Hancock cottage rental - Mill Cove Cottage A Getaway For Two
Mill Cove Cottage A Getaway For Two
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Hancock Cottage Rental Photos and Description
For Couples Desiring a Quiet Getaway

Truly unique, romantic cottage with 475' of tidal water frontage. Enjoy enticing views of Mill Cove across to Blue Hill Mountain and listen to the magical sounds of the stream running beside the cottage. Built for two, the first floor includes a newly remodeled kitchen, dining and living area. The second floor has the bedroom and bath room. Awaken in your king size bed and watch the sun come up over the water without raising your head from the pillow. Spend your days exploring the rocky Maine coast and evenings by the fire. It just takes two to make Mill Cove Cottage your perfect couple's retreat.

Vicki and I live and work in Delaware, Vicki as a nurse liaison for our local hospital ER and I in custom home sales. We have been traveling to Maine off and on for the last 28 years, first staying in motels, then bed and breakfast and lastly in a cottage in Blue Hill we found on HomeAway. We have fantasized about owning a cottage in Maine and during each trip we scouted properties for sale. In 2010 we found Mill Cove Cottage on the internet and went to take a look at it during our fall trip. It was a mess! Weeds filled the lot, window panes were falling out, the roof was shot, there were no cabinets, it had an old gas range and bar sized refrigerator, a toilet and claw foot bath tub sat in the middle bedroom! But we fell in love with the location and the uniqueness of the cottage and settled on it in December.

The challenge became how to transform this run down gem into a desirable retreat for couples wanting a special getaway, doing this from our home 700 miles away! By pure luck we found Marilyn (the property manager) and Arthur. Arthur was able to take our amateur drawings and sketchy ideas and work his magic. In the spring of 2011 we arrived to apply the finishing touches. In July of 2011 our first couple arrived. They were newlyweds!

Mill Cove Cottage is designed, furnished and supplied for couples. There is no room for children, friends or in-laws. The couch is not a sleeper! It is a retreat, a getaway, a sanctuary. It is for getting to know each other better and for reflections of the past. It is for young or young at heart. It is for relaxing and exploring. It is for two people who want to spend time together.

Dale and Vicki Strohmaier purchased this cottage in 2010

8 Reviews of Property 348419 in Hancock, Maine

Just for Two
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Just for Two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348419
+1 3026294008
Hancock Downeast and Acadia
5

A little piece of paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Beautiful property. Clean. Uncluttered. Excellent view. Everything you need for a vacation for two people.
Owner's Response: *
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Just for Two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348419
+1 3026294008
Hancock Downeast and Acadia
5

Beautiful Views, Cozy Cottage, Wonderful Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Mill Cove Cottage is a beautiful little cottage for two on a small bay! It is far enough off the main path that it is not busy yet close enough to all of the "maine" attractions of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park!

We had a great time seeing all of the sites around the area, going whale watching, and even driving to see all of the small towns, but it was always nice to have this great cottage to come home to!

The listing does not do justice to how wonderful this place is. There are so many amenities provided for you, more so than most high end hotels. They provide wood for camp fires and there is even a babbling brook right next to the house which provides splendid ambiance to the property.

The kitchen, bathroom, and laundry area were well stocked for use with everything you could possibly need! All you need to provide is your own food! The owners check in via email in the middle of the week just to make sure everything was great!

Bottom Line, we would recommend this property to any young to middle aged couples looking for a week away in a beautiful place!

