Lower East Side apartment rental - Williamsburg Bridge from Bedford Ave, looking past shops toward East Rive
Williamsburg Bridge from Bedford Ave, looking past shops toward East Rive
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Lower East Side Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Apartment in vintage 1840 townhouse, near the East River. All newly renovated, kitchen and tile bath with tub and shower, has original dark hardwood floors. There is a library/study area, nice sized living room (which accommodates a good quality raised inflatable queen bed, if needed), and bedroom with new queen bed. Windows on 4 sides, for lots of fresh air, very secure, yet near all the Williamsburg activity! Absolutely no smoking in the apartment or building.

Transportation, area info:

Transportation is very close: Short walk to the ''L'' train or ''JMZ'' trains - then 5 minutes to Manhattan, ferry is a 2 minute walk, buses, and car service arrives on call in 3 minutes to take you to Manhattan in 10 minutes, $10. We are nearly always available with info and tips, and the house and the neighborhood are safe and friendly, and the apartment is extremely quiet and secure.

Please send me an email to confirm availability and let me know about you, and any special needs you may have, before booking... Please note: excellent New York credentials and references available, also California, Amsterdam, and Munich references available.

Keywords: apartment

More Details
Hide Details

Developing and brokering new restaurant, club and music venues in Williamsburg, and retail and commercial real estate in Brooklyn; classical singer, fine art dealer; knowledge of German language and culture; frequent traveler to California and Europe.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1988

This is a large house for the City, but the sun, nearby East River air and gardens make it feel like the country. After living in Tribeca, Manhattan, I felt as though I bought the gardens and the house came with them. I live and work in the building and one floor is often available for guests. It is quiet for New York, restful, out of the way and private - and 2 blocks away from everything!

Fresh breeze drifts in from the river - there are actually windows on all 4 sides! The garden is full of the scent of roses, lilies, honeysuckle, violets, lavender and herbs just outside the windows. ....It's great to walk around the corner early in the morning for newspapers, cappuccino and home made croissants, and sit at sidewalk cafe tables and meet the locals!

12 Reviews of Property 352989 in the Lower East Side, New York

Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Near East River
average rating of 4.818182 based on 12 reviews
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352989vb
Lower East Side Manhattan
Montreal, Canada
5

Amazingly Accommodating!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My 3 friends and I booked a room here to be close to public transit and our friend's wedding venue. The rooms looked perfect for us, but sadly 2 weeks before our trip the apartment was no longer available due to storm damage.

Minette was absolutely amazing! She got us 2 rooms at a nearby hotel at no extra charge to us, which she wasn't obliged to do; she could have just refunded the money and we would have been left to find something else on our own. She really went out of her way to help us and we are extremely thankful.

The hotel she put us up in was great. It wasn't far from the listing and it was still near public transit. It was very clean and had many amenities included: free parking, free breakfast, free movie channels, and a very helpful front desk staff.

If I ever need to come back to NY I will be sure to try for this place again, not only for the amazing location but for its fabulous owner! Thank you Minette!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352989vb
Lower East Side Manhattan
United States
4

Lovely stay in Williamsburg

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I wanted to stay in Brooklyn after reading about how the borough is becoming more popular, and this flat worked out perfectly for us. A short subway ride into Manhattan, get your rush of what you need there, and return to Williamsburg for some of the best food you can imagine. I want to run back to Marlow and Sons for breakfast and dinner, and Rye for dinner. The neighborhood is at a triangle of gentrified yuppie hipster, Hispanic, and Hassidic Jew, creating a fascinating mix of cultures. Run to Mast Brothers chocolate and take the time ot get to know the area, eight nights were not enough for me.

We both walked and ran across the nearby Williamsburg Bridge. Yes, there is a bit of noise from traffic and trains, but it becomes part of the familiar background. A nice running route is south to the Brooklyn Bridge, across that into Lower Manhattan, and then north back to the Williamsburg Brridge to home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352989vb
Lower East Side Manhattan
Canada
5

Good Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My girlfriend and myself stayed in this apartment for a week in December while in Brooklyn visiting family. It was great for us. The kitchen was bright and wonderful for enjoying breakfast. It was just a nice, clean, secure and surprisingly large apartment. Minnette deal with. I'd recommend this to a friend for sure.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Marc, We were so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. It looks like there was something cut out of your review - I hope it was "Minnette was great to deal with" (that's me!) and not "Minnette was a nightmare to deal with!" - but we got 5 stars, so I guess it was OK... Kidding aside, it is important to us that people feel comfortable and at home -so thanks for taking the trouble to write and let us know you enjoyed your stay - and please come again!.....Minnette
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352989vb
Lower East Side Manhattan
Stockton, CA
5

