Mouth of Wilson cabin rental - Sunny Day at the Cottage
Sunny Day at the Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Mouth of Wilson Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Crumpler, NC - River-lovers will adore this charming cottage with the lazy New River running by. Enjoy fishing from the bank, tubing, canoeing or kayaking. Or relax on the covered rocking chair porch. Near the Jeffersons, New River State Park & Outfitters

"DOVE COTTAGE II ON THE NEW RIVER"

• Located on the New River - Fishing and Swimming at Your Door Step!

• 15 minutes to New River State Park and Canoe Outfitters

• 20 minutes to West Jefferson

• 30 minutes to Grayson Highlands State Park

• 50 minutes to Boone

This sunny, quaint and modern cottage is located right on the banks of the New River, offering fishing, kayaking and tubing right from the back yard. The single-story cottage features an open floor plan with vaulted ceilings, wood floors throughout and plenty of natural light from the numerous windows that face the New River. The well-equipped kitchen offers all the amenities of home with a flat-panel electric stove, full-size dishwasher, microwave, and coffee maker. There is plenty of seating in the great room around gas stove fireplace and the 46-inch flat screen featuring Satellite TV and a DVD player. A couch/daybed offers additional sleeping options. Dine at the antique farm table in front of the window overlooking the expansive backyard and the river beyond.

The master bedroom features a metal canopy queen bed, luxury linens, custom built cabinets and a lovely window seat with river views right out your window. The attached master bath has a stand up shower stall and tile floors.

The guest bedroom offers a metal canopy queen bed, luxury linens and more river views out the back window.

An additional full bath featuring tile floors and a tub/shower combination is off of the hallway. Right next to the bathroom is the laundry room featuring utility sink, tile floors and front loading HE washer and dryer.

The large covered deck offers plenty of seating with a classic picnic table, a bench and chair seating area and a charcoal grill, all overlooking the backyard, firepit and the river beyond.

Offering over 200 feet of gorgeous, private riverfront access, you will find plenty of on-site fun geared towards the entire family. Relax by the firepit the water’s edge, cool off with a dip during the day or drown a worm….all right in your own backyard. Tubing, canoeing and kayaking rentals are all available nearby.

Escape to this perfect river cottage today!

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 3505639 in Mouth of Wilson, Virginia

New River Cottage - Fishing - Swimming - Inner Tubes Provided - Fire Pit
average rating of 4.5 based on 16 reviews
business
New River Cottage - Fishing - Swimming - Inner Tubes Provided - Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3505639
+1 877 601-5020
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
Indianapolis, IN
5

Hidden but most enjoyable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Ended up here when our B & B cancelled and we were lucky enough to get a cancellation ourselves. Two bedroom, two bath cottage with all the amenities. Large, comfortable rooms all with views of the river. Grill, fire pit, big deck made for a comfortable stay no matter what the season. A little isolated but still a good location especially if you want to be by the water. Would return if in the area.
business
New River Cottage - Fishing - Swimming - Inner Tubes Provided - Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3505639
+1 877 601-5020
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
Clayton, NC
5

Cozy and charming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Enjoyed our stay at this cozy cottage. So charming and just enough room for the four of us.
business
New River Cottage - Fishing - Swimming - Inner Tubes Provided - Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3505639
+1 877 601-5020
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
Ellicoot City, MD
4

Beautiful small cottage along the river - relaxing

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
While we enjoyed our stay and the small cottage with quick access to the New River for swimming and fishing, I was not very impressed with the rudeness and audacity of the neighbors. Instead of having the courtesy / courage to confront me face to face regarding property lines along the river bank, they instead call the property management to complain we are trespassing. I grew up in this county and most people I know would walk out to greet you and politely request not to trespass. As if this was not enough, they then complain to the property management about the dogs, which we had permission and paid a pet deposit. Then they also called the County game warden to verify that I had a fishing license to fish in the New River from the bank. My comments - mind your own dang business.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
New River Cottage - Fishing - Swimming - Inner Tubes Provided - Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3505639
+1 877 601-5020
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
Fuquay-Varina, NC
5

Fun Week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a fantastic time on our vacation. This was a wonderful cabin-very peaceful and relaxing. We were able to cook our meals in the fully furnished open-area kitchen, and enjoyed roasting marshmallows at night by the fire pit. The location was near Jefferson and West Jefferson, and we even took a scenic trip to Virginia. The layout of the house was perfect for our family of 3, or for 2 couples. We would definitely stay here again!!!
business
New River Cottage - Fishing - Swimming - Inner Tubes Provided - Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3505639
+1 877 601-5020
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
Southern Pine, TN
4

A river view

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The house and location were very nice. However, if you are use to renting properties with electronic amenities this is not the house for you. It would have been nice to have a radio and a few more options on the TV.

Manager responded on 7/31/2013:
This is one of our get away from it all rentals. Perfect river location and a perfect place to unplug!
business
New River Cottage - Fishing - Swimming - Inner Tubes Provided - Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3505639
+1 877 601-5020
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
Roanoke, VA
5

Lovely family getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Our family of four was looking for a place to get away for a few days before the chaos of the school year, and this was a perfect location. We tubed down the river, kayaked from a nearby outfitter, and did a LOT of deck sitting. Perfect size for a family of four (two were teenagers)
business
New River Cottage - Fishing - Swimming - Inner Tubes Provided - Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3505639
+1 877 601-5020
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
Bloomington, IL
5

great cottage; expansive open feeling

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This cottage was impeccable; we really enjoyed the openness, windows, etc. I noted some previous occupants had written about popping sounds, probably from the new flooring - this did not occur while we were there. I'd recommend this to friends & will stay again!
business
New River Cottage - Fishing - Swimming - Inner Tubes Provided - Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3505639
+1 877 601-5020
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
Jacksonville, FL
3

Good

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Everything was good except for some banging noise at night only which made it difficult to sleep for all of us. The place needs a sign it was difficult to find.
business
New River Cottage - Fishing - Swimming - Inner Tubes Provided - Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3505639
+1 877 601-5020
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
Cary, NC
3

Weekend Stay

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Loved the cottage,area and river. Two problems that we noticed with house. The flooring pops at night, this is not normal. It sounds that someone is throwing lg rocks on roof. Whomever put floor down made it look pretty but did a poor job. Also when refrigator runs bath light dims. Other than this it was great.

Also like reality company that helped me but contract company "Flip" is worthless and contact people are rude.

Manager responded on 10/9/2012:
After talking with the renter we learned the low service rating was about FlipKey not Ashe High Country Vacations, the renter was satisfied overall with the house and our services, so please don’t let this review stop you from enjoying this beautiful river home through our company. Also this is a brand new cottage, finished in 2011 so the house is still "settling" however first we have heard of the floors popping, more common too for wood floors as the weather cools. Along around a top rated rental on the New River.
business
New River Cottage - Fishing - Swimming - Inner Tubes Provided - Fire Pit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3505639
+1 877 601-5020
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
Archdale, NC
5

Wonderful place!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We went with my sister and her husband. We had a great time. The house and location was
just what we were looking for - right on the river with very nice view and very neat. We
definetly will be going back to this place.We went canoeing two days and very close to canoeing rentals. Loved it!!!!!!!!!