we know heading up to that area.
Thanks again, Monique and Joe!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wayfaring Mermaid Suite Near Hulls Cove Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353949vb
207-288-5171
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Northampton, Pa
5

Just perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My wife and I stayed here for 4 days to celebrate our 36th anniversary and visit Acadia National Park. Our goal was to find a place that was close to Acadia and the town of Bar Harbor. The location of this property is perfect! It was only a few minutes from the main entrance of the park, and maybe 15 minutes to Bar Harbor. We have rented quite a few properties listed on VRBO for our travels and found most of them to be very nice, but I can honestly say that this was absolutely the cleanest place we have ever rented. I'm talking spotless! The unit is fairly new and most of the work was done by the owners who obviously take pride in their work. The kitchen cabinets and furniture were built by Joe, and judging from the result, he must be quite skilled.. The courtyard is super nice and a great place to hang out after a day of sightseeing. The owners are both very nice and quite accommodating. Everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay is provided. I would absolutely rent this property again, and I highly recommend it to those needing no more than one bedroom.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wayfaring Mermaid Suite Near Hulls Cove Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353949vb
207-288-5171
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Claverack, NY
5

We love the Wayfaring Mermaid Suite!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The description and pictures of The Wayfaring Mermaid are spot on! The place is beautifully built with lots of attention to detail. It's small, yet feels spacious due to the set up and lovely way it's decorated. All the kitchen gadgets you could want and then some! Monique and Joe even have marshmallow roasting forks available!

I really enjoyed having a washer/dryer, especially after having wet clothes from tidal pooling! That was a HUGE bonus!

We really enjoyed the outdoor space. The patio is expertly done, and there are lots of fun decorating details to look at. We roasted marshmallows in the outdoor fireplace, which was a big hit with the kids.

The location is perfect...not downtown Bar Harbor (too noisy and crowded), but only about 5 minutes away from there. My kids even went tidal pooling at the end of our street, followed by ice cream in the shop at the end of the street. Acadia is less than half a mile up the road. You couldn't ask for a better location! Really perfect.

The pullout couch leaves a bit to be desired....the mattress is pretty thin. If you're sleeping more than 2 people, I'd bring an air mattress and leave the pullout folded up. That is the only (mild) complaint I have.

You really cannot beat this place...the ammenities, the location, and the outside space make it really special. When we return to Bar Harbor, we'll stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased your return to Bar Harbor after many years went so well and that your stay with us added to it.
We are aware of the sleep sofa matress and regretfully we have to agree but it is somewhat the nature of the beast. We are however looking at options for better comfort while not creating a combersome solution our guests are left to deal with.
Helpful votes: 2/2