Fabulous house, Horrible follow up with problems
We rented Villa de Nona with friends. Between the two families we have 5 children between the ages of 4 and 10 and our goal was to relax poolside, and relax. We were very specific in trying to find a location fairly south in Florida for warmer temps and find a home with a HEATED pool in case the weather was cool. The temperatures averaged 60's during the day and low 50's at night. Not ideal, but perfectly fine for swimming for the kids in warm water. The first thing we did on Saturday at arrival was try to heat the pool that was in the low 60's. We followed the direction to the T. The pool did not heat. We called the management company Saturday and Sunday with no answer, after trying several numbers, filled voicemails, and some texts, we finally received an answer that someone would be out later that day. We went to a relatives house an hour away to swim who said they would heat their pool for us. As a side note, their pool was in the 60's and within 2-3 hours was almost 80 by our arrival. The handy man came out Sunday afternoon and said he fixed it and not to touch or change anything on the pool remote, 24 hours later, the temperature did not move. After more unanswered phone calls, filled voicemail boxes, and texts on Monday, the handyman came back, we showed him why it wasn't working. Tuesday, finally the pool company was sent out, after that we only were able to get the hot tub to heat. We then heated the pool by switching the valves out on hot tub and moving the water between the hot tub and pool . My husband woke up two times a night every night during the vacation to keep the pool heated for the kids. There was no pool cover for heat retention and the pump was leaking. While the lack of service of was annoying, what angers us is that we did not receive our full deposit back because of an electricity charge. 3.5 of the days were spent heating a pool with a broken heater. We not only expected a full deposit back, but some type of refund for 3.5 days of lost time around the pool, driving to another pool to swim, and lost sleep. Again this wasn't a Disney trip, but time to relax. I emailed the management company about this issue and still have not heard back from them. Our next step is to try and figure out who owns this property or request a charge back.
Owner's Response: We regret not having met the renters satisfaction in regards to the pool heating. We had some issues with our old pool heater which the pool company tried to fix, however it took too long and we understand the frustration of the renter. In the mean time a brand new pool heater was recently installed and we have taken care of the issue with the renter. Now we have a 115BTU electric pool heater that heats up the spa up to 104 degrees in less than 2 hours and heats up the pool to a comfortable 85 degrees overnight.
Helpful votes: 3/3
Did you find this review helpful?