Whitetop cabin rental - Lily Ridge Cabin
Lily Ridge Cabin
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Whitetop Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, loft, bunk room, 2 baths, Sleeps 12.

This luxury peg, post and beam timber-frame cabin sits on top of a ridge on 50 unspoiled acres. Quiet, secluded with spectacular mountain views all around. Explore the walking trails on the property that lead to the Top-O-The-Ridge where you can see the North Carolina side of the Blue Ridge off in the distance. Follow the less strenuous get-away trail which will lead you to an intimate view of the peaceful valley below while relaxing in an Adirondack chair or on the A-frame swing. Maybe just head down the ridge to Helton Creek, which borders the property, and enjoy the sounds of the bold stream or try your hand at fly fishing for some of the native or stocked trout. Or...just sit on the porch and enjoy the vistas or the horses that roam the property. You may never want to leave!

This beautiful home has 3 porches, each with spectacular views. Enjoy dinner or a warm fire outside on the back deck. Build a roaring bon-fire in the camp fire pit overlooking Grayson Highlands State Park. At night the stars are magnificent! Inside, sit on the large hearth of the nearly 30 foot stone fireplace and soak in the warmth and sounds of another crackling fire.

Indulge in the many activities close by. Lily Ridge is just 10 min. from the Virginia Creeper Trail and only 3 miles from Grayson Highlands State Park. Local attractions/activities include hiking, fishing, biking, horseback riding, music, and festivals throughout the year.

West Jefferson, NC is 25 min away where there are a variety of restaurants from BBQ to fine dining. Enjoy local art work, shops and antiquing. Nearby, enjoy the ambiance, a glass of wine and fine dining offered by the River House located on the North Fork of the New River. For family style with an atmosphere and history all it's own, check out Shatley Springs and don't forget to grab a bottle of fresh spring water, said to cure many an ailment. There are several golf courses located in West Jefferson and the New River is a beautiful place to canoe, tube or kayak.

In the other direction over the peak of Whitetop Mountain, is Abingdon, Virginia, a vibrant and quaint destination and home to the historic Barter Theater. Abingdon is a short 45 minute drive along the famed Crooked Road Music Trail. Explore the town, try the original Tavern which has been in continuous operation since the 1700's and visit the Abingdon Winery on the way there or on the way back to Lily Ridge.

Boone, NC is an hour from Whitetop as well as the quaint community of Blowing Rock. Shop, ski, rock climb or zip line. The choices in and around Lily Ridge Cabin are limitless.

We manage the property personally to make sure your stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience! We hope you will consider staying with us soon!

More Details
Hide Details

Todd and Sheila Lange have been married for over 25 years, reside in Statesville, North Carolina and have three children, a 25 year old girl, a 22 year old boy and a 15 year old boy. We have enjoyed many happy moments in and around Lily Ridge Cabin and love sharing it with friends, family and guests.

Sheila Lange purchased this cabin in 2001

16 Reviews of Property 351728 in Whitetop, Virginia

Beautiful timber frame home with spectacular mountain views. Secluded, fabulous.
average rating of 4.928571 based on 16 reviews
business
Beautiful timber frame home with spectacular mountain views. Secluded, fabulous.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351728
+1 704 965-8783
Whitetop Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Great home and great owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is a wonderful property in a great, off-the-beaten path location. The home is obviously well cared for and has a well-stocked pantry and plenty of games, books, local maps and information. We didn't turn on the TV once during our stay. The outdoor firepit was perfect for making smores. And the star gazing is amazing.

We skipped the VA Creeper Trail and stuck to Grayson which is a true gem. No crowds, not "touristy" at all and beautiful trails and views. Rather than going to Shakley Springs, we'd recommend Pie in the Sky in Lansing, NC. for dinner. Fabulous pizza and coffee.

As one previous reviewer said, the driveway should be navigated for the first time during daylight hours. We arrived after some heavy rains and it had some ruts (the owners warn you about this) but after driving it 2x, there were no issues. I would also bring a roll of paper towels and toliet paper - there were three of us and there wasn't enough at the cabin to get us through one day. Everything else was supplied, including fire starters, laundry and dish washing supplies. The local store / gas station makes a great chicken sandwhich and probably has anything else you might need.

Wonderful Vacation!

Be warned - you may not be able to use your cell phones during your stay so be sure to load up your GPS directions using the wireless provided at the the house.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful timber frame home with spectacular mountain views. Secluded, fabulous.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351728
+1 704 965-8783
Whitetop Blue Ridge Highlands
Melbourne, FL
5

Great Family Memories!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had a WONDERFUL stay over the Christmas week at Lily Ridge Cabin. We never left the cabin for the whole week. Our family hiked the property, played in the snow, swung on the high swing, strung popcorn for the Christmas tree we cut down, made Christmas ornaments, taught the kids to play chess and also made some beautiful family memories! The view was awesome, the owners were pleasant to work with and the cabin was cozy. We hope to come back next year with our new family member. THANKS!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful timber frame home with spectacular mountain views. Secluded, fabulous.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351728
+1 704 965-8783
Whitetop Blue Ridge Highlands
Virginia
5

Luxury in the wilderness

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our time at the cabin was awesome!!!! We loved it to listen to the trees in the wind and to enjoy the spectaculous view from the deck at the mountains at daytime and at the milky way at night. Everything in the house was kept clean and in good shape. The home theater is gorgeous. The nearby Grayson State Park is really worth a visit for hiking, biking or even horse riding.
We will definitely recommend the cabin to our friends. Thank you, Sheila!!
Oliver & Birgit, the Germans from Northern Virginia
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful timber frame home with spectacular mountain views. Secluded, fabulous.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351728
+1 704 965-8783
Whitetop Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Ww didn't want to leave!

