Northampton house rental - South Garden
South Garden
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Northampton House Rental Photos and Description
Guest Suites in secluded home minutes from Smith College in Northampton.

GENERAL AMENITIES

-Private entrances and gardens

-Views

-Fireplaces

-Fully equipped Chef's kitchen

-Private garden/patio with grill.

-On site laundry

- Local art, literature and crafts

-WiFi and Sonos sound system featuring 'Rhapsody' music library

-Organic bed & bath linens, natural body & hair products

-Great tap water

-Large organic fruit & vegetable, flower gardens (for your use)

-2 'too friendly' dogs

ADVANCE NOTICE AMENITI

Personal Chef Services

Mountain View Suite can accommodate up to 40 guests for receptions or other events.

MOUNTAIN VIEW SUITE

The perfect apartment for the romantic who loves to cook and/or eat. Full access to our food & flower gardens. The Mountain View Suite is a one bedroom private suite that also features:

-Private entrance & terrace

-1000 square feet

-Queen bedroom

-Large bath with skylight & heated floor

-Fully equipped & stocked cook's kitchen

-Cookbook & garden library

-Wood-burning fireplace

BAMBOO SUITE

Simply the most romantic suite around - created for special times together - or when you just need some extra pampering - imagine a saltwater soak - in a bamboo garden...

The Bamboo Suite is being reconstructed and will be available in early 2013.

-Private entrance & bamboo grove

-600 square feet

-Kitchenette

-Large queen bedroom

-Sleeping porch

-Sun/moon-filled bathroom with 6 foot teak soaking tub

-Twin bamboo sinks

-Wall-less tiled shower

-Window wall with a view of the bamboo grove

More Details
Hide Details

We owned and operated a popular natural foods restaurant for over 20 years on the Smith College campus (closed 1/21/12).Green Street Cafe has been featured in many national and international publications (Gourmet, Bon Appetit, Yankee Magazine and Editors' Choice, NYT, ...) We now 'farm' Greens Treat and provide organic locally grown fruits, vegetables, herbs and flowers for 25 garden share members.

John purchased this house in 1999

The house and gardens sit on a south slope. Sunny and warm all year round with spectacular soil for our garden. And the view - calming.

One of the hosts is a chef and may be hired to provide special occasion meals for up to 40 guests.

4 Reviews of Property 3475041 in Northampton, Massachusetts

Romantic and Private with View
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Romantic and Private with View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3475041
+1 4135865755
Northampton Central Massachusetts
Rhode Island
5

Dream Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
There are not enough superlatives to express how wonderful our stay was. My husband and I stayed here with our one year old son in the fall and it was one of those trips that I reminisce about almost daily. First off, the yard is gorgeous and mountain view stunning. The house itself is cozy and modern at the same time, with a beautiful kitchen. Delicious bread was left upon our arrival, as well as fresh fruit and chocolate. This place is just perfect if you want a cozy place to relax at the end of the day.

In addition, there is an amazing speaker system piping into all rooms. Just link up to rhapsody on your phone and hear all your favorites throughout the house. To this day, I hear certain songs on the radio and am transported back to Greens Treat.

There are also walls of bookshelves to keep you amused, along with a working fireplace and firewood. If I could stay here again, I would in a heartbeat. Highly, highly recommended.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic and Private with View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3475041
+1 4135865755
Northampton Central Massachusetts
5

Quiet, clean, comfortable.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I stayed at the suite for three weeks last fall. Jim and John were extremely kind and accommodating.

The place was very clean, and had everything I could need and more. There are plenty of books, some games, a beautiful fireplace, a very nicely appointed kitchen and beautiful views from the dining and living area. It was quite a treat to make breakfast in the morning while enjoying the fall colors and a view of the vegetable garden outside. When I arrived, there was a loaf of local artisan bread, cheese, fruit, and plenty of things in the refrigerator to last for several days, and even beautiful fresh flowers from the garden. My first impression was that the place was bigger and more beautiful than it seemed in the photos. There is even a second bedroom!

John was kind enough to suggest places in town for grocery shopping and dining, and even gave me great ideas for day hikes in the area.

The suite is a short 10 minute drive from downtown Northampton and Smith College. Close enough to be easy to come and go yet in a very relaxing country setting.

I would definitely recommend this place to singles, couples and even a young family.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic and Private with View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3475041
+1 4135865755
Northampton Central Massachusetts
New Jersey
5

Peaceful perfection.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I had the wonderful opportunity to stay in this lovely suite for a few days recently. The place is so tranquil and peaceful, and John went out of his way to make my stay memorable. When I arrived, he met me outside and then gave me a tour of the suite, then left me to enjoy the quiet. On the counter was a delicious loaf of locally-baked bread, as well as fruit and wine. In the refrigerator there was yogurt, goat cheese, milk, half and half, and various beverages. There was granola on the counter, as well -- more than enough food to make several breakfasts!

The suite itself is lovely, with comfortable furnishings and a cozy master bedroom, as well as a second bedroom! The pictures in the listing are quite accurate. My only request is that I'd have loved to have a loveseat or overstuffed chair in front of the gorgeous fireplace. Ah -- the fireplace -- fully loaded with firewood!

I loved my all-too-brief stay in this lovely rental, and will absolutely be back! Thanks to John and Jim for a wonderful stay -- you truly have thought of everything necessary for your guests to have a relaxing getaway!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Romantic and Private with View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3475041
+1 4135865755
Northampton Central Massachusetts
Montana
5

Delightful Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We just spent five days at this delightful property. (We were visiting our daughter at Smith College.) A bit more than a five minute drive from downtown Northampton on good roads, this quiet, accessible, and yet secluded home, with lovely, countryside views met all of our needs. It was immaculately clean and very comfortable, with a large, workable, well equipped kitchen; a pleasant, open living and dining area; a separate bedroom; an extra room we did not use; and a spotless bathroom. A wall of books, including many, many cookbooks and gardening books and a working fireplace made the living space seem more like home than a rental. When we arrived, there was a fresh loaf of bread and fruit on the counter, and excellent cheese, milk, and coffee in the refrigerator. Lots of wonderful art decorated the walls. Jim and John saw to our every need, including delivering the Sunday New York Times on Sunday morning (a real treat for us Montanans), and answering our many questions both during the rental process and then again after we arrived. We'll return again, soon, we hope. We recommend this place without hesitation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3