Townsend chalet rental - Owl's Hoot Chalet - Ask about our winter specials!
Owl's Hoot Chalet - Ask about our winter specials!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Townsend Chalet Rental Photos and Description
3 Br/2ba Chalet On Creek with Mountain Views, Wifi, Jacuzzi

Welcome to your own Smoky Mountain retreat! Owl’s Hoot is a contemporary western cedar home with an all-glass prow front overlooking a 5-acre meadow, creek, and rich mountain.

Owl’s Hoot is a comfortable, well-appointed home…not another cookie-cutter, look-alike, strip-down rental unit. It is tastefully decorated with local works of art, antiques, new living room and master bedroom furnishings, and thoughtful amenities for the discerning traveler. Our unique décor reflects the natural beauty and serenity of the mountain setting. Our guests are surprised to find the many extras that make Owl’s Hoot truly feel like a home away from home.

The main level offers a spacious, open kitchen/living/dining room combination with cathedral ceiling, fireplace, and massive windows. Two charming bedrooms and a full bath with skylight round out the main level.

Upstairs, the open-loft master bedroom features a new queen bed, plus a unique circa-1800s sleigh daybed. A luxurious garden bath is adjacent, with a skylight and jacuzzi surrounded by tropical plants.

Let your pets roam on the gated wrap-around deck or meadow. Enjoy a glass of wine in the private pavilion. Listen for the owls late at night. And enjoy our private gazebo by the creek. This natural area is the ideal playground for children and pets!

Owl’s Hoot is located in a quiet mountain hollow near the center of Townsend, just 3 miles from the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.

More Details
Hide Details

Myra and Rob are pleased to offer our family cabin, which has been in Myra’s family since it was built in 1992. Rob and I met several years ago, hiking in the Smokies, one of many outdoor activities we enjoy. We were married in the meadow at Owl’s Hoot in April 2012. We live in nearby Knoxville and seek every opportunity to “work” at Owl’s Hoot.

When we’re not renovating and managing our homes, Rob and I enjoy travelling, gardening, dancing (well, Myra does), movies, whitewater rafting, cooking and eating, arts and crafts, live music, adoring our grandkids, and basking in wedded bliss. Our family includes two cats (one of whom Myra rescued near Owl’s Hoot and named Smoky) and 3 dogs, who love to play in Owl’s Hoot’s meadow and creek!

I grew up in nearby Maryville, and my family has a long history in and deep love for Townsend. My mom, Jo Hendren, founded Hideaway Cottages and Log Cabins in 1979—providing the very first rental cabin in Townsend. She and my stepdad later bought 20 acres in the same mountain hollow to save it from being sold to a strip-mall developer. They divided the property into 11 lots, restricted the design and placement of cabins to preserve the ecological setting of the hollow, and built Owl’s Hoot on one of the lots in 1992. I helped my mom manage Hideaway Cottages for several years. We eventually sold the business but kept Owl's Hoot in the family.

We focus on anticipating our guests' needs and providing the amenities you want and need. Spices, coffee/tea, detergents, cleaning supplies, ample paper products...organic, eco-friendly, spa-grade toiletries...area resource books, novels, games, puzzles. We have encased all boxsprings, mattresses, and pillows in bed bug, allergen protective covers. Just think of all the things you don't have to bring or buy or worry about. Now that's value!

In addition to our love for Owl's Hoot and its peaceful setting, Rob and I bring unique qualifications to managing a rental cabin and providing the best customer service to our guests. For starters, we own and manage 5 rental homes, and I have property management experience from managing my family’s rental cabin business. Rob is a home improvement specialist. In addition, I have written hundreds of articles about decorating and landscaping for hgtv.com and learned a lot along the way.

Rob and I recently took over the management of Owl’s Hoot, which had been managed by two other local management companies since 2005. Frankly, they didn’t meet our standards for cleanliness and maintenance. We’re still making improvements, but you can count on this: Owl’s Hoot will be clean, very comfortable, and better appointed than most Townsend cabins. All that, in a relaxing setting with beautiful views.

