Austin house rental - Beautiful Private Pool with Deck completely surrounded by Nature
Beautiful Private Pool with Deck completely surrounded by Nature
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
Bedrooms 4 Bathrooms 3, Sleeps 8 +

It is a beautiful charming classic home that sits on top of a hill on 3/4 acre with surrounding nature and privacy, an oasis in the heart of the city. It has a swimming pool and a fabulous view. overlooking the West Austin Sunset. The beautiful spacious living room with a grand piano is a great place to watch the lovely Austin sunset. The stone sun room opens to a path leading to the pool below. It is just minutes away from Mount Bonnell, Austin's famous landmark overlooking the city and beautiful sunset, Laguna Gloria Art Museum and Mayfield Peacock Park and Nature trails. Great for entertaining, the home captures an era of Old Austin. It is a 3 BR / 3 BA, has a pool with a deck that is completely private, a beautiful spacious living room, a stone sun porch and a library, great for lounging and relaxing. It has wifi, cable, washer/dryer, kitchen, private pool and deck and is a rare treasure to find--a vacation within itself.

My children and I welcome you to our family home built in 1941 by their great grandfather, distinguished UT Professor of English and Lord Byron scholar. My children and I have all grown up in this home and we hope that you will enjoy the privacy surrounded by nature, the charm, the beauty and the rich history of our unique and lovely Central West Austin Estate.in Tarrytown. A great place to leisurely stroll the grounds, entertain, relax and enjoy-- A private retreat in the heart of Austin.

Virginia Pratt purchased this house in 1941

Our 1941 estate and home has the flair of Old Austin and once hosted great parties with scholars, artists from a grand era. Now in the heart of the city, our home sits on top of a hill overlooking the West Austin sunset. We welcome you to our family home of generations and hope that you will feel the essence of a grand era--an oasis and a vacation in the heart of the city.

We hope that you will enjoy the beauty, the charm, the privacy, the peace and tranquility of our home amongst the beautiful wooded grounds and the surrounding nature. The vast, spacious home with the view of the West Austin sunset from the living room and sun porch is gorgeous and a vacation within itself. The home and the estate capture an era of Old Austin, a rare treasure to find.

14 Reviews of Property 3471825 in Austin, Texas

RARE SECLUDED 1940s ESTATE-CENTRAL AUSTIN GETAWAY HOME
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
business
RARE SECLUDED 1940s ESTATE-CENTRAL AUSTIN GETAWAY HOME
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3471825
Austin Austin area
Austin Texas
5

Feels Like Historic Austin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed here with extended family over the Christmas holiday. This hospitable and comfortable property was beautifully decorated for the holidays. The location slightly north of downtown, close to both the Mopac and Central Market, but still in a secluded area was perfect for a family get together. The owner, Virginia, was most welcoming, flexible to work with, and accommodated our requests. Our stay here left us feeling like we experienced historic Austin.
Owner's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you for your great review and I loved hosting you and your wonderful family for the holidays! I really appreciated you being so friendly, respectful and grateful and leaving the house so nice and clean. I hope it was a positive lovely experience and I hope that you will return again for your next vacation in Austin. Thanks again!
business
RARE SECLUDED 1940s ESTATE-CENTRAL AUSTIN GETAWAY HOME
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3471825
Austin Austin area
5

Great place to stay, secluded, very nostalgic,

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The owner is super, The property is nostalgic, very clean. Even though you are close to everything, when you stay here, you feel like no one is around, very secluded. The owner could not be any more customer service friendly!! If you are going to Austin, don't waste your money on a motel/hotel--this is so much better, Can't wait to go back. Had family from out of town come in for our son's wedding, they absolutely loved the place. We would rate it a 6 stars.
Owner's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you for your great review! I really appreciated having you and hope to see you again for your next vacation in Austin! I am grateful that you chose to stay here and had a lovely experience. Thank you for being so friendly and respectful and grateful and making it a positive experience for me as well. I hope to see you again for your next vacation in Austin! Thanks again!
business
RARE SECLUDED 1940s ESTATE-CENTRAL AUSTIN GETAWAY HOME
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3471825
Austin Austin area
5

