Woodstock studio rental - Rock City Writer's Studio is nestled in the heart of a bucolic property
Rock City Writer's Studio is nestled in the heart of a bucolic property
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Woodstock Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio cottage with kitchenette, sauna, writing porch, sleeps 2

Treat yourself to a relaxing, rejuvenating and inspiring retreat in your own private studio cottage in the heart of Stonecrop, the estate owned by Anita M. Smith—writer, artist, historian and “Herb Lady of the Catskills.” Nestled at the gateway to Woodstock’s legendary Overlook Mountain, Rock City Writer’s Studio is walking distance (just over 1/2 mile) to the Woodstock Village Green, where you’ll find galleries, boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Or just stay home and relax in your bucolic retreat surrounded by wildlife and nature. Prepare snacks and meals in your well-equipped kitchenette and serve them on the screened-in bluestone porch, or at the stone table on the lawn with a gas grill surrounded by gardens. Treat yourself to a relaxing sauna in your Nordic sauna for two, followed by a shower under a skylight. The living room converts into a bedroom at night, and features a 32” flat-screen HDTV with cable service and a Blu-Ray player, as well as an extensive collection of books, CDs and DVDs. Other amenities include luxury linens, spa robes, WIFI, and private parking. Combine with nearby Herb Cottage for additional space.

Anita M. Smith was born in Philadelphia in 1893. She was a Quaker and her family were part of the crème de la crème of Philadelphia society. By the time she reached the age of 19 she had already been on 3 major world tours. In 1912 she came to Woodstock with money intended for a ball gown, to study painting at the Art Students League Summer School. In the 1930s she shifted gears and began an herbalism business. Anita’s flourishing enterprise was based in Herb Cottage—and she sold her products in all 48 contiguous United States. Her business was one of four like it located on the East Coast. It was so successful that H.J. Heinz came calling. However, with the onset of World War II she changed course once again. It was a time of self-sacrifice, and so she offered space on her property to the town’s plane spotting unit—and became the Chief Observer. The barn building next to Rock City Writer’s Studio is all that remains of this structure. After the war, she began work on Woodstock History and Hearsay, the town’s first history, and this was published in 1959.

The current owners met Anita Smith as children in 1957. She supported their mother’s creativity and lent her an old studio (now styled as Rock City Writer’s Studio). This allowed her to work on her plays in peace—away from family interference. In turn, their mother became like a daughter to Anita, and assisted her in the final stages of writing the first edition of Woodstock History and Hearsay. Miss Smith left her estate to their mother: physical and intellectual property. When their mother passed in 1999 they jointly inherited the house, outbuildings, grounds and intellectual property. After much thought and discussion they resolved to honor Anita and their mother through a program of restoration. Further, they determined to embrace and celebrate a mindset and way of living that had been handed down to them from Anita. This was the genesis of their company, WoodstockArts (http://www.woodstockarts.com).

14 Reviews of Property 3469886 in Woodstock, New York

NEW! Rock City Writer's Studio: Bucolic Setting, Sauna, Walk to Town!
average rating of 4.714286 based on 14 reviews
business
NEW! Rock City Writer's Studio: Bucolic Setting, Sauna, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469886
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
4

Cozy and romantic

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Great setting - deer in the backyard! Short walk into town and a short drive uphill to visit the Monastery. Even though it was cold and rainy, the cabin was warm and cozy. Great selection of DVDs, books and games to relax and enjoy. Only minus point would be the shower is a little small and awkward to get in and out (it's separate from the bathroom) and the sauna took a really long time to heat up (30-60mins). Chelsea and Judy were extremely friendly and helpful; we would definitely come back!
business
NEW! Rock City Writer's Studio: Bucolic Setting, Sauna, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469886
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
New York
5

Wonderful little house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Really great little house. It is tiny but beautiful. Really charming and comfortable. It does have a pull-out sofa instead of a bed but it was comfortable enough and allowed for the one main room to convert into a very charming sitting room when the bed was folded up.

We made dinner in the eat-in kitchen, which was well equipped with all kinds of cookware and utensils and ate at the cute little table by candlelight (actually they were electric candles that were in the cabin but very convincing!)

