Capitol Hill condo rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Capitol Hill Condo Rental Photos and Description
English Bsmnt, Full Kitchen,W/D,1Bedroom + 1 Convertible bed,1 Bath,Sleeps 2-4

Located in the historic Capitol Hill neighborhood, this unit features one bedroom and one bathroom as well as living room sleeper sofa and can accommodate comfortably up to four. The property—situated within walking distance of the U.S. Capitol and the National Mall—is near the center of the Federal City and offers amenities for a comfortable and memorable stay in one of Washington's oldest and most sought-after neighborhoods. Potomac Metro Station is located around the corner from the property.

After Georgetown to the west, Capitol Hill is Washington's oldest neighborhood. In its earliest days, most of the residents were members of Congress who lived in boarding houses and dormitories surrounding the Capitol. As the neighborhood evolved, row houses replaced boarding houses and the Hill began to grow as a neighborhood filled with families, as well as Washington's who's who. As you walk around this stately neighborhood, don't be surprised if you see faces you've seen in the news. A number of senators and representatives make their home on the Hill.

In addition to the U.S. Capitol, the Hill includes other significant American landmarks such as the U.S. Supreme Court, the Library of Congress, the Folger Shakespeare Library, Union Station, the U.S. Marine Corps Barracks, the Washington Naval Yard, Congressional Cemetery, Lincoln Park, and the Eastern Market. All of these sights are within easy walking distance and most are Metro-accessible. Just down the hill from the Capitol is the National Mall with all of the monuments and memorials iconic to Washington, as well as more than 10 museums and galleries of art and artifacts.

To the east of the Capitol is the Eastern Market—one of the only remaining merchant markets left in Washington. While the market bustles during the week, it is on the weekends that it acquires its character and charm as residents from all over the city and visitors from all over the world come to the market to enjoy breakfast; purchase fresh meats, produce, and breads; stroll through the adjacent flea market; and browse the latest art and jewelry crafted by local artists and artisans.

During the spring and summer months, a visit to the U.S. Marine Corps Barracks at 8th and I Streets SE will allow you to see the Marine Corps Silent Drill Team in action. This 24-man rifle platoon performs precision maneuvers with their 10.5 lb M-1 Garand rifles with fixed bayonets.

Over at the U.S. Capitol, the newly opened visitor's center allows visitors to experience the Capitol from the ground up. The center features several state statues in Emancipation Hall and a museum that chronicles the history of the U.S. Capitol from its cornerstone laying in 1789 by George Washington to the present day. Tickets for the Senate and House galleries are available here.

The Library of Congress' Jefferson Building, just across the street from the Capitol, is the world's largest repository of books and media in the world. The building is open to the public and the Renaissance and classical art are breathtaking.

These and other sites make staying on Capitol Hill a must if you're visiting Washington on business or for pleasure.

Keywords: condominium, Basement, English Basement

More Details
Hide Details

The redhead next to me is my wife Ana.

We have 2 daughters who are grown and are on their own ( not really, if you are a parent you know) and a 14 pound Schnoodle ( he thinks he is a giant). We have been living in the DC metro area for about 36 years and absolutely love it. Washington DC is a beautiful city, it really is and for people coming here to spend their vacations or attend conferences, weddings, funerals (The Arlington Cemetery), graduations, sight seeing, festivals etc. etc. there isn't any city that offers so much.

I manage the properties and Ana tells me what to do (!!!) We are a great team and enjoy doing what we do.

Allen purchased this condo in 1987

This is a fully furnished apartment, very close to metro and the grocery store. Walking distance to the major sites in DC.

9 Reviews of Property 3470208 in Capitol Hill, Washington DC

Walk to Metro, Capitol Building and the National Mall
average rating of 4.25 based on 9 reviews
business
Walk to Metro, Capitol Building and the National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3470208
+ 202-327-3688
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Fantastic location and living space

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We shared this garden apartment with our two teenage sons (14 and 16). The way the apartment is laid out, we never felt crowded or on top of each other. The apartment was clean and well stocked. Nice climate control. More importantly, the apartment was so well situated. We were two blocks from the metro and 1.5 blocks from a grocery store. We also were five blocks from Eastern Market, which is a great place to shop for fresh foods during the week and full of artisans and a nice flea market on the weekends. We felt safe walking everywhere we went and the apartment is 1.5 blocks from a Bike Share rack. Getting to the main attractions (White House, Capitol Hill, National Mall, Arlington National Cem.) was a breeze, rarely did we have to change trains and it was a nice bike ride on days we chose to ride. The apartment is a straight metro shot from the airport, too, no hauling luggage on an off various trains. Even though the weather was pretty uncooperative, this was a great stay and we highly recommend renting from this owner, who was quick to respond to all of our questions. Two thumbs up for sure.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Metro, Capitol Building and the National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3470208
+ 202-327-3688
Capitol Hill Washington DC
4

