La Jolla condo rental - Front view of the condo.
Front view of the condo.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

La Jolla Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

Gaby's La Jolla 3 bedroom 3 bath vacation condo combines two units into one. Gaze out at the Pacific Ocean from either of your 2 private balconies as you sip your morning coffee and at the end of the day, catch the sunset while you cook dinner on the gas BBQ. Famous Windansea Beach, which is in most iconic La Jolla photographs, is only 100 steps away!

The larger of the 2 units is unit B with 1000 sq ft. on the 2nd floor of the triplex. The smaller unit is unit C - the 300 sq ft Penthouse Studio – with the 3rd bedroom, 3rd bath, its own balcony, a kitchenette, a private entrance and its own parking place. Both units are connected with a carpeted indoor stairway between the two floors. (Access is locked and restricted when booked separately).

The lower level (Unit B) can sleep up to 7 people and has two bedrooms and two bathrooms. There is a queen bed in the first bedroom and a queen and single bed in the second bedroom plus the living room couch is a queen sofabed. There is cable TV and a DVD player in the living room plus a cable TV in each of the two bedrooms, cable internet with WiFi and a fully equipped California style open kitchen for cooking and dining at home...with an ocean view!

The penthouse studio on the upper level can sleep either 3 adults or 2 adults and 1 or 2 small children who sleep together. There is a queen sized sofa/futon and a queen sized Murphy bed - which folds up and out of the way as a dining table appears in its place! The penthouse level also features cable TV, DVD player, cable internet with WiFi and nicely-equipped efficiency kitchen with sink, microwave, toaster oven, a portable two-burner cooktop, compact refrigerator, dishes, glasses and utensils.

This complete 3-bedroom 3-bath configuration provides togetherness for 10 guests yet complete privacy for those in the penthouse simply by closing the interlocking door.

We also provide beach towels, beach chairs, umbrella and boogie boards as well as 4 adult and one child (20 inch) beach cruiser bikes, helmets and cable bike locks.

Centrally located, you are an easy drive (or walk) to all San Diego has to offer: 1 minute to the beach, 2 minutes to the many shops and restaurants in Windansea, 5 minutes to the heart of old La Jolla village, 10 minutes to the famous La Jolla Cave and La Jolla Cove, the La Jolla Museum of Contemporary Art, the world famous Comedy Store, numerous boutiques and shops and a dazzling array of restaurants offering unmatched international cuisine.

Beyond the Jewel that is La Jolla, you're only 15-20 minutes from Sea World, San Diego's famous Old Town, downtown's Gas Lamp District and Little Italy, the Embarcadero with it's floating museums and lovely SeaPort Village, and the airport. Just 20 minutes away you'll find the World Famous San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park and fine shopping at San Diego's Fashion Valley. About 30 minutes away you can enjoy Legoland, Knott's Soak City or the Wild Animal Safari Park. You can also explore the historical gold rush town of Julian in San Diego's mountains or go down the other side into Anza Borrego Desert State Park (not recommended in summer).

Enjoy all San Diego has to offer from this great location.

You also have the option to rent the lower 2 bdrm condo for the total capacity to sleep up to 17 people in 5 bedrooms with 5 bathrooms and 3 living rooms.

Keywords: Ocean close, ocean views, Windansea beach, La Jolla, cottage, condo, apartment, flat

More Details
Hide Details

We live locally and love San Diego, especially La Jolla! We spend our time enjoying all the activities and top restaurants that San Diego has to offer, and take advantage of the great parks, beaches, and family spots with our grandchildren.

Nancy's Vacation Rentals purchased this condo in 2006

Best year-round weather, great vacation destination for families young and old!

Walk to beautiful Windansea beach. Ride our provided bikes along the ocean. Watch the sunsets. Close to all the tourist destinations in San Diego.

7 Reviews of Property 3515854 in La Jolla, California

Up to 30% OFF - through June! 3 bedroom private balconies, views at Windansea
average rating of 4.571429 based on 7 reviews
business
Up to 30% OFF - through June! 3 bedroom private balconies, views at Windansea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3515854
+1 619-940-4687
La Jolla San Diego County
Denton, TX
5

traveler

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The beach bikes came in handy and the location is just wonderful. We would definately return to this property if we are in the area.
Taco Surf is inexpensive and enjoyed by everyone. El Pecador is also tasty and has a larger location opening across Pearl Street sometime this year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Up to 30% OFF - through June! 3 bedroom private balconies, views at Windansea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3515854
+1 619-940-4687
La Jolla San Diego County
Santa Rosa, CA
5

Amazing, affordable place to stay in La Jolla!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We are currently staying At Gabys in La Jolla wind-n-sea area. This is an incredible place. We are enjoying all of the amenities. This house is very spacious with quite a few extras that makes our stay so comfortable. The beds were comfortable, lots of towels, coffee and filters in the kitchen, a stereo and ipod dock, and so much more!
Nancys Rentals is very friendly and has been very helpful in finding a place that would accomodate my 94 year old father. This place has a parking lot out back where we can park so that he can get out of our car and walk right into the house.
The owner was especially kind as we had the priveledge of meeting him.
Oh, and I forgot to mention the ocean view! The ocean is just a block away and not crowded at all. Its just like having a private beach. We will definately stay here again, and again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Up to 30% OFF - through June! 3 bedroom private balconies, views at Windansea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3515854
+1 619-940-4687
La Jolla San Diego County
Oregon
2

Great Location, paper thin walls.

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Pros: The view and location aren't terrible. It is a short 1 block walk to the beach, kitchen for cooking, washer and dryer use in the garage.

Cons: 1. NOISE!! you can hear every sound that the people in the upstairs studio unit make. There is a door that is locked that connects the middle two bedroom unit to the upstairs studio and it does nothing for sound control. You can hear every word that is said to every step that is taken. If you are a light sleeper i wouldn't suggest renting here unless you are in the studio on the top floor.

