Uvita house rental - Day bed
Day bed
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Uvita House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

THE ESTATE

Built on over 2.5 acres, the large private estate is situated in a quiet pristine setting. It consists of the Longhouse, where the owners live, an infinity-pool with Indonesian style gazebo to relax under while overlooking the jungle and ocean, and the Orange House, for rental. The buildings are surrounded by a huge tropical garden with lots of native trees, giant bamboo and local fruit trees set close to the rainforest and the Morete River.

LOCATION

Uvita, with its infrastructure that includes banks, supermarkets and restaurants, as well as the beaches and Marino Ballena National Park are only a short distance away by car. To Dominical it is a 9 miles / 10 min drive by car. One of the most popular national parks of Costa Rica, the Manuel Antonio National Park near Quepos is just 37 miles/ 1 hour by car away. The property is located with easy access to the main road.

ORANGE HOUSE - THE RENTAL HOUSE

The Orange House is built a short distance from the Longhouse. It was designed to provide privacy for those who want to simplify and eliminate both the physical and psychological clutter in their lives and come back to nature.

The open inside is divided by built in furniture in bedroom, closet, kitchenette and daybed areas. Big sliding doors lead to the porch, which is settled between two big guaba trees, providing an easy interplay between indoors and outdoors. A lush outdoor garden bathroom invites the guests to experience a shower under the stars and emphasizes the open living character of the house.

The floors are made of stained polished concrete. Straight clear lines, minimalism of furniture and decoration invites the resident to enjoy the spirit of the tropical outside, surrounded by a simple inside design.

A sophisticated ventilation system of wood shutters and roof ventilation use the natural air flow to dispense with need for air-conditioning.

POOL

The pool area is located beside the longhouse and consists of a 3 x 11 m large infinity pool with waterfall shower from a bamboo pole and an Indonesian style gazebo to relax under. The pool will be exclusively for you to use during your stay.

From the pool area you will experience a breathtaking view of the ocean and the surrounding jungle of the 'fila costeña', the coastal mountain range that rises to over 3000 feet above the southern Pacific coast of Costa Rica.

FREQUENT ASKED QUESTIONS

1) How far is it to the international airport in San José?

We recommend to rent a car. It is a 124 miles / 3-4 hours drive from the international airport in San José to Uvita. We also recommend to do the drive during daytime. The best route is starting from the airport taking the new highway 27 direction Caldera and then highway 34 via Jaco, Quepos, Dominical to Uvita.

2) How close is the Orange House from the beach?

The nearest beach is Playa Hermosa, 1,5 miles from the Orange House.

The famous whalestail beach is approx. 3 miles away. All together we are close to 7 different beaches here in the Uvita area. You will need a car to go there.

Keywords: At the Orange House you will enjoy privacy with great views, stylish open living and garden bathroom! A perfect hideaway for honeymooner and nature lovers.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a german couple in its 40s living its dream in Costa Rica. Kerstin is an architect and built our houses which have been finished end of 2010. Udo is a software engineer.

Kerstin & Udo purchased this house in 2010

We have traveled a lot in the past 20 years and found in Uvita in southern Costa Rica our paradise.

Living in the Orange House in a quiet pristine setting, close to flora and fauna and at the same time strategically located less than 1 mile away from the center of Uvita, the Marino Ballena National Park, restaurants, beaches and tourist attractions.

19 Reviews of Property 350728 in Uvita, Costa Rica

Stylish Open Living, Garden Bathroom, Pool & Great Sunset View
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
business
Stylish Open Living, Garden Bathroom, Pool & Great Sunset View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350728vbi
+506-8888-6350
Uvita Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We highly recommend the Orange House to anyone.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We spent a week at the Orange House and the photos cannot possibly do this place justice. It is very clean with beautiful modern decor, and was also bigger than expected. The property is stunning and the pool was a perfect place to enjoy the sunset.

Its location close to grocery stores and restaurants is very convenient. Kerstin and Udo are extremely pleasant, helpful people who took great care in ensuring our stay was perfect. We highly recommend the Orange House to anyone.
business
Stylish Open Living, Garden Bathroom, Pool & Great Sunset View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350728vbi
+506-8888-6350
Uvita Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

This place is so special

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Kerstin & Udo's place is so wonderful that I'm a bit nervous about writing this review as I want to do the Orange House justice. If you read the previous reviews and look at the photos here on their site you will no doubt be taken aback, and accurately so.

My husband and I were very excited to arrive in Uvita and spend a week at the Orange House. When we arrived, none of the outstanding reviews or lovely photos can fully capture what they have created. It was paradise for us. The Orange House is simple in nature and with an attention to detail that is very impressive (great closet and storage space, a lock box for your valuables, a personalized guide to the area, a cell phone to make local calls, homemade starfruit jam in the fridge).

The design of the sliding doors allowing for open living, watching the sunset from the bed, the outdoor bathroom, the beautiful garden filled with fruit trees, singing birds, blooming flowers, and the sound of the waves crashing below then crawling up into the hills where the house sits...it was a dream for us and we will never forget our stay and we are already figuring out when we can get back.

Kerstin & Udo are very friendly and accommodating, but you will not want for anything as everything as already been thought of and taken care of before your arrival. I do have one warning; This place is so special that you might find it hard to leave and go do all the activities that the beautiful area of Uvita has to offer.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stylish Open Living, Garden Bathroom, Pool & Great Sunset View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350728vbi
+506-8888-6350
Uvita Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

It was truly perfect

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Kerstin & Udo are the perfect hosts, extremely helpful and respectful--and very thoughtful. There are some very considerate welcome gifts for when you first arrive in the kitchen. :-)

The property and the accommodations are beautiful. Just read through some of the other reviews and you will come across words like "paradise" and "magical". I do not think that any of these are exaggerations. It was truly perfect.