Appartement super bien situé

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Nous avons beaucoup apprécié que l'appartement soit très proche du métro et qu'on ait pu laisser notre voiture dans la cour arrière verrouillée, en toute sécurité. C'était très tranquille et on a très bien dormi. Le supermarché est tout proche, au coin de Potomac et de Pensylvannia (Harris Teeter) et on y trouve de tout (des plats tout préparés ou tous les ingrédients pour cuisiner, de la bière, du vin, etc). Il y a aussi une pharmacie toute proche (CVS), sur Pensylvannia, quelques blocs à l'ouest de l'appartement.
Je ne donne pas un 5 étoiles, car la propreté laissait un peu à désirer, probablement dû au fait que l'appartement n'avait pas été utilisé en janvier (toile d'araignée entre les armoires et le mur et quelques cheveux ici et là). Mais la salle de bain était propre. Les draps que nous avions étaient tachés, alors je ne sais pas s'ils étaient propres mais ils n'en avaient pas l'air. Cependant, comme on a une laveuse à linge et un petit aspirateur à main, j'ai pu tout nettoyer en arrivant. Il faut savoir que la chambre est très, très petite et qu'il y a peu de place pour les vêtements d'un couple. Le garde-robe est déjà plein avec tous les draps et serviettes que nous n'avons pas le droit de prendre, selon les instructions, et il faut prévoir apporter des cintres, car il n'y en avait très peu et ceux de l'entrée n'étaient pas fameux pour des vêtements d'hiver. Le lit est double et non queen, mais il est tout de même assez confortable.

Bref, je considère que cet appartement offre un bon rapport qualité/prix, mais j'aurais tout de même apprécié que les draps soient neufs et que plus d'espace soient donnés au client dans le garde-robe de la chambre et celui de l'entrée où il y avait d'autres draps et couverture probablement pour le sofa. Je recommande ce type de logement aux personnes à petits budgets qui souhaitent être proches des musées et du centre-ville de Washington.
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Walk to Metro, Capitol Building and the National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3470208
+ 202-327-3688
Capitol Hill Washington DC
4

Try it - you will like it!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Right off the bus line (Metro) and the inside was great! Very clean and the layout is what you see. Yes, I would recommend this property to anyone and will probably use the property again. Try it - you will like it! Thanks for everything. From Dallas, Texas.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Walk to Metro, Capitol Building and the National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3470208
+ 202-327-3688
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Unit was neat and clean. Extra linens, paper products and coffee were on hand. Nice to have a washer and dryer for midweek laundry. Super nice grocery store called Harris Teeter just a block to the east on Pennsylvania. Metro was just a block away also which was super convenient. Always felt safe walking around the area. Perfect size for couple with a teen age daughter. Loved taking in the history of Washington DC! Great unit!
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Walk to Metro, Capitol Building and the National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3470208
+ 202-327-3688
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Important Cyber Security Notice From the Owner

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Please make sure you do not send or transfer any funds to any entity. We only use VRBO's Reservation Manager for booking and reservations. If in doubt please call us at: 202-327-3688
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Walk to Metro, Capitol Building and the National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3470208
+ 202-327-3688
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Beebe, Arkansas/USA
5

Awesome Apartment, Convenient and Clean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My friend and I were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It was only about 2 blocks from the metro and just around the corner to the most awesome grocery store I have ever been in. The apartment was very clean and the bed and the futon was very confortable for sleeping. When I was making our reservations, Allen the owner was very friendly and helpful. I visit D.C. atleast once a year and will make it a point to rent this apartment again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Walk to Metro, Capitol Building and the National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3470208
+ 202-327-3688
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Perfect base for exploring DC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We loved this little apartment! It had everything we needed and more. A very short walk to Potomac Ave Station, its so easy to get into DC's centre to do the tourist thing. Harris Teeter is just around the corner, and there are some fantastic restaurants on 8th Street. We'd particularly recommend Ted's Bulletin.
Would stay here again or recommend it to anyone wanting somewhere comfortable and convenient to stay.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Walk to Metro, Capitol Building and the National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3470208
+ 202-327-3688
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Valrico, FL
2

Not as good as it could have been

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The address should actually state B on the number as it is the basement apartment and the mailbox has a B on it; this plus the fact that the wrong code for the lock box was sent to us in the email caused for confusion at the end of a day of travel. The place should have been cleaned of spiderwebs and bugs before we arrived. There were also long black hairs on the bedding when we arrived. The info sent to us stated the kitchen was fully-equipped; in our experience that usually includes a coffee maker, something to make a pizza on (cookie sheet, etc.), a pitcher for juice; but the apartment had none of those items. Plus it said there were some basics like tea, coffee, salt, pepper. Again, none of those things were in the apartment. We had two rolls of toilet paper for three people for 8 days. On the plus side, it was a very short walk to the Potomac metro station and there is a Harris Teeter on the same block.
Owner's Response: We are sorry you experienced these difficulties since as owners, we were not kept apprised of the customer experience by the prior management company. Thank you for your input. We took over the management of our properties on August 1, 2012 and since then we have hired a professional cleaning company, restocked, repainted/decorated, added the missing appliances and added new furniture. From now on our guests will be communicating directly with us and we will make all the efforts it takes to make your DC vacation a memorable experience.
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Walk to Metro, Capitol Building and the National Mall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3470208
+ 202-327-3688
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Illinois
4

What we expected

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family traveled to DC to do all the tourist sites in the area. We needed a place to lay our heads after all the walking we knew we were doing. I'm not sure what kind of housing is across the street but the fence and the frequent patrol cars made us a little concerned. I took all the bikes off the carrier and the Yakima hitch mount itself and carried them indoors. The neighbor we met thought that was a good idea too. I left the car top carrier on though. We had no problems whatsoever. The walk to the metro was short and the grocery store was right around the corner too. The place was clean, well kept and we were very satisfied with everything. We usually travel well as a family so the fact that our 11, 8 and 6 year old camped out in the family room was not a problem for us. The cleaning fee seemed a bit much for a small apartment. The only concern was street parking is not available. It is by permit only. In all we had a great stay.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 6/6