Burlington house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Burlington House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-7)

Welcome to Alder Brook Cottage, your home away from home. Located in Essex Center, Alder brook Cottage is perfectly situated for enjoying the skiing, hiking and rural touring for which Vermont is famous as well as the shopping, nightlife, theaters and museums of Burlington, Vermont's largest city. Walk to restaurants and shopping in minutes or take a drive in the country that begins right at your front door. Perhaps you’d rather relax at home, cook a meal in the fully equipped kitchen and enjoy it on the spacious rear deck overlooking the comfortable yard and wooded back lot. Enjoy a movie in the sun room or take an evening stroll. Whatever unique Vermont experience you’re looking for, we hope you’ll come see us…and make yourself at home.

Keywords: Extended stay home, Vacation home, Business accommodation, Ranch house

My wife and I have lived in Essex for about thirty years. I grew up in Vermont, she in New Jersey. We both love Vermont and think Essex is the perfect spot for us. We have the culture center of the college town of Burlington only minutes away but are still far enough outside to easily enjoy our passions of hiking, biking, boating and outdoor life. Sam's time is divided among the pursuits of writing, cooking and caring for our many guests at Alder Brook Cottage while Franny works as a lab coordinator for the University of Vermont.

John Kinghorn purchased this house in 2009

When the house next door became available it seemed a natural for us. It gave us the opportunity to meet folks from other places and introduce them to the sights, sounds and tastes of our part of the world. With our proximity to theaters, restaurants, museums, skiing and 110 miles of Lake Champlain we have a lot to offer. Since our home is right next door we're easily available for suggestions, directions or advice to help our guests have the fullest experience possible. We love it here and we think you will too!

If I had to use one word to describe the benefits of Alder Brook Cottage it would be variety. Within ten miles one finds dozens of excellent restaurants from burgers to Asian to French, Bosnian to Vietnamese, fast food to fine dining. Boating, swimming, fishing and sightseeing on Lake Champlain, Hiking in the Green Mountains, theaters, both live and film, three colleges and one university, a world renown museum and several antique shops. Just a bit farther and there are ski areas such as Stowe, Sugarbush and Bolton Valley as well as plenty of cross country opportunities. Organizing many full days of your favourite activities is a very simple thing. There's even a public pool right around the corner.

7 Reviews of Property 351416 in Burlington, Vermont

City, Country, Green Mtns. and Lake Champlain. All Yours.
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
City, Country, Green Mtns. and Lake Champlain. All Yours.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351416vb
+1 (802)879-4147
Burlington Lake Champlain Valley
Ypsilanti, MI
5

Great Relaxing Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Sam was a great host, greeting us with freshly cut flowers and a chilled bottle of wine. The place is clean and quiet, close to plenty of things to do. Very convenient to Burlington and to restaurants and shops in Essex, but far enough from the city to provide a quiet, country setting. Had a dinner to remember at Loretta's, and found lots of antique stores to peruse. We definitely recommend Alder Brook Cottage.This is a very welcoming and comfortable place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words! We work hard at it. Sam and Fran
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
City, Country, Green Mtns. and Lake Champlain. All Yours.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351416vb
+1 (802)879-4147
Burlington Lake Champlain Valley
null
5

An excellent base for our weekend away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This home is every bit as nice as it appears in the photos. Everything was clean, and well cared for. My family of 4 enjoyed our weekend stay immensely. Our brief conversations with the owner (Sam) were interesting as well. If we ever have occasion to stay in the northern Vermont area again the first availability I will check is Alder Brook Cottage. Thanks for the wine and cheese as well. A very nice touch!
Owner's Response: Thank you. We do our best to give our lodgers the excellent experience we would like to have were we traveling.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
City, Country, Green Mtns. and Lake Champlain. All Yours.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351416vb
+1 (802)879-4147
Burlington Lake Champlain Valley
5

All the added touches

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Sam puts so much thought into all the details of this property. The pictures are great, but seeing it with your own eyes is even better. One of the most comfortable homes we have ever had the pleasure of visiting. We are looking forward to our next visit to Alder Brook Cottage. Thanks again Sam!
Owner's Response: Tom, Thank you so much for your kind words. We try very hard to make our home a satisfying experience for our lodgers and it's nice to hear it's appreciated. Cheers, Sam and Fran
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
City, Country, Green Mtns. and Lake Champlain. All Yours.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351416vb
+1 (802)879-4147
Burlington Lake Champlain Valley
5

Wonderful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My friends and I recently stayed at this beautiful cottage. It has everything you could need and more. Wonderfully cozy and clean!! I would reccommend this location to anyone! Sam is very accomodating and helpful!!

Thanks!!
Owner's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed being here as much as we enjoyed having you here. Come back anytime!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
City, Country, Green Mtns. and Lake Champlain. All Yours.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351416vb
+1 (802)879-4147
Burlington Lake Champlain Valley
virginia
5

Beautifully appointed home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This is a lovely home and yard which the owners have beautifully decorated. The beds were very comfortable, kitchen quite functional and the owners supplied their guests with everything from shampoo to paper towels. The house sits on a main street so access is easy and there are food stores within 5-8 minutes away. There is a park within walking distance, as well as a casual restaurant and convenient store/ gas station. If your looking to drive to downtown Burlington it is about a 25 minute drive away . Highly recommend this home away from home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
City, Country, Green Mtns. and Lake Champlain. All Yours.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351416vb
+1 (802)879-4147
Burlington Lake Champlain Valley
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Alder Brook Cottage couldn't have been more lovely - what a gem in a perfect location, close to all that Burlington has to offer yet steps to beautiful country roads for cycling (which we enjoyed yesterday)!
Thanks for everything-we will most definitely be back - and next time hopefully with friends!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
City, Country, Green Mtns. and Lake Champlain. All Yours.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351416vb
+1 (802)879-4147
Burlington Lake Champlain Valley
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
What a nice change from our hectic life in New Jersey. After the wedding we had a chance to sit on the deck for a nice bar-b-q. It was a lovely way to end a wonderful day. On Sunday Mary went to the Essex for a day at the spa and I went biking with my brother. There are so many things to see and do around Burlington that we've decided to come back for a whole week next year. We will be sure to stay here.