Makawao house rental - Spectacular Sunset Views! (taken from the deck)
Spectacular Sunset Views! (taken from the deck)
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Makawao House Rental Photos and Description
Luxury 3BR/2BA House in Great Location! Spectacular Views!

This newly renovated home with spectacular west maui and south shore views is centrally located for all your North Shore and Upcountry activities. For those into water sports such as wind surfing kite boarding and surfing. Consider it your 'command post' where you can wake up in the morning and immediately see where the conditions will be best! Once you decide where to go, you are only 12 minutes to Paia Bay, 15 minutes to Ho'okipa, 15 minutes to Sprecklesville, and 20 minutes to Kanaha Beach. You will also remain central to all the Upcountry activities such as hiking, horseback riding, mountain biking, road biking, zip lines, and sight seeing in Haleakela National Park. Makawao Town is a tourist attraction in-of-itself. It was once a cowboy town and now has many boutique shops and fine restaurants.

The perfect house with all the ammenities: The house has 3 bedrooms and 2 baths. It is finished with travertine throughout the kitchen and bathrooms and brazilian koa wood floors with a slate laundry room. A gourmet kitchen with top of the line stainless steel appliances will please even the most discriminating chef. It also has a 42' HDTV and a Deluxe Front Loading Washer/Dryer, and an iMac as well as high speed Wi-Fi all exclusively provided for Guest use.

In the perfect location! This house is very private and provides plenty of parking and security for both vehicles and/or bikes and ocean toys. Being upcountry, it offers the perfect climate and fabulous views and fantastic upcountry sunsets!

More Details
Hide Details

I've been coming to Maui for 27 years. I was initially drawn to the wind sports, including windsurfing and now kite boarding, but there are so many more reasons I keep coming back!

Mark purchased this house in 2009

The location offers the ideal mix of proximity to Makawao and all the North Shore attraction yet worlds apart on it's own private land with spectacular views.

This property is set up for enJOYment of your surroundings in a relaxed comfortable environment. The design lives large with panoramic ocean views of the West Maui Mountains and South Maui Shorelines. And, wait until you see the sunsets!!!

10 Reviews of Property 351109 in Makawao, Hawaii

Panoramic Ocean Views! Just minutes to the beach but worlds apart
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
business
Panoramic Ocean Views! Just minutes to the beach but worlds apart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351109vb
Makawao Maui
Where do you live?
4

FL and MN friends do Maui

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My husband and I stayed here with another couple for 10 days. We loved the location especially to be away from the nightlife and traffic on the west side of Maui. MAKAWAO is an artsy little town within walking distance, but be prepared to walk uphill on the way back. It has a general store with Hawaiian gelato and organic foods, as well as the usual convenience items. The Komoda bakery has delicious donuts, and the Steakhouse was worthy of two visits for dinner. The location was also good for trips to Baldwin beach, Kihei, Haleakala, Paia, Iao Valley and other places. We woke in the mornings to roosters and birds and spent time at night looking at the stars above and twinkling city lights way below.
The kitchen is equipped with quality dishes, pans, etc. And the laundry has fantastic state of the art machines. The only reason we are giving this 4 stars, not 5, is the following which can be remedied: many screens were torn or had holes big enough for small insects to get in (so when the weather was warm at night especially, not all Windows were used to get in the breeze), the chairs on the porch with the only table were rusty( one seat was broken through) and the filtered water/ice maker feature in the frig did not work. We enjoyed our stay and would consider using this rental property again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Panoramic Ocean Views! Just minutes to the beach but worlds apart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351109vb
Makawao Maui
West Chester, PA
5

Love everything about this house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I travel a great deal for work projects, and much prefer to stay in homes like this rather than a hotel. This house is definitely a fave. My colleagues staying in hotel rooms are envious!

The location is perfect for me - near Baldwin Beach, the Makawao Forest Reserve, Hana Highway, Haleakala, Paia. The panoramic view is gorgeous, with mountains, ocean, sky and stars. Fresh and clean.

Beautiful kitchen with NICE flatware, plenty of utensils, sharp knives, good coffee maker and toaster, even a hot water kettle for us tea lovers! Also grateful for the laundry room. Very comfortable living room. Wifi works really well.

What I really love about the house, though, is the master bedroom. SUCH a comfy bed, with high-quality linens. Leave the windows open at night and enjoy the cool night breezes. ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh - SO wonderful to breathe the clean fresh Maui air, instead of recycled air-conditioning in a hotel room! And the master shower is gorgeous, with great natural light.

