Bar Harbor cottage rental - Deck side of cottage facing the mountain and water views
Deck side of cottage facing the mountain and water views
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Bar Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Blue Hill Vista is located in the Bar Harbor village of Town Hill (Indian Point Area) just a 15 minute drive (6 miles) to the main entrance of Acadia National Park in Hulls Cove. Downtown Bar Harbor is just another 5 minutes drive from the Park entrance. A short walk from the property, operating seasonally, is The Island Explorer bus stop which allows car free access to the entire Mount Desert Island, including the National Park. We are centrally located close to all island points of interest and easily accessible to off island points and shopping. You will be in very private, relaxing setting but in minutes you could be in the hubbub of Downtown Bar Harbor, Southwest Harbor or Ellsworth.

The cottage is located on seven acres overlooking pastures, orchards, woods and water. From the deck and west facing rooms you will view breath taking sunsets over Western Bay and Blue Hill. Have your cameras ready! The cottage has two bedrooms, 2 baths, one with a shower in the master bedroom and the second bathroom has a tub/shower combination. The master bed room with the queen size bed has a television and views the gazebo and the woods. The second bedroom with a full size bed with a sliding glass door which opens on to the deck and has views of Western Bay and BlueHill. For your dining and entertaining all dishes, flatware, glasses, bowls, platters, pots and pans, cooking utensils, lobster pot, crock pot, linens, towels are provided for your convenience. The cottage has everything you will need to cook up a great meal. Appliances include an Jenn-Air electric stove, a dishwasher, microwave, toaster, ice maker and a washer and dryer. The dining area has a table with six chairs as well as two high counter chairs. Beach towels and beach chairs are also available for your trips to Sand Beach, Echo Lake or Seal Harbor beaches. The full sofa bed in the living room is perfect for the children in your family. The living room door leads to a deck with a table and chairs with an umbrella for comfortable dining. The front of the cottage has a farmer’s porch furnished with rocking chairs so that you can enjoy the cool breeze coming through the trees.

On the second floor, along with an outstanding view of Western Bay and Blue Hill, you will find a full-size Brunswick billiards table in beautiful wood-paneled cathedral-ceiling family room accented with a standing antique barber pole to give it an old-time flavor. The room comes equipped with television, VCR, DVD players, a game/card table,full size futon/couch and a twin bed. In case you brought your computer, high speed wireless internet service is available throughout the house

The outside grounds are beautifully landscaped and there is a bocce court and playground with swings, slide and small climb-up covered club house for family fun.

We supply all linens, firewood, paper and soap products, books, puzzles and games. You simply bring your own food, clothes, bikes and kayaks. Sunsets included, no extra charge! The cottage is comfortable, homey and contains everything necessary to make your stay a very pleasant one. If you’re here when the weather is cool the living area has a wood burning stove. (The first floor also has in-floor radiant heat and the second floor has baseboard hot water heat for winter guests and there is an automatic generator in case of power failure.)

Judy and I have owned this property for over 30 years and retired here fifteen years ago and we wouldn’t live anywhere else. The rental cottage has the best view on the property. We built our home adjacent to the cottage and that's where we live year round. The rental cottage is a complete identity unto itself and you will have complete privacy but if you want help or recommendations about anything in the surrounding area or have any problems with the cottage we are readily available. Otherwise, if we’re home, we will be invisible. Enjoy your stay in our homestead.

Additional pictures are available upon request.

Travel to Bar Harbor by air has a number of options. The closest airport is the Hancock County Airport (Bar Harbor) is in Trenton, Maine a 10 minute drive to our property. Other airports include Bangor (1 hours drive), Portland, ME (3 hour drive), Boston (5-6 hour drive) and Portsmouth, NH (5 hour drive). Upon signing of a lease, driving directions will be provided.

Keywords: Vacation house, water view, Mountain view, private, playground, Winter Season rental available

More Details
Hide Details

We are retired educators from New Jersey and we would not consider living anywhere else. We are at our happiest when our 3 grown children, their spouses and our 12 grandchildren visit. Ralph and Judy are active tennis players and are members of the Ellsworth Tennis Center. Ralph has also built a stained glass studio where he creates his art work mostly incorporated into our home and as gifts to our children. In addition to tennis, Judy plays badminton at the MDI YMCA throughour the year. Both of us do volunteer work and serve on a local board of directors.

We were first attracted to Mount Desert Island in 1972 when we visted the island with 3 young children. We loved having Acadia National Park so accessible for all our outdoor activities and entertainment. We especially liked hiking and biking the carriage trails, climbing the many mountain trails, swimming in both Echo Lake and Sand Beach and picking wild blueberries!

Restaurants are located all over the island. Whether you like casual, rustic, or fine dining , with our advice and direction, I'm sure you'll find many to suit your likes.

