South Iceland cabin rental - In the middle of the Golden Circle
In the middle of the Golden Circle
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

South Iceland Cabin Rental Photos and Description
A Fully Modernized Two-Bedroom Log Cabin on the River Bank!

In the middle of the golden circle!

A fully-modernized charming family cottage, located 20 min. from Selfoss Village. It is 65 sqm (=700 sqft) with two bedrooms (double bed and one semi-double), and a studio couch in the living room for two persons, a total of six adults. It's open year-round for travelers. No smoking allowed, but pets are welcome. The cabin is fully equipped with all necessary kitchen utensils, dish washer, washing machine, hair dryer, WiFi, and a three-burner Weber gas grill on the deck. Wood for both the indoor and outdoor wood stoves is provided. The 80 sqm (=861 sqft) south deck has a hot tub and brand-new furniture. Parking for several cars.

The cabin is extraordinarily well decorated and homey, with an exceptional eye for detail. It's also ideally located on the banks of the river, in a beautiful scenic setting, in the middle of all the tourist attractions of South Iceland.

There's great view over Hvítá River from the cabin and short distance to all major nature pearls in South Iceland: Gullfoss and Geysir, Thingvellir, Kerið, Sólheimar, Laugarvatn Village, Skálholt, Arnarker, Landmannalaugar, Skógafoss, Háifoss, Thjórsárdalur, Jökulsárlón and Reykholt, Baula, Hraunfossar and Paradísarlaut in Borgarfjörður, and Keilir and Blóa Lónið on Reykjanes. The cabin is perfect for day trips to these locations, as well as to Reykjavík, since it is so conveniently located only an hour's drive from the capital.

The new swimming pool at Borg is extremely good for a country-side pool. It has small warm pots for children, play area and swimming area, and geothermical hot water, of course, which is standard for Iceland.

There's only two minutes drive to one of the most popular golf clubs in Iceland, Kidjaberg Golf Course, and very short distance to the swimming pools in both Hraunborgir and Minniborg. There is a 15–20 min drive to Selfoss.

There's a Jetski rental at Lake Svínavatn and angling for example in Lakes Apavatn, Laugarvatn, Úlfljótsvatn, not to mention in Lake Thingvallavatn itself, as well as in Hvítá River which is located just in front of the cabin.

Hvítá is a salmon river and cabin owners in Kiðjaberg have two fishing canes/licenses in the river per day during the angling season. Angling fees were 3000 ISK for half a day in 2012, or approximately $ 24. This is a special deal for cabin owners in this particular local area, and their guests, not available to others. The nearest lake, lake Hestvatn, also offers trout angling, free of charge.

There is prolific birdlife in the area, making it perfect for birding and birdwatching. There are also several beautiful hiking trails to be found, with breath-taking view over mountains, glaciers and the ocean.

Several glaciers can be seen from the Kiðjaberg area, such as Eyjafjallajökull and Mýrdalsjökull, Hofsjökull and Langjökull. The driving distance to Eyjafjallajökull is less than an hour.

It is also possible to do snowmobile tours, super jeep tours, glacier walking, ice climbing, riding lessons and horse riding tours, visit the cultural historical sites, in addition to experiencing the fantastic natural sites in the area.

Minimum stay is three nights. Note that included in our prices is rent of bed linen, towels, etc.

A part of the rental income is donated to Hordur Barddal's Memorial Fund for Disabled Golfers. Hordur founded the Icelandic Disabled Golf Association in 2001, in collaboration with the Icelandic Golf Association, and was the director of the board until his untimely death in 2009. He built the cabin, together with his late wife Soffia, in the summer 2004.

More Details
Hide Details

My two sisters and I are Icelandic, all brought up in Iceland, although I presently live in Norway. We divide between us the work in renting out the cabin. I do the paperwork, everything that can be done over telephone and email, and they do the practical things that depend on one being locally situated. My sisters drive up to the cabin in between guests to change sheets and do the final cleaning. We take two weeks off the calender in June to do maintenance. We varnish (parts of) the cabin every summer and this upcoming spring (2013) we plan to make the veranda bigger and we will be installing a hot tub on the veranda.

