Huddleston house rental - View of lake and boat house from lake-side deck.
View of lake and boat house from lake-side deck.
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Huddleston House Rental Photos and Description
4 Full Bedrooms, 2 Bunk Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Convertible Bed, Sleeps 10

The property name says it all! Mountain Majesty! Without a doubt one of the most spectacular mountain views on the lake with almost 80 feet of unobstructed direct views of Smith Mountain from anywhere in the four sitting rooms at the back of this beautiful home. The home also includes a huge Florida room, full sun room, screened-in porch, and hot tub on a 1500-square-foot, double-tier deck off the back of the home that faces the mountain. There is not a thing you will be disappointed about in this home!

There is a view from every room in the house. The first floor master is massive and the ceramic master bath has a Jacuzzi tub and large steam shower. The laundry and two-car garage are just off the master, and the paved driveway has access all the way to the dock for easy drop off of coolers and water toys. There are many gathering rooms; living room with fireplace, family room, and two sun rooms on the main level and a family room upstairs where the other bedrooms are located.

There is also a small room upstairs with bunk beds that is separate from the two large bedrooms. The kitchen is fully equipped for any and all of your cooking needs. The rental also includes washer and dryer, gas grill, 6 flat panel TVs with cable/VCR/DVD. There are games, books, Cd's and an assortment of movies for your enjoyment.

The covered boat dock has electricity, lights and a hoist available for safe storage of your boat during your stay. Finally, we understand that planning for linens and towels for the whole family can be pain, so, we gladly supply them both for your convenience.

Please come and enjoy a lake experience that you will never forget. Bring your camera, make a pot of coffee, and get ready to enjoy Mountain Majesty!

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 350189 in Huddleston, Virginia

Mountain Majesty at Beautiful Smith Mountain Lake
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Mountain Majesty at Beautiful Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350189
+1 845 853-4457
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

A favorite vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This is the third year a group of us from Washington, DC have rented the home as a mid-winter retreat. The view from the house is spectacular by itself, but the details and amenities of the house are equally wonderful: comfortable beds, ample common spaces, spacious bathrooms, a well-stocked kitchen. We keep finding small improvements and upgrades every year we go back, which are always pleasant surprises. It makes it seem homier that the owners care about the details of their home. They and Lake Retreat Properties are wonderful to work with as well! Thanks for a great vacation!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mountain Majesty at Beautiful Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350189
+1 845 853-4457
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Perfect lake weekend with friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had a fabulous time at Mountain Majesty! The house is beautiful and open, with amazing views, and plenty of room for the 3 couples we had staying. I love the little nooks and crannies (downstairs lake-view gas fireplace, or the hot tub, or the outdoor/glass/covered porch, plus the upstairs and downstairs TV/movie spaces) of this place. The bedrooms were also very well-appointed, with comfortable beds.

When we arrived, the place was VERY clean, which was important to us.

A couple tips. The kitchen has a LOT of appliances, pans, utensils, etc. However, we still were glad we brought our own wok, fry pan, a couple (chefs/cooking) knives, and spices/etc. We had planned out the meals, which was very helpful. The fridge is pretty big, though we nearly filled it up for the 4 nights we were there. The oven/stove work well.

Another thing that would be a helpful improvement: there were not really any cleaning supplies available to the renters. We had dish soap and used that to wipe down the kitchen after meals, but some sort of spray disinfectant would be very helpful for a large # of people staying for a while.

In general, I would highly recommend this rental property and we hope to stay again as soon as we can.
business
Mountain Majesty at Beautiful Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350189
+1 845 853-4457
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Virginia
5

Truly majestic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We booked Mountain Majesty for Christmas week to accommodate our multigenerational family of 9. Its open floor plan was perfect for toddlers and spacious doorways roomy enough for Grandmother's walker to comfortably move about. Our thirty somethings enjoyed the hot tub, fire pit and close proximity of walking trails. The view of the lake and mountain was beautiful from nearly every room and the sunsets breathtaking. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything needed to prepare homestyle meals. The home has been updated and is clean and furnished with comfortable upscale furniture to include bedding. The owners are delightful to work with and are very accommodating! I would highly recommend this property for anyone looking for a relaxing retreat anytime of year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mountain Majesty at Beautiful Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350189
+1 845 853-4457
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Sims, NC
5

Family retreat/vacation at SML

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Mountain Majesty is an awesome family retreat/vacation home ! The breathtaking views from the deck or inside the house of Smith Mountain Lake and Smith Mountain, to a well stocked kitchen, complete entertainment system( well stocked) thruout the house, plenty of room for everyone inside and out and a very clean home you can not go wrong with Mountain Majesty.
The owners , David and Brenda, are very appreciative of your business and are there to help you with any questions
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Mountain Majesty at Beautiful Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350189
+1 845 853-4457
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Pennsylvania
5

