The property is conveniently located to the village and Jay Peak access road. The home has a lot of potential for a family or small group and the owners are polite and very responsive. That is why i allow myself to give it one star.
Unfortunately, upon arrival we found the home to be dirty and inadequately maintained, delivered below minimally acceptable standards of cleanliness for a vacation home. We are a family of four (kids age 9 and 10) with basic expectations of cleanliness (not Four Seasons expectations) when we travel, whether renting a home or staying in a hotel. This home was not rental-ready. I first attributed the situation to perhaps a breakdown associated with local cleaning service. But surprisingly, the owners actually acknowledged the property's imperfect cleanliness when i complained. They didn't find it overly dirty, saying that they "don't treat the house as a primary residence, it is more of a ski house. " It really would have been nice to know this before I rented the property.
My family encountered the following:
* linens not clean
* kitchen/bathroom floors dirty, shower not scrubbed
* dirty carpeting
* furniture/window sills grimy and undusted
* refrigerator with spills/stains
In addition, there was no cable/wi-fi as advertised, and the heating system blows inefficiently with upstairs vents located only in the bathroom and hallway, not in the bedrooms. Not really ideal or comfortable for a family of four on a cold, 3-day ski weekend.
Our first nite at this property was our last. It turns out that the Ski Gods didn't cooperate anyway with freezing and pouring rain throughout the first nite and day. We enjoyed the water park ( great for kids and adults) and mountain on our first day. The mountain ended up closing on what would have been our second day, but we were already gone.
Our experience was disappointing and really was unnecessary. The owners should take the proper (basic), measures to clean the property appropriately and deliver it professionally, or be more candid about their maintenance practices with prospective renters. Some people may actually be fine with these conditions, but all should be aware.
Owner's Response: The weekend this renter checked in (Dec 20, 2013), a huge ice storm hit the area, and Jay Peak actually closed (google 12/20/13 weekend at jay peak). The renters asked for a refund claiming the condition of the house was not up to their standards, when in reality they were just disappointed that Mother Nature ruined their weekend. Every other review on the house is positive, but clearly you can't please everyone. In addition, if you have any problems while you are at the house, simply call us and we will get it fixed immediately. As for wi-fi and cable, they most definitely are there, and instructions are provided for anyone wishing to read them :)
Helpful votes: 0/2
Did you find this review helpful?