Otis house rental - Our House
Our House
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Otis House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Surrounded by wooded vistas this house is easily accessible from New York and Boston. Set on 50 acres of private woodlands, the house is easy to entertain in with family or group of friends.

A full modern kitchen with granite counter tops and many appliances makes it easy to cook. The large living room has reclaimed wood floors, fireplace, leather couches and a flat screen TV with satellite, ipod/iphone docking station, making for a relaxing space you won't want to leave. The upstairs living room has a wood fireplace, screened in porch and a wrap around deck with direct sun exposure. This deck is perfect for sunning yourself on the chaise lounge chairs during the spring, summer and fall months.

Enjoy a concert and picnic at the famed Tanglewood. Catch a performance at Jacob's Pillow Dance (within walking distance). Historic towns of the Berkshires are only a short drive away. Lenox, Stockbrige and Great Barrington offer museums (Norman Rockwell, Mass MOCA, the Clark and many more galleries), restaurants and shopping as favorite outings. The Lee Prime Outlets are only a 10 min. drive.

Hiking, swimming, skiing and many other activities are within close distance. Butternut Basin and Otis Ridge are close for family skiing day and night. Cross country and snow shoeing is also easy to do on property or at local Canterbury Farm in Becket, MA. Enjoy the pristine beaches of Otis reservoir and Tolland state forest, a 5 min. drive.

Perfect get away home for a mix of quiet time and activity.

Keywords: Wooded vistas, hiking trails, cozy home, family style, retreat and relax, screened porch. Sunny Deck with lounge chairs. Wood fireplace and Wood stove.

More Details
Hide Details

It was a great way to get away from the bustle of city life.

Great sleeping in the mountain air. Morning walks to the Otis Poultry Farm, R&R days at Kirpalu Yoga Center or Yoga, Pilates and Zumba classes on Saturday mornings through the Otis Rec. Center. Scenic country drives. Hiking at Bash Bish Falls, NY. The local Tyringham Cobble. See the Berkshire Eagle online for the Berkshires Week Calendar of events.

9 Reviews of Property 353187 in Otis, Massachusetts

Berkshire Family Vacation House
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
business
Berkshire Family Vacation House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353187vbi
+ 6174486092
Otis Berkshires
5

Clean, well-stocked, quiet vacation rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed here for a weekend while dropping our son off at college. Our family has used MANY vacation rentals over the years, and I have to say that this was the cleanest place we've ever stayed. The home is immaculate, which is always a great start. The owners were super-easy to work with and very responsive. An extremely well-stocked kitchen - tons of dishes and silverware. If you were hosting a large group, you'd certainly have more than enough flatware and dishes to put on quite a meal! The living room and and dining area or open and extremely light. Great space in the eat-in kitchen, as well. Really, really well laid out for family/group use. The deck and the screened porch are fabulous! The kitchen, living room, etc., are all on the second floor which makes great use of the wonderful views. Three bedrooms on the second floor, plus a good-sized and newly updated family bathroom with double sinks. On the main floor there is a large family room area with its own tv and a fold-out couch. A great "bonus" space if you want to provide some space between children and adults. Full-sized washer and dryer on main floor - super for not dragging wet/sandy/muddy clothes through the whole house. Main floor also has a bathroom with a shower. Furnishings are well-chosen and comfortable but family friendly. A few notes...the neighbors were really nice. We were here with my parents, 74 and 85. I think they would have preferred fewer stairs, but the upstairs views made it worth the climb. If their mobility was limited, this house would have been too hard for them. Be careful pulling out of the driveway - I did some damage to the rear end of our car while backing up. (Duh.) It is hard to find this place in the dark, so go slowly. I must confess that the pillows on the beds were sub-par, but we travel with our own, so not a tragedy. In fact, I think the pillows are our only negative for the whole house! We would certainly stay here again and I would recommend this space to a friend if they were looking for a rental in the area.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Berkshire Family Vacation House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353187vbi
+ 6174486092
Otis Berkshires
5

