Mathews house rental - Laugh at the cold from either the hot tub or the fireplace chat set in background!
Laugh at the cold from either the hot tub or the fireplace chat set in background!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
 

Mathews House Rental Photos and Description
Romantic Waterfront 2 BR Cottage on Piankatank River! Nice Amenities!

* See guests testimonials at end. *

A little piece of paradise! This cottage is located in Mathews County, VA which Budget Travel has ranked in the Top 5 Coolest Small Towns in America!

With this storybook 2 Bedroom waterfront cottage you'll get EXTREMELY CLOSE-UP views of the Piankatank River and Chesapeake Bay. Whether you're inside or out the expansive water views are unsurpassed! In fact, I know of no other place in the area where the home itself is so close to the water.

Viewing the sunrise over the water while laying in bed is unforgettable! Watching the sunset illuminate the sky while soaking in your private hot tub on the waterfront deck is sure to leave a lasting memory as well. The water is so close you could cast your fishing line into the water from your rear deck. You'll actually have to go out a little farther to catch the fish but the point is, 'you could'.

While not gazing at the water you won't be disappointed with what the rest of the cottage has to offer as well. It's furnished with top quality furnishings throughout.

Master bedroom has queen size bed with tempur-pedic mattress, 2nd bedroom has daybed with pop-up trundle that converts to either king size bed or two separate twin size beds. Both mattresses are tempur-pedic as well. The living room, enclosed porch, and both bedrooms have high definition tv's with dvd player. All 4 tv's have access to satellite tv provided by DirecTV.

Kitchen is fully furnished with refrigerator, microwave, oven/stove, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, blender and garbage disposal.

Don't feel like cooking? Well, just walk out your front door and across the yard to the steak and seafood restaurant known as Sandpiper Reef Restaurant, 'Mathew's Best Kept Secret'.

Kitchen, living room, and both bedrooms have bamboo floors!

Outside on the deck facing the waterfront there is a large hot tub, fireplace chat set to lounge around and take off the chill on those cooler nights, plenty more seating, charcoal grill, and an outdoor shower with hot and cold water.

Quiet community offers residents and guests beach areas, pier, seasonal pool, tennis court, basketball goal, and play ground for small kids.

Owner has 3 kayaks, beach chairs, and bikes available for guests use. Guests may keep their boats at nearby marina for a fee or anchor boats capable of floating in shallow water in front of cottage. Sorry, no trailered boats allowed to be kept on premises.

Full service marina and free public boat launch about 6 - 7 miles away. Grocery, small shops, and churches nearby. Piankatank River Golf Club about 20 minutes away. Local cinema and bowling about 15 - 20 minutes away. Busch Gardens Theme Park, Colonial Williamsburg, and historic Jamestown about an hour away. See local listings for periodic local events such as oyster festival, fireworks displays, fishing tournaments, bicycle-athons, and more.

No extra charge for taxes, cleaning, linens/towels, or hot tub. The rate is inclusive of everything except deposit.

Come and visit. We'd love to have you!

Disclosures:

* There is no wi-fi.

* Cottage has been tastefully decorated to include several pictures and other decor with scriptural references to help create a sense of peace and relaxation.

TESTIMONIAL EXCERPTS FROM OUR GUEST BOOK AT COTTAGE:

3/23-3/28/13 'We had an enjoyable stay. The house is just beautiful and equipped with everything we needed. - Dale and Donna - West Farmington, Ohio

3/29-4/1/13 'This is a very homey, comfortable, lovely cottage with really excellent views! We had a really enjoyable long weekend here.' - Jean-Marie - Phoenixville, Pennsylvania

5/17-5/19/13 'We had a great stay. The house is beautiful and the views incredible. It is truly peaceful and relaxing.' - Nathalie and Robert - Bethesda, Maryland

6/1-6/8/13 ' You had all the views and relaxation one could hope for. Your cottage is adorable with all the seaside beach décor... The neighbors were very friendly.' - Bernie and Tay - Gallaway, New Jersey

6/9-6/13/13 - 'This is truly a beautiful and tranquil place to relax and enjoy all that nature has to offer! We really enjoyed being here and felt so at home, too. You seem to have thought of everything one could ever need to be comfortable and at ease in their surroundings.' - Kathryn and Harry - Richmond, Virginia

6/14-6/20/13 'Our 6 day stay was amazing... The beach is so clear, so beautiful. There was so much wildlife to be seen!... The house was very accommodating, everything we hoped it would be and much more. Thank you Robert for our finest vacation yet!' Jess and Adam - Wapakoneta, Ohio

7/20-7/26/13 - 'You made us feel like we were special guests...Thank you is not enough to express our experience at Misti Cove. I personally love the cleanness and quality of everything...' Marta and Marian - Cresco, Pennsylvania

7/27-8/2/13 'Your house is simply amazing! It was so relaxing and just what you need to recharge for a week. The sunrises were beautiful from the bedroom. Your house is stocked of everything we needed! The neighbors are also very friendly!'