Jóhanna and her sisters purchased this cabin in 2004

Our father, who was disabled, built this beautiful log cabin in the summer 2004, and our late stepmother furnished and decorated the cabin. She had an exceptionally good taste and an eye for detail. After our father's untimely death in 2009, my two sisters and I came into possession of the cabin. We decided to rent it out, partly because of the economic crisis, and partly because we would like to share this beautiful cabin with other people. We are extremely proud of the cabin and our father's achievements. This is the perfect cabin for people who want to experience a personalized cabin with its history, including the history of the people who built it and their descendents.

The cabin is extraordinarily well decorated and homey, with an exceptional eye for detail. It's also ideally located on the banks of the river, in a beautiful scenic setting, in the middle of all the tourist attractions of South Iceland.

11 Reviews of Property 3506102 in South Iceland, Iceland

A Log Cabin at the Banks of River Hvítá!
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
A Log Cabin at the Banks of River Hvítá!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3506102
South Iceland Iceland
5

Great warm and cozy cabin, in beautiful sorrunding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
A wonderfull, warm and cozy cabin.
It is much better than the pictures.
The cabin was clean, and had everything you could possibly need, including all kitchen facilities for cooking.
The location is ideal for traveling in the south and south-west region, as well as for seeing the beautiful northern lights (which we luckily saw most of our nights).
It has beautiful views, and very quite and remote.
We highly recomend!
Owner's Response: Thank you, Etti, for these heart warming words!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Log Cabin at the Banks of River Hvítá!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3506102
South Iceland Iceland
5

Cosy cabin in a stunning location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our holiday in Iceland was made perfect by renting this cabin for our stay. The cabin is in a good location with easy access to all the major attractions in this area. Although tucked away with a feeling of the middle of nowhere, the cabin isn't too far from local amenities. The cabin feels so homely. All utensils etc for cooking with and T.V with films and a hot-tub on the deck for the long dark evenings in the Winter. We spent a week exploring the area. Loved Geyser! The crater around the corner is well worth a visit, and it's still quite easy to get to Reykjavik for the day. We would definitely stay here again.
Owner's Response: Thank you, Claire, for your nice words!
You're welcome back anytime,
Jóhanna
business
A Log Cabin at the Banks of River Hvítá!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3506102
South Iceland Iceland
New Canaan, CT 06840 USA
5

A special, cozy log cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I (seniors) just returned from a quiet, relaxing week at the Solstadir log cabin. The cabin is situated in an open landscape facing the meandering Hvita River. It is tastefully decorated, is warm and cozy with a wood-burning stove and has a very well equipped kitchen. There is a hot tub and barbeque on the deck. We enjoyed watching a two hour dancing, glowing display of the northern lights from our chairs on the deck.

Selfoss is an easy drive for shopping, groceries, and restaurants.

Nearby you can visit thermal pools, geysers, waterfalls and Pingvellir National Park.

If you want to take advantage of the largest city in Iceland, Reykjavik is just an hours drive from the cabin.

This is an excellent home-base for exploring Southwestern Iceland. We would certainly recommend it to anyone.

We loved seeing Mother Earth at her active best, witnessing the constantly changing light and landscape and staying at Solstadir Cabin. We hope to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Suzanne, for sharing your experience and for your kind words. We welcome you back anytime.
Jóhanna
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Log Cabin at the Banks of River Hvítá!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3506102
South Iceland Iceland
5

Quiet, beautiful cabin in fabulous surroundings!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is a capacious cabin, well equipped, with a very nice atmosphere. The location is excellent, scenic surroundings, access to a salmon river and the possibility of angling. The cabin is also very central in relation to all major tourist attractions, including Gullfoss and Geysir. Highly recommended!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Log Cabin at the Banks of River Hvítá!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3506102
South Iceland Iceland
4

Nathalie from France plus family

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a great stay in your very quiet little cabin. The kids enjoyed the tub a lot! The location is perfect for the Golden Circle and in the meantime is seclude enough for people looking for a quiet relaxing place. The view from the cabin is very nice and there is a very nice terrace for outdoor dining (and a barbecue).

The property description was accurate (my only comment is about the 6-person capacity, I think that it fits a 4 to 5 persons group, not more). The property was clean overall (just a comment on beds that seem a bit tired and not very clean). Service was good, we called on arrival to find out on the keys and the owner was responsive.