Great time in the forest!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a great time in the forests of Otis, a perfect quiet retreat. Lots of room at the house for games and relaxing.
business
Berkshire Family Vacation House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353187vbi
+ 6174486092
Otis Berkshires
Saint James, NY
5

Outstanding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This home was the perfect size, layout, and location for our family vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Berkshire Family Vacation House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353187vbi
+ 6174486092
Otis Berkshires
MA
5

Great Stay in the Berkshires!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I spent the weekend and the place is beautiful. Very roomy, clean and comfortable. The location is very private and quiet for a nice relaxing weekend. It is also close enough to take in some of the sites in the nearby towns. Great place to take in foliage season. Kevin & Anne
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Berkshire Family Vacation House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353187vbi
+ 6174486092
Otis Berkshires
boston
4

otis rental

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
house was clean and there are lot of rooms to spread out.
the kitchen was well equipped.
the town of otis itself doesn't have too much offerings. one has to drive out to great barrington to find a decent grocery store.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Berkshire Family Vacation House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353187vbi
+ 6174486092
Otis Berkshires
New York
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a great stay here in Otis. Most thoroughly enjoyed the upstairs fireplace, well-appointed kitchen, and extra space downstairs. There is more room than appears in pictures! Clean, neat; excellent and extra sheets and towels and blankets. Couldn't have asked for anything more in the house.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Berkshire Family Vacation House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353187vbi
+ 6174486092
Otis Berkshires
Brooklyn, New York
5

Relaxing escape from the City

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
After spending one hour in this beautiful home in the Berkshires the stress of work and City-life melt away. My boyfriend and I spent most of our time relaxing on the deck, reading in the natural light that pours into the living room, and eating meals while looking out at the gorgeous trees.

The kitchen is stocked with all the cooking utensils, pots, and pans one would need. We listed to our iPod on the speaker/dock, and didn’t actually turn on the TV at all, as that wasn’t what we were looking for. The linens are clean and it was easy to find everything we needed. The dishwasher/ washing machine was great since I don’t have either in my small apartment in New York City.

Buying local produce and baked goods at the farmer's market in East Otis, packing a picnic and taking it to one of the free outdoor shows at Jacob's Pillow was a perfect date night. (Bring a bottle of wine and a blanket to sit on as well!) We drove since we brought a picnic, but it is very close.

Another night we saw live music in Stockbridge at the Lion's Den, which is located downstairs in the Red Lion Inn. The pub menu is simple and tasty and there is no cover charge. We sat a little too near the band and it was loud, so I'd recommend grabbing a table away from the stage area. Definitely make sure to stroll around the lobby of the Inn as well.

We had planned to visit local museums and hike, but we found it so nice to read and drink wine at the house that we didn't make it further than Stockbridge.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Berkshire Family Vacation House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353187vbi
+ 6174486092
Otis Berkshires
london, england
5

A haven and a heaven away from the hustle and bustle!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2000
This is truly a family home, with picturesque views out of the windows at all times of the year! I have stayed there for several seasons, in snowstorms, sunny days, and epic autumn foliage seasons...It is absolutely a place where you can curl up with a book, play a game of scrabble, and leave all of your worries and the world at the door and escape into solitude. I think it is perfect for rekindling a romance, celebrating a family reunion or birthday, or just cause you want a retreat. Excellent location to Jacob Pillow to get a dose of culture, amazing yoga retreats and facilities nearby, great shopping if you want to do a bit of retail therapy, and some gorgeous New England charms i.e. the Norman Rockwell Museum and The Red Lion for brunch....enjoy, and escape!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Berkshire Family Vacation House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353187vbi
+ 6174486092
Otis Berkshires
Quincy, MA
5

Fantastic vacation house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My friends and I had a wonderful time at this beautiful house in Otis. It's very spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed the fireplace and the deck. It was comfortable to sleep in and fun to entertain in. Close to the outlets and some wonderful downtown areas. I recommend this to families, friends and couples!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway