Malaekahana estate rental - Beach Looking South with Home at Right
Beach Looking South with Home at Right
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps16
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Malaekahana Estate Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths (Sleeps Up to 16)

The beach at Malaekahana is unlike any other in Oahu. Our 4 bedroom, 3 bath home is a large cedar A-frame with high ceilings, expansive wrap around decks and views to challenge any in Hawaii.

Malaekahana beach, surrounds a half-moon bay with a rock island at the center. There are beach parks at both ends of the beach and 32 private homes on one-acre+ lots in between. Our property is the second biggest at 1.5 acres and our 4 bedroom A-Frame home sits at the highest elevation (32 feet) of any on the beach, providing the BEST views of the entire bay.

We have a deck and Balinese Gazebo just above the high-water mark on the beach. Here you can lounge in our 6+ person private hot tub with the sounds of the surf and spectacular stars above. Because of our rural location, there is very little light pollution. On clear nights (quite common) expect to see the Milky Way as a bright band across the sky.

Description Continued: Though we're truly in an unspoiled rural area, we're less than 5 miles from Turtle Bay resort and closer to the famous North Shore Surf areas like Sunset Beach (8 miles) than the Haleiwa.

At the south end of our beach, 230 yards offshore, is Mokuaia Island, a nature preserve for the endangered native Hawaiian Shearwater (seabird). You can walk through waist deep water to the island for an amazing adventure and a fabulous beach with vistas towards the Ko'olau mountain range. Though the center of the island is reserved for Shearwaters, you can hike around the entire perimeter and enjoy numerous beaches, snorkeling, surf spots and tide pools.

Amenities Continued: Deck/Patio: There is a huge deck that wraps around the entire house. The deck is covered in the rear where we have a picnic table that seats 14. There is an additional covered deck just above the yard level and a third beachfront deck around the gazebo and hot tub.

Gazebo: Balinese Gazebo ON THE BEACH is a part of the deck that contains the hot tub.

View/Location Beachfront: Malaekahana beach, surrounds a half-moon bay with a rock island at the center. There are beach parks at both ends of the beach and 32 private homes on one-acre+ lots in between.

WiFi (Wireless Internet): Security key is on a sticker on the face of the wireless router in downstairs bedroom 1.

Other Amenities: 1.5 acre lot, one-half acre lawn, wooded, quiet, sounds of surf, expansive views, highest lot on beach, best views on the beach, only 8 miles to Sunset Beach...famous North Shore surfing.

More Details
Hide Details

We have lived in Hawaii for many years and purchased this spectacular property because

the beach is so unique and the huge lot affords a level of privacy that is quite rare in Hawaii.  We lived in this house for 3 years and enjoyed every day.  The tides and even the seasons have a dramatic effect on the views and landscape at Malaekahana.  

Whether you sunbathe on the beach, surf, kayak, kite surf or just search for fauna in the tide pools you can fully expect to have few if any other people on YOUR beach.

The privacy and seclusion that drew us to the property, necessitated a move 3 years later when our daughter (now 8) started first grade at a private school.

Reed Copsey, Owner purchased this estate in 2006

Stand on our nearly one mile long crescent beach and see few if any people and you'll understand why we bought this property!

Our wraparound deck sits higher than any of the other 31 properties on our beach, providing commanding views in all directions. Our 1.5 acre lot is wooded and back-dropped with shear tree-covered jungle cliffs. It is a magical place.

18 Reviews of Property 351141 in Malaekahana, Hawaii

Malaekahana Beachfront Estate: 1.5 Acres & Hot Tub on Beach! 2 Kayaks
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews
business
Malaekahana Beachfront Estate: 1.5 Acres & Hot Tub on Beach! 2 Kayaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351141
+1 808 2713806
Malaekahana North Shore Oahu
5

Betty Janu

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
It was a girls vacation. We were looking for a great beach and comfortable housing. The Aframe house was awesome. It was accurate from the description and the directions there were great. Though an older building, it was very unique, and we loved it.Ocean breezes from all the windows. The ocean and beach was steps from the house. The owners were available for our needs and handled everything. This house would be great for families, as there are plenty of sleeping space. We walked the beach every morning and every night. We loved our space and privacy and spent most of our time there. There are plenty of things to do, but we enjoyed the view and relaxation. We would highly recommend this for your next vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love those guests that appreciate Malaekahana for the same reasons that prompted us to buy it many years ago. The beach, the privacy, the breezes.... and the beach.

However, being on the ocean's edge is hard on electronics. During Betty's 11 day stay the blu-ray disc player failed and 4 days later the flat screen TV failed. Both were replaced the next day and Betty's group was understanding.

