Jay Peak chalet rental - The Shangri-la House
The Shangri-la House
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Jay Peak Chalet Rental Photos and Description
The house has 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths and sleeps 10 counting the pullout couch.

All this April... rent 2 nights and get the 3rd night FREE!!!!!

Only 5 miles from the Jay Peak Resort this beautiful three bedroom chalet was completely renovated in 2005. It boasts of radiant heated hard wood floors and huge picture windows looking out at the mountains. The large kitchen has new stainless steel appliances, utensils, cookware, dishes, lots of cooking space and a long wrap around counter with bar stools. The first bedroom has 1 queen bed. In the library there is a pullout couch. The open floor plan continues from the kitchen into the living room where the vaulted ceilings, beautiful soapstone wood stove and enormous windows really remind you why you vacation in Vermont. Upstairs to the “kids room” featuring two wrought iron trundle beds. Then the giant master bedroom which has a private deck, a queen size bed, a futon and a private door to the bathroom. The bathroom has granite counter tops, huge tub and 2 shower heads. Guest of the house have access to the Community pool and clay tennis courts.

Come find Shangri-La.

This beautiful three bedroom chalet was completely renovated in 2005. It boasts of radiant heated hard wood floors and huge picture windows looking out at the mountains. There is a full bathroom downstairs. The large kitchen has new stainless steel appliances, utensils, cookware, dishes, lots of cooking space and a long wrap around counter with bar stools. Add in the big kitchen table and your ready to cook, eat, feed, entertain or just heat up and enjoy a nice cup of tea. There is a small library with a pullout couch and a game table off the kitchen which leads to the first bedroom. (1 queen bed) The open floor plan continues from the kitchen into the living room where the vaulted ceilings, beautiful soapstone wood stove and enormous windows really remind you why you vacation in Vermont.

Now up the stairs to the last two bedrooms. The “kids room” features two wrought iron trundle beds. (They pull out to make four twins) The giant master bedroom besides having a private deck, has a queen size bed, a futon and a private door to the upstairs bathroom. The upstairs bathroom has granite counter tops and a huge tub with two shower heads. There is also large porch looking out at the mountains with a brand new gas grill.

The chalet is only five miles from the Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort which just opened it's indoor water park and Olympic size ice rink. Guests of the house have access to the community pool and clay tennis courts which are just a short walk away. Come find out what Jay Peak and northern Vermont have to offer. Come find Shangri-la.

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 351824 in Jay Peak, Vermont

Breath taking chalet, stunning custom woodwork, hard wood floors
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
business
Breath taking chalet, stunning custom woodwork, hard wood floors
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351824
+1 802 3263171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I came up for a sking trip with 5 guys total. The first day was too cold to ski (-25 windchill) but there was plenty of space to lounge around and hangout. The kitchen is great and has everything you need to cook. The second day's weather cooperated and we were at the mountain in 5 minutes (literally). After a great day of skiing we came back to the house and were able to get showered up quickly thanks to the two full baths. The views are great, the space is laid out well with plenty of sleeping space. I think the only negative thing we found was that the pullout bed was very uncomfortable but that's almost to be expected. Everything that you need is provided, paper towels, toilet paper, towels, linens, COFFEE POT!!!. This is a great place to stay if you have a large group. I would highly recommend it and am looking forward to planning another trip up to Jay to ski and stay at the Shangri-la house
Owner's Response: Thanks for the awesome review! I glad you guys liked the house and had a great vacation. Mike
business
Breath taking chalet, stunning custom woodwork, hard wood floors
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351824
+1 802 3263171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Awesome Ski Chalet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a great time at this awesome ski chalet on the South Side of Jay Peak. Stunning views and less than 10 minutes from the ski resort. We had two families of four in the house and had plenty of space. House was clean and ready complete with firewood(just ask Mike and he will have it there for you). Nice kitchen and the wood stove was awesome. Outside deck with grill was awesome to relax after hitting the slopes all day. Overall, outstanding property. Photos do not do it justice. Mike, the property manager, was great and easy to deal with. Can't wait to go back!
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you guys had a good time. Thanks for your business and for the great review! Mike
business
Breath taking chalet, stunning custom woodwork, hard wood floors
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351824
+1 802 3263171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Perfect house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We absolutely loved our stay at this house. It's a 10 minute drive away from Jay Peak, and there's ample space for a big group to enjoy together. We found everything we needed to cook in the kitchen, loved the fireplace, and appreciated that the owner was available to help with any questions or concerns. 100% recommended! We hope to return in the future.
Owner's Response: I really glad you guys enjoyed yourselves! Thanks for the great review and have a great year. Mike
business
Breath taking chalet, stunning custom woodwork, hard wood floors
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351824
+1 802 3263171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
4