Beautiful vacation home in Austin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and eight cousins stayed at this lovely vacation home in Austin during the Austin City Limits (ACL) Music Festival in October 2013. It was the perfect escape from the chaotic festival grounds. You enter the home via a long driveway through a tree-lined road, sort of like entering a secret garden. There is a lovely pool just steps outside, complete with a BBQ, plenty of chairs and Tiki torches that create a lovely night-time ambience. The home-owner is the perfect host and a masseuse to boot! Three of us got massages in the comfort of the house during our stay.

The kitchen has gorgeous cobalt blue glasses and dishes. There is a dishwasher and a washing machine/dryer at your disposal. The house is full of plenty of charm. There is a rustic piano in the center of the living room, that we used during our stay. Each room has a unique flavor, and it is clear that the host takes pride in customizing the details of this home. There are three bathrooms and three bedrooms, as well as the massage room, the living room, the dining area, kitchen, and a den. The home-owner also has an extra blow-up mattress, so all of us were able to stay comfortably. Given our large group, she also provided us extra towels. There were plenty of blankets and sheets available to us too. There are lots of well-planned toiletries available to be used throughout the house as well, like sun-block lotion, face wash, and a blow-dryer.

Downtown is a quick ten minutes away, so you are very close to lots of exciting things to do in Austin. We had a FABULOUS time, staying here. I would absolutely recommend to it anyone else, especially those looking for a get-away for a large group during ACL.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your great review and I am delighted and excited that you all had a FABULOUS time here! I really loved hosting you and I feel you all captured the festive spirit and beauty of the house, (OK, it's a great party house!) I just love that you all had a lovely time and a great party and relaxation experience at our 1940s Estate and carry on the tradition of many wonderful parties through our home's history. I am thrilled that you all enjoyed the charm, the beauty, the privacy, the location, the pool, the little touches that I have so much fun with for my guests, oh and the massages! I want everyone to have a great time celebrating and chilling out at our home!! Your group really got the experience I hope to create for anyone that we are blessed to host at our home.

Please come back for more Festivals that Austin has all the time and enjoy our home!!! I really appreciate you taking the time to write the review and ALL the things you remembered and enjoyed. And thank you for enjoying all the little touches and splashes of color I add to my home. I already have a new chill seating area to gather in conversation in the sun porch rock room that you will LOVE next time you come!

I really appreciated you all as guests and being so respectful and friendly leaving the house so nice and clean which makes my job so much easier. I really enjoyed the spirit of joy that you all brought to the house and it was so fun talking to you all in the driveway that one day. I felt like you were introducing you to an adult Disneyland the was you reveled at the sunlight, the view and the colors and everything. Thank you all and PLEASE come back!!!

All the Best,

Virginia
business
RARE SECLUDED 1940s ESTATE-CENTRAL AUSTIN GETAWAY HOME
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3471825
Austin Austin area
5

Great location and lovely unique house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a fantastic stay at this truly unique home. Virginia was a great host and made sure we were very comfortable during our stay. The house was spacious and in a great location, nearby so many restaurants, etc. We had a great time!
business
RARE SECLUDED 1940s ESTATE-CENTRAL AUSTIN GETAWAY HOME
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3471825
Austin Austin area
5

Had an amazing time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This home was a true gem!! It was very central and conveniently located near Mopac for easy access (5-10 mins) from downtown Austin and Zilker Park areas. The home had the rustic charm for a 1940's estate that you would expect but with modern conveniences to make it feel just like home. Virginia made sure we had all that we needed and thought of everything even tiki torches!! We had a blast and the house was so spacious we never felt like we were over crowded at all. I would highly recommend staying here. The pool is gorgeous with natural surroundings and the pictures do reflect the way the home actually looks only it is way better in person!
Owner's Response: I know it's been a while since your stay here, but I want to thank you again for choosing to stay here and I hope that you will return again for your next vacation in Austin. I really appreciate the great review you left and hope to see you again for your next vacation in Austin. Thank you for leaving the house in such great shape as well. Thanks again!
business
RARE SECLUDED 1940s ESTATE-CENTRAL AUSTIN GETAWAY HOME
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3471825
Austin Austin area
5