And the private yard is HUGE! Didn't really use it for anything since we're pretty lazy but it is, well... HUGE. If you're more motivated than we are you could make great use of it. There's also a two person sauna, which is a pretty unusual touch.

An unbelievable deal - for about half of what a room in a B&B would cost, we got our own little private house. We were very happy indeed!
business
NEW! Rock City Writer's Studio: Bucolic Setting, Sauna, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469886
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
5

Had an amazing time at the Writer's Studio.

Had an amazing time at the Writer's Studio.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Place was great. Everything you could need. Place was very clean and in working order. Can't wait to stay again sometime soon!
business
NEW! Rock City Writer's Studio: Bucolic Setting, Sauna, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469886
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
5

Simply perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My writing friend and I spent a weekend in this adorable cabin in Woodstock. It was the perfect place to work on our novels for a few days. Quiet, quaint and simply perfect. The cabin was very clean and well stocked with everything we needed. Warm, cozy and the perfect getaway. I highly recommend staying here. We will certainly be going back!
business
NEW! Rock City Writer's Studio: Bucolic Setting, Sauna, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469886
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
5

Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a great time at the Studio. It was very pleasant to be up in Woodstock and be surrounded by such beauty. Everything that we needed was so convenient for you us within the studio. Thank you again for accommodating us. We will certainly be back in the near future and will highly recommend it to others that we know that are looking for a rejuvenating and relaxing get a way.
business
NEW! Rock City Writer's Studio: Bucolic Setting, Sauna, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469886
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
4

Nice quiet country get-a-way

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The studio was very clean, well prepared, and exactly the way it was described to be. It was quite easy making reservations since the property was managed by an incredibly friendly and welcoming staff. We especially enjoyed the quiet setting that was conveniently located close to town, but still off of the main road. Woodstock had a lot of great activities to offer, including small, local shops, great hiking trails to Overlook Mountain, and we also paid a visit to the peaceful Buddhist monastery.

While we stayed the temperature was around 20 degrees, the first cold days of this year so far, and when we tried to use the sauna, we were still a little chilly and would recommend using it during warmer weather. This was our only issue, and it wasn't a big one. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the Rock City Writer's Studio and would recommend it to our friends and family.

And while you are in Woodstock, keep a look out for musicians, since we came across Elvis Costello in the local bakery.
business
NEW! Rock City Writer's Studio: Bucolic Setting, Sauna, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469886
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
4

Great weekend escape

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I had a perfect weekend getaway in this cute little cottage. It was impeccably clean, which is a huge plus in my book! I have no complaints. Do note that it is quite small (appears a little larger in the pics), and the shower is
REALLY small, separate from the bathroom. I am not pointing these out as drawbacks at all, just good info to have when booking. :)
Chelsea was great at communicating with me leading up to my visit also.
Very close to town! If your first visit to Woodstock - you must go to Peave, Love and Cupcakes! The monastery and Opus 40 were awesome too.
business
NEW! Rock City Writer's Studio: Bucolic Setting, Sauna, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469886
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
5

Best Spot in Woodstock!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My boyfriend & I were celebrating his birthday & found this amazing spot! The property was clean, inviting and very beautiful, just like Woodstock itself. We really enjoyed our stay and our guide to the studio, Chelsea, was very friendly, informative and welcoming upon our arrival. The indoor sauna / porch setup was also a nice and peaceful way to unwind after our days of hiking and exploring the town. We couldn't of asked for a better place to get away!
business
NEW! Rock City Writer's Studio: Bucolic Setting, Sauna, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469886
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
5

Spotless and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had such an amazing time this weekend. The studio was the cleanest place I've ever stayed. All the little details of the place made us feel like we were staying in a place with a lot of history. Judy gave us great recommendations in the area and was a pleasure to book with. Our favorite part was the sauna..... We will definitely return.
business
NEW! Rock City Writer's Studio: Bucolic Setting, Sauna, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469886
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
5

Clean and convenient!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The studio was cozy, clean and as described. Very cute! While it is small, it had everything you need for a relaxing few days. The kitchen is well-equipped, in spite of being described as a kitchenette. The location is great -- walking distance to town and close to hiking trails. We made it up to Overlook Mountain which was great.
Judy made the reservation easy with clear directions and instructions!
I'd certainly recommend this property for a short getaway.
Helpful votes: 2/2