Hawi cottage rental - Tiki Tomba standing guard at entry for the Bamboo
Tiki Tomba standing guard at entry for the Bamboo
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Hawi Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, with an additional convertible bed (sofa futon)

With aloha we welcome you to the Bamboo Cottage.

We are located on 1 acre of lush gardens at 1,000 foot elevation with views of the ocean and Mt. Haleakala on the neighbor island of Maui.

The trade winds are in constant movement here in North Kohala which creates this soothing sound perfect for any getaway.

Built in 2005, the 600 square foot cottage features bamboo floors and walls, original stain glass work throughout. The memory foam mattress and plush linens are ideal for a luxurious sleep in this peaceful setting. Hawaii's tropical climate is perfect for enjoying an additional shower located outdoors.

The Bamboo Cottage is supplied with soap, shampoo, conditioners, hair dryer, ironing board and iron. Plush linens, towel and microfiber robes.

Al fresco dining allows you to enjoy the beautiful gardens that surround you. Complimentary welcome 100% Kona coffee, selection of teas and hot cocoa provided along with oatmeal and fruit from our gardens.

Fresh cut flowers and seasonal fruit from our abundant garden.

More Details
Hide Details

32 Reviews of Property 351818 in Hawi, Hawaii

Bamboo Cottage and Tiki Tiki Tomba in Lush Tropical Garden
average rating of 4.96875 based on 32 reviews
business
Bamboo Cottage and Tiki Tiki Tomba in Lush Tropical Garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351818
+1 808 217-0248
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Better than the photos

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Of the 4 places we stayed during our month long stay on the Big Island, this was our favorite! The accomodations were fantastic. We only had 3 nights there, but wished we
could take the cottage with us for the rest of the trip. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Bamboo Cottage and Tiki Tiki Tomba in Lush Tropical Garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351818
+1 808 217-0248
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Life Affirming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We LOVED this cottage. So peaceful and wonderfully kept. We ate dinner on the patio ever night!! The owners were terrific. the town of Hawi, is definetly the Big Islands best kept secret. So charming. We loved everything and hope we can come back soon! thank you so much
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Bamboo Cottage and Tiki Tiki Tomba in Lush Tropical Garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351818
+1 808 217-0248
Hawi Kohala Coast
Whidbey Island
5

Perfect spot in beautiful Hawi

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I stayed for a week in Bamboo Cottage, and wish we had booked for longer! The cottage is well-built and beautifully furnished with lovely landscaping all around. We spent most of our time at the cottage in the screened lanai with a view of the water and Maui, and had all our meals at the table there. Although small, the kitchen was very workable and very well-equipped. We also appreciated the luxuries of cable TV, memory foam bed, washer/dryer, the outdoor shower, and the beach equipment. Also Jennifer's gorgeous glass art was an added treat. Great location for all the fun activities and good food in the Hawi area. An "above and beyond" that I really appreciated: A day after we left, I found out that I left a library DVD in the player. Jennifer rescued it and returned it to the library, saving me a fine. (BTW, visitors can get a 3-month library card.)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Bamboo Cottage and Tiki Tiki Tomba in Lush Tropical Garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351818
+1 808 217-0248
Hawi Kohala Coast
Hayfork, CA
5

Aloha Spirit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Jennifer & Jeff embody the aloha spirit. From the warm greeting to the little touches, such as fresh flowers, fruit from their garden, & ground coffee, we were made to feel welcomed. The cottage is lovingly appointed & has all the amenities for a comfortable stay. Jennifer's amazing glasswork adds to the beauty. This is a perfect accommodation for exploring the North Kohala coast.

There are good restaurants nearby, Sushi Rock being our favorite. The next town to the north also has good restaurants and galleries.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Bamboo Cottage and Tiki Tiki Tomba in Lush Tropical Garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351818
+1 808 217-0248
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Hawi Cottage in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
WE loved the cottage.... The grounds were beautifully landscaped and very private.. The inside of the cottage was VERY well appointed.. Bed 5 stars... Outdoor shower was awesome too.. Jennifer has some of her glass artwork thru out the cottage not to be missed.. The location is perfect, so close to the cute town of Hawi.... I would stay again and so should you!!!! :0
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Bamboo Cottage and Tiki Tiki Tomba in Lush Tropical Garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351818
+1 808 217-0248
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Tiki tombo Hawi

