Reykjavik house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Reykjavik House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)

The house is right in the heart of the old town in Reykjavik in the city center. Located in a quiet residential area the house is within a few minutes walk from the main shopping street and all the bars and restaurants that Reykjavik has become famous for.

The house was built in 1920 and is located in the old part of Reykjavik called Thingholt in 101 Reykjavik.

The house is 110 m2 (1.180 square feet) on 3 stories.

The top floor is a suite with a queen size bed, a sofa bed and a tv.

On the first floor there is fully furnished kitchen, dining room that seats 6 people at an antique handmade Icelandic dining table and a living room with a flat screen TV.

On the ground floor / basement there is large bedroom with two single beds which can be joined together. There is as well a large bathroom with shower and a laundry room with a washing machine

The house is family owned. My father, my brother and I bought the house autumn 2012 and have been working on renovating it over the winter. We are verry proud of the out come and know that this is a wonderful house for a family or group of people to spend time in while visiting our beutiful country.

Arnar Hauksson purchased this house in 2012

Its location is perfect, few minuits walk( 5min) to the center, but still far enough to not have to worry about the noise from our famous nightlife. Just renovated and all household equipment brand new (march 2013)

7 Reviews of Property 3514723 in Reykjavik, Iceland

Wonderful newly renovated house in the heart of Reykjavik
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
Wonderful newly renovated house in the heart of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3514723
+354 6957757
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Girls Week in Iceland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This was an excellent place for us! Myself and three friends traveled to Iceland during the first week of November for some sightseeing. We had plenty of space, and really enjoyed having 3 levels to spread out on. We had everything that we needed to keep us comfortable. We really appreciated that Arnar had stocked basic cooking needs so we could cook without having to purchase the small things you don't think of (spices, spray, foil, etc.). There were enough towels for everyone to have one-- if we could have changed one thing it would be to have a second set.

We rented a car (to save money on tours) and there was plenty of street parking, and we always found a spot within a block or two. It is within PERFECT walking diastase to any part of the city. So close to all the major tourist spots, some great restaurants, very fun clubs, and wonderful shopping. The best part is, that the street itself is very quiet, and then you walk two block towards the water and you feel like you're in a whole other place. It was perfect! We came to really love our little Iceland cottage. These is plenty of seating, both in the upstairs and the main level for watching movies and relaxing after a long day.

We would have loved to stay another week, and would certainly come back. Thanks so much for an amazing stay and a very comfortable home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Wonderful newly renovated house in the heart of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3514723
+354 6957757
Reykjavik Iceland
5

great little house in middle of Reykjavik

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
A beautiful little house, clean and well thought out space, it is very well maintained, warm and cosy, we always looked forwards getting back there from our adventures; the location was great, close to the Harper, city centre, harbour, shops, everything you want was walking distance. The tours we booked picked us up and dropped us of outside or very close to the house.
We were four friends and the house suited us so very well. The owners are very friendly, when we called asking for more bedding they came very quickly and sorted it all out, I very much appreciated that all the duvet and pillow covers were cotton. when we ask where the nearest shops are to buy milk they went out and bought it for us so that we could get some coffee (nice coffee maker in the house) before starting to explore the beautiful city. They also sorted the TV out for us, also we hardly used it; The house also had lots of information on tours, Reykjavik and Iceland.
We rented a car for one day and that was brought to the house as well.
We mainly used the kitchen for breakfast but there we could have eaten there every day, the kitchen was well equipped. The WIFI was also very much appreciated.
I do want to go back to Iceland and would try to get the house again for any stay in Reykjavik. We even saw the Northern light one night outside the house, one of us has been out and returned at 2am, waking the rest of us up, so we stood outside in our slipper to check out what happened in the sky. It was amazing. The week went ever so well.
Highly recommended.
business
Wonderful newly renovated house in the heart of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3514723
+354 6957757
Reykjavik Iceland
Winnipeg, Canada
4

Perfect house in the perfect location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Two teenagers and myself stayed for a week in the charming house while attending a family wedding.

The house was immaculate, easy to locate and within walking distance to many tourist attractions. The kids loved their own spaces, internet, tv, and buying groceries to cook in the efficient kitchen. Coffee, juice and fresh flowers welcomed us, and Arnar was very helpful by giving us an early check-in and later check-out, due to our flights. Having 3 sets of house keys was fantastic!

