Barrio Gotico apartment rental - Living room with 2 sofa beds - look at the original wood beams in the ceiling!
Living room with 2 sofa beds - look at the original wood beams in the ceiling!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights
 

Barrio Gotico Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 mezzanine level with 3 beds, 1 bathroom with Cathedral views

OVERVIEW

All the apartments in this catalogued historic building have been individually designed and many retain their Gothic period features. This unique apartment with one-of-a-kind Cathedral views was just renovated in Nov. 2012. Situated on the second floor of a true Gothic building (sorry no Lift/Elevator), which dates back to the XII-XIII century, the renovation has been carefully done, respecting the original architecture, to expose the handmade wood beams and the stone walls. The apartment contains both vintage and loft-style-chic furniture. There are all the conveniences you would expect, including free wi-fi and a spacious walk-in shower plus one you might not - enjoying the views of the cathedral right from the living room . The large dining, living and kitchen spaces make this luxurious apartment perfect for individuals who need more space, families or groups of colleagues.

YOUR APARTMENT AT A GLANCE

·high quality 100% cotton bed linens & towels

·Fully controllable Air Conditioning and Heating

·Kitchen with dishwasher, microwave/steamer, coffee maker, electric kettle, refrigerator, glass-ceramic cooktop/hob and stone-top work surface.

·Free wi-fi

·Ipod Dock

·Flatscreen TV with USB & HDMI input

·Washer & dryer

I believe that pictures speak better than words, so please take a look at our photographs. For more detailed information please don´t hesitate to ask.

OTHER IMPORTANT FACTS

· 1000 sq. feet in prime location of the Gothic Distric

· Sleeps up to 8 people

· 1 Double Bedroom , 1 open mezzanine & 1 complete bathroom

· 2 queen size beds, 1 queen size sofa, 1 full bed and a 1 twin size bed

· Balcony with views of the cathedral

· Pedestrian access only - limited entrace to taxis

· No Lift/Elevator - we will help you with all your baggage!

· Not allowed: Parties or Pets

· Optional Free Extras: Baby cot/crib & highchair on request

· Optional Extras (for a fee - please consult) - daily maid service, babysitting, daily trips, bicycles/scooter, event tickets....you ask for it and we will try to find it!

RULES: No parties, no loud noises or music, no smoking, we ask that you respect your neighbors and take care of our place.

Sorry, but due to problems in the past we DONT RENT OUT to guests younger than 25 years old.

More Details
Hide Details

This whole adventure started a few years back out of pure necessity. Kelly, being a Spanish-born, Korean-American but rooted in Barcelona for the past 17 years wasn´t able to find a decent long-term accommodation for all her visiting family and friends. Thus, Sal & Kelly, owners, decided to remodel one of their apartments in the gothic quarters. It started with one and continued with the rest of the building, a unique 12th century antique convent.

KELLY purchased this apartment in 1974

THE NEIGHBORHOOD & SURROUNDINGS

Situated in the heart of the vibrant Gothic District, right behind Barcelona´s Cathedral, the location of this apartment is ideal. You are a stone´s throw away from all the main attractions such as Plaza Sant Jaume ( the council square), Las Ramblas, Port Vell, Born District and Plaza Catalunya. A 2 minute walk will place you right in the L4 metro line which easily connects you to all the other main features of Barcelona such as La Sagrada Familia, Paseo de Gracia with all of Gaudi´s Buildings and high-end shops. This apartment is located in a street with only pedestrian access, making it a quiet and peaceful place but still right in the middle of all the main attractions. There is no location like it anywhere else in Barcelona.

Although there isn´t an elevator/lift in the building we will be happy to have someone help you out with your luggage at no extra cost. We will be happy to arrange day trips or even a guide for the day at a reasonable price. Plus, we will be more than happy to provide you with all of our knowledge about the city - shops, restaurants, etc... we will try to make your stay as comfortable as possible and give you great tips so you are able to enjoy the city as a local

9 Reviews of Property 3502779 in Barrio Gotico, Spain

Spacious & Unique flat steps away from Cathedral - Gothic Quarter
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Spacious & Unique flat steps away from Cathedral - Gothic Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3502779
+34 607497916
Barrio Gotico Ciutat Vella
5

Beautiful location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Stayed for a week right after Xmas at one of the smaller loft. Kelly was very responsive throughout the booking process. We arrived early in the morning and she let us check in right away. She even sent us a bottle of wine as a welcome gift, a very nice gesture!