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Couldn't ask for a better tranquell sanctuary to relax for a couple days. Top notch!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Bamboo Cottage and Tiki Tiki Tomba in Lush Tropical Garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351818
+1 808 217-0248
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Amazing stay for our first few days of Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband Dave and I arrived at the Bamboo Cottage after a long flight from Asheville, North Carolina. We stayed here our first 3 days of our 2 week honeymoon... Just wanted to say what an amazing stay and just what we needed for our first few days. Jennifer (the owner) was such a great host and gave us amazing fresh Kona coffee for out stay and other goodies such as fruit for us...."Hawi" was our favorite town of our entire stay....Bamboo and Sushi Rock in town are great places to eat as well... Just the whole experience was fantastic
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bamboo Cottage and Tiki Tiki Tomba in Lush Tropical Garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351818
+1 808 217-0248
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

jacnglen

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We spent eight wonderful nights at The Bamboo Cottage. It is in the quiet, quaint town of Hawi and was a perfect base for our adventures. It was even better than the pictures showed on the website.
We loved the basket full of fruit and avocados from the garden and the Kona coffee. The bed was very comfortable which was a plus after a week of camping and the outdoor shower was a treat. Jennifer and Jeff were very helpful when needed but also respectful of our privacy. The gardens around the cottage are incredible and the wind coming through the windows at night was an added welcome. The kitchen was well put together and had everything we needed to make our meals there and enjoy them out on the front lanai. The geckos and the night sky were special. We ate at the Bamboo Restaurant in Hawi and had a delicious meal, lobster tacos in nearby Kapa'au at Gil's Lanai. Near Spencer Beach area ( south ) is a fish market if you want to cook your own. Thank you to Jennifer for recommending The Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens near Hilo. This was well worth the entrance fee and, unlike the Akaka Falls walk, had names of the flora we were viewing.
On our drive south to the airport we saw a pod of dolphins! We look forward to returning, hopefully soon, to the Big Island and will definitely stay at The Bamboo Cottage again. Mahalo Jennifer and Jeff
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Bamboo Cottage and Tiki Tiki Tomba in Lush Tropical Garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351818
+1 808 217-0248
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Hawi Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Amazing location, beautiful scenery, peaceful and comfortable. Just as the pictures show and listing describes!
Owner was quite helpful and friendly when we called him to ask a question.
Well maintained and has just what is needed!
Only possible things I could see them doing to improve this property is putting in some measuring cups and a stronger shade for morning sun from window across from bed. Otherwise, this listing is absolutely what people look for in a vacation rental!
The art in the rental is stunning and hard to take your eyes off of, it helps create a very creative space that is flowing with great energy. We enjoyed writing songs as we gazed upon the beautifully crafted whale that gazes down upon us while there. Truly a masterpiece, compliments to Jennifer!
The town is adorable and has everything you might need nearby. We went dancing at Blue Dragon, purchased the most precious crystals at the rock shop, toured the art at the galleries, indulged in some hot pretzels at the local pub and will be returning to Hawi to pickup a bass ukulele from the ever-so-gracious music store.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bamboo Cottage and Tiki Tiki Tomba in Lush Tropical Garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351818
+1 808 217-0248
Hawi Kohala Coast
Ashland, Oregon
5

Two traveling American guests

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The Bamboo Cottage is an exceptional cabin to spend time in, while in Hawaii. The listing was spot on for accuracy. The location is very private & set in a beautiful lush garden. The photo's are perfect & what you see is what you get. We could not have found another beautifully maintained property. The cottage was clean & well maintained with beautiful decorations.We needed nothing, as all beach gear was provided, as well as kitchen essentials. It was well thought out & reflects the obvious love of the cottage by the owner, who could not have been more helpful and accommodating.This is a Jewel that we would recommend to anyone & already have. My husband & I visited everything we could in the 10 days we were there. Waterfalls, black sand beaches,snorkeling around Captain Cooks Monument, are just a few of the adventures we enjoyed. We are avid hikers & found many places to hike.To name a few places we explored Keoke Beach Park. All parks are exceptional. The Kohala Mts, statue of Kamehameha.chain of craters of Volcano's are some of the places we found to play. Ate at the Thai Thai, the Petro, awesome choc flour less cake & other cafe's in Hawi. Open markets exceptional My husband & myself have had the good fortune to have lived & worked in the Caribbean, for 15 years. We ran charter boats, as well as private yachts & found the people in Hawaii to be as proud of their islands, as are those on every island in the Caribbean. I cannot say enough about Hawi, The Big Island. A must see. We rented a convertible & would again.If I keep going on & on we may not get room at the inn again. :-) Read all the brochures provided for you in the Cottage & pick your corner of the island. Our last night we hit a local bar for some fine dancing with the locals!!! Wonderful!! Our 25th wedding anniversary trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3