Boston house rental - Bar seating for many guests and cooks to share time together
Bar seating for many guests and cooks to share time together
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Boston House Rental Photos and Description
5 BR, 6000 sq ft, high-end amenities, convenient location

No parties, no weddings (no exceptions- sorry!). Online CALENDAR is always up-to-date. Please check for availability. Click the CALENDAR button near the top picture.

UPSCALE FAMILY HOME

Enjoy the comforts of this upscale home as your base to explore all that Boston and New England have to offer. Perfect for your next family trip/event, winter holiday, summer vacation (yes, we have full AIR CONDITIONING), or Boston Marathon respite -- just 10 mins north of downtown Boston and 2 stops on the commuter rail. 4500 sq ft on 2 floors plus fully finished basement rec room for a total of 6000 sq feet or ~500 sq meters.

BEDROOMS

5 BR and 4.5 baths with high-end finishes, including heated tile floor & towel warmer in master bath. Not one, but two KING beds, 2 QUEEN beds, and 2 twins. Two air mattresses (twin size) available as well. Two large sectional couches are comfortable to sleep an additional 4.

MASTER SUITE -- king-size, memory-foam mattress, 32 inch HDTV, overhead reading lights, large walk-in double closet, luxury bathroom with jacuzzi tub, heated stone floor on a timer for morning warmth, heated mirrors, towel warmer also on a timer for your morning shower, double vanity, and shower with multi-head spray jets. High-end Egyptian cotton linens, luxury cotton oversize bath towels.

TWO LIVING ROOMS

Spacious family great room on 1st/main floor with gas fireplace, seating for 16, huge 60 inch HDTV, & large bay window seat overlooking garden. Second, separate closed off library/music room with French doors for privacy, desk, gas fireplace, Yamaha upright piano, games & books.

FINISHED BASEMENT REC ROOM

Fully finished walk-out basement rec room with home theater with 110 inch HD projection TV screen & surround-sound, hardwood floors, gas fireplace, ping-pong table tennis, indoor swings, & a giant white board for kids' imaginations. Free wireless internet & home security system.

DINING & KITCHEN HIGHLIGHTS

Elegant dining room for 12-14 with very comfortable chairs & sunset view. Gourmet 18'x24' kitchen (*if* you want to cook) with huge 6'x8' center island, bar seating for 4 & all top-end stainless, built-in appliances:

* Thermador 6-burner gas range, built-in Electrolux microwave, Electrolux 3-rack oven, Sub-Zero 48 inch fridge, ultra-quiet DW, 2 full-size sinks, 2 disposals; second fridge for overflow food storage in basement; another 32 inch HDTV for the chef(s)

* Coffee maker & grinder, toaster, Cuisinart food processor, KitchenAid Mixmaster, blender, juicer, waffle maker, panini maker, and every gourmet pot, pan, & utensil imaginable.

* 3 sets of dishes, elaborate wine & martini glasses, crystal high ball & low ball glasses

* Walk-in pantry; full access to spices & staples in case you forgot anything (help yourself to flour, salt, sugar, rice, etc.)

* All paper supplies, luxury soaps, etc. provided

* Kitchen also features a 75 gallon salt-water fish tank with tropical fish, live coral, and sea anemones. Children (and adults too) will be fascinated!

OUTDOOR FEATURES

Lovingly cultivated extensive & private gardens with large cedar play/swing set, blue-stone patio, extensive flowers, koi pond, fountain, several bird feeders, gas BBQ grill, hammock, and a large hot tub which fits 7. Patio furniture with table & seating for 8 plus outdoor propane heaters & fire pit near the patio dining area.

LOCAL & TOWN ATTRACTIONS

Our home is nearly adjacent to the 2000 acre Middlesex Fells state forest/reservation and also very close to the 2 major highways (I-93 & Route 128) so you can get anywhere very quickly. Winchester has a quaint New England town center with gourmet restaurants and shops. The commuter rail departs from town center for just 2 stops to North Station in Boston's financial district.

Winchester has 20 excellent public outdoor tennis courts & a public indoor tennis center, a public Borggaard Beach & children's waterplay park (freshwater), sailing at nearby Spot Pond, nearby public golf courses, and fantastic beginner & advanced mountain biking & hiking in the Middlesex Fells reservation. You will love this peaceful, beautiful, yet vibrant setting with great proximity to all that Boston has to offer.