What I think I appreciated most, is that while the house feels lush and opulent, it is very low impact, efficient and intelligent in its layout and function. It actually is very "green". You will find all the conveniences you can think of, including great internet signal so you can feel connected, as well as other essentials to feel properly pampered--and the pool and gardens are absolutely gorgeous!

The surrounding area is also perfect. There is just an endless amount of beaches to explore and discover, each one almost more beautiful than the next. Highly recommended. Best if you have a car, although not entirely necessary. Shopping and restaurants are also easily accessed from the property, although I can't imagine why you would want to leave the house at all.
business
Stylish Open Living, Garden Bathroom, Pool & Great Sunset View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350728vbi
+506-8888-6350
Uvita Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

This place is exquisite.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This place is exquisite. The luxurious look and feel of five star accomodations with the privacy and comforts of a flawlessly designed modern home. We ended our honeymoon in the orange house, staying for one week and wishing it could have lasted forever.

Seeing the sunset from the king sized bed and showering in the soft rain amongst the tropical flowers felt like a dream. Wandering through the fruit gardens and lounging in a hammock big enough for two. Swimming in a pool all to ourselves that seemed to stretch right into the sky ... It was divine.

The tender and subtle gifts that the host provided were so sweet and thoughtful ... Two eggs and homemade bread and jam in the fridge upon our arrival and fragrant flowers atop the towels, which were refreshed twice during our stay. A well-curated handbook of recommended adventures and dining. Each of these offerings were so very appreciated.
The hosts were always accessible and met us with smiles and generosity.

The town of Uvita was friendly and held some of the most perfect beaches that I have visited in my life .... Many national parks and protected seashores to visit within the hour.

I will never forget this beautiful paradise. We feel so lucky to have experienced it.
business
Stylish Open Living, Garden Bathroom, Pool & Great Sunset View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350728vbi
+506-8888-6350
Uvita Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

awesome outdoor bathroom

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Kerstin and Udo's orange house was a dream come true! I'm still day dreaming about that awesome outdoor bathroom! Although still very private, you are surrounded by beautiful plants and flowers and warming sunshine on your back as you wash up under the shower! Just heaven!

When we checked in to the orange house we felt right at home! Very clean and cozy, stocked with fresh home grown fruits! We were also set up with coffee and bread and the most amazing homemade jam that I so wish I could purchase in bulk and have sent to NYC!

The pool that is located up on the hill near Kerstin and Udo's house has just the most breathtaking view of the rainforest! It made for a very refreshing energizing swim in the morning! We also got to see so many beautiful butterflies and awesome hummingbirds on a daily basis! You are pretty much one with nature in the house!

Our hosts were also so kind to have made a little booklet about Uvita, pointing out all the activities available and beaches to go to! Their directions to the home were also very thorough and made finding the house in a rainstorm very easy! This was our first air bnb experience as well as first out of the country experience and we couldn't have asked for anything better! PURA VIDA!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stylish Open Living, Garden Bathroom, Pool & Great Sunset View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350728vbi
+506-8888-6350
Uvita Puntarenas
Germany, Mannheim
5

Miriam + Matthias at orange house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The time we spend in the Orange House was the best holiday we could ever imagine. The beautifull house with a great garden full of trees and flowers invited us to relax the whole day at the awesome pool. On other days we visited quite beaches and fresh rivers+waterfalls located only a few kilometres away. We watched whales and dolphines and many other nice animals. The house is clean and well equipped, the owners are very friendly and helpful. The Rainforest shower in the open bath is absolutely amazing! Hopefully we can come back soon
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Stylish Open Living, Garden Bathroom, Pool & Great Sunset View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350728vbi
+506-8888-6350
Uvita Puntarenas
Canada,province de Québec
5

Notre 25ième anniversaire de mariage dans ce lieu plus que charmant.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
C'est un endroit inspirant, idéal pour séjourner et réveiller tous ses sens. Une pure beauté ,tout a été pensé avec goût, rien n'a été laissé au hasard. Kirstin et Udo sont de jeunes hôtes enthousiastes, dynamiques et d'une aide précieuse pour la découverte de cette belle región du pays.
Nous conseillons pleinement ce superbe endroit .
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Stylish Open Living, Garden Bathroom, Pool & Great Sunset View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350728vbi
+506-8888-6350
Uvita Puntarenas
Canada
5

Amazing! A beautiful place.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Absolute paradise! Beautiful sunsets, clean and comfortable living space. Kirsten and Udo are so nice and very respectful of your privacy. The outdoor shower is perfect. You have to check out this property.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Stylish Open Living, Garden Bathroom, Pool & Great Sunset View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350728vbi
+506-8888-6350
Uvita Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

10 day honeymoon - had an excellent time

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We spent our 10 day honeymoon at Uvitalonghouse and had an excellent time! We would definitely recommend it if you love nature and privacy and nice home to stay at.

The house was truly beautiful, clean and well equipped, and everything was taken care of by the owners. The ventilation system was very well designed, despite no air conditioner the temperature was pleasently cool. The amazing beaches, jungle, restaurants and supermarket were all close by.
business
Stylish Open Living, Garden Bathroom, Pool & Great Sunset View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350728vbi
+506-8888-6350
Uvita Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Exquisite Experience staying in Designer's Home

Exquisite Experience staying in Designer's Home
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
The Orange House is ideally situated close to all there is to see in the Uvita and Dominical area and best of all - does not require you rent a 4x4 truck.

The house is beautiful in design, functionality and opportunity for effortless living, while enjoying the surrounding nature, sunsets and stunning views of the ocean.

It is kept meticulously clean and inviting with a sense of lightness and joy that makes you want to extend your stay indefinitely.