Jay Peak farmhouse rental - View from the corner of the yard in back of the house, overlooking Trout River
View from the corner of the yard in back of the house, overlooking Trout River
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Jay Peak Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
3 bed sleeps 10, walking distance to stores & restaurants, has wifi, wood stove

Comfy red-roofed 2-story colonial set on the Trout River in the middle of a quintessential Vermont village. The house sleeps 8-10 with room for a few more dinner guests. It’s simply decorated, quiet and comfortable. There’s a full kitchen with dishwasher, pots, pans, spices and everything you’ll need, a wood stove in the living room, sectional sofa that seats 10. For entertainment there’s high-speed wifi, cable TV, 46” LCD Flat screen, Nintendo Wii, a fax/scanner/printer, and stereo system with Ipod plug.

The best thing about this place is the location smack dab in center of Montgomery Center,.This is the only option while visiting Jay Peak where you can walk out your door (day or night) and have a supermarket, liquor store, 3 restaurants, 2 bars, a post office, ski & bike shop, video rental store, pizza shop and gas station. It’s an 8 mile, 15 minute straight shot to the ski lifts in the morning. It’s an extremely convenient, fun location and a great, comfortable home.

Boston area real estate agent

Chris purchased this farmhouse in 2005

I chose this property because I wanted a ski house mins from Jay Peak that was also walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and fun in Montgomery Center.

Stumbling distance from the Snowshoe lodge and Pub (Located just across the river)

8 Reviews of Property 347815 in Jay Peak, Vermont

Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
average rating of 4.125 based on 8 reviews
business
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347815
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
4

Great Ski House!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This house is your quintessential ski house that can sleep 9 or so people comfortably. After a long day on the slopes, you can come back and cook up a nice meal in the fully equipped large kitchen, play a few games, watch a movie or surf the internet. When your group is ready, walk a few steps to the Snowshoe lodge next door for a few beers with no need to get into a car. The grocery store is also a few steps away. Very convenient, and truthfully, one of the best reasons we chose to rent here for a long weekend. Not having to get into the car after getting back from the slopes. One bathroom is a bit of a bottleneck with large groups, but we hardly had a problem taking turns. The colder bedrooms didn't bother anyone in our group either. Plenty of blankets and comforters to cuddle up to at night. We had a great stay and would stay again in the future.
Owner's Response: Thank you very much!! Come back anytime!
business
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347815
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Wouldn't Stay Anywhere Else

Wouldn't Stay Anywhere Else
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
House was very neat and well-organized when we arrived. A lot of open space and room to get comfortable. After about a half hour you feel as if you're in your own home. I would recommend this house to anyone looking for more than the usual hotel room experience. There really is no substitute.
Owner's Response: Thank you very much! We really appreciate the kind words, and are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to return anytime.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347815
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
1

Disappointing

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The property is conveniently located to the village and Jay Peak access road. The home has a lot of potential for a family or small group and the owners are polite and very responsive. That is why i allow myself to give it one star.


Unfortunately, upon arrival we found the home to be dirty and inadequately maintained, delivered below minimally acceptable standards of cleanliness for a vacation home. We are a family of four (kids age 9 and 10) with basic expectations of cleanliness (not Four Seasons expectations) when we travel, whether renting a home or staying in a hotel. This home was not rental-ready. I first attributed the situation to perhaps a breakdown associated with local cleaning service. But surprisingly, the owners actually acknowledged the property's imperfect cleanliness when i complained. They didn't find it overly dirty, saying that they "don't treat the house as a primary residence, it is more of a ski house. " It really would have been nice to know this before I rented the property.

My family encountered the following:
* linens not clean
* kitchen/bathroom floors dirty, shower not scrubbed
* dirty carpeting
* furniture/window sills grimy and undusted
* refrigerator with spills/stains

In addition, there was no cable/wi-fi as advertised, and the heating system blows inefficiently with upstairs vents located only in the bathroom and hallway, not in the bedrooms. Not really ideal or comfortable for a family of four on a cold, 3-day ski weekend.

Our first nite at this property was our last. It turns out that the Ski Gods didn't cooperate anyway with freezing and pouring rain throughout the first nite and day. We enjoyed the water park ( great for kids and adults) and mountain on our first day. The mountain ended up closing on what would have been our second day, but we were already gone.

Our experience was disappointing and really was unnecessary. The owners should take the proper (basic), measures to clean the property appropriately and deliver it professionally, or be more candid about their maintenance practices with prospective renters. Some people may actually be fine with these conditions, but all should be aware.
Owner's Response: The weekend this renter checked in (Dec 20, 2013), a huge ice storm hit the area, and Jay Peak actually closed (google 12/20/13 weekend at jay peak). The renters asked for a refund claiming the condition of the house was not up to their standards, when in reality they were just disappointed that Mother Nature ruined their weekend. Every other review on the house is positive, but clearly you can't please everyone. In addition, if you have any problems while you are at the house, simply call us and we will get it fixed immediately. As for wi-fi and cable, they most definitely are there, and instructions are provided for anyone wishing to read them :)
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347815
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Awesome Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The house was a blast to stay at. 5 feet of snow the week before helped out since the conditions at Jay were outstanding, but all around we could not have asked for a better time. The mountain is about a 15 minute drive away which was perfect for us. You could walk across the street to a store that had everything you needed. There was plenty of room to sleep with couches that pull out as well as plenty of bed space. Kitchen was very roomy to cook in and eat and the living room was set up perfect with the fireplace and nearly brand new TV. We would love to come back and enjoy the place again. The owner was very easy to talk to and answered any and all questions from the first email to cell phone texts about the house during the stay. A+ Service. You cannot go wrong with this place! Thanks again Chris!
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay! Look forward to having you again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347815
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
4

Not super amazing, but VERY GOOD!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Forgot to post up a review of this, we were a group of about 10 people, was my first time looking to book a cottage in Jay and these guys did a great job at the booking. Place was clean, entertainment was there...heating in the rooms though wasnt (i guess the heated covers werent working) but once under them, warmth was found lol.
Had issues with the stove (probably fixed by now) but who cares?! They had a skillet which made for epic meal times. The balconies ensured fresh 'beverages' and more storage spaces for our ski/snowboard gear.
And they were available for us (by phone or email) to provide assistance. Would've gotten a 5 if it werent for those 2 issues aforementionned. Location is great (next to grocery store) although it is a good 10-15 minute drive to the mountain, it's definitely worth it!

I'm going back to jay this year and the place is booked throughout march so im out of luck this year but i recommend it!
business
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347815
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Great Everything!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We had the best time while staying there for a week-end. The house is well prepared. You can't ask for anything more. 15 min drive to the mountain. Supermarket across the street. Amazing! Thanks again.
business
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347815
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
4

Snowboard Trip

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Loved the house!!!! Well furnished, clean linens, clean kitchen... washer, dryer everything we needed was there. Close to resort, grocery store, gas station, bank... superb location :) just a lil downer... for 8 people, we wished it came with more than one bathroom. But we learned to share :P

Your online description was spot on and even nicer than expecting.

So, other than adding one more bathroom, a hot tub outside would be a bonus lol!!! Thanks again for the house. We would for sure consider it for future visit!

Abi :)
business
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347815
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Awesome digs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My family had a great stay. Close to Jay Peak, and in a quaint town with walking-distance amenities. The house was spacious and comfortable, and the owners were helpful and kind.
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed your stay! We strive to please