- Shannon and Greg - East Berlin, Pennsylvania

8/3-8/10/13 'I can tell you it was worth each of the 16 hours of driving it took us to come here! Very comfortable, very quiet, it was a perfect place to relax with family. It was amazing because the water was so clear...We will recommend your place to our friends!!!' - Sebastian and Annie - Granby, Quebec - Canada

8/11-8/17/13 'Best vacation we had for a long time. Everything perfect. Fishin good. Kayakin real good. Will do it again.' - Frank - Richmond, Virginia

8/18-8/23/13 'We enjoyed a very relaxing stay at this cottage...We enjoyed daily trips to the pool, beach, and relaxing in the hot tub. We took a fantastic evening cruise with Mathews Deadrise Charters. The Mathews Visitor Center is a must stop as well. We will remember Mathews County with great fondness. Thanks!' - Erica and Jerry - Madison, Wisconsin

8/31-9/7/13 'Thank you so much for letting my husband and I stay in your house this week. It is so relaxing and so beautiful. We took some trips sightseeing but were always in a hurry to return. Inside and outside of house is set up with so much thought to comfort it is amazing.' - Teresa and Lee - Huntington, West Virginia

9/18-9/23/13 'What a lovely time we've had! The cabin has been everything we hoped for and more. Charming place...' - Sally, Chris, and Mary - Edinburgh, Scotland, U.K.

9/23-9/27/13 'Thanks for the great cottage. All of the hospitality offerings were appreciated.' - C & E - Chicago, Illinois

9/28-10/5/13 'Such a beautiful and peaceful spot to sit back and relax. If we are ever back this way we will be sure and stay again.' - Julie and Stan - Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

10/11-10/14/13 'Loved it! Great cottage- just what anyone would want/need.' Cynthia and Russell - Sidney, New York

10/18-10/21/13 'The views are absolutely breath taking! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt right at home... We saw many boats and used the spotting scope as well. The house is very cozy and has everything we could ever need. Thanks for helping to make our anniversary a great one.' - David and Kimberly - Timberville, Virginia

11/1-11/4/13 - 'We have had a very relaxing time here in your cute little cottage. The hot tub was wonderful. We like the red light at night...The amount of stars you can see is amazing. I love the hammock...All the homey touches and décor make this the perfect waterfront cottage. It has been everything pictured online and then some.' - Lisa and Mickey - Huntington, West Virginia

More Details
Hide Details

The cottage's extremely close proximity to the water is probably the closest you'll find in the area when it comes to BIG water views. The private outdoor waterfront hot tub that guests can soak in while taking in the views is also a rarity. The outdoor waterfront fireplace chat set complements the hot tub and helps extend the cooler days. From the endless views looking out toward the Chesapeake Bay to the enchantment of lights across the river at night, these sights and more help create a sense of wonderment that is hard for the eye to look away.

12 Reviews of Property 3492676 in Mathews, Virginia

Million Dollar Views No Extra Charge! Waterfront Hot Tub! $165/ngt w/3 ngt min
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews
business
Million Dollar Views No Extra Charge! Waterfront Hot Tub! $165/ngt w/3 ngt min
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492676
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Maryland
5

Personal Journey

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I stayed at the cottage for a week. The cottage it's amazing and well equipped. Robert was great very smooth transaction. The hot tub is magical and the views are breathtaking.

Tip: Not much to do in Matthews. I suggest driving 30 minutes over next city on 198. You'll find restaurants, Starbucks and a Walmart.

Staying at the cottage helped me rediscover the simple joys of life. I will most definitely return to this enchanting home!!!
business
Million Dollar Views No Extra Charge! Waterfront Hot Tub! $165/ngt w/3 ngt min
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492676
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Secluded, quiet, peaceful.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The weather didn't really cooperate, but that was no one's fault. We enjoyed the amenities, and spent a delightful 3 days relaxing -- which we really needed to do. We love the water, so it was a pleasure to watch it from our bedroom window. We only used the hot tub once but it was delightful. We loved seeing bluebirds and woodpeckers, and of course there were lots of gulls out on the water.
business
Million Dollar Views No Extra Charge! Waterfront Hot Tub! $165/ngt w/3 ngt min
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492676
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Virginia Beach, Va USA
5