She even told me they had seen a sea lion. I then explained that there are no sea lions in Hawaii and what they had seen on our beach was the endangered Hawaiian Monk Seal. We've seen them several times over the years, but they are RARE. You'll never see one in Waikiki. They love secluded beaches.
business
Malaekahana Beachfront Estate: 1.5 Acres & Hot Tub on Beach! 2 Kayaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351141
+1 808 2713806
Malaekahana North Shore Oahu
Palisades Park, NJ 07650, USA
5

Perfect Vacation House for big family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This house would be a perfect place for family vacation. Our 12 members miss this house. very quiet, easy to access the beach. It would be very helpful if you read owner's kind website www.beachrentalsoahu.com before you visit hawaii. We call this house Windy House. I would strongly recommend this vacation house to my friend. Mahalo Malaekahana!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Malaekahana Beachfront Estate: 1.5 Acres & Hot Tub on Beach! 2 Kayaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351141
+1 808 2713806
Malaekahana North Shore Oahu
Tucson, AZ
5

Best Place in My World!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was the perfect house in every way. Hawaiian ambiance galore, large enough for the 10 of us to be comfortable. We could have easily thrown in a few more kids. A hot tub almost on the beach, it doesn't get any better than that. The caretaker, China, was the nicest man, and even brought a goat over for the kids to pet and feed. We did a lot of sight seeing, snorkeling, swimming, and just wished we had another few days, or a week or a month to just enjoy this cool house. Thank you so much and hope we can come back someday!
Holly
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Malaekahana Beachfront Estate: 1.5 Acres & Hot Tub on Beach! 2 Kayaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351141
+1 808 2713806
Malaekahana North Shore Oahu
Montana
5

Duram Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was our first trip to the state of Hawaii and had to choose which island to go to. We like our privacy, but also wanted to pay our respects to the Memorials at Pearl Harbor. Malaekahana looked like the perfect spot to blend that together. We could not have chosen better. The privacy of Malaekanana was perfect and we had a great time. We were fortunate enough to see a Monk Seal on the beach just south of the house, sea turtles in the bay in front of the house and peacocks just walking around. Quiet and nothing but the sounds of the waves crashing onto the beach. Be careful of the rocks/reef just out in front of the house on the beach, as well as making certain you always respect the ocean and you will have the time of your life. 13 people in the house and we still had room to stretch out. We would love to be able to go back again in the future. The house is getting older and mother nature keeps wearing us all down, it could stand to have a few updates, but it is being cared for as best as can be expected.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Malaekahana Beachfront Estate: 1.5 Acres & Hot Tub on Beach! 2 Kayaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351141
+1 808 2713806
Malaekahana North Shore Oahu
santa fe, new mexico
5

malaekahana beach house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Awesome. House Was Great, Clean...Owners Were Very Helpful, Answered All My Questions.
Kids Enjoyed Being Right On The Beach. Snorkeling, Swimming.
We Even Got To See A Monk Seal Sleeping On The Beach.The House Was Well Maintained And Exactl As Described.
I WoulD Definately Recommend This House.
Turtle Bay Is A Must To Visit, The WaiMea Falls, Pearl HarboR, Diamond Head, I Think We Did It All...And Need To Go Back To Do It All Again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Malaekahana Beachfront Estate: 1.5 Acres & Hot Tub on Beach! 2 Kayaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351141
+1 808 2713806
Malaekahana North Shore Oahu
Montana
5