Charming Ski Country Home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Beutiful house, very well maintained and decorated. Beware the bumps getting to it on Rt 242! Great value! Be prepared to BUY firewood for that charming wood stove......
Owner's Response: I'm glad you guys enjoyed the house and your vacation. Firewood... yes the soap stone wood stove is beautiful and for just $25 I'll make sure there is wood and kindling waiting for you. Just let me know if you're interested.
Thanks again, Mike
business
Breath taking chalet, stunning custom woodwork, hard wood floors
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351824
+1 802 3263171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
Stamford, Connecticut
4

awesome space!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
amazing wrap around deck from side of the house around the living room up to the master bdr. we came during the winter, but this place would be great for BBQs in the summer.

the bathroom connected to the master bdr has a big tub with 2 shower heads!! the bathroom has been updated with a modern/romantic feel. high ceilings and large living room space, yet it feels very cozy. we loved the countertop bar. it was easy to interact and cook at the same time. however, if you tend on cooking a lot, bring your own pots/pans and cooking tools, especially cutting knives. there is also a small library by the kitchen that we gathered in to make more space around the dining table when some of our friends came over for dinner.

the house is on a slope and on a snowy day, take the back entrance. 2 of our cars got stuck trying to get up the hill.

I loved the house and proximity to Jay Peak. would stay there again!!
Owner's Response: I'm glad you guys enjoyed your stay at the house and the Jay Peak area. Thanks again, Mike
business
Breath taking chalet, stunning custom woodwork, hard wood floors
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351824
+1 802 3263171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
Boston, MA
5

Great first week of the new year

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Several friends and I went up to spend our fist week of the year at Jay and the house was just as good as the 16 inches Jay got during our time there. Words cannot describe how awesome the wood stove is. Despite the temp outside which was probably -10 on a couple nights, it was always nice and toasty in the house. The location is within 10 minutes of the mountain easily as well. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking to visit Jay Peak.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you guys enjoyed the house and the resort. Thanks again for your business and for the great review.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Breath taking chalet, stunning custom woodwork, hard wood floors
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351824
+1 802 3263171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

wow...just wow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
What a place!! My family was lucky enough to be able to have a late fall weekend away at this fantastic property. Mike couldn't have been more accommodating making sure we had everything for our young child. He gave us the general lay of the land, pointing us to the fine local eating establishments in nearby Montgomery as well as directions to the Jay Peak Resort and its BRAND NEW Indoor Water Park which was mere minutes away. Everything about this house screamed VT especially the view of the mountain from the wrap around porch (IT HAS TWO LEVELS!!!).The babbling brook provided the just the right amount of background noise for this quiet retreat. This is absolutely going to be a property I come back too, I only hope its available the next time I visit
Owner's Response: I'm always glad to hear that our guests have not only enjoyed the house but the area too. Jay and the Jay Peak Ski and Golf (and now new water park) Resort has so much to offer. Thanks again for your business and the incredible review.
business
Breath taking chalet, stunning custom woodwork, hard wood floors
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351824
+1 802 3263171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Awesome Place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This place was amazing!! I would recommend it to anyone! Very spacious inside with everything you need! The kitchen was fully stocked and some great meals were made there. All the bedrooms were nice and cozy as well. The showers were also really great, esp the master bedroom shower that has two shower heads in it! The downstairs has a nice warm wood stove and a quaint library/study area. The wood floors were also heated! Even has a washer and drier with soap to use! Our group of six fit perfectly into this amazing house, we are definitely coming back!
business
Breath taking chalet, stunning custom woodwork, hard wood floors
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351824
+1 802 3263171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Amazing, Romantic Getaway for Couples <3

Amazing, Romantic Getaway for Couples &lt;3
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My fiance and I came to the Shangri-la house to celebrate our engagement and get away for a long weekend from our busy lives in Burlington. We had an amazing time and would recommend the Shangri-la house to any Vermonters looking to escape, or to visitors wanting to see the true beauty of our State.

The pictures showcase the beauty of this house and its surroundings but it is even more beautiful in person. We cooked amazing meals every night in the gorgeous kitchen and enjoyed coffee on the porch every morning overlooking the Green Mountains. The house is a perfect combination of luxury and rustic.

There are activities in the area fitting to the active ones - swimming, golfing, skiing, hiking, etc. It's also a perfect place to sit back with a good book for the weekend and relax :)

Finally, Mike, the property manager, was attentive and accommodating. The house was impeccable. He clearly puts a great amount of attention and care to making sure visitors' experience is the best it can be.

We can't wait to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you guys enjoyed yourselves. Thanks for your business and the great review. Mike
business
Breath taking chalet, stunning custom woodwork, hard wood floors
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351824
+1 802 3263171
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

One word Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
The house was super clean. The views were great. I would kill to have a kitchen like this house has. It is a great base hiking and just tooling around the countryside. I'm not much of a skier but next time we go Im bringing the golf clubs. I would recomend this place to anyone! much better than a small condo you have so much room here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you guys enjoyed yourselves. Thanks for your business and the nice review. Mike