Charlotte house rental - Picturesque view from the Rosella's screened porch
Picturesque view from the Rosella's screened porch
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Charlotte House Rental Photos and Description
Villa, 2br/1ba sleeps 4 adults. Adjacent to VRBO# 453657

'Rosella' is a cottage built on the shores of the beautiful and private Mountain Island Lake. Much of this lake is parklands, wildlife, sanctuaries and properties restricted from development. This home was built in 1952 and has provided decades of lakefront fun and fishing. Years ago the house was divided into two separate apartments. In 2011 we converted the upstairs into a vacation rental. In March 2014 we completely updated the decor. We provide high speed wireless, flat screen TV's, Wii and a state of the art karaoke machine with

thousands of songs, but you can get most of that at a

Holiday Inn. The unique experience you get with a stay here is that little step back in time. It starts when you pull in to the skinny gravel drive and end up at a plain but well kept mid-century home. There are paneled walls

unit a/c and no dishwasher. No subdivision, no pool, no tennis courts. There are only two neighbors. There is a 1 bed room unit below that is also available for rent. Unless you plan on renting both units you should be planning a quiet stay. Prior guests that have enjoyed the place the most spend much of their time on the screened porch overlooking the lake. Rosella was built right on the lake's shoreline. You are so close to the boats going by you can see right inside them. At night when they cruise by you could truly join their conversation. The place is very popular and in our few short years leasing it we have had hundreds of guests.

In that time we have learned that Rosella is not for

everyone. We have done my best to accurately describe the 'experience.' If that slow paced step back in time is

not what you are looking for you may not enjoy it.

If on the other hand, this is your type of vacation we can almost guarantee that you have found it!

We look forward to your arrival,

Bob and Kim

Keywords: Lake Norman, Lake Wylie, Mountain Island, US National Whitewater Center, Carolina Panthers, Carowinds, Nascar Hall of Fame, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Democratic National Convention, waterfront, pet,fishing,private, hot tub, time warner arena, downtown,airport, boat dock

More Details
Hide Details

We are Bob and Kim and we are lake enthusiast. We own homes on several of the lakes in the area. We presently live on a lake close by and we love this place so much we spend many weekends here.

Bob Rudolph purchased this house in 1990

We lived here at one time and knew we could never part with it. 'Rosella' is not an investment for us. She is part of the family. We know that if you stay here and get to know Mountain Island Lake you will be 'hooked' too.

Many of our guests come to experience the National Whitewater Center. If you come, we strongly suggest you visit there. It's a man made river rapids that you can kayak or do a guided raft run. This is the only man made Olympic qualifying rapids in the country.

There is vertical rock climbing, zip lining and a lot more outdoor adventures. If you don't feel quite that adventurous there is a riverside restaurant where you can get a great meal and a glass of wine while you watch crazy people careen down a wall of water and rocks. You can watch with interest rafters trying to save one of their own who has fallen overboard while you nibble some delicious Macho Nachos. There are also summer concerts and island sunset parties. It costs just $5 to park and nothing to visit the center. You can drive from Rosella, park your car, and walk to the river's edge in less than 10 minutes.

27 Reviews of Property 353073 in Charlotte, North Carolina

Lakefront Cottage on Mountain Island Lake/Lake Norman & Lake Wylie
average rating of 4.740741 based on 27 reviews
business
Lakefront Cottage on Mountain Island Lake/Lake Norman & Lake Wylie
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353073vb
704- 996 -7995
Charlotte North Carolina Piedmont
5

Just as advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We found the property just as described in the listing. Very nice property on the lake front.
Close to downtown Charlotte, yet seems very much out in the country. Easy access to surrounding attractions. The property was clean and well maintained. The owners were easy to contact and very helpful with locating area attractions. I would recommend this property to friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lakefront Cottage on Mountain Island Lake/Lake Norman & Lake Wylie
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353073vb
704- 996 -7995
Charlotte North Carolina Piedmont
Winchester, VA
5

