I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very dirty.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.
Beachwalker Rentals website and the app are really nice along with the ladies that work there. The cottage itself was nice, pictures were the same as the actual cottage. When we got there though there were some dirty plates in the cupboards which was okay i just loaded the dishwasher. On the second night we noticed the roaches. I called Beachwalkers and the lady was nice and said she would send someone out to spray. After that we found a half alive roach each night. This was not pleasant! We have two young kids and we planned to eat in a lot, I was washing dishes all of the time. Before we ate I had to wash them just to make sure my kids and my husband and i did not eat off plates that had roach germs. Closer to the middle of the trip my daughter and i tried to make brownies. We had the batter ready and the oven would not turn on. It doesn't look like its ever been used. After that i called Beachwalker again and told them i was seeing roaches still plus the oven didn't work and i wanted some of our money back. if i would have known about the roaches and oven not working i would never have stayed there, and I never will again. I am still waiting to hear back from Beachwalker about my partial refund.
Manager responded on 6/4/2013:
Thank you for your compliments about our staff. We try to make everything perfect for you, and we appreciate your kind words.
We are very sorry about the difficulties you encountered during your stay. The bugs you encountered, Palmetto bugs, live here in the Maritime Forest. These bugs are not due to a lack of cleanliness but are due to moisture in the area.
We sent an exterminator out to spray for the bugs when they were reported. Unfortunately, when the bugs are sprayed, this initially causes more bugs to temporarily come out as they are drawn to the spray.
We have not had anyone report problems with the stove in that property. The stove is now working. Please report a problem as soon as it occurs. We would love the opportunity to correct the problem while you are in house.
Did you find this review helpful?