For Christmas, house will be fully decorated with a large tree in the main family room.

Keywords: Boston, Massachusetts, Marathon, MIT, Harvard, BU, Andover, Phillips, academy, convenient, MGH, Winchester, Longwood, Patriot, Patriot's, Patriots, Celtics, Red, Sox, Middlesex, Fells, forest, Spot, Pond, tennis, Belmont, Arlington, Stoneham, Woburn, Lexington, Crane's, Shore, Wakefield, Melrose, Winchester hospital.

More Details
Hide Details

Having lived in Boston's South End for 12 years, we wanted a family home in a suburb *very* close to Boston. We love to travel & are happy to have others enjoy the house while we are away. Our family loves the outdoors & sports with lots of biking, tennis, skiing, cross-country, jogging, and even sailing/canoing nearby at Spot Pond.

JenniferD purchased this house in 2001

Winchester has been fantastic -- so convenient to Boston/Cambridge and other regional sights and also a wonderful New England town. We've equipped our home with many amenities to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Huge kitchen/family room for large gatherings yet also many separate areas for peace & quiet.

The 2 king and 2 queen beds have highest quality memory foam mattresses and very comfortable, ample pillows and bedding.

10 Reviews of Property 3484286 in Boston, Massachusetts

Upscale 5 BR Boston Home - April Boston Marathon & July/Aug Family Vaca
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Upscale 5 BR Boston Home - April Boston Marathon & July/Aug Family Vaca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3484286
+1 6175491990
Boston Greater Boston
5

Incredible vacation home experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We have been renting vacation homes 12 years and this Boston area home is one of the best we have rented.

The location is excellent and allows easy travel in any direction. Winchester is a quaint and lovely little town.

Jennifer was easy to work with and helpful in EVERY. The home is beautiful; the surrounding yard and floral gardens are lush and peaceful as well as provided a tranquil setting for our family time together.

Pictures do not do the home justice; it is a lovely, spacious, and well appointed home. Attention has been given to every detail in the home. It was a real joy to spend our week in this home; we highly recommend renting this vacation home in the Boston area. Illinois family
business
Upscale 5 BR Boston Home - April Boston Marathon & July/Aug Family Vaca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3484286
+1 6175491990
Boston Greater Boston
5

Incredible home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This house is amazing! It is beautiful and has everything you need for a fabulous stay - cookware, spices, towels, paper towels, just everything! The backyard trampoline, zip line, play structure, and hot tub were such a hit with the kids. Plenty of space throughout and excellent family gathering areas. The owners are friendly, gracious and super nice people. We highly recommend renting this home.
Owner's Response: Thank you Tricia! Glad you enjoyed Thanksgiving in Boston. We'd love to have you back any time!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Upscale 5 BR Boston Home - April Boston Marathon & July/Aug Family Vaca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3484286
+1 6175491990
Boston Greater Boston
Saratoga, NY
5

Beautiful Home for a Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We just had a fabulous 3-day family reunion in Winchester at this beautiful and comfortable house. The house is very well maintained, clean and in an excellent spot for enjoying Boston, Cambridge, getting to the airport etc. I especially liked the layout of the kitchen for our group dinners, the unique art & decorations throughout the house and the lovely gardens in the back yard. My sister, Colleen handled the booking and indicated the owners were well organized and nice to work with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a nice review -- glad you had a wonderful time with your family & we hope you'll come back again!
business
Upscale 5 BR Boston Home - April Boston Marathon & July/Aug Family Vaca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3484286
+1 6175491990
Boston Greater Boston
5

Summer family reunion - perfect spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our family gathered to celebrate my parents' 70th birthdays and this spot was perfect for us! We were comfortable in the spacious home that gave us room to spread out and accomodate all the sleeping needs of the babies and children. We spent several evenings as adults out on the peaceful & large patio among the abundant flowers enjoying the sunsets, water fountain, koi pond, and even the fire pit. The kids loved the swingset & climbing structure plus the hammock. The proximity to the city of Boston was great, too. Thanks for a lovely stay and hope to be back again!
business
Upscale 5 BR Boston Home - April Boston Marathon & July/Aug Family Vaca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3484286
+1 6175491990
Boston Greater Boston
5

