Oakland house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Oakland House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 5)

Location, location, location! You are 1 1/2 blocks to everything: Bus to CAL, BART to the city, Hwy 24 on ramp, and many great places to eat, from burritos to oysters. Yet our street is quiet and is lined with beautiful, well-maintained century old homes. This is a safe walker's paradise with a Walk Score of 83.

Our 2000 sq. foot home was built in 1911 and has been upgraded extensively with high end appliances in the new kitchen, custom stained glass above the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, and gorgeous double paned windows [including a large opening skylight in the upstairs hall], letting in tons of light. There are 2 small rental units on the property as well, one of which is occupied by the owner.

The large living room has a wood burning fireplace, comfortable seating, good reading lights, and TV with cable. French doors lead into the newly updated dining room with box beam ceiling and large oak table, seating eight. Both rooms offer plenty of space to entertain or just stretch out and relax.

French doors open from the chef-inspired kitchen- including Wolf stove, Sub Zero refrigerator and Bosch dishwasher, to the deck and private garden oasis, including your own herb garden. A Weber charcoal grill and a terra cotta fire pit make it easy to hang out and entertain. Great for a romantic dinner, reunion, or just family time. There is a newly installed powder room just off the kitchen.

All three bedrooms are upstairs: One with a queen sized bed and private tiny 1/2 bath [blue room], one room with double bed and sitting area, and a large third bedroom furnished with 2 single beds. The washer [Bosch] and dryer are in the upstairs hall, making laundry a breeze. The bathroom was recently remodeled: It has a jacuzzi tub, separate shower, marble tile, and custom stained glass window.

Keywords: traditional, craftsman

More Details
Hide Details

I am a Berkeley native and have owned this home for 37 years. I have watched the neighborhood evolve from a post-BART construction site to the vibrant, pedestrian-friendly destination that it is today.

The Owner purchased this house in 1975

Safe, convenient, pedestrian friendly, close to services, and beautiful. Easy access to transportation- highway 24 on ramp is 2 blocks away.

17 Reviews of Property 351274 in Oakland, California

Rockridge Craftsman on Tree Lined Street Near Shops and Bart
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
business
Rockridge Craftsman on Tree Lined Street Near Shops and Bart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351274vb
Oakland The Bay Area
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
5

Great home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We arrived to a very friendly welcome from Christina, the owner. She is native to the area and a wealth of information.
The house has a very 'homey' feel. It is comfortable, clean and well equipped. (The cupcakes were delicious.) The location, in Rock Ridge, is a short walk from nice stores, eateries and a great market. The neighborhood is quiet and safe for walking. And, being only a block from the BART station and Hwy 24 made access to SF and environs easy. We would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Rockridge Craftsman on Tree Lined Street Near Shops and Bart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351274vb
Oakland The Bay Area
5

The Description and Reviews are Accurate!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
A last minute change in plans had us scrambling for places to stay while we visited family in Rockridge. Luckily, Christina had an opening for a week that we all agreed brought more luxury than we expected. The house is lovely and inviting. The kitchen, laundry and spa tub were a dream to use. The property is an easy walk to College Ave and the BART. We were able to entertain our family on the patio and in the spacious living and dining rooms. Bonuses for us included a large collection of books and an interesting cat and a friendly dog. Would definitely recommend to friends.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Rockridge Craftsman on Tree Lined Street Near Shops and Bart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351274vb
Oakland The Bay Area
Concord, Massachusetts
5

Fabulous Long Weekend in Bay Area - attending a friends wedding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a fabulous time at this house. Wonderful layout with plenty of space for our family. The house is well equipped with all the amenities and it's well taken care of. It's a quiet neighborhood but only a short walk to Bart station (to go into SF) and College Street with wonderful shops, restaurants and bakeries - we walked to get our coffee every morning:) We had never rented through an online posting before, but after this experience we definitely will! The landlord was warm and friendly and the accommodations were outstanding! Just perfect in every way.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rockridge Craftsman on Tree Lined Street Near Shops and Bart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351274vb
Oakland The Bay Area
San Diego
5

Comfortable Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our party of 5 adults were quite comfortable in this unique, well-appointed Craftsman. The spacious living room, dining room and kitchen with breakfast room on the first floor allowed us to easily entertain for dinners. We had ample sleeping space upstairs. And the backyard patio with garden, at its peak of blooms, was a special bonus. This spot is worth a repeat visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Rockridge Craftsman on Tree Lined Street Near Shops and Bart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351274vb
Oakland The Bay Area
Austin, TX
5

Rockridge Warm and Convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My wife and I (plus a well traveled small dog) were traveling to the Oakland/Berkeley area for the first time for a week to visit our son and his family, and were very pleased to have booked our stay at the Rockridge Craftsman house. The accommodations were as advertised-no surprises and definitely no disappointments. The house was warm, clean, nicely furnished, conveniently located, and "pet friendly" - really all one could ask for. And Christina as owner was extremely pleasant and helpful in providing suggestions for exploring the local environs on our first visit to Oakland.