The location of the loft is ideal--a quiet street right next to the beautiful Cathedral. Don't get fooled by the map--everything in the Born and Gothic districts are within easy walk, which makes this loft very centrally located.

We were a couple so the small loft was big enough for us. The decoration was neat. The furniture comfortable and useful, nothing fancy. All in all, highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Spacious & Unique flat steps away from Cathedral - Gothic Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3502779
+34 607497916
Barrio Gotico Ciutat Vella
5

Enjoyed exciting stay during La Merce 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in one of the smaller lofts for a week during the La Merce festival. Kelly was so helpful, sending us area info before we arrived and then more info once we got there, including a list of her recommended restaurants (we tried a few and loved them), area attractions, etc. Location is right in the middle of everything and we walked or took metro or bus to to all the sights. Loft was clean and very well maintained. Wifi Internet was avail and we never had a problem connecting. Would definitely recommend to family and friends and would return ourselves. There is a small cafe just below the lofts which was very convenient for a quick bite or beer. If you plan on visiting the Sagrada Familia, definitely order tickets ahead of time online. We did this and got in without a wait. Also easy to get from loft to Camp Nou for a FCBarcelona game which was a lot of fun and the fans are great. Overall it was a wonderful stay and Kelly was so helpful. We emailed her any questions we had and she always replied promptly.
business
Spacious & Unique flat steps away from Cathedral - Gothic Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3502779
+34 607497916
Barrio Gotico Ciutat Vella
5

This loft brought Barcelona to life...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
If your intent is to experience Barcelona as the locals do, then Kelly and her team will make that happen. Our loft was like being home with all the amenities and comforts, only with old world charm and details that calmed the spirit and held captive the imagination. Everything promised was delivered and then some. This definitely exceeded our expectations. One day it rained, and Kelly offered to bring by some extra umbrellas. More than great customer service, there was a spirit of connection, she is a gracious host and definitely made our Barcelona experience top notch. The loft was clean and the people that supported that during our stay were excellent as well. It felt as though it had recently been upgraded. There were five adults and we never got in each others way in the loft. We spent a great part of every day sightseeing and visiting and exploring different neighborhoods and when we got back in the evening it was great to return to a place where we could relax and unwind before gathering more energy to see where the night would lead. One night it lead to Barca Stadium for a match between Barca and Madrid with kick-off at 11:00 pm!!! The five of us piled into the subway with 80,000 other eager fans and off we went into the night... Other days, we stayed in taking in spectacular views of the Gothic Cathedral from our front room balcony while enjoying a bottle of special Spanish wine with a selection of local cheeses and bread bought that morning from the local farmers' market. Idyllic doesn't begin to describe it. We were there to celebrate our 30th anniversary, Kelly recommended a host of restaurants for the celebration. We picked a wonderful seafood restaurant Els Pescador nestled in the corner of a small quaint plaza named Placa Prim. Food, service ambiance, amazing. The loft has a list of restaurants and other shops to enhance your stay, and all are carefully curated and live up to the recommendation. We noticed that Kelly does not recommend a place that she and her family have not tried and approve of personally. We would wholeheartedly recommend this loft to our friends and family and to all who want to immerse in a wonderful, culturally rich and magical moment during their travels abroad.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious & Unique flat steps away from Cathedral - Gothic Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3502779
+34 607497916
Barrio Gotico Ciutat Vella
5

Excellent apartments in the Old City

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed in one of the smaller apartments on a lower floor. It was newly renovated, spotlessly clean and we were met on time as arranged. The location is perfect for visitors, right in the middle of the Old City and only steps from the Cathedral. There's a nice little cafe downstairs and the view from the balcony is incredible, right onto a Medieval stone tower. The apartment is relatively quiet and private for such a central location in Barcelona. The building itself is beautiful and I'd highly recommend it to anyone!
business
Spacious & Unique flat steps away from Cathedral - Gothic Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3502779
+34 607497916
Barrio Gotico Ciutat Vella
5