Perfect Place for us!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Our family rented the upper unit of this duplex for a quick weekend visit with our daughter who attends J&W University in Charlotte. It was the perfect place to stay. The Rudolphs were very friendly and accommodating. The home was pretty, clean and well equipped. The beds were comfy, there were lots of movies to choose from, the community was safe, and the hot tub was enjoyable. Our youngest son especially enjoyed playing basketball at a hoop out on the quiet street, and the girls loved sunning on the dock. The location is superb and very convenient to downtown Charlotte. We would definitely stay again, and even consider bringing the grandparents for a summer stay in the lower unit. Thanks for your hospitality!!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Lakefront Cottage on Mountain Island Lake/Lake Norman & Lake Wylie
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353073vb
704- 996 -7995
Charlotte North Carolina Piedmont
5

ALL AROUND GREAT PLACE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My son and I stayed in the upstairs 2B/1B unit. The living room furnishings were brand new at the time of our stay.Well-equipped kitchen with stainless steel, side-by-side fridge with ice maker & dispenser. To sit on the screened-in balcony or on the deck area and watch the sunrise or sunset was so serene, so peaceful. If TV watching is your thing, there definitely is no lack of channels from which to pick. If you enjoy karaoke or want to give it a whirl for the first time, there truly is a karaoke machine in the unit. The WIFI connection speed was phenomenal. The unit is located 10-15 minutes from downtown Charlotte (when not in rush hour traffic). Walmart, a grocery store, restaurants and a gas station are all within a few minutes drive. The owner of the unit is kind and an extreme pleasure to work with! No doubt about it -- when I come back to this area, this is where I will stay again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks,
We really wanted to shake things up there. I really liked the old,
comfortable, lived in look. Kim wanted bright cheery and fashionable.
We are posting the new picture tonight and you can see who won that
debate.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lakefront Cottage on Mountain Island Lake/Lake Norman & Lake Wylie
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353073vb
704- 996 -7995
Charlotte North Carolina Piedmont
5

Quiet retreat in a great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We rented during a recent Thanksgiving trip. The space was clean, well furnished, and holds a beautiful view. Though it was too cold to fully enjoy the lake, we were able to sit on the dock and the porch and enjoy the view. The house is close to grocery stores, restaurants, and fast food, but it's so quiet you do not know they are there once you turn off the main road. Our two young kids enjoyed the house, taking full advantage of the free cable TV and available dvds. The availability of a full kitchen, with pots, pans, utensils, and dishes, as well as laundry facilities with supplies, made this a much better option for a week vacation than a single hotel room as we were able to save money by preparing our own meals and do laundry at our convenience.
We spent time in Matthews, downtown Charlotte, and Huntersville, all of which were no more than 30-40 minutes by car. The owner was incredibly helpful in addressing the issues that arose and was a gracious host. We will rent again the next time we are in town!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lakefront Cottage on Mountain Island Lake/Lake Norman & Lake Wylie
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353073vb
704- 996 -7995
Charlotte North Carolina Piedmont
Monroe, NY
5

Wonderful Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a wonderful time. The unit is clean and very nicely decorated. It has everything you need for an enjoyable stay. The view of the lake is stunning and peaceful. The owners were kind enough to provide much more than we expected including board games, a Wii console and games and even spare batteries. We actually rented both units for the week. This unit is excellent for a couple or a family which is exactly how we used it. Our teenaged children spent the week in this unit while we stayed downstairs. Fishing on the lake both off the dock and from our kayaks was fun. We spent a day at the National Whitewater Recreation Center. We spent another day at the Carowinds Amusement Park. We spent a day in downtown Charlotte. All were reasonable driving distance from the unit and all were a lot of fun. We never had any problems with traffic. The owner was very clear with us regarding the boats. It was unfortunate that we could not fully use the boats but we knew that prior to booking the trip. We had a wonderful barbeque on a wood-burning grill which cleaned up very easily when we were done. We highly recommend staying here for a week if you and your family are looking for a peaceful but fun time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lakefront Cottage on Mountain Island Lake/Lake Norman & Lake Wylie
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353073vb
704- 996 -7995
Charlotte North Carolina Piedmont
2