Ww didn't want to leave!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We celebrated Christmas in this beautiful cabin. My husband, three year old, one year old and golden retriever loved it. Not only is Lily Ridge stocked ( just bring your clothes and food) but the owners decorated it for Christmas for us! The views are breathtaking, we were amazed everyday by the beauty of the area. The pictures do not do Lily Ridge justice, it's the perfect getaway retreat, so modern and rustic at the same time. The owners obviously care very much for this home and it's reflected in its care and maintenance. I would highly recommend Lily Ridge and cannot wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful timber frame home with spectacular mountain views. Secluded, fabulous.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351728
+1 704 965-8783
Whitetop Blue Ridge Highlands
5

review on Lilly ridge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Place was all it was supposed to be and more! loved the solitude, all the special homey touches, had everything we needed! It was very clean and well maintained. I would highly recommend it. We biked the Creeper Trail and cut our Christmas Tree down. My kids loved the horses and exploring the property.
The only negative thing i can say is the driveway was a bit dicey!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful timber frame home with spectacular mountain views. Secluded, fabulous.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351728
+1 704 965-8783
Whitetop Blue Ridge Highlands
5

A fantastic getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Lily Ridge is amazing! My wife and I stayed here a few days during our honeymoon roadtrip/adventure. We would go back in a heartbeat!

The property is very clean and well maintained, and has all of the amenities for a great stay. There is wireless internet, central heat/AC, all the dishes and cookware you would need... all you really need to bring is your clothes and whatever food you want to cook.

The cabin is big enough to accomodate a group while still providing areas for privacy. It was perfect for our honeymoon, and we're talking about possibly going back with a group of friends. We watched a few movies in the comfy media room, and spent plenty of time by the fireplace in the main area. The view from the porches are very nice and relaxing. Although the property discriptions and pictures are accurate, it doesn't do the cabin justice.

There are local activities, but we didn't really check any of them out besides heading to West Jefferson for an afternoon. The area (including the drive to the cabin from the highway) is beautiful... we were lucky enough to have our honeymoon road trip while the leaves were changing colors.

The owners are great. They provided clear and concise instructions and directions, and have been very friendly and welcoming in all of our communications. We arrived late in the evening, and they had even called to check and make sure we were finding everything okay since we had not arrived at the cabin yet.

Thanks again for having us. We look forward to coming back someday!


Patrick and Amanda
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful timber frame home with spectacular mountain views. Secluded, fabulous.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351728
+1 704 965-8783
Whitetop Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Spacious, modern, warm and inviting hilltop home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This home was a perfect getaway for two families to share time together. The mountain scenery, the cozy fireplace and the modern amenities all made for a restful stay. Plenty of room to hang out together and to get your quiet time.

Driveway is very steep and windy so arriving in daylight is key. Would definitely go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful timber frame home with spectacular mountain views. Secluded, fabulous.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351728
+1 704 965-8783
Whitetop Blue Ridge Highlands
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Lily Ridge Cabin

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Lily Ridge Cabin was absolutely perfect! My husband and I arrived after
a very long two day drive in the rain and wind from DC. (Skyline Drive
was beautiful but slow at 45 mph!) When we entered the cabin, we thought
we'd died and gone to heaven. The views from all the windows and the
decks were breathtaking, especially as the fall colors were just
reaching their peak. We especially enjoyed the large stone fire place in
the living room and the fire pit on the deck. Many evenings were spent,
relaxing with a glass of wine in front of a warm fire. Even though the
cabin is off the beaten track there was a lot to do in the area - hiking
in the Mt. Rogers National Recreation Area and Mt. Grayson State Park,
biking on the Virginia Creeper trail, discovering mountain music in the
lovely town of Floyd. I could go on and on, but I'll just say that we'd
go back in a heart beat. In fact, we're already planning our next
vacation to the Virginia Highlands and Lily Ridge.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful timber frame home with spectacular mountain views. Secluded, fabulous.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351728
+1 704 965-8783
Whitetop Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Lilly Ridge Mountain Cabin---amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We had a fantastic time! We brought our 2 sons and were very pleased with the accomodations. First, it is so much more than a mountain cabin, it's more like a beautiful mountain home. It is very spacious, beautifully furnished and is very warm and cozy at the same time. The ammenities were perfect and we weren't missing anything! The fireplace was such a treat to relax by at night. My boys loved the media room, the beautiful property and cool bunkbeds too! They also loved making smores every night by the fire pit! We will definitely be back and can't wait to spend another few days here again!!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful timber frame home with spectacular mountain views. Secluded, fabulous.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351728
+1 704 965-8783
Whitetop Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Lily Ridge is outstanding!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We've stayed in other mountain cabins but never in one that was so beautifully located and felt so much like home as Lily Ridge. The many hours we sat on the deck and porches drinking in the views was like a tonic to us as we ceblebrated the end of our careers and the beginning of our retirement. We hiked at the state park several times and biked on the Virginia Creeper trail, listened to music, and ate, drank, and were merry! There was ample space for all six of us adults to be together or to find quiet space for naps, reading, watching TV, or just daydreaming. The kitchen was well appointed for a lot of cooking or just a little. We hope to return many times in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4