Perfect Loft in the Perfect location!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed at the loft from May 10-21, 2013. We arrived and Kelly met us and walked with us to the loft. She was absolutely wonderful, kind, pleasant, helpful and there was even a bottle of wine and water waiting for us! She had it covered down to the laundry soap! She sat with us for some time, talking about the loft, the area, the amenities, great places for us to explore and lovely places to eat. She answered all the questions we had and told us to call anytime. I cannot say enough about how wonderful she is!! The loft itself, WOW. We thought it was going to be nice, but we really didn't realize how fabulous it really was until we got there! We loved the loft. There was only 2 of us, but there was plenty of room for more.
One thing, that really made it memorable for us, was opening the windows and listening to the music coming from the opera singer or the Spanish Guitar when people played outside. It was beautiful and it was very romantic. The location was the best I can imagine. We were able to walk about and visit shops, museums, restaurants within steps. The metro was close in 2 directions, and was so easy to walk out hop on and visit other things as well. So many days we just walked from the loft and spent the day walking because so many things were so close and kept us so busy with all the sights and excitement so close to the loft. We slept with the windows open, and enjoyed the weather and fresh air. We loved staying there and have recommended the loft and Kelly to our friends.
Thank you so much Kelly for everything. We will cherish the memories we had in Barcelona and appreciate how wonderful and helpful you are.

Perfecto!
Michelle & Stephen
business
Spacious & Unique flat steps away from Cathedral - Gothic Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3502779
+34 607497916
Barrio Gotico Ciutat Vella
Ottawa Ontario Canada
5

Barcelona District Lofts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This apartment was excellent and could not be better situated to explore Barcelona. Clean,well maintained and right in the heart of the Gothic District. This apartment offers a location that is second to none. The owner (Kelly ) communicated very well in advance of our arrival and answered all questions etc. Always offered to assist us in any way both before and during our stay of two weeks. Kelly went above and beyond duing our stay by personally securing and delivering tour and event tickets on several occasions.
If you are looking for a stress free Rental from a very professional person I highly recommend you contact Kelly for this or any of her other properties.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spacious & Unique flat steps away from Cathedral - Gothic Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3502779
+34 607497916
Barrio Gotico Ciutat Vella
5

Fantastic Loft in Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is a lovely apartment in a fantastic location next to the Cathedral. We spent 10 days here with our two children and enjoyed it immensely. The loft was perfect for the kids and the apartment has all the amenities we needed for a comfortable stay. It was clean and recently renovated. The neighbourhood is quaint and quiet at night.

Kelly is a great host, was easy to deal with and left us with lots of useful information - you can easily walk everywhere from here; the beach/waterfront area, Las Ramblas, Shopping, Museums, as well as the subway and train station for trips outside the neighbourhood and outside the City. There is a tourist office across the square and lots of great restaurants a few minutes walk away. There is a "Hop on-Hop off" bus stop just around the corner ... couldn't have picked a better spot.

This is a great apartment for a family with kids - we highly recommend it!
Owner's Response: Dear G. Family- thank you for your visit! Wish all my guests were like you guys, easygoing and clean! Please contact me anytime & I do hope to see you soon!,
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious & Unique flat steps away from Cathedral - Gothic Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3502779
+34 607497916
Barrio Gotico Ciutat Vella
Shanghai, China
5

GORGEOUS LOFT IN THE GOTHIC QUARTER!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! My boyfriend and I were pleasantly surprised when we walked into this beautiful, CLEAN, recently remodeled apartment. We have traveled throughout Europe and have come across places that did not come to par with the photos and descriptions online. But, this apartment was everything and more. The location is unbeatable. It is literally next to the "Catedral" in the Gothic Quarter. I open the balcony and I am staring at a beautiful Church from the 11th Century. And the chimes of the bells were very romantic at night.

Kelly, the host, was very welcoming and helpful. My boyfriend wanted to make our stay very special since it was our anniversary. He secretly had been emailing Kelly and the 2 of them planned a very romantic night for us!! She helped us make reservations to the BEST Spanish restaurant I have ever eaten at. She also gave me great recommendations for shopping! I think she definitely went beyond her call of duty. The ONLY con (and I wouldn't even call it a "con" because the all the pros absolutely out weigh this one small detail) would be that there was no elevator. But we didn't mind at all. We just thought of it as great exercise after eating all the great food!!!
WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE AND WE HAVE TO ALL OF OUR FRIENDS!!
KELLY IS THE BEST HOST!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spacious & Unique flat steps away from Cathedral - Gothic Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3502779
+34 607497916
Barrio Gotico Ciutat Vella
5

GREAT vacation rental in Barcelona!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We decided to visit Barcelona for the 2nd time and really wanted to find a place that was centrally located. We absolutely LOVED our stay in this quaint, old world but newly renovated apt.
It was clean, spacious and Kelly (the manager) was such a good hostess and so pleasant!
I am recommending this place to all my friends if they ever go to beautiful Barcelona.
Helpful votes: 5/5