15 Reviews of Property 349586 in Bar Harbor, Maine

Beautiful Private Cottage & Grounds W/ Water & Mountain Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Beautiful Private Cottage & Grounds W/ Water & Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349586vbi
207-288-4088
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
United States
5

great spot in spite of the rain

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This vacation home is outstanding. The owners made us feel very welcome and were extremely knowedgable about acadia and bar harbor. It only rained hard one day, otherwise it was great for hiking and birding. I would recommend this property very highly, with many extras you would not getat another place - pool table, bocce, upstairs game room , new outdoor barbeque, short walk to a nature preserve,great patio view of sunsetsover the bay. Favorite place to eat was Lundt's lobster pound across Trenton bridge on the left about a mile - clam chowder the best as well as great lobsters and the best lobster roll ever. I definitely plan to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed our taste of paradise! We would love to have you return and hopefully experience plenty of sunshine.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Private Cottage & Grounds W/ Water & Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349586vbi
207-288-4088
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Woodland Park, NJ
5

Nancy & Tom

Nancy & Tom
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
What a beautiful spot. The cottage is comfortable and cozy with all the amenities of home. Judy & Ralph are fantastic hosts and made us feel right at home. If you enjoy the great outdoors be it sitting, walking, hiking or bike riding, this spot should be on your bucket list. The view of the cove from the deck is very special.. We had a great time and would definitely stay again. Thanks Judy & Ralph.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Nancy & Tom, So glad you liked your stay at the Cottage! We hope you'll consider coming back and visiting Bar Harbor in the future!
business
Beautiful Private Cottage & Grounds W/ Water & Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349586vbi
207-288-4088
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Coon Rapids, MN
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
If you are looking for a very quiet, tranquil place to stay, we would highly recommend this property. It is very clean, very spacious & well-equipped. Ralph & Judy were close by to assist us in getting our bearings, places to see, restaurants to eat at, etc. We were in a wooded setting off the beaten path, yet very close to Acadia, Bar Harbor & the surrounding villages. We would do this trip all over again in a heartbeat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We loved having you visited our cottage and very happy that you enjoyed your stay on this very special island. Come back and see us again and visit the many places you didn't get a chance to experience on this years vacation.
business
Beautiful Private Cottage & Grounds W/ Water & Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349586vbi
207-288-4088
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Fort Lauderdale, FL area
5

What a paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Thank you, Ralph and Judy, for opening your guest "home" to my friends and I. It far succeeded any
expectations we could have ever had for a perfect place to stay for the visit on your beautiful island.
You were gracious hosts and your home was comfortable, conveniently located, and perfectly situated.
The sunset views were breathtaking and I can't stop looking at the pictures. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would recommend your cottage to anyone wanting a Bar Harbor area stay. Thank you for all your help and advice! Massimo's baked goods were delicious... thanks for that tip!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Private Cottage & Grounds W/ Water & Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349586vbi
207-288-4088
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Litchfield,Maine
5

OUTSTANDING in every way ! ! ! !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
What a beautiful cottage (it's really a house). It is comfortable and cozy with all the amenities of home available for use. Ralph and Judy are gracious hosts and made us feel right at home. The view of the cove from the cottage is spectacular. We especially enjoyed watching the deer on the lawn each morning as we ate our breakfast. We had a lovely time and would definitely stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was certainly our pleasure to have you and your family & friends stay at our cottage. I have already seen signs for next year's MDI marathon. Looking forward to seeing you in 2012.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Private Cottage & Grounds W/ Water & Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349586vbi
207-288-4088
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Boston, MA
5

perfect family rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We stayed here with our two young children and found it to be just fantastic! We were able to come back easily for naps and able to enjoy adult time soaking in the view after the kids went down at night. The cottage offered all the amenities of a full sized house and it was a treat to do laundry if needed. The owners were so helpful with their great suggestions and the location to all places on the island was perfect. Thanks for all of the hospitality. We hope to return soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Please come back a visit with us again. There is so much more to see on Mount Desert Island!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Private Cottage & Grounds W/ Water & Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349586vbi
207-288-4088
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Salem, Oregon, USA
5

A fantastic place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We were pleasantly surprised with this place. The "cottage" is more like a home than a rental. The views, grounds, location and everything about it are understated in the property description. The owners are the nicest folks and so helpful in their recommendations. We were initially concerned that the property wasn't close to Bar Harbor but actually found the location to be excellent since it is easy to get to all parts of Mt Desert Island from there and yet you feel like you are in your own private paradise. We would stay again and highly recommend the property to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your very kind comments about your recent stay in Bar Harbor. Please make sure the next time you visit the area, you'll consider staying with us again. Judy & Ralph
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Private Cottage & Grounds W/ Water & Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349586vbi
207-288-4088
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Towanda, Pa
5

Fabulous Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This was our first time to Maine with children and this cottage made it possible. We were so close to so many great attractions like downtown Bar Harbor, Bar Island (our kid's FAVORITE spot), and Acadia National Park in all it's splendor. We got great directions and tips from our hosts and were able to feel at home in the cottage and bring the kids back for naps. We DEFINATELY will be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Private Cottage & Grounds W/ Water & Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349586vbi
207-288-4088
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Pittsford, NY
5

Blue Hill Vista Acadia Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We have been going to Acadia NP since the early 90's. we have stayed at Blue Hill vista every year since it opened. The views are spectacular, beautiful sunsets. The house is great for our family and friends who visit us. We love Acadia. the hiking, biking , running and food are superb. In addition, Ralph and Judy, the owners live next door and are some of the nicest, most helpful people you could ever meet. i would recommend this place highly to a friend ,or relative. It is well worth the 12 hour drive we take every year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: These guests know more about Acadia then we do.! They climb every mountain trail, bike both the 50 miles of carriage roads and the Park Loop Road, swim at Sand Beach and stay busy from early morning to late afternoon. They love grilling, sitting on the deck and enjoying the sunset before another day of wonderful experiences.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Private Cottage & Grounds W/ Water & Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349586vbi
207-288-4088
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Thank you for the beautiful house & being such good neighbors. You have a great view and we loved watching the Olympics with a view. Thanks again.

Burlington, VT
Toronto, ON