Family Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We enjoyed our family vacation at Mountain Majesty! It really is a pet friendly place so we were able to have a true family vacation. It is easy to relax in such a beautiful home that is fully stocked. While there are many activities available in the area, including the historical sites and hiking, our favorite part of the trip was sitting on the deck, enjoying the beautiful view of the lake and a good book. The owners and management company were easy to work with and quickly answered any questions we had. The only sad part of the vacation was that the week went by so fast, and we had to go home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Mountain Majesty at Beautiful Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350189
+1 845 853-4457
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Washington, DC
5

A Wonderful Return Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
A group of us spent last January here after finding this gem. You can not find a more relaxing, comfortable, and well supplied house...not to mention one of the best views on the lake.

The provided linens, extra blankets and well stocked kitchen is always very helpful!

They have added another bedroom, which was great. And even though they also added flat panel tvs, you should be ashamed of yourself if you spend all your time watching tv when you could be enjoying the lake, view, company, fire, hot tub or a good book. This is the perfect DC escape for us.

The owners are very considerate and want to make sure you enjoy your time and I was impressed that they reached out to make sure of it both times.

I can't recommend this place enough. We will all be back for round 3.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Mountain Majesty at Beautiful Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350189
+1 845 853-4457
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Summerville
5

Awesome View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My husband and I, and our furbabies, spent the Christmas week in this wonderful home. The pictures really do not do this home justice. Walking into the living room and turning the corner you are greeted with a bank of windows that open up onto a view that is simply magnificant. The home is spacious and very comfortable. I highly, highly recommend this rental to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

The owner David, is absolutely the best. He never failed to return any one of my "numerous" emails and was always so pleasant to deal with.

Our enjoyment of the home and the holiday was lost with some unexpected news with our 12 year Lab shortly after arriving, so, much of our time was spent in the sunroom by the fireplace simply gazing at the wonderful mountains and spending a peaceful Christmas together.

But truly, the home was spotless upon arrival and there is so much room to move around. Newly remodeled......the bed by the sunroom with the fireplace is FANTASTIC. We look forward to coming back in the summer sometime with some other couples to enjoy the lake. This is a gem and we are very happy to add it to our list of vacation destinations.

The Owen Family.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Mountain Majesty at Beautiful Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350189
+1 845 853-4457
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Rest and Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Previous reviewers were absolutely right, a breathtaking location and a well-presented house with all the essentials!

As we travelled by air, it was very important to have all linens and amenities provided. This house did not disappoint. The kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans, utensils, and cutlery. We cooked most meals, including on the grill. There is a phone, which is fantastic if you're from out of the area. The contents of the boathouse, including floats and life jackets, made playing in the water more enjoyable. Cable TV and the Internet kept our teenager occupied in the evenings, that is when we could get her out of the hot tub.

The whole week was extremely relaxing for us, although with all the watersports and fishing available there is plenty to keep you busy if you want to be.

Two things not mentioned by others: The rental agency's customer service is superb and the local residents are wonderfully friendly and helpful.

Two things to remember to bring: Binoculars (for watching the boats) and mosquito repellant (for eating outside at dusk).

Two things to do: Eat at the Smokehouse (beautiful pulled pork) and rent a boat/jetski (book ahead by phone).
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Mountain Majesty at Beautiful Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350189
+1 845 853-4457
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Yardley,Pa
4

Six on the Road

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We recently spent a long weekend at Mountain Majesty and had a great time. We are three couples from Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Georgia who get together about once every year. We usually change locations every year but I'm sure we'll be back to SML. The home has a perfect set-up for three couples. The decks were just great for lounging around and the views were spectacular. Found Benjamin's at the Point,a sports bar with a marina setting fit us really well. Would like to come for a longer visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/7
business
Mountain Majesty at Beautiful Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p350189
+1 845 853-4457
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Arlington, VA
5

Better Than Described

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
The pictures do not do this home justice! My fiancee' and I stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate our engagement and couldn't get enough of the view the entire time we were there. The owner was great to work with and cares very much that his guests enjoy their stay. The home was very clean upon arrival and useful instructions/notes were laid out as needed.

A few notes that aren't in the ad, but may be helpful to fellow regular vacation-home renters:

1) This is the best-equipped kitchen we've ever seen in a rental. Cooking great meals is a big part of the vacation for us, and we really appreciated having high-quality cookware, nice knives, and plenty of prep bowls to work with.

2) There is a honest-to-God stereo system (w/ iPod dock) in the living room: big bookshelf speakers and a heavy amp = high quality audio! We had our favorite tunes going all weekend (Pandora via iPhone worked out here, too).

Thanks to the Brunks for helping us celebrate, can't wait to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5