We all agreed that we had a perfect stay at the house and would not trade it for a hotel experience.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Wonderful newly renovated house in the heart of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3514723
+354 6957757
Reykjavik Iceland
New Jersey, USA
5

Charming house close to everything

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family of six just had a lovely stay in this charming house after completing a week long trip around Iceland via the "ring road". The house is very centrally located -- no more than a 5 minute walk to any the sights in Reykjavik. It was impeccably clean and comfortably fit all of us (the 4 teenagers were happy to have their own space in the loft). The owner Arnar was most helpful arranging the key and other details to ensure that our stay went smoothly. I definitely recommend this house and hope to stay here again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Wonderful newly renovated house in the heart of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3514723
+354 6957757
Reykjavik Iceland
Richmond
5

Great stay at this little house in Reykjavik!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our experience with this rental and Arnar, the owner, was nothing but positive. Communication was excellent and Arnar went above and beyond to accommodate us a few weeks prior to arrival when I realized I got our arrival date wrong due to the overnight flight.

When we arrived, it was clear that care was taken in a recent renovation and we appreciated all the little touches that made my wife and I and our 5 and 7 year old feel like at home. The photos are accurate. The living room and dining room is small, but comfortable. There is enough space for a family with two small kids. But, not too big that you would worry about not being able to hear your kids downstairs. It was nice being able to spread out over three floors. This was SO MUCH better than staying at a hotel. The kitchen seemed well appointed for the few meals we made. The coffee was greatly appreciated! Everything was clean and the beds comfortable. We didn't have any trouble with the street parking. There was always a spot nearby. The only surprise was that although there is a washing machine, there is no dryer. There are clothes lines in the laundry room for this purpose. It just meant we had to account for the extra drying time for our towels and clothes.

This was our first time in Iceland. The location was great. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood and to the Tjörnin. After driving around it was easy to find our way back because the house is near the Hallgrímskirkja, which can be seen from everywhere is Reykjavik.

Arnar even made an effort to meet us personally to ensure we had everything we needed. Unfortunately, we were out when he stopped by. I am sorry we didn't get a chance to meet in person. Maybe next time. We will miss "our" little house in Reykjavik.
business
Wonderful newly renovated house in the heart of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3514723
+354 6957757
Reykjavik Iceland
Richmond
5

We loved our stay at this little house in Reykjavik!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our experience with this rental and Arnar, the owner, was nothing but positive. Communication was excellent and Arnar went above and beyond to accommodate us a few weeks prior to arrival when I realized I got our arrival date wrong due to the overnight flight.

When we arrived, it was clear that care was taken in a recent renovation and we appreciated all the little touches that made my wife and I and our 5 and 7 year old feel like at home. The photos are accurate. The living room and dining room is small, but comfortable. There is enough space for a family with two small kids. But, not too big that you would worry about not being able to hear your kids downstairs. It was nice being able to spread out over three floors. This was SO MUCH better than staying at a hotel. The kitchen seemed well appointed for the few meals we made. The coffee was greatly appreciated! Everything was clean and the beds comfortable. We didn't have any trouble with the street parking. There was always a spot nearby. The only surprise was that although there is a washing machine, there is no dryer. There are clothes lines in the laundry room for this purpose. It just meant we had to account for the extra drying time for our towels and clothes.

This was our first time in Iceland. The location was great. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood and to the Tjörnin. After driving around it was easy to find our way back because the house is near the Hallgrímskirkja, which can be seen from everywhere is Reykjavik.

Arnar even made an effort to meet us personally to ensure we had everything we needed. Unfortunately, we were out when he stopped by. I am sorry we didn't get a chance to meet in person. Maybe next time. We will miss "our" little house in Reykjavik.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wonderful newly renovated house in the heart of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3514723
+354 6957757
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Nice house with good service

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house is centrally located between the bus-station and the city center and had everything we needed. My wife and I slept in the basement with our infant, and my parents slept on the top floor. In the mid floor there was a kitchen, dining room and a living room. We lived the for two weeks and made most of our meals in the house, and it worked out very vell.

With the different floors the house was good for two couples, but bare in mind that there is only one bathroom(downstairs), and that there is a few stairs - but for us in our situation it was just all very nice and cosy.

The owner was also very accomodating and put up the extra things that we needed for the baby. (We asked for it before we came, and it was all in place.) He even changed the beds for us after the first week.