Beautiful, spacious, immaculate, convenient.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Our family enjoyed a long weekend here in order to go into downtown Boston and see the sights. This home could not have been more perfect for the 6 of us: grandparents, parents, and two teenagers. The owners went out of their way to provide us with a leaflet telling of sights to see, facts about the community, and info about the home. It had every amenity you could want and it was a welcome relief to come home to after a day in the city....only a 15-20 minute drive. I most certainly would highly recommend this home to friends and relatives!
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the Boston city highlights, as well as the comforts of home - thank you! We hope you'll come back again soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Upscale 5 BR Boston Home - April Boston Marathon & July/Aug Family Vaca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3484286
+1 6175491990
Boston Greater Boston
Portland, Maine
5

Outstanding Boston family home -- great family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
As a fellow VRBO property owner, I really appreciated this outstanding rental home. Our group of 10 thoroughy enjoyed the home which was extremely comfortable, well-equipped, and well-managed. This is the perfect home for a family gathering -- and a terrific location. 5+++ rating! Thank you for a great stay and very enjoyable family reunion.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Upscale 5 BR Boston Home - April Boston Marathon & July/Aug Family Vaca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3484286
+1 6175491990
Boston Greater Boston
5

Excellent weekend get-away - terrific owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
As five couples (grad school classmates), we enjoyed a mini-reunion with a weekend getaway. What a great location & home! The husbands loved the HUGE TV screen for sports. We all enjoyed big dinners together & the convenience to Boston. Walking in the nearby state forest was beautiful around the reservoirs, and we were so pleased to be able to bring our dog, too. All the arrangements were very easy thanks to the owner's speedy replies. The home truly could not have been a nicer place to spend a weekend near Boston. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Upscale 5 BR Boston Home - April Boston Marathon & July/Aug Family Vaca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3484286
+1 6175491990
Boston Greater Boston
5

Family Thanksgiving in luxury with great access to Boston

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This home was the perfect spot for our family to gather & enjoy Thanksgiving together. The home is just as GORGEOUS as in the photos -- and we really appreciated all the attention to detail & comfort which the owners provided. The kitchen was fastastic for holiday cooking. Lots of space for everyone to gather & enjoy cooking together -- or just to hang out nearby with TV and games. Our adult children loved the hot tub in the private garden and our grandchildren loved the basement rec room, with indoor swings! Jennifer & Mark were a pleasure to work with in advance and provided a very helpful printed "guidebook" with info on the house & the local area. We try to gather at least once a year at a large home near a city, and this was truly one of the very best properties we've enjoyed. Thank you for sharing your spectacular home with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Upscale 5 BR Boston Home - April Boston Marathon & July/Aug Family Vaca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3484286
+1 6175491990
Boston Greater Boston
5

Boston's Best

Boston's Best
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This house is a true treat. It is a gorgeous house with every amenity that you could want. Additionally, the owners are wonderful and very accommodating. We could not have asked for a nicer place to rent or nicer people to rent from. We spent Christmas in Boston and they even decorated the tree for us! We felt right at home and had a wonderful Christmas with great memories for the whole family. We have rented various properties all over the country and abroad. This was truly the best experience we have ever had. I highly recommend this property. You will not be disappointed!
Owner's Response: We really try to create a wonderful experience for guests -- so glad you enjoyed the house!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Upscale 5 BR Boston Home - April Boston Marathon & July/Aug Family Vaca
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3484286
+1 6175491990
Boston Greater Boston
5

Fabulous house, fabulous exchange

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We exchanged with this family in July 2012 and had such a fabulous time. Ours was a last minute exchange which was easily arranged - our hosts were accommodating and generous. Their home is extremely spacious and exceptionally appointed with a vast kitchen, dining room and multiple living areas, with the highest quality decor throughout. The rooms on all 3 levels are stunning, as are the gardens, outdoor terraces and koi pond, which adjoins the hot tub. Our daughters especially loved the TV/game room with its huge home theatre, ping pong table and even indoor swings! This is an exceptional house. The owners were very flexible, friendly and helpful, and the house instructions very straightforward.

Boston and all it has to offer is close and accessible, but Winchester is a lovely historic town with charms of its own and from here it was easy to explore New England ( the Ipswich Clam House was a favorite.) Our family had such a memorable vacation, and we certainly hope to again. We've exchanged around 10 times by now, and this one was very very special. We highly recommend it!
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a nice review! We'd love for you to come back in the future and appreciate the good care you gave our home during your stay. Thanks again!
Helpful votes: 3/3