What does our experience mean to you? It means that you get attentive, timely service and a tastefully decorated, well-maintained vacation home. Hey, you’re on vacation. You deserve to be spoiled!

19 Reviews of Property 3527778 in Townsend, Tennessee

Owl’s Hoot Chalet – Off the beaten path but convenient to everything!
average rating of 4.785714 based on 19 reviews
business
Owl’s Hoot Chalet – Off the beaten path but convenient to everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3527778
Townsend Tennessee
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Cleanest Rental Home!

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We just wanted to let you know that we enjoyed our stay at the Owl's Hoot! It was the cleanest home we have ever stayed in. We loved the outdoor spaces. We hope to return in the fall. We liked the fact that you had simple rules that were easy to follow. The last home we stayed in had notes all over the house saying, don't do this, don't do that, plus we had to take our garbage to a dump that wasn't open when we left at 6 am! So we ended up bringing our garbage back to IL! We treat the rental homes as our own and leave them the way we find them. We ... really enjoyed working with you.
business
Owl’s Hoot Chalet – Off the beaten path but convenient to everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3527778
Townsend Tennessee
5

Wonderful, Relaxing, and Peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We were so impressed as soon as we drove up to Owl’s Hoot. We were only 1/3 mile from the highway but it was so quiet and peaceful. The wrap around deck was wonderful and branched out to the gazebo with a bench swing. It also went across the creek into a large field which was perfect for our dog to run and play. Inside it had the huge windows that brought in the warm morning sun. The couches and beds were very comfortable. It was great to have several pots and pans to cook in the kitchen and there were seasonings and extra food items which was nice to have. The Jacuzzi tub was huge and had a fantastic skylight directly above.

They had something for everyone at Owl’s Hoot. Inside was stocked with books, games, TV/DVD player, and even a football and other balls to play outside with. We really enjoyed relaxing in the lounge chairs across the creek while our dog ran through the field. At night when it got cold, there was wood well stocked for the fireplace, which added more comfort and relaxation to our visit.

We can’t wait to go back to Owl’s Hoot and would recommend anyone to share our experience.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, Steven. You and your family are welcome back any time!
business
Owl’s Hoot Chalet – Off the beaten path but convenient to everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3527778
Townsend Tennessee
5

Perfection in the Smokies

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Owl's Hoot is a home away from home, lovingly cared for by the owners, not just a rental property. The chalet is beautiful, the setting overlooking a meadow is wonderful. Our family has had many repeat visits to Owl's Hoot- I would recommend a stay here to everyone. We had three generations this visit and everyone wants to return- Our trips are described as "going to Owl's Hoot".
The area has plenty of activities for those who want more action or you can just enjoy the chalet and the peaceful setting. The owners care deeply about their home and it shows-it is very clean, well maintained, area info is nicely organized in binders and there is a wealth of information about local flora and fauna. Owl's Hoot-the perfect Home away from Home!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Owl’s Hoot Chalet – Off the beaten path but convenient to everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3527778
Townsend Tennessee
5

Great vacation cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Thank you for making our vacation even more comfortable by greeting us with an extra clean cabin. We stayed there last year and it was nice as I had always wanted to rent the cabin but it wasn't as clean as it could have been. Your choice to change management of the cabin was a good one. The cabin is located on our favorite road with easy access but still close to town.
My nephew and his family along with family stayed there very comfortably. It is nicely decorated and plenty of linens were provided. We love the meadow and gazebo and sat out there while allowing the kids to run and play. Plans will be to return again next year.
I guess my only recommendation would be to add back the mirror at the top of the drive to exit safely.
I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to rent a cabin in the Townsend area.
business
Owl’s Hoot Chalet – Off the beaten path but convenient to everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3527778
Townsend Tennessee
5

What else could you want?