Overall we had a good stay in this property and would absolutely recommend it.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very positive review, Natalie! The beds in the bedrooms are nine years old and we believe that they are in a good shape considering their age. It is true, however, that the bed sofa is tired and the sofa itself has some permanent stains in it. It is, in fact, on the top of our to-do-list to replace the sofa bed, and our plan is to get a sofa bed with memory foam like tempur, and also to get some memory-foam top-mattresses on the other two beds. :D

Greetings,
Jóhanna
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Log Cabin at the Banks of River Hvítá!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3506102
South Iceland Iceland
5

A great country get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Spectacular scenery, nicely appointed accommodation, cozy fireplace, affordable rates.

We were especially pleased with the customer service as we has lost our camera there and they made every effort to get it back to us. It arrived in the mail today.

Thank you so much.
business
A Log Cabin at the Banks of River Hvítá!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3506102
South Iceland Iceland
5

A beautiful retreat from the world

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I spent a few days here with my family, and enjoyed every second of it. The setting is gorgeous, and the house itself is beautifully maintained. The owners are beyond helpful and thoughtful -- really made the stay memorable! A number of sites of interest are in easy driving distance (Golden Circle, Skalholt, Stöng), which makes this a perfect "home base" for exploring south-western Iceland. Highly recommend!
business
A Log Cabin at the Banks of River Hvítá!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3506102
South Iceland Iceland
5

Great place to get away from it all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
If you want a homely cabin in a beautiful spot in the middle of nowhere, which is an enjoyable drive to all the golden circle attractions AND dark enough to see the Northern Lights well, then this is your place. We met Jóhanna and Sesse who were really friendly and told us all about the local area. We had a great stay in the cabin and will definitely be going back again soon. Really nice place!
business
A Log Cabin at the Banks of River Hvítá!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3506102
South Iceland Iceland
5

Summer in Solstaðir

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The majestic beauty of the location could hardly be exaggerated. The cottage is perched a short distance from the Hvitá river and lake Hestvatn and offered the opportunity for a quick dip of the feet in the river upon arrival.
The cottage was fantastically well-stocked and maintained, clean and well decorated. We found everything needed for comfortable meals and pleasant evenings in the cottage or at the bar at the Kidjaberg Golf course nearby.

We took the short drive to Gullfoss and Geysir and Thingvellir. We also took the opportunity to visit the church and school at Skálholt and then went onto the archeological site at Stöng, a fully preserved 11th Century longhouse.

Coming back to the peaceful consolation of the cottage at Solstaðir after days of site seeing was an absolute delight.

The owners were helpful in every regard and I would absolutely recommend a stay at Solstaðir for anyone who wants to enjoy the best sites in Iceland in comfort and style.
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed the stay, Steve! You're welcome back anytime! :D
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Log Cabin at the Banks of River Hvítá!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3506102
South Iceland Iceland
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My husband & I stayed at Sólstaðir cabin 07.02.13 - 12.02.13. We had a truly amazing time!

The cabin was lovely - it was very welcoming & homely. It's located in a perfect position, benefiting from being far enough away from the towns so as not to be affected by light polution (very important for those Northern Lights photos!!). The other cabins dotted around are far enough away so that you still feel isolated & away from it all. The nearest town is a very short drive away so you can get the essentials for your stay. There's a great log burner which is lovely for romantic & relaxing nights.

The cabin has everything you'll need for a self catering break. Everything is catered for from a bottle opener (essential of course!!) to local attraction leaflets.

During our stay we explored some of the amazing scenery in the area. We visited Dyrholaey, Skogarfoss & Selalandsfoss. Truely beautiful scenery, waterfalls & views. The next day we went to Geysir, Gulfoss & Pingvellir national park. It was good to stand on the American & Eurasian tectonic plates in Pingvellir as I'm from the UK & my husband is from America, so that was fun!! The day after that we took a (long but fun) drive out to Jokulsarlon & saw the glaciers on our way & once we arrived we stood on some icebergs which was awesome! That night we also saw the Northern Lights from the cabin which was amazing!!! On our final day we thought we'd take it easy so went to the Blue Lagoon for a bit of relaxation which was nice. We also saw the Northern Lights again that night & they were even brighter than the night before!!!

We would highly recommend this cabin. It's in the perfect location, is well equiped, is very cosy & comfortable, is well loved & taken care of and the owners are lovely, trustworthy & easy to communicate with. We'd definately go back!!!
Owner's Response: Dear Louise,
You and your husband are welcome back anytime! We were so happy that you enjoyed the stay and that you got to see the Northern Lights. :D
Jóhanna