Wonderful in every way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
When the sun came up the morning after we arrived at Malaekahana Beachfront Estate (super easy drive) my mom and I were immediately taken back by the size of the property, the lawn, the gazebo, the hot tub, and the views. The a-frame is clearly one of the older houses in the area but has such a sense of pride and beauty to it that we knew we had made a great choice for our family. From the front part of the wrap-around deck you could see bright blue ocean contrasted by white sand and beautiful green for miles. From the living room, and two other bedrooms in the cabin there were breathtaking views of both the ocean and shoreline. Having a hot tub was an awesome perk to the locale as well!
The house never felt cramped and we slept 14 easily. We also rented out the sleeper cabin, which was an absolute must when we had my grandparents with us. They loved the cottage. My grandma was so happy in it. It stayed cool and as was the consensus on most all of the beds in the house, the bed in her room was really comfortable. The best part was how secluded it felt even though it was probably less than fifty feet away from the house.
The next day was the day before my wedding we chose to have on the estate so we prepped for that much of the day. China (the groundskeeper) proved extremely helpful coming over whenever we needed him, answering our calls and all of our questions, and actually planted greenery where my flower arch was to sit on the hillside I chose for my wedding ceremony. He made sure the day was going to be perfect working with the florist and for that I am so grateful!!
The beach was family friendly, and absolutely wonderful to spend time on. The house and cottage were incredible. I feel so lucky that my whole family was able to stay together and tour the island as a unit. Giovannis Shrimp Bus is a must and Sharks Cove was awesome for kiddie snorkeling (all within 20 minutes of Malaekahana Estate). We rented surf boards, checked out Sunset Beach. Turtle Bay Resort was less than five mins away right off the highway which was fun to go out at but also fun to leave as it was pricey! Perfect place for feeling out of the hustle and bustle but not stranded!
I would definitely recommend this location to anyone looking for a beautiful venue to get married at, and also any family looking to make a memory never to be forgotten! Thank you all at Malaekahana for sharing your home! It is incredible! -Jamie
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Malaekahana Beachfront Estate: 1.5 Acres & Hot Tub on Beach! 2 Kayaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351141
+1 808 2713806
Malaekahana North Shore Oahu
Kailua, Hawaii
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We were attracted by the web site which depicted a very comfortable beach home with wonderful amenities. Booking was easy and a conversation with the caretaker assured us that everything would be ready for us. We gathered our family of three children and spouses and four grandchildren for a week of celebrating our 50th Wedding Anniversary and everything surpassed our expectations. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others and will hope to return sometime.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Malaekahana Beachfront Estate: 1.5 Acres & Hot Tub on Beach! 2 Kayaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351141
+1 808 2713806
Malaekahana North Shore Oahu
Bakersfield, CA 93308
1

Oahu Experience

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My wife and daughter spent 2 hours cleaning the stove and sink area. All dishes had to be washed and cleaned prior to use. I had to spend 1 hour cleaning the bar-b-que in order to use it. It was a very clutttered and cramped house. It was apparent to us that the owners were only interested in seeing how many people they could house in this place. We could not recommend this place to anyone.
Owner's Response: We are certainly very sad to see an unhappy guest. My biggest regret is that the guest told us of these issues the night before they left. Anyone who would read our other reviews will understand that Anne and I do everything we can to resolve any guest problems....usually by sending our caretaker, China.

We wish we were given the opportunity to resolve their issues rather than hearing about it after the fact. We are confident that the majority of our reviews better reflect our attention to detail and how spectacular this location and home are.

If there is a silver lining, it is that we have made changes to our procedures to try to prevent a recurrence:

* Our house rules and guidelines are posted on the refrigerator with the contact information for both owners and our caretaker. We hope that any guest who discovers a problem will contact us before they become frustrated or disappointed.

* Our cleaning crews have detailed check lists and leave a completed check list for each guest's review upon check in.

* Our caretaker is prepared to remove or rearrange furniture to better suit each party's needs. Most of our groups are large (10+) since very few homes can handle them. However we get many small groups (2-6) who love our home for the seclusion and natural beauty. These smaller groups don't need 16 beds and we understand that they might prefer more open living spaces!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Malaekahana Beachfront Estate: 1.5 Acres & Hot Tub on Beach! 2 Kayaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351141
+1 808 2713806
Malaekahana North Shore Oahu
Rexburg, ID
5

Best Esplin Vacation EVER!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My family of seven (including 5 children) stayed with my parents, brother, grandmother and a family friend, with lots of room to spare. Our first night there we heard a mom and baby whale "mooing" (for lack of a better term) at each other in the bay. It was so neat! The Maleakahana house is just minutes away from the Polynesian Cultural Center and our good friends who live in Laie. We thoroughly enjoyed the views from the massive windows, evening walks on the beach or the pedestrian walkway between Laie and Kahuku, and late-night card games in the large main room. Also, being on the NE coast, we didn't have to deal with all the crowds and night-time noise of Waikiki, just the calming sound of the ocean. Hy husband and son had a great time kayaking on the waves in front of the house. The on-site laundry facility was a huge plus! And the kitchen was very functional. Groceries were just a few minutes down the road in Laie and we got our eggs from the Cackle Fresh Egg farm. All in all, it was the BEST VACATION EVER!! We would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Malaekahana Beachfront Estate: 1.5 Acres & Hot Tub on Beach! 2 Kayaks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351141
+1 808 2713806
Malaekahana North Shore Oahu
Converse, texas
5

Ken Sutton

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This beautiful beach house made our Hawaii vacation so memorable with it's ideal location and complete amenities. There were even yard and beach toys for the kids. The gazebo makes this a great setting for events such as weddings. Hearing the ocean at night was a most calming experience. Also, having wifi Internet access and a large screen TV provided much entertainment. From the house, go left to the cultural center (2 mi) or turn right to excellent local cuisine. I cannot imagine a more perfect location to enjoy your Hawaii vacation.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1