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Owls Hoot welcomes you from the moment you drive up. It's a bird watcher's paradise, with bird feeders everywhere. The inside is warm, welcoming and has everything you could ever want or need. My granddaughter and the dogs loved the deck areas and the meadow was an extra bonus. We will definitely be back. Thanks for sharing Owls Hoot with us!
business
Owl’s Hoot Chalet – Off the beaten path but convenient to everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3527778
Townsend Tennessee
4

October Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I just loved this cabin. I come to Townsend every October, not just for the colors, but for the peace. This cabin was especially grand because our dogs were quite at home. What a wonderful pet friendly cabin. We had a fire every night, and enjoyed the serenity of this Smokey Mountain Cabin.

Highly recommend this cabin.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Owl’s Hoot Chalet – Off the beaten path but convenient to everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3527778
Townsend Tennessee
Winchester, Kentucky
5

Mays

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We really enjoyed every moment of our stay at Owl's Hoot Cabin. The owners have thought of everything you might. Plenty of good books to check out, a great selection of things to ideas of things to do in the area. You will also have menus from all the restaurants in the area.
The kitchen is very well stocked. You well have everything you might need. You will also find paper towels, spices provided.
Beds were all comfortable and furniture was all in great condition and comfortable. Large kitchen working area to enjoy.
Great walking areas in the meadow and close by as well. We enjoyed coffee in the Pavilion several mornings. You will love this cabin. It feels more like you are at home than in a rental. We are planning to return soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Owl’s Hoot Chalet – Off the beaten path but convenient to everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3527778
Townsend Tennessee
5

The Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We wanted a place to getaway during fall break and Owl's Hoot was absolutely perfect! Even though it was only 30 minutes away from our house, we felt as if we were hours away from home. We took our two small dogs and I don't know who enjoyed it more, me and my husband, or Bella and Sampson! We sat in the Adirondack chairs in the meadow and just soaked in the peace and quiet while the dogs chased squirrels and played. The cabin is comfortable and filled with an eclectic collection of antiques and decor. An unexpected touch was the complimentary Vienna coffee and special bath soaps, lotion, and shampoo. The kitchen was very well stocked, including a placemat and bowls for the dogs. The only thing missing from Owl's Hoot is a fire pit, it would be great for the cool evenings!!
We look forward to our next visit to Owl's Hoot. Thanks Myra for sharing your "little piece of heaven".

Eric and Teresa Fields Maryville, TN
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Owl’s Hoot Chalet – Off the beaten path but convenient to everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3527778
Townsend Tennessee
4

Peaceful Side of the Mountain

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The chalet was a very nice place. The end of May had perfect weather. The sound of the little creek as it rippled through the backyard was very relaxing. Our dogs loved going for a walk in the meadow every morning. We enjoyed the loft bedroom and the huge windows. Mostly we enjoyed all the wrap-around decking, not only around the house, but also through the woods, one path leading to the meadow, and the other leading to the extra pavilion. Nearby we drove the Foothills Parkway, the least travelled and most scenic highway along the mountain ridges. We stayed away from the tourist areas, but they are very near if that's what you like to do. Also near there was the dragon tail highway, which had over a hundred curves.
We were happy with everything in the chalet, and our deposit was returned in a timely manner.
business
Owl’s Hoot Chalet – Off the beaten path but convenient to everything!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3527778
Townsend Tennessee
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Pictures & Descriptions are 100 % accurate...

Pictures & Descriptions are 100 % accurate...
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
...One exception being that the meadow is attached to a mountain on the opposite side of the deck. This was a wonderful surprise. Location is 1/3 mile from Route 321 and you did not know it. Myself and my four sisters had more than enough "space" and our biggest necessity, R & R, was achieved by day two. The only disruption to the peace & quiet was the thunderstorms which we loved (okay so maybe not the one at 3 am). We will recommend this property to everyone we know.

Myra, once again thank you for sharing with us your wonderful cabin.
Helpful votes: 1/1