Uvita house rental - View above jungle canopy to beach.
View above jungle canopy to beach.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
Minimum Stay nights
 

Uvita House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Balllena is one of Costa Rica's hidden gems that should not be missed. Located on Costa Rica's South Pacific shore in Ballena Marine National Park, a renowned Marine Sanctuary that faces Playa Ballena, a pristine beach stretching along 4 kms of natural beauty. We are 20 minutes from Dominical and only 6 minutes from Uvita. Almost any activity you want to enjoy in Costa Rica is nearby.

Ballena is a renowned area for whale watching and natural marine and jungle beauty. You will be surrounded by serenity and natural beauty.

Casa Lutetia is a charming house that is bright and airy with a peak view of Ballena Island through the jungle. It is only a 5 minute walk to the beaches, yet is adjacent to dense forest which is home to two species of monkeys, numerous birds and other wildlife. Guests frequently see monkeys foraging and playing right outside your balcony.

If you are looking for a private and secure place to relax and/or be in contact with nature, this is the place to come. Come and visit us, nature is calling!

Additionally, you will be treated to luxuries upon arrival and assistance with all your travel needs prior to arrival and during your stay.

A minimum 50% deposit is due upon booking. This is 90% refundable with more than 30 days advance notice from check in date.

Deposit is 50% refundable from 30 -10 days advance notice from check in date. Cancellations within 10 days of arrival are subject no refund of deposit.

Balance due 10 days prior to check in, unless arrangements have been made to pay balance upon arrival.

Keywords: Private house, Jungle setting short walk to beaches, ocean view

More Details
Hide Details

You will enjoy a safe, private farm that is a rare location where wildlife inhabited forest reach beautiful beaches that see very few visitors. You will be surrounded by serenity and natural beauty..

11 Reviews of Property 347148 in Uvita, Costa Rica

Peaceful ocean view Home in Ballena Marine National Park
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
business
Peaceful ocean view Home in Ballena Marine National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347148vbi
506 - 2786 5409
Uvita Puntarenas
Campbell River, BC
4

At one with nature

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a wonderful time at Casa Lutetia. It is a spacious home in a beautiful setting. David and Natalia are extremely helpful and made the trip even better by offering assistance and information whenever needed. We saw monkeys from the deck every day, what an experience! Our family (with 2 teenagers) walked to the beautiful, secluded beach almost every day, as well. The house is secluded yet close enough to a grocery store and restaurants, plus plenty of other beautiful beaches if you want to explore more. The only downfall is that because you are in such a beautiful natural setting, some of nature's creatures find their way into the home. This is no fault of the owners and if you want the joy of a jungle experience, you need to be prepared for some unexpected surprises.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful ocean view Home in Ballena Marine National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347148vbi
506 - 2786 5409
Uvita Puntarenas
5

Absolutely unique experience in the Costa Rican jungle

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We feel so fortunate to find this place for our recent stay on in Costa Rica (especially now, after having seen a bit around the Central Pacific Coast of the country). It has it all: a stunning view of the ocean (from both the first and the second levels) through the canopy, unmatched privacy (if you crave for it), perfect wild-watching location (especially early in the morning and just before the sunset) and an easy and pleasant access to a couple of secluded beaches in the area. If you are looking for some nightlife, time your trip around the week of the TheBestFest (the annual 3-day music festival in the jungle, which seemed out of place to us, given the vulnerability of the region's wildlife). The best dining options can be found in Ojochal (be sure to make reservations though), with Exotica being our favorite place. The hosts (Natalia and David) will make the arrangements easy for you. Thank you for an unforgettable stay!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful ocean view Home in Ballena Marine National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347148vbi
506 - 2786 5409
Uvita Puntarenas
5

Peaceful, private, rustic beach vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We LOVED our time at this home. The owners are SUPER helpful, available by e-mail or skype before and during our stay, helping reserve activities and arrange transportation. The property is big, clean, with great views, and only a few minutes walk from the beach. The beach is secluded, rocky during high tide, but sandy and swim-able during low tide. We took the owners suggestion and headed down to the next beach (by a trail through the woods for a few minutes) where there is a wonderful cave you can walk through, and the waves are a blast to play in. The shower in the home is a little funky in terms of consistent water availability and pressure, but that adds to the feeling of adventure, and all was explained to us when we arrived. The kitchen is well organized and functional. If you don't have a car it is tricky getting around and taxis are expensive, but do-able. The upstairs room is all open, including the bathroom, and the bath up there is only cold water. We were two adult friends and two young teenage boys and we all loved it. The white faced monkeys were in the trees right by the house one morning, checking us out. The owners have a dog, Lucy, who adopts the visitors. She does not come in to the house, but sleeps peacefully out doors and is ready to show you the trail to the beach, watch over you, and make sure you get back to the house on the right path. A true host! Do be warned that the owners have two other dogs who stay on their nearby property. If you need to go on the owner's property, I would recommend that you e-mail the owner first to let him know and have the dogs put in the house or on a leash. The dogs are protective of their property and we had a bad experience with one of them. Other than that one incident, we had an amazing time and would go back in a heart beat.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Peaceful ocean view Home in Ballena Marine National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347148vbi
506 - 2786 5409
Uvita Puntarenas
5

spacious jungle house walking distance to beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Natalia and David's spacious, clean and comfortable (a bit sparsely furnished) house exceeded our expectations! We were greeeted with fresh banana bread and coconut water, as well as Lucy the dog, who became our guide and companion for the week. David and Natalia were available and helpful with suggestions for activities and happy to make reservations as needed. The gorgeous secluded beach was a pleasant walk through the jungle and provided hours of floating and bobbing in gently warm Pacific ocean surf.
The house is located 10 to 30 minutes from a variety of eateries, grocery store and activities, and less than an hour to the gateway for boat tours through mangroves and to amazing bio-diverse national park. We had a great time ziplining (Osa Canopy Tours), short hike and swimming near waterfalls (near location where Tilapia is caught and fried to order - our favorite meal) and fine dining in Ojachal (15 minute drive) as well as trinket shopping and people watching in surfing town of Dominical (30 min drive).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and your Costa Rica experience. And it was nice to meet your family and share the local beauty. Have a wonderful New Year.
Natalia, David and Daniel
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful ocean view Home in Ballena Marine National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347148vbi
506 - 2786 5409
Uvita Puntarenas
Colorado
4

