Chicago house rental - Large but cozy
Large but cozy
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Chicago House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5/6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths (Sleeps 12)

Our Historical home is set on a huge landscaped lot, perfect for entertaining or relaxing on one of the decks. Built is 1958, this home retains a lot of its old fashion charm with the right mix of modern conveniences. We are located in between O’Hare Airport and Downtown. The Harlem “EL” station and the Norwood Park Metra stop are a short walk away and both will take you downtown in about 20 minutes. You will be close enough to downtown to enjoy it but leave the hustle and bustle to retire in this quiet oasis. We have plenty of great restaurants and shops are within walking or a short drive away. Woodfield and Old Orchard Malls are close, as well as Muvico Premier Movie Theater. In addition to the great location, our neighborhood is filled with character. The houses have retained the detail and charm of from their historical beginnings. We are surrounded by parks and playgrounds, providing loads of entertainment for children. And feel free to walk around the neighborhood without a care; it’s the safest part of Chicago.

Five bedrooms will comfortably sleep 10; a pull out sofa bed will sleep an additional 2 people. All three of the bathrooms are large and include showers. In addition, the master bath has a 2 person Jacuzzi tub. We provide a fully equipped kitchen and stocked with food or catered meals upon request and extra fee. The formal dining area is perfect for an elegant family dinner. Lush couches in the entrance way and living room are perfect for lounging to read a book or watch a movie.

I will assure you that this home will exceed all of your expectations without the price of a hotel.

Keywords: House, 5, Big, Backyard, Laundry, Beautiful, Well, Kept, Sofa, Kid, Kids, Pets, Hot Tub, Jacuzzi, Whirlpool, Large, Historical, Quiet, Parking

More Details
Hide Details

This has been our Family house since 1978. It started as a typical brick bungalow with just two bedrooms and one bathroom. In 2000, our home underwent a major reconstruction which completely rearranged the layout, giving it an open floor plan. The 'Circle' is a close knit neighborhood and just about all of the neighbors have been there as long as we have.

We have been renting the house on a vacation rental basis since 2010 and its been a great experience. We have met many nice and interesting people.

The Owner purchased this house in 1977

28 Reviews of Property 327039 in Chicago, Illinois

Historical Home Minutes from Downtown
average rating of 4.851852 based on 28 reviews
business
Historical Home Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327039vb
(773) 851-5542 (Illinois, USA)
Chicago Illinois
5

Our Family Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had an absolutely fabulous holiday gathering! Everything was wonderful and the owner was gracious, helpful, and over the top on kindness. We all enjoyed the home and the location and the access to sightseeing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Historical Home Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327039vb
(773) 851-5542 (Illinois, USA)
Chicago Illinois
Oceanside, CA
5

Beautiful house in beautiful neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We came to Chicago with many family members for our daughter's wedding. This home was in a nice location and close enough to Logan Square where our daughter lives. The house is well appointed with all the amenities of a family home. A couple of the mattresses were a little worn but all in all it was an unbeatable house at a very reasonable price.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Historical Home Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327039vb
(773) 851-5542 (Illinois, USA)
Chicago Illinois
aurora, ontario, Canada
4

HIstorical home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We found the house to be as exactly as described. It was located in a very lovely suburb,minutes from the major highways. It was clean and very well furnished. the large backyard and decks added to the ambiance. Rooms were a good size with comfortable beds. Kitchen was large and provided ample sitting area.
Only slight negative was the noise from the overhead planes (which after awhile you got used to it) and the traffic on I-90 if you are driving.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Historical Home Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327039vb
(773) 851-5542 (Illinois, USA)
Chicago Illinois
Edmonton Alberta Canada
4

Marathon Review

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Very happy with this rental. Three families rented the house for the Chicago Marathon. We used the L Train as our mode of transportation and it worked great for us. The house was clean and comfortable. Nice amenity was the washer and dryer. Would be happy to rent this property again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Historical Home Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327039vb
(773) 851-5542 (Illinois, USA)
Chicago Illinois
CT
4

Great place for a crowd

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was a perfect place for a crowd. Much roomier than expected - the pics do not convey how large the house is. Easy access to transport - takes about 40 minutes to get downtown. House very clean on arrival. Owner of the house was not the easiest to get hold of via email, but did return all my phone calls. Neighborhood very nice and I would recommend this house to friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Historical Home Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327039vb
(773) 851-5542 (Illinois, USA)
Chicago Illinois
Winnipeg, Canada
5

Three generation family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
There was plenty of room for our group of 11 in this comfortable home. The open kitchen and family room were great spaces for everyone to congregate. There were lots of comfortable seating. We even managed to fit all of us around the dining room table for a sit-down meal.

The neighbourhood was beautiful. We felt very safe taking the train back from the theatre district and from Wrigley field even late at night. Walking at a leisurely pace, it took about an hour for us to get from the house to the Chicago Art Institute on the Blue line train.

Overall, we had a great stay, but I agree with the previous reviewer, some minor fixes would have made our stay a bit more comfortable. Having the oven door close without having to use a chair would have saved us from having to lean over the chair to reach the pan on the range!

Thanks Matt for sharing your lovely house.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historical Home Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327039vb
(773) 851-5542 (Illinois, USA)
Chicago Illinois
California
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our group of seven women friends from grade school got together 40+ years later in this wonderful house. The house is very large we were able to spread out for privacy when we wanted without even hearing each other. We loved the kitchen opening to the family room and spent most of our together time there. Everyone loved the house and the quiet, safe neighborhood. We enjoyed just walking around the neighborhood, looking at all the different houses. The train is an easy walk away and is quick to get downtown. We had a wonderful weekend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historical Home Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327039vb
(773) 851-5542 (Illinois, USA)
Chicago Illinois
5

Surprisingly spacious!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This house is a lot bigger that it looks. We were surprised how roomy it was for our group of ten. Six adults and four kids. Well furnished and equipped with most everything you need. Beautiful woodwork and tastefully updated. It was perfectly located to suit our needs. Sixteen miles from downtown and only 4 miles from Zanie's Comedy Club in Rosemont. The neighborhood is beautiful and we felt safe too. We enjoyed the backyard grilling/patio. Did seem to lack in supplies such as paper products, dish sponge, dishes and utensils. DVD player didn't work and the oven door does not close tight. We propped a chair in front while using it. Shower door upstairs wasn't functioning and my daughter needed assistance getting out. Just minor things. We would absolutely do it again. Matt is very pleasant and easy to work with.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Historical Home Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327039vb
(773) 851-5542 (Illinois, USA)
Chicago Illinois
Olive Branch, MS
5

Family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a great way to celebrate with family in this house! It doesn't have a feel of a vacation rental, it's more like "coming home". The owner is very nice, and we LOVE the big kitchen which opens up to the family room and dining area. We used the formal dining room once. Rooms are spacious and outside patio is great for grilling . This place is perfect for families - we make beautiful memories in this home. Thank you, Matt!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historical Home Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327039vb
(773) 851-5542 (Illinois, USA)
Chicago Illinois
Seattle, WA
5

The Beginning of a Christmas Tradition

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
After staying in this well appointed family home, you will never want to stay in a hotel or motel again. We can validate everything that was said in the previous reviews. It was a pleasure to hold a Christmas Day family reunion here. It is centrally located and handy to expressways so the gathering of the Clan was easy. Everyone agreed that we should plan to have our holiday celebration here again next Christmas.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3