Perfect Place to Relax!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I stayed for two nights in this cozy home. It is very clean and beautifully decorated. Cute beach cottage feel. The view is breathtaking! You can see it from the master bedroom as well as the living area/kitchen. The bed has a foam top which was extremely comfortable! We used the hot tub both evenings. Since both nights the temperature dipped below freezing it was cold walking out to it but worth it once we got in. Viewing the stars from the warm hot tub while also having a view of the water was PRICLESS! We had dinner at the seafood restaurant directly across the road-walking distance. The food was good. Prices were reasonable for the two of us but would have been pricey if we were feeding a whole family. We highly recommend this home and plan to return again in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Million Dollar Views No Extra Charge! Waterfront Hot Tub! $165/ngt w/3 ngt min
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492676
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

An Amazing Getaway Location! A must go!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What can I say but it was a wonderful vacation!! My wife and I went into the hot tub everyday and it was really really relaxing! Beautiful scenery, ambient surroundings, and the interior is decorated wonderfully. What more can you ask for on your days away from work? I would definitely recommend this property to any of my friends or family! You will not be disappointed & you will really enjoy your stay here!
business
Million Dollar Views No Extra Charge! Waterfront Hot Tub! $165/ngt w/3 ngt min
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492676
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

An amazing getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What can I say but it was a wonderful vacation!! My wife and I went into the hot tub everyday and it was really really relaxing! Beautiful scenery, ambient surroundings, and the interior is decorated wonderfully. What more can you ask for on your days away from work? We took the kayaks out into the water, watched TV (which is in every room), dipped in the hot tub, and relaxed on the hammock. I would definitely recommend this property to any of my friends or family! You will not be disappointed!!
business
Million Dollar Views No Extra Charge! Waterfront Hot Tub! $165/ngt w/3 ngt min
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492676
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Huntington, WV
5

Great getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
All the comforts of home. Exactly as pictured and more. I loved the hammock! There are so many options of seating and hanging out! My only wish was that we had chosen warmer weather so we could take the kayaks out. Quiet and relaxing. Very clean. The hot tub was fabulous. Lots of settings and the colored lights were so cool. The bed was super comfy and the view was fantastic. We laid and looked at the stars across the water. I have never seen so many stars! I would recommend this cottage to anyone who wants to escape the rat race. We will keep this place at the top of our getaway list!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Million Dollar Views No Extra Charge! Waterfront Hot Tub! $165/ngt w/3 ngt min
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492676
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Lovely house with a beautiful view.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is a well kept, lovely little house and the owner could not have been be nicer. The location and the view are wonderful. All of the neighbors were really friendly and helpful. We stayed a full week but most of the neighbors were there only on the weekends. I have already recommended this place to my friends and would stay here again.
business
Million Dollar Views No Extra Charge! Waterfront Hot Tub! $165/ngt w/3 ngt min
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492676
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
4

Amazing!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This house is amazing!!! Very cozy and beautiful views... We had such an amazing time while on vacation :) the only thing I would suggest would be wifi in the house!!! That kinda stunk where we had no reception at the house :( but overall great!!!
business
Million Dollar Views No Extra Charge! Waterfront Hot Tub! $165/ngt w/3 ngt min
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492676
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

The "million dollar views" are actually priceless!

The "million dollar views" are actually priceless!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our stay was so wonderful and relaxing and we are already looking at dates when we can visit again! The cottage was charming and so comfortable, too, with everything needed to feel right at home. The variety of birds we observed was amazing; we watched Osprey and Heron and even saw an Eagle. And, if you like to fish, this is the place to catch them. We caught Puppy Drum, Speckled Trout, Stiper, and big Croakers, too! When we were not fishing, we were swimming. The water is so calm and warm and shallow for hundreds of feet out; perfect for families with children. We just can't can't say enough about how nice this place is and look forward to spending more time here soon! Kathryn & Harry
business
Million Dollar Views No Extra Charge! Waterfront Hot Tub! $165/ngt w/3 ngt min
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492676
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

A perfect paradise home in an idylic location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This cottage is simply amazing, the little touches of home and the beach and the furnishings make it very attractive to stay in. I spent weeks trying to find the perfect spot for my 40th with my boyfriend who flew in from England, so something special was needed, and Misty Cove didnt dissapoint in any way. The owners have clearly put lots of time and effort into making this a special place, the location was perfect for an idylic peaceful rest, and canoeing in the water just off the deck was a highlight. The Sandpiper Restaurant steps from the cottage served amazing food. This is certainly a house that has been made into a home and I cant wait to return. I would recomend this to anyone who wants to stay in a top quality cottage with beautiful scenery and the only noise being the rustle of the trees or the water. We were sad to leave.