We took advantage of the wonderful local restaurants ,shops, and friendly walking streets, and will always look to book Rockridge first on what will become frequent trips from Austin, TX to visit our son & family ("grandchildren")--a perfect location and accommodations for us!
Five Thumbs Up!! KB
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Rockridge Craftsman on Tree Lined Street Near Shops and Bart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351274vb
Oakland The Bay Area
Santa Barbara, CA
5

Hospitality Plus

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Before booking I read all of the reviews thoroughly. They were so positive! My son who lives in the area visited the site and then we booked for a week for gramma, grandpa, son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren, 10 & 7 years. All of the reviews were spot on! The living room was comfortable for all 10 of us when the rest of the family came over. We had a tremendous Thanksgiving dinner with all of the trimmings and the kitchen was just like cooking at home. It is so well-equipped. The dining room easily accommodated all 10 of us and we could have had more. I did need a large turkey pan and Christina graciously provided that. Every review that mentioned her we found to be true. Our highlights were the block walk to College Ave. and the Pegasus bookstore and eateries, the quick freeway on/offramps, off street parking was nice but not mandatory as it would be in some areas, central area for parks for kids and Oakland has the best parks system! There is no home phone
and if you have trouble with stairs this is not the place for you. All of the lovely bedrooms are upstairs. We loved our week and it wasn't long enough. It was delightful to find a home as well-equipped, clean, great heating system and comfortable as our home. THANK YOU!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Rockridge Craftsman on Tree Lined Street Near Shops and Bart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351274vb
Oakland The Bay Area
5

An amazing stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Stay here. Do not think twice.

I stayed here in early November 2012, I'd just started a new job in Oakland and though I live and work across the country, it was my first trip to the home office. When you do enough travel for business, the thought of staying in yet another small hotel room for an extended stay can be a little depressing. It was so much better to be able to settle in to a beautiful house on a street that can only be described as absolutely charming.

It's a quick walk down to College Avenue, the shops and restaurants are diverse and enjoyable. The coffee place at the Market Hall is a great resource in the morning (or afternoon) and the Rockridge BART station is right there. It made for an easy commute to my office, and also affords a quick trip into San Francisco.

Christina was an amazing host and I'm hoping to make this my home away from home on my regular trips.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rockridge Craftsman on Tree Lined Street Near Shops and Bart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351274vb
Oakland The Bay Area
Somers, New York
5

Terrific home and hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Two families with a total of 6 people stayed here for a week in late August. The home is spacious, clean and comfortable; we felt immediately at home with plenty of room for us to enjoy each other's company.
The owner was welcoming and hospitable with plenty of assistance available if the need arose. Beautiful kitchen, comfortable spacious living room, wonderful privacy and convenient to stores, restaurants and BART. Could not have asked for a better situation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Rockridge Craftsman on Tree Lined Street Near Shops and Bart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351274vb
Oakland The Bay Area
Piedmont, CA
5

Marvelous, Comfortable Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My family and I loved our stay. Christina was welcoming (including home-made pound cake - yum!), the house was clean, incredibly comfortable and very convenient to local shops, great restaurants and markets and BART. Also a big plus that our two Golden Retrievers were welcome as well. Just a perfect setting for us. We will definitely return. 5 stars all around!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Rockridge Craftsman on Tree Lined Street Near Shops and Bart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351274vb
Oakland The Bay Area
Nekoosa, WI
5

Great rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We have only great things to say about this property and the friendliness of owner, Christina. The house is so spacious and clean. Christina had no problem with us inviting the friends we were visiting to come over for a fun evening of activities at the house & yard. The location is perfect - walking distance to the BART, grocery stores, restaurants, boutiques, parks - everything you need. It also includes a parking space!! If we return to the area, we will definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children