Thanks Dale and Vicki for everything you have put into this place! It is fantastic! We will definitely be back!
Owner's Response: The review is accurate.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Just for Two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348419
+1 3026294008
Hancock Downeast and Acadia
5

Beyond Awesome!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We decided to honeymoon in Maine and found this cottage... This place along with its owners are beyond awesome!! Dale & Vicki are simply amazing people! They communicate quickly and effectively. They also helped significantly in explaining different things to do, places to eat, things to see, etc... Along with explaining to us the history of the place and area! Simply put they are AWESOME!
Now... the cottage is great! All wood inside, which I love!!! perfect size for 2, beautiful view, especially from the bed!! Simple and perfect! They even gave us a bottle of wine from bar harbor cellars! Good stuff!! The area of Hancock is also cool! I am glad I came here rather than bar harbor area... close enough yet far enough from the craziness!
We found a really cool lady 2 miles down point road who makes and sells pottery! Her stuff is awesome and price quite reasonable (Point Road Pottery).
Having a kayak was a lot of fun! Plan the tides! We went out and watched a fishing boat do its thing!
Needless to say, the place is just the best!
We can't wait to go back!!!

Thanks so much to Dale and Vicki for the use of your beautiful cottage!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Just for Two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348419
+1 3026294008
Hancock Downeast and Acadia
5

Beautiful, comfortable, great location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I stayed in the cottage while traveling solo.Besides the obvious romantic getaway, this is a great place for one person as well.
The cottage is located in a quiet area.The land that the house sits in is lined with trees and has a view (and access) to the lake.You can see gorgeous sunsets from the deck, from the chairs by the fire pit closer to the water and even from the living room, kitchen and bedroom.If you like to sit outside at night, do not miss the starry sky on a clear night.And if you don't like to be outside… not to worry, there's a skylight right over the bed.
The house has more than everything you will need for cooking (including some basic staples), doing laundry, cleaning and relaxing.There's a TV set in the living room across a very comfy sofa.The kitchen is fitted with more things that you will probably use, and everything is magically within arm's reach and ridiculously easy to find but not cluttered at all. The bed mattress is cozy and comfy too, and there's another TV set in the bedroom in case you get tired (which you won't) of staring at the view through the picture window at the foot of the bed. You can tell that the owners have had not only theirs but also their guest's comfortability and convenience in mind. Every time I thought I might need something, it was right there in the most logical place possible.
The red binder on the coffee table has tons of information on places to shop for groceries, restaurants in the area and even tours and drives you can take.I loved the location of the cottage: you can take half to one hour drives any day and be in a different beautiful place every time (Mt Desert Island, Winter Harbor, Bar Harbor, Deer Isle and the town of Castine to name a few). If you're up for the 2 hour drive, you can also visit the town of Lubec, ME with a beautiful lighthouse (West Quoddy Head Light) and a town where "time hasn't reached yet" (something a Lubec local said to me). The owners where always courteous and very quick to answer emails.They were also so nice and accommodating to my every need and request.
So that's what this property has: it's beautiful and comfortable, it's in a great location, the owners are super nice people who really care… what more can you ask for? This is no doubt the perfect vacation spot. So much so, that if I can take a similar trip next year, Dale will be certainly hearing from me again. I truly don't have enough words to recommend this place to anyone who reads this listing.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Just for Two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348419
+1 3026294008
Hancock Downeast and Acadia
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. The photos shown on this site are an accurate representation of the cottage. The property was clean and had everything we needed - great view of the bay. The tool kit came in handy for a bike repair we needed to make before heading to the carriage trails at Acadia National Park. We found the location to be very convenient to the park and to other towns we enjoyed exploring. The owners left us a note and a bottle of wine from a local vineyard which was a really nice touch. The grill and the lobster pots were great. I absolutely loved the shower head - felt as though I was at a spa. The owners were great -- they were quick to communicate via email and provided all of the necessary information. I would highly recommend this place to others. Booth Bay Harbor is a great place to visit! We give it two thumbs up!!!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Just for Two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348419
+1 3026294008
Hancock Downeast and Acadia
Bridgeport, West Virginia
5