Disappointed stay

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was a disappointing stay. The power was out when we arrived until 2am, it rained hard for the first four days, one boat was "junk" and the other was damaged by a previous renter (only runs on 4 cylinders because they ran it out of oil", the third boat had gone under water and was trailered, no ladder for swimming off the dock (no beach area) because a previous renter had "lost it in the lake", the grill on the deck was a mess and didn't work right even after we cleaned it, traffic jams all around the area due to construction, (2 hours to go 7 miles), the furniture in the living room area is shot, bar stools at the counter look good in a picture but are not very comfortable, the most comfortable chairs in the whole place are the wicker ones on the porch. The place was reasonably clean and it does have a good location with everything close by or within a reasonable driving distance. The place needs a lot of work to live up to what is advertised.
Owner's Response: About half of the complaints have nothing to do with the property.
Weather, some construction traffic somewhere. (I don't know where)
and the boats weren't suitable. I clearly state boats are not a part of
the deal. I try to offer boats to borrow. They take a real beating
all summer long and I have not broken even offering them for two years. I would stop offering them because they make my life difficult,
but I know some people really enjoy them. The Living room set needs
attention. I will take care of that. Something strange happened to the
leather. Bar stools are nothing special.I am not sure what you should expect there.
I am unhappy when someone does not "get it" I fashioned Rosella
after a lake house we would visit when I was a child. It was casual
and far from perfect but we couldn't wait to go back every year.
If you are considering Rosella Its a real step back in time. (except
for the electronics) Sit on the porch and watch the boats go by.
Throw in a fishing pole. Grill something out (Its a Treager grill,
if you have never used one they are awesome!) Relax don't sweat
the small stuff and if you have a problem Ill try to take care of it.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Lakefront Cottage on Mountain Island Lake/Lake Norman & Lake Wylie
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353073vb
704- 996 -7995
Charlotte North Carolina Piedmont
5

Title is accurate.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Enjoyed the property for a few days. It was what we expected and I would recommend it to a friend or relative. Very convenient for people in the Charlotte area. The availability of boat rental, renting for less than a week and that pets are allowed makes it A+. I do hope to rent again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Lakefront Cottage on Mountain Island Lake/Lake Norman & Lake Wylie
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353073vb
704- 996 -7995
Charlotte North Carolina Piedmont
Cambridge Springs, Pa.
4

Cottage on the Lake

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The owner was extremely helpful and checked with us to make sure all was well. The cottage was as listed. It was clean and well-maintained.
business
Lakefront Cottage on Mountain Island Lake/Lake Norman & Lake Wylie
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353073vb
704- 996 -7995
Charlotte North Carolina Piedmont
Evansville, WI
4

Beautiful location and nice people.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The Rosella cottage is a nice place in a beautiful setting on a lake. It's a 2 unit place -- upper and lower. It was clean and comfortable though it took a little finesse on our part to get the temperature set right. It has electric baseboard heat and the wall-mounted thermostats require a gentle touch to adjust the temperature. The leather furniture is well past its prime as the leather has dried out and the surface is beginning to flake off. It didn't affect the comfort of the furniture -- it was just the aesthetics. There was a nice deck on the back of each unit, though it was too chilly while we were there to utilize it. There's also a hot tub that we didn't use but I can imagine it being used if the weather was appropriate. They have decent laundry facilities at the property.

The owners are good to work with. We had one small problem that we had to call them about on Thanksgiving Day morning. They promptly got someone to come over and fix the problem.

Although it is a few miles out of the downtown Charlotte area, it was an easy drive in to the city. There was a grocery store a short distance down the road, which was really convenient.

My bottom line: I'd stay there again and I'd recommend it to friends.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lakefront Cottage on Mountain Island Lake/Lake Norman & Lake Wylie
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p353073vb
704- 996 -7995
Charlotte North Carolina Piedmont
Atlanta, Ga
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Extremely nice and Peaceful yet close to everything Charlotte has to offer. We will definitely be back again next year !!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 1/1