No need to post pix because Mark's are accurate.

I hope to stay here again in the near future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Panoramic Ocean Views! Just minutes to the beach but worlds apart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351109vb
Makawao Maui
Melbourne
4

A lovely home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My partner and I stayed at this property recently and enjoyed it a lot. Mark has included a lot of little touches that make the property an easy, pleasant stay. The only (minor) issues were - the sliding door to the lanai needs to be fixed as I struggled to open and close it and a full size ironing board would be good. I wasn't aware there would be someone staying in the studio below us and while it wasn't a big issue, I wouldn't have minded knowing in advance. We really enjoy our privacy.

All in all a great value stay in a lovely part of Maui with interesting shops etc down the road (dont walk it though, drive. Its safer). The comments above are only minor.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Panoramic Ocean Views! Just minutes to the beach but worlds apart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351109vb
Makawao Maui
Delmar, NY
5

Excellent Rental: Just as Described!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Very clean. Appliances and furniture appear to be brand new. The owner is very responsive and helpful. We enjoyed staying in the Upcountry as it tends to be cooler and quieter. It is a little bit of a drive to beaches on the South side of the island, but we thought it was worth it to get away from the crowds. We were only two adults, but the place would easily accommodate four adults (five if one person is willing sleep on a futon) or a family with children. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Panoramic Ocean Views! Just minutes to the beach but worlds apart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351109vb
Makawao Maui
Stockholm, Sweden
5

Very nice upcountry property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Very nice property if you like upcountry Maui. The house is clean with good standard and the owner very professional. The description is accurate. Recommended!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Panoramic Ocean Views! Just minutes to the beach but worlds apart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351109vb
Makawao Maui
Edmonton, Alberta CANADA
4

Enjoyable stay- Great place for our family!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We were pleased with our stay at this rental and were pleasantly impressed by the cleanliness and updated features to the home. The cool breeze and light rain at night made for a wonderful rest each evening and we enjoyed the rainbows and sunshine during the day. Property was very close to the airport and easy to get to but was a bit further than we expected from calmer water beaches (for our young girls) and the activity locations of our planned excursions such as Kihei & Lahaina. All our emails were promptly replied to and we would recommend this property to others looking for a quiet getaway. While we were there, we visited Cassanova's just down the hill for a fabulous supper and enjoyed the little shops in Makawao and nearby Paia. Thanks for a great experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Panoramic Ocean Views! Just minutes to the beach but worlds apart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351109vb
Makawao Maui
California
5

Excellent rental property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This place is a gem! Extremely clean, everything seems brand new. Kitchen is immaculate with all new cookware etc. Location is great, just a short walk to town. The owner is very quick in responding and was easy to contact if there is any problem. I would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Panoramic Ocean Views! Just minutes to the beach but worlds apart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351109vb
Makawao Maui
League City, TX
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I hav been visiting Maui for the past 20 years. I usually stay with my sister in Haiku but this visit there were more of us than her house could accommodate. We rented this house in Makawao because it was so close to my sister's and it was perfect. The house was the perfect size, in the perfect location, the house was very clean and had all the amenities we needed. And the owner is very accessible. I would happily and highly recommend this property to anyone going to Maui.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Panoramic Ocean Views! Just minutes to the beach but worlds apart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351109vb
Makawao Maui
Bethesda, MD
5

Outstanding Property....Highly Recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We have been coming to Maui for more than 30 years and have almost always stayed with family upcountry. This property was the perfect alternative. The location is ideal - spectacular views; warm days and cool evenings; an easy (three block) walk from the center of Makawao. The house is roomy and fully equipped as advertised. We were able to entertain family and friends -- all were impressed by the house. The appliances and TV are all modern and in perfect working order. The owner is very responsive and easily accessible. This will be our choice the for the next trip to Maui.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Panoramic Ocean Views! Just minutes to the beach but worlds apart
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351109vb
Makawao Maui
Telluride
5

Family of Three

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I can not say enough wonderful things about this home. The location and views are fantastic. We can walk into the beautiful town of Makawao and we see rainbows almost daily. The temperatures are cool and perfect! The home has beautiful views overlooking the East and West Maui Mountains and both the southern and northern beaches. The yard is huge and a great place for evening cocktails or to throw a football. The inside of the home is equally attractive. The appliances are high end and new. The washer and drier are also new and work great. The floors are all beautiful wood. The beds are fantastic and comfy with great mattresses. The Audio Video system is great. Overall this is a great home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1