De Waterkant apartment rental - 216 The Rockwell kitchen and living area
216 The Rockwell kitchen and living area
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

De Waterkant Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Lovely 1-Bedroom Apartment with Large Protected Balcony in Fantastic Location

This designer apartment has been newly transformed to take full advantage of the fabulous large balcony that transforms the living space.

Facing north, this private apartment on the 2nd floor of The Rockwell is protected from the Cape Town winds and is lovely and sunny in winter, yet cool and eternally liveable in the summer. With a Balinese divan and a dining table outside, this apartment is all about making the most of Cape Town and the outdoors.

The air-conditioned interior was designed by a renowned interior designer with a retro feel. It complements the Rockwell’s 1900s New York inspired architecture. The retro design makes full use of the interior space and flows easily into the protected balcony area. There are nice views across the De Waterkant area to the harbour and Cape Town Stadium.

There is a full kitchen and a washer and dryer to provide all the conveniences of home. The apartment also has an espresso machine and an ipod/iphone docking station.

The Rockwell complex was inspired by the early 1900s architecture of Manhattan, and is surrounded by delightful sidewalk restaurants, bars, art galleries and quaint boutique shops. The complex has a stunning seven story interior atrium and luxurious fittings throughout. It also boasts a gym and an indoor, heated pool.

De Waterkant is the trendiest neighbourhood in Cape Town and one of the most exclusive. The apartment enjoys an enviable location in the heart of the city without actually being in the CBD (which virtually closes down on weekends). From the apartment, you can easily walk to most major attractions of Cape Town. The CBD is just a couple of blocks, The V&A Waterfront (shops, restaurants, bars, coffee shops and Robben Island) is only minutes away, and there's an excellent supermarket across the road.

The CTICC (Convention Centre) is nearby. You can easily walk to the new Cape Town Stadium and Cape Quarter’s lively restaurant and café scene is just one block away.

If you have a car, the apartment has an assigned, underground secure car parking space with lift access into the building. Security is of the highest standard at the Rockwell with 24hr security.

This privately owned apartment is managed by a high-end corporate agency who only deal with luxury rentals. They will meet all guests on arrival at The Rockwell and do all possible to ensure your stay in Cape Town is amazing. They also provide a complimentary weekly housekeeping service.

This apartment has been oficially graded as 4-star by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.

I've bought and registered a mobile broadband USB stick (dongle) and 2 local Sim cards (1 normal and 1 microsim). You're welcome to use these while you're in Cape Town. I've done all the paperwork, so you'd just need to buy airtime and/or data (at any supermarket, petrol station etc). You'll be able to use these on your smartphone, laptop or tablet. I'll give you all the details so you can let family and friends know how to contact you and plan ahead.

Alternatively, internet can be accessed in the apartment through (paid) public wifi hotspots. If you're going elsewhere in South Africa, a cheaper and faster option would be to get a local sim card (less than $1) and load data onto that for your smartphone or unlocked dongle. I can help you work out what option is best for you, and let you know how to organise. It's a simple process.

Additionally, many of the cafes nearby offer free wifi with a purchase, and there are loads of internet cafes in town (yes they still exist here!) that charge R5/hr.

I'm more than happy to offer guests tips on the area and can recommend some amazing restaurants (that you'll need to book ahead for).

* Please note that this is a private residence in The Rockwell building and is not part of The Rockwell All Suites Hotel & Apartments. As a private resident you are invited to use the pool, gym and restaurant and bar, but bills cannot be charged to the room.

* Services like room service, a daily maid, bellboy and luggage storage are for hotel guests only.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 3501060 in De Waterkant, South Africa

Deluxe Apartment in De Waterkant - 216 The Rockwell
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 8 reviews
business
Deluxe Apartment in De Waterkant - 216 The Rockwell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3501060
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
5

My home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Jenny's apartment was my little home away from home during my month's stay in Cape Town. The apartment was perfect - it is stylish, inviting, and comfortable. The large balcony is perfect for relaxing and sipping your pinotage in the afternoon or enjoying your breakfast at the table in the morning.

The Rockwell is in an ideal location with great restaurants, an impressive grocery store, and quaint boutiques right around the apartment. The secure parking spot was especially nice, and the ambiance of The Rockwell (the common areas, gym, pool, bar) is very welcoming and top-notch.

Importantly, I have worked with quite a few owners, and Jenny is hands-down the most hospitable, helpful, and responsive person. She offers great recommendations for things to do and places to go, and she really does everything she can to ensure you enjoy your stay in Cape Town. I hope to return to Cape Town and this condo again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Deluxe Apartment in De Waterkant - 216 The Rockwell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3501060
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Could not as more from Jenny's apartment

Could not as more from Jenny's apartment
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Frankly speaking, we could not ask more from Jenny's apartment. Near to everything, with a very convenient supermarket opposite the building (a very important point in a car-oriented city as Cape Town is), all rent-a-car offices within walking distance, silent bedroom, nice balcony, and a very reasonable price!... really a five-star experience.