Secluded Home Convenient Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Home was very spacious and in a great location. Loved the trees and private pool. Had plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the home. Virginia was very accommodating to our needs.
Owner's Response: I know it's been a while since your stay at our 1940s Estate, but I want to thank you for choosing to stay here and we hope to see you again for your next vacation in Austin. I really appreciate the great review and thank you for leaving the house in such great shape as well. I look forward to hosting you again! Thanks again!
business
RARE SECLUDED 1940s ESTATE-CENTRAL AUSTIN GETAWAY HOME
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3471825
Austin Austin area
United States
5

Convenient and sleeps large group.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Virginia is the most welcoming hostess ever! She made the five days in Austin seem like we were staying with a close friend. Everything was as advertised and promised. There were plenty of towels for bathing and the pool. She had floats and toys for the pool; sunscreen and Off for our protection when spending time outdoors. She was not intrusive, but was available when needed to answer questions. The only complaint was the extreme heat the week that we visited which is to be expected in Texas in July. Being an older home, we were a little warm when we were at the house.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad that you had plenty of floats and towels at the pool and I hope that you had a great time. Many groups say that they enjoy the ambience and it really is conducive to having a nice private party and it seems that you enjoyed all in the spirit of our home. Getting things cooler at the house with shades and such so the rest of the summer and the next time you come, it will be a very cool experience. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay here and we hope that you come back again for your next vacation!
Many Happy Returns,
Virginia
business
RARE SECLUDED 1940s ESTATE-CENTRAL AUSTIN GETAWAY HOME
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3471825
Austin Austin area
5

Great stay - Virginia is extremely helpful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Virginia was a gracious hostess welcoming us into her home. The location was perfect, and allowed us to get away from the hussle of daily life. There was an abundance of space and plenty of room for our 8 guests. We used the estate as a bachelorette-weekend getaway and couldn't have picked a more perfect place.
Owner's Response: Hello Lovely Ladies!
Thank you for your great review and I hope you all come back again for your next vacation adventure. And please give the lovely bride congratulations on her wedding! She has a wonderful group of friends! All the Best to you all! Thanks again for staying here and we hope to see you again soon!
Virginia
business
RARE SECLUDED 1940s ESTATE-CENTRAL AUSTIN GETAWAY HOME
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3471825
Austin Austin area
5

Wonderful, Intresting, Spacious Private AWESOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The owner of this home was not only immensely hospitable but a complete sweet heart! I stayed here early this month for 4 days with 7 other guests. We all had our own space in the house, as there are many rooms and off-shoots, which was perfect. The pool is set behind the house, down stairs surrounded by greenery which was amazing, especially at night. We had tons of guests and the owner was great about not only welcoming our guests but helping them fit into the driveway! Absolutely wonderful, I will be back again next year!!!
Owner's Response: Greetings!
Thank you for your great review. You guys were the amazing ones, with all going on and leaving the house so clean and in such good condition! I commend you all! We look forward to you coming back for your next vacation in Austin!
All the Best,
Virginia
business
RARE SECLUDED 1940s ESTATE-CENTRAL AUSTIN GETAWAY HOME
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3471825
Austin Austin area
4

Great place to relax!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a great time! The owner was very gracious. She showed us around when we first arrived and even brought us toys for the grandchild to use in the pool. Loved every minute of it!
Owner's Response: Greetings!
Thank you for your nice review.

Also, Thank you for choosing to stay here and we look forward to seeing you for your next vacation in Austin! .

Wishing you all the best!

Virginia & Family