2. The garage is full of clutter and only one car can be parked in there at a time, unfortunate because two of the three rental units share the parking in the garage. You get one parking spot in the garage (which is full of clutter from bikes to high chairs) and then the one spot to park in front of the garage. The top unit which is the studio gets to park in back behind the building.

3. Upon arrival to the rental we opened the blinds in the bedrooms only to quickly close them because of privacy issues, the stairs that lead to the top floor studio run right along the master bedrooms sliding door/patio.

4. Car dependent to get to stores or restaurants

5. Don't plan on hooking up your Computer to the TV's as they are too old to be compatible with the technology and are incapable of being connected to laptops, IPOD players, USB cords, Thumb drives or cameras.

The overall feel of the rental is inhospitable and unwelcoming if you plan on having guests over during your visit. a lack of comfortable seating will leave your stay short. Plan on bringing ear plugs and your own Ipod player as this place offers neither quietness or a Ipod music player. What is offered is a CD player.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: This unit is usually rented out as a three bedroom/three bath instead of renting the penthouse studio separately from the two bedroom below it so this is not usually a problem. However, we sent this comment to the owner who is soundproofing the door up to the studio. He also took down the old TV that was hanging on the wall above the door and bought a new 36 inch flat screen which he moved to the sitting room far from that door. He is also purchasing new flat screens for the all the units right after Easter. Parking has never been a problem at this property since it has 5 parking spaces for the 2-3 units and no one has ever complained about parking in the driveway before. However, again, this owner is very responsive and he just bought a "Tough Shed" and put it behind the building and transferred all the beach chairs, boogie boards and bicycles to that so there would be enough room to park two vehicles in the garage if they prefer that to parking in the driveway. The owner also just bought IPod docking stations for each of the 3 units. This rental had a bad manager and the owner never made any money so he was not inclined to upgrade things like TVs but since we have taken it over and increased bookings, we are now making lots of improvements. This is the first person who has ever complained about these really nicely located properties. It's one of the best locations in San Diego! As far as opening the bedroom blinds, there is hardly a property in San Diego were you could leave your bedroom blinds open all the time. It's a city with houses and condos in close proximity. I guess you just can not please everyone and since all the other guests that stayed here gave it 5 stars, you can judge the validity of their really negative comments for yourself.
business
Up to 30% OFF - through June! 3 bedroom private balconies, views at Windansea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3515854
+1 619-940-4687
La Jolla San Diego County
Phoenix
5

Great Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My family stayed and I in the big Kahuna while attending my brother's wedding. It fit all of us perfectly and the location could not be better. We had a great time using the bikes and beach stuff. Beach towls were even provided! We could see the ocean from the balcony, it really was perfect. We will stay there again for sure!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Up to 30% OFF - through June! 3 bedroom private balconies, views at Windansea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3515854
+1 619-940-4687
La Jolla San Diego County
Columbia, MD
5

The Kahunas at Wind and Sea, La Jolla, CA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Wind and Sea Beach in LaJolla is one of our most favorite places. Our stay is enhanced by the accommodations at the Kahunas. We have spent the last several years vacationing there with our entire family of 10. We rent the entire building, have plenty of room to spread out enjoy some privacy but most of all spend time together with children and grandchildren. The Kahunas are very well equipped from the kitchens, living areas, bedrooms and equipment for little children. The units are well stocked with plenty of bath and beach towels. The older children and adults love the bikes which are frequently utilized for rides along the ocean. One of the most important aspects is the flexible renting schedule (you are not limited to Sat. to Sat .only), which allows us to participate in a large family reunion with our California relatives which is held the first Sat. of August. The management has always been more than accommodating and sincere in it's efforts to make us feel at home. Our whole family considers the "trip out West" to be the highlight of the summer and we intend return for many years to come.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Up to 30% OFF - through June! 3 bedroom private balconies, views at Windansea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3515854
+1 619-940-4687
La Jolla San Diego County
San Diego inland
5

4th of July stay at Big Kahuna

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family stayed in the Big Kahuna property over the 4th of July weekend. We had a great time - it was very clean, comfortable, and well stocked. Barbecued on the patio overlooking the ocean, kids surfed and swam by walking just 1/2 block to beach. It was a quiet and pleasant neighborhood. We have stayed in a lot of beach properties, what made this one of the best was that you could hear the ocean waves at just the right pleasing sound level, not too loud or too faint. Rode bicycles and took grand-kids to beach in wagon provided. I would highly recommend staying here for a non-touristy and pleasant beach getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Up to 30% OFF - through June! 3 bedroom private balconies, views at Windansea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3515854
+1 619-940-4687
La Jolla San Diego County
Marietta OH
5

Perfect location, perfect condo, this place will not disappoint.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My family recently stayed at the Big Kahuna for 5 days. I must say that the online pictures don't do it justice, it is much nicer than it shows. We found that the inside was very spacious for the 4 of us. My 2 adult children shared the 2nd bedroom and were very comfortable. Bedding was nice. My husband and I enjoyed our time on the deck with an ocean view every morning, drinking coffee. Too bad we missed the sunset every night as we were very busy during our time there. We did not cook any large meals but did take full advantage of the kitchen. Just a very short walk around the corner took us to the beach where we watched the surfers. This location is ideal for surfing. We walked to La Jolla Cove several times. Another plus was the 4 beach cruiser bikes. We did use them! Upon our arrival, there was a slight problem but it was addressed and corrected immediately (by Harry). The condo was spotless. Bathrooms were cleaner than some hotels I have stayed in. Overall, I would hands-down stay at this condo again. Call Jason and book this property; he was very helpful.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3