Besides, Jenny is very caring with her tennants, she does her best to inform you about things to do and see in CT, and a lovely person to talk to. I definitely recommend anyone to choose her as a "landlady" ;-)
business
Deluxe Apartment in De Waterkant - 216 The Rockwell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3501060
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Exactly as advertised

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The apartment was exactly as advertised and provided a great place to stay. It was just a short walk to the V&A Waterfront and there are some great restaurants in the area.
business
Deluxe Apartment in De Waterkant - 216 The Rockwell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3501060
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Her home is lovely!

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Jenny was an absolute pleasure to deal with! Her home is lovely! Such a great location, very modern and clean, beautiful patio, comfortable bed, awesome shower, and great speakers for the ipod dock! My husband and I stayed there for one week and were very satisfied! I would definitely recommend Jenny's place! :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Deluxe Apartment in De Waterkant - 216 The Rockwell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3501060
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

If there's an opening in her calendar, jump on it!

If there's an opening in her calendar, jump on it!
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I hesitated at first, because 216 was only available for the first 3 weeks of my 3-month work placement in Cape Town.

So, so glad I caved! The apartment is even nicer in person, the Rockwell exceeded expectations, located exactly where you want to be, and the "host"-oh my god, her insider info alone is worth the rental price.

I've done luxury hotel-living before, so while I knew I'd get peace-of-mind security and convenience, I prepared myself for those surprise missing or disappointing long-stay amenities (Ex: no iron, 5 hangers, scratchy sheets, low budget toiletries, etc.) Worry not, Jenny has thought of every detail. She had the place designer-decorated and no corners were cut. Usually vacay properties are what I call "designed-for-renters." 216 was obviously designed for a discerning owner.

You'll spend most of your time enjoying Cape Town, but it is nice to come home to a super comfortable bed, wake up to fresh espresso (definitely go to Origin for grounds!), and hang my clothes on 20-some wooden hangers (possibly only important to me.) The a/C is by far the most effective I've found in CT, the balcony overlooks quiet and charming Napier St (in my opinion, definitely the Rockwell's best side) and the cleaning staff is terrific and comes with an abundance of fluffy towels.

Jenny was my go-to guru for all things Cape Town months before I even arrived, she checked in via email during my stay, and if I emailed her a question a month from now, she'd write me back an enthusiastic, well thought out answer, probably an hour later. She's beyond awesome, I wish she had a rental in every city. Do not let her recommendations go to waste!

My only complaints: 1. I couldn't stay for longer. (Though Jenny was happy to help me as hunted for another perfect-fit place. Seriously.) 2. This experience has spoiled me for wherever I stay in the future.
business
Deluxe Apartment in De Waterkant - 216 The Rockwell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3501060
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Modern, chic exquisite apartment

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The apartment was spotless and very well kitted out (including 3G internet access).

The decor was modern and fresh. I immediately felt at home. The apartment block has many amenities that I diodn't have time to use :-(

I will certainly be using this as my base for future trips to CPT.
business
Deluxe Apartment in De Waterkant - 216 The Rockwell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3501060
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
4

Feeling at home in Cape Town

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was a wonderful apartment at a great price. We felt very at home in this very modern, secure building. Great location from which to walk to the Waterfront. There are plenty of great restaurants and shops nearby. My husband and I stayed for five nights and felt it was the perfect jumping-off point to see all that Cape Town has to offer while being able to come home and relax. Very quiet building, we appreciated being able to do laundry and to have internet. The concierge in the lobby was also very helpful in guiding us to sites in the area as well as setting up a wine tasting tour. The owner was very responsive to any questions and has great suggestions of what to see and do in the area. We only wished we could have stayed longer!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Deluxe Apartment in De Waterkant - 216 The Rockwell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3501060
De Waterkant City Bowl Cape Town
5

Perfect gem in the heart of Cape Town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed in Cape Town for 6 days, and this apartment was the perfect location in which to explore the city. It has everything we needed to start and end our day, as well as make meals (if we needed too. But to be honest we ate out since the food is so good in CT). It was a very nice, safe and secure apartment! Comfortable at the end of the day as well as sizable enough to get yourself situated. It was easy to arrange transportation from that area, and also there were many walkable areas in close vicinity, some of the best restaurants. As gay travelers we were also very close to a lot of great nightlife. Perfect location.

I would have to admit the best of all was the owners support and help in making sure the place worked well for us. I would highly recommend a stay here!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review the apartment. It's most appreciated.

I'm so glad you enjoyed Cape Town and hope to see you both back here again some time soon.
Helpful votes: 4/4