Home Away from Home Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The cottage was exactly as advertised and my husband and I felt as though we were right at home the minute we arrived. The lot is very private and has a great view of the water. The weather in Maine in July is incredible and we did not need to use the AC at all. The location is very desirable -- just a short 30 min drive to Bar Harbor and Acadia NP. There is a big, fat Raccoon who likes to raid the trash can at night and he is a crafty one. I was not able to get a picture, but did get an up close look at him one night. :-] We had a wonderful time and hope in our future travels we can make it back one day. I highly recommend if you are looking for a cool & cozy summer getaway built for two. (Not for those who have trouble with stairs as they are very steep or for those who may be bothered by road traffic noise, which can be considerable at certain times during the day.)
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Just for Two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348419
+1 3026294008
Hancock Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Email from Daniel

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Dear Dale and Vicki,

The cottage was amazing! It exceeded our wildest expectations. Thank you so much for allowing us to stay there! Everything was so wonderfully clean and new, and as soon as we walked in the door, we both truly just felt right at home. The red binder was extremely useful and helpful with its plethora of information. It was really nice and appreciated that you took the time to put that together for
us. It really made adjusting to the area extremely easy considering we were to be there for such a short period of time.
- We really didn't eat out too often, we went food shopping when we got there, and made a lot of meals at home in the cottage, and ate overlooking the beautiful sunsets every night! We used the grill to cook steaks one night,and that worked wonderfully, and was very easy to use.

We only had to use the air conditioner on the day we arrived. Everything was sealed up when we got there so it was a bit hot and stuffy inside, but we quickly opened up all the windows and it cooled down comfortably in a very short span of time. Other than that, we didn't have to use it at all. The breeze that comes through was wonderful, and kept us at a very comfortable temperature all week long. - We both had such a wonderful time at Mill Cove Cottage and would
love to come back and stay there again. Thank you so much, once again,for allowing us this wonderful opportunity. It was my first time in Maine, and I could not have asked for a better experience. Hope you are both safe and made it through Hurricane Irene without any damage.
Daniel
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Just for Two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348419
+1 3026294008
Hancock Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Email from Mill Cove Cottage first Client

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Dale and Vicki,
Thank you for the follow up. Mill Cove was amazing and beautiful. Glen and I couldn't have asked for a more relaxing and inviting place to spend a week. We were both pretty speechless when we arrived. The online pictures don't do the cottage justice. It is so nice in person. We really couldn't get over how well prepared and thought out you made everything for your guests. All week long we just kept saying how nice it was. It felt like home for a week.
We actually spent 2 of the days just relaxing out by the fire pit watching the tide go in and out. The view from the bed was fantastic also. And if you don't mind me asking what kind of mattress was that? That was the most comfortable mattress either of us have ever slept on.
As for sightseeing, your red notebook was extremely helpful not just for the information about the cottage but for places and things to do in the area. We did a lighthouse boat tour one day from bar harbor and walked around town. On our own saw all sides of Acadia National Park including Schoodic penninsula, Winter Harbor and we toured the other side which looped around Bass Harbor lighthouse. We tried a few area restaurants too and of course the lobster. The week was a perfect mix of sightseeing and relaxing.
We loved everything about the cottage. Everything about the cottage was truly worth every penny. We really could not have had a better experience any where else. It is very evident that Mill Cove is a project that you have treated with love. There was a lot of effort put into that cottage and it shows. We hope that we kept it looking as nice as it did when we first arrived.
We haven't sorted through all our pictures yet but we will definitely send you a couple that we think you might appreciate. As for the weather it was certainly not as hot as it was back home that week but it was warm for Maine standards. Though we actually only used the air conditioner one evening but we were glad it was there.
We can't thank you enough for letting us stay in such a wonderful home for out first Maine experience. We will be talking about our vacation and your cottage for years to come. Thank you for being so thorough and friendly throughout the whole process of renting Mill Cove. Your hospitality is an 11 on a scale of 1-10!
Again thank you so much and we will send some pictures soon.
Suzanne and Glen
P.S. Thank you for the bottle of wine!
Helpful votes: 2/2