Honeymoon

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a wonderful time at Casa Escondida! The home was beautiful and well taken care of. There was no air conditioning which was as struggle, but sill worth it! There were monkey's right outside of our window and lots of interesting flora and fauna to appreciate right outside our window! We would definitely recommend this home or any of the other homes on the property :)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful ocean view Home in Ballena Marine National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347148vbi
506 - 2786 5409
Uvita Puntarenas
Pleasant Valley, NY
5

Charming Private Villa in the Rainforest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our stay in Casa Escondido was absolutely wonderful! A charming house tucked away in the rainforest along the ocean in Playa Ballena. From our bedroom we could saw toucans and other birds, howler monkeys playing in the trees and lots of other jungle creatures. A short stroll along a jungle path and the Pacific Ocean awaits. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need to eat in, but there are some charming restaurants in the area too. David and Natalia are wonderful hosts, too. If you are looking for an authentic Costa Rican rainforest experience, this is it!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Peaceful ocean view Home in Ballena Marine National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347148vbi
506 - 2786 5409
Uvita Puntarenas
Escazu, Costa Rica (formally from Houston, TX)
5

Awesome experience!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I have lived in Costa Rica for over 16yrs and have travelled throughout the country extensively. I, however, had not been to this part of the country and was quite pleasantly surprised. My family and I agreed that this house has something special about it: jungle surroundings, exquisite decor, detailed attention to guest necesities, and close proximity to the beach. We even found some beach chairs under the house that we used when we walked down to the beach. The monkeys and toucans were a delight in the evenings, and Lucy, the sweetest farm dog, kept us company through our entire visit. Going to the grocery store was not an issue, as it was just 10 minutes away, as was Uvita Information Center, where we booked our tours!
We are already planning our next visit! Only a 3hr drive from San Jose (Escazu) on a great highway...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Peaceful ocean view Home in Ballena Marine National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347148vbi
506 - 2786 5409
Uvita Puntarenas
Truckee, CA USA
5

A Very Special Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This was our 4th visit to Costa Rica but our first to the Playa Uvita area. We had only 4 days so we wavered between driving the extra miles south from Manuel Antonio , Dominical or going on the Caribbean side but with David and Natalia’s excellent advice we rented a car and headed to Playa Ballena. The roads were great, 3.5 hours from airport. Natalia met us at the entrance to the property and escorted us to the house. What an amazing experience to stay on private property in a newly built cottage so near the beaches. Every day we walked to the beach to swim, body surf and run. Natalia offered to arrange any tour for us and offered many suggestions for lunches and dinners. Stores and restaurants are near by but the feeling of being in the jungle happens right from the window views. We had the chance to see Howler monkeys each afternoon into the evenings right from the bedroom and living room windows. By the end of our stay we thought we were birding and monkey experts. What a decadent life we lived in Playa Ballena. We can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Peaceful ocean view Home in Ballena Marine National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347148vbi
506 - 2786 5409
Uvita Puntarenas
Florida
5

most relaxing vacation ever!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
What a lovely house and the private setting is so peaceful! Super clean and comfortable, we loved just looking out into the tree tops to see all variety of birds like toucans and parrots. Monkey families were there every day as well giving us a good show as they hopped from tree to tree.
It's a quick hike down a trail to the beach where we were usually the only people there. The water was warm and the tide pools were great for spotting lots of colorful creatures. I am sure the snorkeling would be great there too! A waterfall right there was perfect for rinsing off before heading back up to the house.
There is a small town about 15 miles away for grocery shopping and also surfing lessons. Day trips like white water rafting and zip line can be arranged there in town.
Natalia and David helped us with all our needs and we hope to go back again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Peaceful ocean view Home in Ballena Marine National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347148vbi
506 - 2786 5409
Uvita Puntarenas
Colorado
5

Simple Elegance in a Magical Setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Thank you David and Natalia, we loved everything about staying in Casa Escondida! This little "hidden" gem is a glass sided house situated in a very private jungle setting with a beautiful, "secret" sandy cove safe for swimming within a 10-15 minute walk. Unlike many properties in this area, the home is easily accessible from the road (with security gate and owners nearby, so very secure feeling), yet you are surrounded only by the sounds of pounding surf, birds and monkeys. The home possesses a zen like tranquility; it is open and light with beautiful wood floors and high ceilings and artfully decorated with natural materials and original art. The place is impeccably clean and well appointed for all basic cooking needs. Pictures don't show the great outdoor shower. The small, multi-cultural communities of Uvita and Ojochal have everything you require within a short distance, including some "must visit" restaurants. Sierpe, the gateway to Corcovado National Park and Isla Cano, is only an hour away and the small surf community of Dominical is about 30 minutes up the road. David and Natalia are charming hosts and can direct you to many activities. Sonia, at the visitor's center in Uvita is also very helpful. The air conditioner was broken during our stay and it was terribly hot, but during the night there are cool ocean breezes so sleeping is very comfortable with just the quiet ceiling fans that are throughout the house. We were lulled to sleep by ocean waves and some great rain storms! Overall, heavenly!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6