Charming Brooklyn Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I stayed in Minnette's lovely apartment for a quick three day stop in Brooklyn. She was so helpful in letting me drop off my luggage since I arrived early morning. There is plenty to do in Brooklyn. Marlowe's and Diner are great places to eat and are right around the corner and the subway stop is just a quick five blocks away, but with her Williamsburg apartment right at the river, the ride into Manhattan is just as easy. The location was terrific and then having such a lovely apartment to return to made it a great trip.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Dear Laura, Thanks for your kind words - so nice of you, and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm good wishes, Minnette
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352989vb
Lower East Side Manhattan
Kansas City, MO
5

PB (Kansas City

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The perfect place to stay in Williamsburg. Great access to the subway and Manhattan and close to Williamsburg shops and restaurants. Very quiet and charming - so nice to have a cozy place to come back and relax after a long day of walking. The garden was lovely. Minette provided a great instruction sheet to answer any questions I might have. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to New York.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Paggy - Can't believe I just saw your note - thanks so much - so glad you enjoyed it. By now, it's time to welcome you back!~ Hope to see you soon. Warm good wishes, Minnette
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352989vb
Lower East Side Manhattan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Thank you...

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Dear Minnette,

Thank you for letting us stay at your apartment. It was as you described. Very quiet, spacious and perfectly close to restaurants, shops and most especially our new grandson!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352989vb
Lower East Side Manhattan
Minneapolis, MN
5

Wonderful Accomodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My husband & I visited our son & daughter-in-law who live in Williamsburg. Over the years we have used VRBO but this was the nicest place we have stayed in. Minnette has thought of everything to make her visitors feel comfortable in the apartment & well informed about the area. The apartment is in a great location so getting around Williamsburg or venturing out to Manhattan was easy. There are lots of fun places to eat out & the subway is easy to access. There's no question that we'll stay there again for our visits to NY. Thank you Minette for your hospitality.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Steve and Kathy,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and share your experience here with others. We're pleased that our care of our guests comes through, and that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay here. You are always welcome back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352989vb
Lower East Side Manhattan
Frisco, TX
5

Charming Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My husband and I stayed here over Thanksgiving. We were visiting New York with friends who also rented an apartment in Williamsburg for about the same price, and we won the lottery in comparison. Lots of natural light and space, very comfortable and warm. The kitchen is fabulous and - while we didn't take advantage of cooking while we were there - it was great to have a place for a glass of wine or a snack, or just to kick back and relax.

Marlow's around the corner was our favorite place for a latte and breakfast. The subway was a few convenient blocks away (which was only an uncomfortable walk one night when it was particularly cold). Lots of neighborhood character in Williamsburg, and close enough to get into the city and see the sites. Minette was very helpful and the property was lovely. We will be staying here when we go back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352989vb
Lower East Side Manhattan
Indiana
4

Spacious little apartment near bustling Williamsburg

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My wife, daughter and I stayed in this cute little apartment with easy access to Williamsburg, Brooklyn and just across the river from Manhattan. It was a cheap tax ride from Manhattan. Minnette was a great host. Her instructions helped us navigate to the apartment and around the neighborhood. The apartment has great windows. I enjoyed reading by the rising sun.

The weather was beautiful while we were in NYC and we had the window open. The JMZ train was a little loud for my Midwestern ears. Our Boston based daughter did not seem bothered by this. I think had the windows been closed with the A/C running I doubt there would have been any problems.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Williamsburg Townhouse Apartment, Near East River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p352989vb
Lower East Side Manhattan
Ballwin, MO
5

Williamsburg Townhome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
7/6-7/12/11 We had a great time and the location was perfect. We absolutely will be staying here again. Everything was close at hand and transportation by cab was fairly inexpensive and very courteous. It was very convenient to shops and groceries and had a very relaxing atmosphere, very "homey". After being out in the heat most of the day, it was wonderful to have someplace (unlike a hotel room) to really unwind and have quiet cup of tea and catch up on the world news.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear M and MB,

Thanks for your kind words. We're so glad you had such a good time, and will look forward to welcoming you back!